DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
The Amendment filed 3/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 6-7, 9, 20-21, 35, and 37-38 were amended, claims 2-4, 8, 10-19, 22-34, and 36 were canceled, and claims 39-40 were new. Thus, claims 1, 5-7, 9, 20-21, 35, and 37-40 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-7, 35, and 37 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites, “the control signal” in lines 1-2 and is suggested to read --the stimulus control signal-- in order to more clearly reference how the limitation was originally claimed.
Claim 6 recites, “the control signal” in lines 1-2 and is suggested to read --the stimulus control signal-- in order to more clearly reference how the limitation was originally claimed.
Claim 7 recites, “the control signal” in lines 1-2 and is suggested to read --the stimulus control signal-- in order to more clearly reference how the limitation was originally claimed.
Claim 35 recites, “guiding target movement” in lines 1-2, and is suggested to read --guiding a target movement-- in order to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Claim 37 recites, “guiding target movement” in lines 1-2, and is suggested to read --guiding a target movement-- in order to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “the sheath applies an elastic preload…while minimising damping of vibrational displacement” in lines 11-14 and “adjusts the timing and duty cycle…so that the phase differences are progressively reduced over successive control updates and the stimulus control signal and movement cadence converge toward synchronisation to assist guiding the target movement in the absence of discrete prompts for conscious correction” in lines 33-38 contain new matter. There is no recitation of these limitations in the Applicant’s original disclosure.
Any remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency on a rejected base claim.
Claims 1, 5-7, 9, 20-21, 35, and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation "a movement cadence or phase” in line 24 is confusing, as it is unclear whether this limitation is meant to be the same as or different from the limitation of “cadence or phase” claimed in line 22. Moreover, the limitations “adjusts” in line 33, “progressively reduced” in line 35, and “converge” in line 37 are confusing, as these are method steps while the claim is directed towards an apparatus, and thus the scope of the claim is unclear. It is suggested to use claim language such as --configured to-- or --adapted for-- in order to avoid such indefiniteness.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation "timing, synchronisation, duty cycle” in line 2 is confusing, as it is unclear whether this limitation is meant to be the same as or different from the limitation of "timing and duty cycle…synchronisation” in claim 1.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the textile or fabric substrate" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Moreover, the limitation "a generated control signal” in lines 29-30 is confusing, as it is unclear whether this limitation is meant to be the same as or different from the limitation of “generate a control signal…of stimulators” claimed in lines 16-18. Furthermore, the limitation “the control signals” in line 36 is confusing, as it is unclear whether this limitation is meant to be the same as, different from, or part of the limitation of “generate a control signal…of stimulators” claimed in lines 12-14, particularly as “signals” is plural while “signal” is singular.
Regarding claim 35, the limitations “such as” in lines 2 and 4 are confusing, as it is unclear whether the following limitations are required or not for the claimed invention, Moreover, the phrase "or the like" in line 4 renders the claim indefinite because the claim includes elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 37, the limitation “matching target movement” in line 18 is confusing, as it is unclear whether this is meant to be the same as “target movement” in lines 1-2 or a new limitation.
Regarding claim 39, the limitation “reduces” in line 2 is confusing, as this is a method step while the claim is directed towards an apparatus, and thus the scope of the claim is unclear. It is suggested to use claim language such as --configured to-- or --adapted for-- in order to avoid such indefiniteness.
Regarding claim 40, the limitation “reduces” in line 2 is confusing, as this is a method step while the claim is directed towards an apparatus, and thus the scope of the claim is unclear. It is suggested to use claim language such as --configured to-- or --adapted for-- in order to avoid such indefiniteness.
Any remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Regarding claim 40, the limitation “attentional demand required for the user” in line 2 is directed towards a human organism. It is suggested to use claim language such as --configured to-- or --adapted for-- in order to avoid positively reciting a human organism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 9, 35, and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oddson et al. (US 2015/0123802 A1) in view of Jeffrey et al. (US 6,675,743 B1) and Brown et al. (US 2019/0269352 A1).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Oddson discloses a wearable stimulation system adapted to assist guiding a target movement of at least part of a body of a user (feedback device that provides stimulation to a wearer based on their balance information; the device can be used to provide stimulation for stance and dynamic activities such as walking, and thereby allow for the user to perform a corrective action with their lower limbs while walking) (Figs. 1-12; abstract; para. [0007]; para. [0052]; claim 1), the system comprising:
a fabric or textile substrate which is worn on skin of the body in use (a stocking would be worn on the user’s leg during use, and a stocking is made of a textile or fabric) (Figs. 5-12; para. [0080]);
a plurality of vibration stimulators (vibro-tactile array 52/stimulation array 68 have multiple vibrators) (Figs. 5-12; paras. [0067-0068]) incorporated into the fabric or textile substrate (vibrators of the stimulation array can be in a stocking’s fabric) (Figs. 5-12; para. [0080]), wherein the textile or fabric material is adapted to fix the location of the plurality of stimulators on the body for stimulating peripheral sensing receptors in a predefined location relative to an area of the body to which stimulation is to be provided (vibrators of the stimulation array can be fixed in a stocking, and the vibrators are located at the front, back, and both sides of the leg in the stocking to stimulate that specific portion of the leg; vibro-tactile array 52/stimulation array 68 may be in contact with sensory neurons or nerves) (Figs. 5-12; paras. [0067-0068]; paras. [0070-0073]; para. [0080]; para. [0091]);
