DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
The Examiner acknowledges receipt of the arguments filed on 9/24/2026.
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-14, 18-21, 27-29, 31, 33, 35, 53 and 54 are presented for examination on the merits. The following rejections are made.
Response to Applicants’ Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 9/24/2026 regarding the rejection of claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 13, 14, 18-21, 27-29, 31, 33, 53 and 54 made by the Examiner under 35 USC 103 over Kurosaki et al. (Biomaterials 30, 2009, 2846-2853) in view of Stephan et al. (US 11872195) and Na et al. (US 2015/0225723) have been fully considered but are not considered persuasive and are MAINTAINED for the reason of record in the Office Action mailed 3/24/2026.
Applicant’s amendments filed 3/2/2025 overcome the rejection of claims 2, 9-12 and 35 made by the Examiner under 35 USC 103 over Kurosaki et al. (Biomaterials 30, 2009, 2846-2853) in view of Stephan et al. (US 11872195) and Na et al. (US 2015/0225723), further in view of Forrest et al. (Pharmaceutical Research, 21(2), 365-371) have been fully considered but are not considered persuasive and are MAINTAINED for the reason of record in the Office Action mailed 3/24/2026.
In response to the 103 rejections, Applicant asserts the following:
Na’s vectors utilize cationic polymers that help stabilize the negatively charged genes and facilitate delivery of said genes but leads to reduced gene delivery relative to gene delivery via viral vector and technological difficulty. Thus, Na disparages and teaches away from using non-viral polyplex particles comprising cationic polymer and anionic polymer as claimed; and
The instant invention has found that the claimed ratio of N/P results in improved transfection which could not have been predicted from the broad range described by Na.
In response to A, the Examiner acknowledges the above argument but is not persuaded. Na’s invention is to a nanocomposite material for delivering a gene. As observed by Applicant, the nanocomposite may include a cationic material. Na teaches that the inclusion of cationic material (e.g. polymer) stabilizes the genes by forming a complex through electrostatic interaction with the negatively charged genes and that the presence of the cationic material facilitates intracellular delivery (see [0004]).
Regarding the downsides of including a cationic material, Na teaches that the cationic material however provides less efficiency delivery of genetic material than a viral vector and that the cationic material may cause acute toxicity. However, Na teaches that these shortcomings may be mitigated by forming a tertiary complex of a gene/cationic material composite and an anionic polymer which considerably gene delivery while being capable of lowering toxicity (see [0006]). The use of a cationic polymer for improving the delivery of genes within the complex while leading to reduced gene delivery and technological difficulty is not seen as a teaching away as the delivery mechanism would be well thought through and balanced so as to achieve a desirable and effective outcome. Moreover, given that the entire framework of Na is to deliver genetic material to a target by way of a non-viral delivery mechanism utilizing cationic materials, it is not clear how Na is teaching away from using a cationic material as alluded to by Applicant. A feature of Na’s invention is the use of cationic polymers. After all it is a feature of Na’s claims, e.g. see claim 1.
In response to B, Applicant argues that Na’s N/P ratio of 0.1-100, and preferably from 0.1-50, is broad but is at present claiming a range of at least 15. The upper bound of both of Na’s ranges, (100 and 50) lie within Applicant’s claimed range of at least 15. Na teaches that the N/P ratio is important in facilitating gene stabilization thereby increasing cell absorption efficiency as well as for forming a stable gene nanocomposite (see [0040]). Thus, it would be reasonable to expect that the use of these ratios would provide such beneficial outcomes when applied to Kurosaki.
Applicants Figure 2 appears to show that the variation in the presence of the PEI in the nanocomposite impacts the transfection efficiency as measured by %GFP for composites either in serum or free from serum. Fig 3A does not appear to show any relationship between N/P and transfections whereas Fig 3B appears to demonstrate that transfection correlates with N/P. data appears to effect appears to diminish as the amount of PEI increases above 15%. It is not clear to the Examiner what, if any, unexpected results could be gleaned from this data set.
Of interest is Figure 5A which appears to show that the serum IP30-10 composite (N/P 30 and PEMA 10%) provides improved transfection serum relative to the serum-free sample. This effect is also observed in Figure 5B for the same complex. However, the feature of the nanocomposite comprising serum and 10% PEMA is not presently claimed but would likely be considered if incorporated into the claims.
Maintained Rejections, of Record
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 13, 14, 18-21, 27-29, 31, 33, 53 and 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurosaki et al. (Biomaterials 30, 2009, 2846-2853; of record) in view of Stephan et al. (US 11872195; filed 05/2017; of record) and Na et al. (US 2015/0225723; of record).