at least one control unit in communication with each of the plurality of stimulators, the at least one control unit configured to generate a stimulus control signal to control frequency and amplitude of the movement of the plurality of vibration stimulators (processing subsystem 54, 66 sends stimulation control signals to the vibro-tactile array 52/stimulation array 68, which can include modulating vibration stimulus amplitude and frequency) (Figs. 5-12; paras. [0067-0068]; para. [0075]; para. [0077]);
and at least one sensor in communication with the at least one control unit, the at least one sensor configured to monitor one or more movement parameters of the user including cadence or phase representative of a user initiated target movement during performance of the target movement (processing subsystem 54, 66 communicates with force sensing resistors 50/force pressure sensor array 62/bi-axial goniometer 64, which receive balance information; the wearer would be intending to maintain their balance during their walking movements, with the resulting walking movement being sensed by the sensors; sensed walking/balance information includes foot force/pressure, ankle angle, knee angle, and angular velocity, which describe the user’s cadence, swing phases, and step phases) (Figs. 5-12; para. [0019]; para. [0052]; paras. [0067-0068]; para. [0082]),
wherein the control unit is adapted to determine a movement cadence or phase of the user from the at least one sensor and generate the stimulus control signal is for the plurality of vibration stimulators (processing subsystem 54, 66 sends stimulation control signals to the vibro-tactile array 52/stimulation array 68 based on balance information from force sensing resistors 50/force pressure sensor array 62/bi-axial goniometer 64, to help the wearer maintain their balance) (Figs. 5-12; paras. [0067-0068]); and
the at least one control unit adjusts the plurality of vibration stimulators based on differences between the stimulus control signal and the movement cadence to assist guiding the target movement in the absence of discrete prompts for conscious correction (processing subsystem 54, 66 sends stimulation control signals to the vibro-tactile array 52/stimulation array 68 based on balance information from force sensing resistors 50/force pressure sensor array 62/bi-axial goniometer 64, to help the wearer maintain correct balance during dynamic activities such as walking; when the center of pressure 88, 98 is outside of the dead zone 86 as sensed by the force sensing resistors 50/force pressure sensor array 62/bi-axial goniometer 64, a signal is given to the vibrators in the stimulation array 52, 68, and when the center of pressure 88, 98 is inside of the dead zone 86, i.e. the target balance movement is achieved, there is no more applied vibration stimulus; additionally, when the user’s posture has a further distance of the center of pressure 88, 86 from the dead zone 86, the vibration is applied at a higher frequency; in other words, processing subsystem 54, 66 adjusts its sent stimulation control signals based on the differences between the user’s incorrect posture when vibration is applied and when the user has the correct center of pressure; the balance information provided by the system is integrated into a patient’s unconscious postural control, and therefore would not involve discrete prompts for conscious correction during use) (Figs. 5-12; para. [0008]; para. [0052]; paras. [0067-0068]; paras. [0070-0075]).
Alternatively, if Oddson is not seen as definitively disclosing the at least one sensor configured to monitor one or more movement parameters of the user including cadence or phase representative of a user initiated target movement during performance of the target movement, Brown teaches a system for corrective gait modification (Brown; abstract) wherein the at least one sensor configured to monitor one or more movement parameters of the user including cadence or phase representative of a user initiated target movement during performance of the target movement (using sensors to collect a user’s pressure and acceleration data, a user’s current gait can be profiled; gait includes step and swing phases) (Brown; para. [0002]; paras. [0021-0022]; para. [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oddson at least one sensor such that the at least one sensor is configured to monitor one or more movement parameters of the user including cadence or phase representative of a user initiated target movement during performance of the target movement, as taught by Brown, for the purpose of enabling the analysis of the sensor data to detect abnormalities or irregularities in a user’s gait and/or posture such that stimulation instructions can be determined for the user’s gait and/or posture correction (Brown; para. [0028]).
Oddson does not disclose wherein each of the stimulators is received within a sheath comprising a first and second layer of rubber material, wherein at least the first layer of rubber material is fixedly attached to the textile or fabric substrate; wherein the sheath applies an elastic preload to the plurality of vibration stimulators to permit lateral and perpendicular oscillation relative to the skin while minimising damping of vibrational displacement.
However, Jeffrey teaches a vibrator blanket (Jeffrey; abstract) wherein each of the stimulators is received within a sheath comprising a first and second layer of rubber material (vibrator motor 17 is between the mount 22 of boot 20 and the cylindrical portion of boot 20) (Jeffrey; Figs. 3A-3B; col. 3 lines 56-67), wherein at least the first layer of rubber material is fixedly attached to the textile or fabric substrate (the rubber boots 20 and mounts 22 can be connected with the blanket insulated fabric) (Jeffrey; Figs. 1, 3A-3B; col. 2 lines 5-8; col. 4 lines 27-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oddson stimulators such that wherein each of the stimulators is received within a sheath comprising a first and second layer of rubber material, wherein at least the first layer of rubber material is fixedly attached to the textile or fabric substrate, as taught by Jeffrey, for the purpose of enabling the stimulators or vibrators to be removably secured (Jeffrey; col. 3, lines 56-62).
With this modification, the modified Oddson would thus teach wherein the sheath applies an elastic preload to the plurality of vibration stimulators to permit lateral and perpendicular oscillation relative to the skin while minimising damping of vibrational displacement (Oddson stimulators have vibration frequencies in the mediolateral direction and anteroposterior direction, i.e. lateral and perpendicular oscillations relative to the user’s leg skin; the modified Oddson stimulators would each be inside Jeffrey rubber boots 20 and mounts 22; as the modified Oddson device teaches the structure as claimed, it would thus be able to function to apply an elastic preload and minimize damping of vibrational displacement as claimed) (Oddson, Figs. 5-7, para. [0052]; Jeffrey, Figs. 3A-3B, col. 3 lines 56-67).
Oddson does not disclose wherein the at least one control unit adjusts timing and duty cycle of the plurality of vibration stimulators based on differences between the stimulus control signal and the movement cadence so that phase differences are progressively reduced over successive control updates and the stimulus control signal and movement cadence converge toward synchronisation to assist guiding the target movement.
However, Brown further teaches the at least one control unit adjusts timing and duty cycle of the plurality of vibration stimulators based on differences between the stimulus control signal and the movement cadence so that phase differences are progressively reduced over successive control updates and the stimulus control signal and movement cadence converge toward synchronisation to assist guiding the target movement (stimulation device 110 can include a vibration device; there is a difference between a user’s abnormal/irregular gait and a corrected gait; stimulation device 110 is operated according to stimulation instructions which can include timing of the stimuli, such as patterns, rhythms, or tempos, used to help correct a user’s abnormal/irregular gait to a corrected gait by having the stimulation be timed for the corrected gait; as the user is encouraged by the stimulation to adopt a corrected gait pattern, the user’s gait would become more synchronized with the stimuli such that there is less of a phase difference between them; stimulation instructions can be re-calculated every time the user takes a step) (Brown; Fig. 1; para. [0024]; para. [0029]; paras. [0043-0044]; para. [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oddson at least one control unit such that the at least one control unit adjusts timing and duty cycle of the plurality of vibration stimulators based on differences between the stimulus control signal and the movement cadence so that phase differences are progressively reduced over successive control updates and the stimulus control signal and movement cadence converge toward synchronisation to assist guiding the target movement, as taught by Brown, for the purpose of helping to encourage proper gait for a user (Brown; paras. [0043-0044]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Oddson teaches wherein the control signal is generated when at least one pre-defined criteria is met (stimulus is provided to a user when the center of pressure 88, 98 is outside the dead zone 86, and so the vibrators would get the control signal to provide vibration stimulus then) (Oddson; Figs. 8-12; paras. [0070-0074]).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, the modified Oddson teaches wherein the control signal further controls timing, synchronisation, duty cycle, location and intensity to coordinate the stimulation provided by the plurality of stimulators (in Oddson, when the vibrators vibrate, which vibrators vibrate, where on the leg the vibrators vibrate, and what frequency the vibrators vibrate at are all controlled; gait is a cycle of stance and swing phases, and so the corrected gait in Brown is a cycle) (Oddson, Figs. 8-12, paras. [0070-0075]; Brown, para. [0002], para. [0015], paras. [0043-0044]) that reinforce target neuromuscular signals guiding muscle contractions guiding the target movements within and between limbs and repetitions for the user and thereby minimising excessive conscious movements (the balance information provided by the system is integrated into a patient’s unconscious postural control, i.e. the neurological signals controlling muscle contraction in the legs for balance during repetitive dynamic activities such as walking, thereby eliminating the need for conscious balancing effort) (Oddson; para. [0008]; para. [0052]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Oddson teaches wherein the control signal to the plurality of stimulators is determined using feedback from the plurality of sensors so that the duty cycle of the control signal is increased or decreased until the duty cycle matches the target movement of the user (in Oddson, when the center of pressure 88, 98 is outside of the dead zone 86 as sensed by the force sensing resistors 50/force pressure sensor array 62/bi-axial goniometer 64, a signal is given to the vibrators in the stimulation array 52, 68, and when the center of pressure 88, 98 is inside of the dead zone 86, i.e. the target balance movement is achieved, there is no more applied vibration stimulus; Brown stimulus is applied in gait cycles to encourage the user’s abnormal gait to be corrected) (Oddson, Figs. 5-12, paras. [0067-0068], paras. [0070-0075]; Brown, para. [0028], paras. [0043-0044]).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Oddson teaches wherein the at least one sensor is included in a plurality of sensors (force sensing resistors 50/force pressure sensor array 62/bi-axial goniometer 64 receive balance information) (Oddson; Figs. 5-12; paras. [0067-0068]), wherein the plurality of sensors and the plurality of stimulators are incorporated into a tight fitting garment made from the fabric or textile, which allows the plurality of sensors and the plurality of stimulators to be held in place against the skin (sensor array incorporated in a stocking, and so the sensor array would be held in place against the user’s leg/foot skin) (Oddson; Figs. 5-12; para. [0080]).