Describes a complex of DNA, polyethyleneimine (PEI) and polyglutamic acid for gene delivery systems. The complex is made according to the following Figure:
(see Figure 1). It is observed that plasmid DNA is complexed with PEI wherein the pDNA/PEI complex is then treated with a polyanion (polyglutamic acid) so as to coat (envelop) the pDNA/PEI surface (see instant claims 1, 7, 27, 29, 31, 33. The PEI used in the complex is to be branched (see Section 2.1, page 2846) (see instant claim 3). The complex comprises a ratio of phosphate (of pDNA): nitrogen (of PEI) of 1:8. Kurosaki states that the DNA/PEI/polyglutamic acid complex is used in method of treating erythrocytes and melanoma cells so as to transfect the target cells with the complexed DNA (see sections 2.4, 2.5, page 2847) (see instant claims 53 and 54).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Kurosaki teaches that the concentration of the polyglutamic acid was directly related to the uptake of the complex in a concentration dependent manner (See page 2851). Moreover, the charge ratio of phosphate (of pDNA):nitrogen (of PEI):carboxylate (of the anion, polyglutamate) is 1:8:6 and as the charge ratio would be related to the weight ratio of the complex’s component materials, this ratio would suggest that the anionic polyglutamate is present in an amount of 40% ([6/15]*100). Thus, as a) the uptake of the complex is directly related to the presence of the polyglutamic acid and b) 40% of the complex charge/mass could be tired to the polyanion polyglutamic acid, the concentrations of instant claims 13 and 14 would have been obvious. It’s noted that 40% is above the upper range value of instant claim 14 but, as noted before, obviousness exists where claimed ranges are sufficiently close that one would reasonably expect similar properties. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Kurosaki fails to teach the inclusion of a targeting moiety that targets an immune cell, wherein the particle is internalized by the target cell by receptor mediated endocytosis.
Stephan is directed to the targeted delivery of nucleic acids via nanocarriers. The nanocarrier includes agents that can facilitate internalization by and/or transfection such as PEI/DNA complexes (see column 11, lines 33-35 and lines 57-65). The nanocarrier may be modified to possess a coating so as to impart a negative surface charge. Exemplified coating materials include polyglutamic acid (see column 12, lines 40-42 and column 13, lines 1-5). The nanocarrier may comprise a binding domain so as to bind to a marker of a target cell so as to initiate rapid receptor-induced endocytosis so as to internalize the particle (see column 5, lines 28-65). Although endocytosis is taught by Stephan, such is related to how the product is used and is considered an intended use limitation. See MPEP 2111.02. The binding domain may be an antibody such is a single chain variable fragment antibody (scFv) (see column 22, lines 32-44 and claims 8-9) (see instant claims 18-21). The binding domain can be used to target immune cells (see column 7, liens 1-5) (see instant claim 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Kurosaki’s particle such that the resulting particle comprised an antibody thereby enabling the modified particle to target specific desired cells.
Kurosaki fails to teach the N/P ratio as being at least 15.
Na, like Kurosaki, is directed to gene/cationic polymer complexes for delivering genetic material to a target cell. It is taught that the ion composite of the gene and cationic polymer is to have a N/P ratio of between 0.1-100, preferably from 0.1-50 and that complexes within said range facilitate gene stabilization thereby facilitating an increase in cell absorption efficiency and formation of stable gene nanocomposites (see [0040]). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Kurosaki’s complex to modulate the N/P ratio to identify a ratio which best suited the stability and absorption efficiency and if such a manipulation found a N/P ratio exceeding 15, then such would have been the result of ordinary skill and common sense. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) which states that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is supportive of obviousness.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 2, 9-12 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurosaki et al. (Biomaterials 30, 2009, 2846-2853) in view of Stephan et al. (US 11872195; filed 05/2017; of record) and Na et al. (US 2015/0225723; of record) as applied to claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 13, 14, 18-21, 27-29, 31, 33, 53 and 54 above, and further in view of Forrest et al. (Pharmaceutical Research, 21(2), 365-371; of record).
Kurosaki fails to teach the PEI as being acetylated.
Forrest, like Kurosaki, is directed toward using PEI in the transfection of target cells. The PEI is taught to be a known delivery vector of nucleic acid and that modifying PEI to possess acetyl functionalities improves the delivery vectors properties. It is taught that PEI may be modified such that it is 27% acetylated (see abstract and Table 1) and that this acetylated PEI increases the transfection efficiency by 6-fold (see page 369). It would have been obvious to modify the PEI used in Kurosaki’s complex such that it was acetylated (25%), as taught by Forrest, so as to improve the transfection efficiency of the nucleic acid delivery complex. See MPEP 2143(I)(D) which states that it is obvious to apply a known technique (e.g. acetylate PEI) to a known product (e.g. PEI DNA complex) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g. improved gene delivery).
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE A PURDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611