Regarding claim 35, as best understood, Oddson discloses a device adapted to be worn by a user to assist guiding target movement of at least part of a body such as arms and legs of the user (feedback device that provides stimulation to a wearer based on their balance information; the device can be used to provide stimulation for stance and dynamic activities such as walking, and thereby allow for the user to perform a corrective action with their legs while walking) (Figs. 1-12; abstract; para. [0007]; para. [0052]; claim 1), the device comprising:
a fabric or textile substrate such as a sock having a network of stimulators fixed on the fabric or textile, wherein the textile or fabric substrate is adapted to fix the location of the network of stimulators relative to the body in a predefined location based on an area of the body to which stimulation is to be provided (vibrators of the stimulation array can be in a stocking, and the vibrators are located at the front, back, and both sides of the leg) (Figs. 5-12; paras. [0067-0068]; para. [0080]);
at least one control unit in communication with the network of stimulators, the at least one control unit configured to generate a control signal to control frequency and amplitude of each stimulator in the network of stimulators (processing subsystem 54, 66 sends stimulation control signals to the vibro-tactile array 52/stimulation array 68, which can include modulating vibration stimulus amplitude and frequency) (Figs. 5-12; paras. [0067-0068]; para. [0075]; para. [0077]); and
a network of sensors fixed to the fabric or textile substrate in communication with the at least one control unit, the network of sensors being held to the body by the fabric or textile substrate at predetermined locations of the body and configured to monitor one or more movement parameters of a user including cadence or phase representative of a user initiated target movement during performance of the target movement (sensor array incorporated in a stocking, and so the sensor array would be held in place against the user under the soles of their feet; processing subsystem 54, 66 communicates with the sensor array of force sensing resistors 50/force pressure sensor array 62/bi-axial goniometer 64, which receive balance information; the wearer would be intending to maintain their balance during their walking movements, with the resulting movement being sensed by the sensors; sensed walking/balance information includes foot force/pressure, ankle angle, knee angle, and angular velocity, which describe the user’s cadence, swing phases, and step phases) (Figs. 5-12; para. [0019]; para. [0052]; paras. [0067-0068]; para. [0080]; para. [0082]),
wherein the control signal to the network of stimulators is synchronised based on feedback from the monitored parameters received by the at least one control unit to reinforce target neuromuscular stimulation of a peripheral nervous system of the user to assist guiding the target movement (processing subsystem 54, 66 sends stimulation control signals to the vibro-tactile array 52/stimulation array 68 based on balance information from force sensing resistors 50/force pressure sensor array 62/bi-axial goniometer 64, to guide the wearer to improve their balance; more than one vibrator may be used to provide stimulus at one time when needed, such as seen in Fig. 11; stimulation array may be in contact with sensory nerves) (Figs. 5-12; paras. [0067-0068]; para. [0073]; para. [0091]).
Oddson does not disclose wherein the network of stimulators is each received within a sheath of rubber material, wherein each sheath effectively holds a stimulator in place to allow the each stimulator to move and vibrate effectively with a desired amount of tension; and wherein each of the sheaths includes a first layer of rubber fixedly attached to the textile or fabric substrate, wherein each stimulator is sandwiched between the first layer and a second layer of rubber material.
However, Jeffrey teaches a vibrator blanket (Jeffrey; abstract) wherein the network of stimulators is each received within a sheath of rubber material, wherein each sheath effectively holds a stimulator in place to allow the each stimulator to move and vibrate effectively with a desired amount of tension (vibrator motor 17 fit into a boot 20 made of synthetic rubber; as Jeffrey teaches the structure as claimed, the vibrator motor 17 would thus be able function to vibrate effectively with a desired amount of tension as claimed) (Jeffrey; Figs. 3A-3B; col. 3, lines 56-67); and wherein each of the sheaths includes a first layer of rubber fixedly attached to the textile or fabric substrate (the rubber boots 20 and mounts 22 can be connected with the blanket insulated fabric) (Jeffrey; Figs. 1, 3A-3B; col. 2 lines 5-8; col. 4 lines 27-35), wherein each stimulator is sandwiched between the first layer and a second layer of rubber material (vibrator motor 17 is between the mount 22 of boot 20 and the cylindrical portion of boot 20) (Jeffrey; Figs. 3A-3B; col. 3 lines 56-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oddson stimulators such that the network of stimulators is each received within a sheath of rubber material, wherein each sheath effectively holds a stimulator in place to allow the each stimulator to move and vibrate effectively with a desired amount of tension; and wherein each of the sheaths includes a first layer of rubber fixedly attached to the textile or fabric substrate, wherein each stimulator is sandwiched between the first layer and a second layer of rubber material, as taught by Jeffrey, for the purpose of enabling the stimulators or vibrators to be removably secured (Jeffrey; col. 3, lines 56-62).
Alternatively, if Oddson is not seen as definitively disclosing to monitor one or more movement parameters of a user including cadence or phase representative of a user initiated target movement during performance of the target movement, Brown teaches a system for corrective gait modification (Brown; abstract) including to monitor one or more movement parameters of a user including cadence or phase representative of a user initiated target movement during performance of the target movement (using sensors to collect a user’s pressure and acceleration data, a user’s current gait can be profiled; gait includes step and swing phases) (Brown; para. [0002]; paras. [0021-0022]; para. [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oddson monitored one or more movement parameters of a user to include cadence or phase representative of a user initiated target movement during performance of the target movement, as taught by Brown, for the purpose of enabling the analysis of the sensor data to detect abnormalities or irregularities in a user’s gait and/or posture such that stimulation instructions can be determined for the user’s gait and/or posture correction (Brown; para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 39, the modified Oddson teaches wherein phase-aligned stimulation reduces step-time variability measured by the at least one sensor (stimulation device 110 on a foot can be used to time when a user should be stepping on that foot, thereby helping to reduce the variability of when that foot is used to step; the stepping action would be detected by the sensors) (Brown; para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 40, the modified Oddson teaches wherein the coordinated stimulation reduces attentional demand required for the user to perform the target movement (the balance information provided by the system is integrated into a patient’s unconscious postural control, thereby reducing the user’s conscious attentional demand required to keep their balance during dynamic activities such as walking) (Oddson; para. [0008]; para. [0052]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oddson in view of Jeffrey and Olaighin et al. (US 2018/0140842 A1).
Regarding claim 20, as best understood, Oddson discloses a method of guiding coordinated movement of limbs of a user (feedback device that provides stimulation to a wearer based on their balance information; the device can be used to provide stimulation for stance and dynamic activities such as walking, and thereby allow for the user to perform a corrective action with their lower limbs while walking) (Figs. 1-12; abstract; para. [0007]; para. [0052]; claim 1), comprising the steps of:
(a) providing a network of stimulators woven into a tightly fitting garment to be worn by the user, and wherein the textile or fabric material is adapted to fix the location of the network of stimulators (vibro-tactile array 52/stimulation array 68 is in a stocking on the leg, wherein each vibrator in the array is at a front, back, or side of the leg to stimulate that specific portion of the leg to help the wearer maintain their intended balance during dynamic activities such as walking; a stocking is made of fabric or textile) (Figs. 5-12; para. [0052]; paras. [0067-0068]; paras. [0070-0073]; para. [0080]);
(b) providing at least one control unit in communication with the network of stimulators, the control unit configured to generate a control signal to control frequency and amplitude of the network of stimulators (processing subsystem 54, 66 sends stimulation control signals to the vibro-tactile array 52/stimulation array 68, which can include modulating vibration stimulus amplitude and frequency) (Figs. 5-12; paras. [0067-0068]; para. [0075]; para. [0077]);
(c) providing a network of sensors in communication with the at least one control unit, the network of sensors being incorporated into the tightly fitting garment (processing subsystem 54, 66 communicates with force sensing resistors 50/force pressure sensor array 62/bi-axial goniometer 64 receive balance information; sensor array incorporated in a stocking, and so the sensor array would be held in place against the user’s leg/foot skin) (Figs. 5-12; paras. [0067-0068]; para. [0080]);
(d) providing a stimulus to the limbs through the network of stimulators to guide the movement of the limbs (vibro-tactile array 52/stimulation array 68 give a wearer vibration feedback to the legs on when to perform a corrective action) (Figs. 5-12; paras. [0067-0068]; claim 1);
(e) receiving data related to at least one parameter relating to a target movement from at least one sensor in the network of sensors (force sensing resistors 50/force pressure sensor array 62/bi-axial goniometer 64 receive balance information) (Figs. 5-12; paras. [0067-0068]);
(f) comparing the at least one parameter relating to the target movement with at least one pre-defined criteria (the center of pressure 88, 98 location is compared to the location of the dead zone 86) (Figs. 8-12; para. [0063]; paras. [0070-0074]);
(g) providing an adjusted stimulus to the limbs through a generated control signal by the at least one control unit when the at least one parameter does not meet the pre-defined criteria, wherein the adjusted stimulus is generated based on the data received related to the target movement and historical data (the system is meant to train a wearer’s unconscious postural control system, and so would give be used to give multiple different stimulations over time; a next vibration stimulus applied by the processing subsystem 54, 66 to the wearer’s body can be adjusted for a certain number of vibrators used, the locations of the vibrators used, and the frequency of the applied vibrations based on where the center of pressure 88, 98 is outside of the dead zone 86; this applied vibration is based on balance information sensed instantaneously and over time) (Figs. 5-12; para. [0005]; paras. [0070-0074]; claims 1, 3-5);
(h) ceasing stimulation when the parameter meets the pre-defined criteria (when the center of pressure 88, 98 is inside of the dead zone 86, there is no more applied vibration stimulus) (Figs. 8-12; para. [0070]); and
(i) coordinating the control signals to link the limbs in a cycle matching the target movement that reinforces target neuromuscular signals guiding muscle contractions, whereby improved coordination within and between the limbs is achieved by the user (applied vibrations from the vibrators are controlled to coordinate the legs during the cyclical activity of walking, to help the wearer to improve their balance by indicating when they should be adjusting their muscles, which would be done via the wearer’s neuromuscular signals, to achieve the normal walking movement) (Figs. 5-12; para. [0005]; para. [0052]; para. [0067]; paras. [0070-0076]).
Oddson does not disclose wherein each stimulator of the network of stimulators is received in a sheath adapted to hold each stimulator in place so as to enable each stimulator to move and vibrate effectively with a desired amount of tension, wherein the sheath comprises a first and second layer of rubber material, wherein at least the first layer of rubber material is fixedly attached to the textile or fabric substrate.
However, Jeffrey teaches a vibrator blanket (Jeffrey; abstract) wherein each stimulator of the network of stimulators is received in a sheath adapted to hold each stimulator in place so as to enable each stimulator to move and vibrate effectively with a desired amount of tension, (vibrator motor 17 fit into a boot 20 made of synthetic rubber; as Jeffrey teaches the structure as claimed, the vibrator motor 17 would thus be able function to vibrate effectively with a desired amount of tension as claimed) (Jeffrey; Figs. 3A-3B; col. 3, lines 56-67), wherein the sheath comprises a first and second layer of rubber material (vibrator motor 17 is between the mount 22 of boot 20 and the cylindrical portion of boot 20) (Jeffrey; Figs. 3A-3B; col. 3 lines 56-67), wherein at least the first layer of rubber material is fixedly attached to the textile or fabric substrate (the rubber boots 20 and mounts 22 can be connected with the blanket insulated fabric) (Jeffrey; Figs. 1, 3A-3B; col. 2 lines 5-8; col. 4 lines 27-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oddson stimulators such that each stimulator of the network of stimulators is received in a sheath adapted to hold each stimulator in place so as to enable each stimulator to move and vibrate effectively with a desired amount of tension, wherein the sheath comprises a first and second layer of rubber material, wherein at least the first layer of rubber material is fixedly attached to the textile or fabric substrate, as taught by Jeffrey, for the purpose of enabling the stimulators or vibrators to be removably secured (Jeffrey; col. 3, lines 56-62).
Oddson does not disclose the control signals to link the limbs in a predictable duty cycle matching the target movement.
However, Olaighin teaches a gait management apparatus that applies stimulation (Olaighin; abstract) wherein the control signals to link the limbs in a predictable duty cycle matching the target movement (cyclically, every 10 seconds, the controller modulates the stimulus to the legs to help the wearer coordinate leg movements to walk more normally, minimizing FOG incidence) (Olaighin; abstract; para. [0027]; para. [0031]; para. [0207]; paras. [0235-0241]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oddson control signals such that the control signals to link the limbs in a predictable duty cycle matching the target movement, as taught by Olaighin, for the purpose of enabling the system to cue the wearer only when they are not seated, standing still, or lying down (Olaighin; paras. [0030-0031]), thereby helping to avoid pointless cueing and to conserve power.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oddson in view of Jeffrey and Olaighin as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Brokaw et al. (US 9,974,478 B1).
Regarding claim 21, the modified Oddson teaches the invention as previously claimed, but does not teach further comprising the steps of: updating at least one stimulation setting based on the received data and the target movement to define at least one updated stimulation setting; and generating an optimised control signal with the updated stimulation setting to provide an adjusted stimulus to the limbs to guide the limbs towards achieving the intended target movement.
However, Brokaw teaches a system and method for helping subjects improve safety and efficacy of their movements (Brokaw; abstract) including updating at least one stimulation setting based on the received data and the target movement to define at least one updated stimulation setting; and generating an optimised control signal with the updated stimulation setting to provide an adjusted stimulus to the limbs to guide the limbs towards achieving the intended target movement (cues or stimuli are adaptive; if the subject does not notice or comprehend the stimulus, the system would recognize that the subject did not correct the undesirable movement, and so the intensity, duration, or frequency of the stimulus can be subsequently increased; an increased stimulus would then be applied to the subject via an output signal from a processor to apply the adapted stimulus to the subject to get the subject to correct the undesirable movement) (Brokaw; col. 44, lines 10-42; col. 50, lines 20-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oddson method to include updating at least one stimulation setting based on the received data and the target movement to define at least one updated stimulation setting; and generating an optimised control signal with the updated stimulation setting to provide an adjusted stimulus to the limbs to guide the limbs towards achieving the intended target movement, as taught by Brokaw, for the purpose of helping the user to notice a cue or stimulus after missing one, particularly in urgent situations, and thereby help the user to correct an undesirable movement (Brokaw; col. 44, lines 10-42).
Claims 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oddson in view of Olaighin, or alternatively over Oddson in view of Brown and Olaighin.
Regarding claim 37, as best understood, Oddson discloses a stimulation system adapted to assist guiding target movement of at least part of a body (feedback device that provides stimulation to a wearer based on their balance information; the device can be used to provide stimulation for stance and dynamic activities such as walking, and thereby allow for the user to perform a corrective action with their lower limbs while walking) (Figs. 1-12; abstract; para. [0007]; para. [0052]; claim 1), the system comprising:
a network of stimulators adapted to be disposed directly or indirectly to the body in a predefined location based on an area of the body to which stimulation is to be provided (vibro-tactile array 52/stimulation array 68 is in a stocking on the leg, wherein each vibrator in the array is at a front, back, or side of the leg to stimulate that specific portion of the leg) (Figs. 5-12; para. [0052]; paras. [0067-0068]; paras. [0070-0073]; para. [0080]);
at least one control unit in communication with the network of stimulators, the at least one control unit configured to generate a control signal to control the network of stimulators (processing subsystem 54, 66 sends stimulation control signals to the vibro-tactile array 52/stimulation array 68, which can include modulating vibration stimulus amplitude and frequency) (Figs. 5-12; paras. [0067-0068]; para. [0075]; para. [0077]); and
a plurality of sensors in communication with the at least one control unit, the plurality of sensors configured to monitor parameters related to the target movement and determine a movement cadence or phase representative of a user-initiated movement during performance of the target movement, wherein the control signal is generated on the basis of the monitored movement parameters (processing subsystem 54, 66 communicates with force sensing resistors 50/force pressure sensor array 62/bi-axial goniometer 64, which receive balance information; the wearer would be intending to maintain their balance during their movements, with the resulting movement being sensed by the sensors; sensed walking/balance information includes foot force/pressure, ankle angle, knee angle, and angular velocity, which describe the user’s cadence, swing phases, and step phases; the applied vibration is based on the sensed information) (Figs. 5-12; para. [0019]; para. [0052]; paras. [0067-0068]; para. [0082]),
wherein the network of stimulators is configured to provide stimulation of a peripheral nervous system of the user and wherein stimulus control signals are coordinated to link movement of the at least part of the body in a cycle matching target movement that reinforce target neuromuscular signals guiding muscle contractions (stimulation array vibrators can be in contact with sensory nerves; stimulation array vibrators are controlled to coordinate the legs during the cyclical activity of walking, to help the wearer to improve their balance by indicating when they should be adjusting their muscles, which would be done via the wearer’s neuromuscular signals, to achieve the normal walking movement) (Figs. 5-12; para. [0005]; para. [0052]; para. [0067]; paras. [0070-0076]; para. [0091]); and
wherein timing of the control signal to the network of stimulators is determined using feedback from the plurality of sensors so that the cycle of the control signal is increased or decreased until the cycle matches the target movement of the user (when the vibrators vibrate is controlled based on when the wearer’s center of pressure is sensed to be outside of a dead zone 86; higher or lower frequencies of vibration can be used until the wearer’s center of pressure moves inside the dead zone 86, during which there would be no vibration applied) (Figs. 8-12; paras. [0070-0075]).
Alternatively, if Oddson is not seen as definitively disclosing the plurality of sensors configured to monitor parameters related to the target movement and determine a movement cadence or phase representative of a user-initiated movement during performance of the target movement, Brown teaches a system for corrective gait modification (Brown; abstract) wherein the plurality of sensors are configured to monitor parameters related to the target movement and determine a movement cadence or phase representative of a user-initiated movement during performance of the target movement (using sensors to collect a user’s pressure and acceleration data, a user’s current gait can be profiled; gait includes step and swing phases) (Brown; para. [0002]; paras. [0021-0022]; para. [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oddson plurality of sensors such that the plurality of sensors configured to monitor parameters related to the target movement and determine a movement cadence or phase representative of a user-initiated movement during performance of the target movement, as taught by Brown, for the purpose of enabling the analysis of the sensor data to detect abnormalities or irregularities in a user’s gait and/or posture such that stimulation instructions can be determined for the user’s gait and/or posture correction (Brown; para. [0028]).
Oddson does not disclose stimulus control signals are coordinated to link movement of the at least part of the body in a predictable duty cycle matching target movement.
However, Olaighin teaches a gait management apparatus that applies stimulation (Olaighin; abstract) stimulus control signals are coordinated to link movement of the at least part of the body in a predictable duty cycle matching target movement (cyclically, every 10 seconds, the controller modulates the stimulus to the legs to help the wearer coordinate leg movements to walk more normally, minimizing FOG incidence) (Olaighin; abstract; para. [0027]; para. [0031]; para. [0207]; paras. [0235-0241]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oddson stimulus control signals such that stimulus control signals are coordinated to link movement of the at least part of the body in a predictable duty cycle matching target movement, as taught by Olaighin, for the purpose of enabling the system to cue the wearer only when they are not seated, standing still, or lying down (Olaighin; paras. [0030-0031]), thereby helping to avoid pointless cueing and to conserve power.
Regarding claim 38, the modified Oddson teaches the invention as previously claimed, but does not teach wherein the network of stimulators comprise electrical nerve stimulators adapted to be held against skin of the user (feedback from stimulation array held against the leg/foot skin of the user can be electrotactile; stimulation array may be in contact with sensory nerves) (Oddson; Figs. 5-12; para. [0088]; para. [0091]; claim 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 11-12 in the “Claim Objections” section of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argues that the claims have been amended to overcome the claim objections of the previous office action. The Examiner agrees, and has thus withdrawn those claim objections. However, the newly amended claims have raised new claim objections as detailed above.
On page 12 in the “Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 112” section of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argues that the claims have been amended to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of the previous office action. The Examiner partially agrees, and has thus withdrawn those 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections which were addressed. However, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections which were not addressed are being maintained, along with new 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections raised by the newly amended claims as detailed above.
On page 13 in the last paragraph to page 15 in the first paragraph of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argues that the Oddson reference does not disclose any movement of a limb or part of a limb being guided directly by stimulation of the peripheral nervous system, and so cannot be used to teach the Applicant’s claimed invention. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Oddson processing subsystem 54, 66 sends stimulation control signals to the vibro-tactile array 52/stimulation array 68 which vibrate to guide the wearer to improve their balance by moving their leg. As the user would have to feel the vibration on their leg in order to respond with a corrective movement action, the vibration on the user’s leg would have to reach the peripheral nervous system’s sensory nerves that sense tactile sensations such as vibrations (Oddson; Figs. 5-12; paras. [0067-0068]; para. [0073]; para. [0091]; claim 1). Therefore, the user’s corrective movement action of their leg is guided by vibration stimulation of the peripheral nervous system in Oddson. Thus, the Oddson device can still be used to teach the Applicant’s invention as currently claimed.
On page 18 in the first paragraph to page 19 in the first paragraph of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argues that the Oddson reference does not disclose unconscious movement of a limb or part of a limb in response to timed and located stimulation of the peripheral nervous system, as it relies on the user taking a conscious remedial action to regain postural control, and so cannot be used to teach the Applicant’s claimed invention. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., unconscious movement of a limb or part of a limb in response to timed and located stimulation of the peripheral nervous system) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Moreover, the Applicant’s claimed invention does not preclude a user from ever taking a conscious remedial action while first learning how the user the device before the user’s conscious remedial action becomes second nature so as to be an unconscious action. Thus, this argument is moot, and the Oddson device can still be used to teach the Applicant’s invention as currently claimed.
On page 19 in the last two paragraphs of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argues that the Oddson stimulators do not trigger unconscious or involuntary movement of the knee or leg, but rather provide the user with information to enable balance corrections, and so is a learned conscious system rather than an unconscious system, and so cannot be used to teach the Applicant’s claimed invention. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., triggering unconscious or involuntary movement of the knee or leg) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Moreover, the Applicant’s claimed invention does not preclude providing the user with information to enable learned balance corrections either consciously or unconsciously. Thus, this argument is moot, and the Oddson device can still be used to teach the Applicant’s invention as currently claimed.
On page 20 in the first paragraph to page 21 in the second paragraph of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argues that the none of the other cited references correct the Applicant’s argued deficiencies of Oddson, and so the current prior art of record cannot be used to teach the Applicant’s claimed invention. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained above, Oddson can still be used to teach the Applicant’s invention as currently claimed, so the other prior art of record is not needed to teach an unconscious system. Thus, the current prior art of record can still be used to teach the Applicant’s invention as currently claimed.
Applicant’s arguments on page 21 in the last paragraph to page 24 in the first paragraph with respect to the newly amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection with new additional Brown reference being used in the current rejection as discussed above.
On page 24 in the second paragraph and page 25 in the last two paragraphs of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argues that their invention results in movement reinforcement through neuromuscular entrainment rather than a consciously learned response or trigger cueing as in Oddson, and thus Oddson cannot be used to teach the Applicant’s claimed invention. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., movement reinforcement through neuromuscular entrainment) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Moreover, the Applicant explains the movement reinforcement through neuromuscular entrainment is achieved through having a plurality of stimulators on an area of the body to which stimulation is provided by the garment, which stimulates multiple peripheral sensing receptors in the peripheral nervous system. Oddson teaches such a structure and function, as Oddson teaches a plurality of vibrators in a stimulation array can be fixed in a stocking, wherein the vibrators are located at the front, back, and both sides of the leg in the stocking to stimulate that specific portion of the leg. Such vibration on a leg would inherently stimulate the peripheral nerve receptors a user naturally has for feeling tactile sensations. Also, the Oddson vibro-tactile array 52/stimulation array 68 can be in contact with sensory neurons or nerves, and so would stimulate those sensory neurons or nerve when vibrating (Oddson; Figs. 5-12; paras. [0067-0068]; paras. [0070-0073]; para. [0080]; para. [0091]). Furthermore, the Applicant’s claimed invention does not preclude the user having a learned response or trigger cueing. Thus, the Oddson device can still be used to teach the Applicant’s invention as currently claimed.
On page 24 in the last paragraph of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argues that their invention helps to develop two-way entrainment between the peripheral and central nervous systems so that movement responses persist after stimulation is removed, and thus the current prior art of record cannot be used to teach the Applicant’s claimed invention. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., helping to develop two-way entrainment between the peripheral and central nervous systems so that movement responses persist after stimulation is removed) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Thus, this argument is moot, and the current prior art of record can still be used to teach the Applicant’s invention as currently claimed.
On page 26 in the first paragraph of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argues that their invention’s technical improvements demonstrate unexpected results as experimental data shows a reduction in gait variability, improved walking speed, persistence of trained movement, and reduction of mental effort required to walk. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Simply providing evidence that there are experimental benefits to treating a patient with the Applicant’s invention is not sufficient to show unexpected results. According to the MPEP 716.02(b) and MPEP 716.02(e), the evidence for unexpected results should involve a difference or a comparison of the Applicant’s claimed invention versus the closest prior art of record. While the Applicant has experimental data showing their invention can improve a user’s gait variability, walking speed, persistence of trained movement, and reduction of mental effort required to walk, the Applicant has not yet provided data to compare their beneficial results in treating patients to results of treatment with the Oddson invention to prove they are unexpected results. Thus, the Oddson device can still be used to teach the Applicant’s invention as currently claimed.
Conclusion
/JACQUELINE M PINDERSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785