DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, the amendment insertion “wherein the constructing the sensing parameter model based on the initial grayscale data, the initial sensing data, and the initial sensing parameter further comprises” should have read “....and the initial state parameter further comprises”, for proper antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US PGPub 2023/0083238) in view of Chu et al. (US PGPub 2021/0225325).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a pixel compensation method (figs. 2-7, methods for driving a pixel circuit), wherein the pixel compensation method is applied to a display device ([0005], “a method for driving a pixel circuit to alleviate problems such as an uneven display and image sticking caused by insufficient charging time and to improve the display effect of a device”), the display device includes a (fig. 1, pixel circuit), the pixel units are provided with a sensing unit for sensing brightness of the pixel units ([0040], “The reference signal line V2 may be used as a sensing signal line to be connected to the ADC and to read the gate voltage of the drive transistor M1 in the sensing stage of external compensation”), and the method comprises:
acquiring target grayscale data (fig. 2, step S110, theoretical voltage);
sensing (fig. 2, step S110 actual voltage);
determining sensing error data of the pixel unit according to actual sensing data and theoretical sensing data corresponding to the target grayscale data ([0081], “the difference value between the theoretical threshold voltage of the drive transistor and an actual threshold voltage at each gray level among the actual threshold voltages at different gray levels is computed to determine the deviation values of the threshold voltages of the drive transistor at different gray levels”);
compensating the target grayscale data of the pixel unit based on the sensing error data (fig. 2, step S130).
While Wang teaches a method for driving a pixel circuit to alleviate problems such as an uneven display and image sticking caused by insufficient charging time and to improve the display effect of a device (Wang: [0005]), other pixel compensation methods have been known such as those taught by Chu (Chu abstract, pixel compensation method). In a similar field of endeavor of pixel compensation of display devices, Chu discloses a plurality of pixel units ([0132], “The display screen includes a plurality of pixels 10 arranged in an array”) and sensing brightness of the pixel unit when emitting light with the target grayscale data to acquire actual sensing data ([0135], “Step 301. Sense a plurality of subpixels in a first target grayscale of the display screen by using a plurality of photosensitive units, to obtain an actual luminance value of each subpixel”),
acquiring initial grayscale data (Chu: fig. 3, step 301 recites a first target grayscale and further step 4011a of fig. 5);
sensing brightness of the pixel unit when emitting light with the initial grayscale data to acquire initial sensing data; acquiring an initial state parameter corresponding to the initial sensing data, the initial state parameter including an initial light emission duration of the pixel unit and an initial specification parameter of an integral capacitance in the sensing unit when the pixel unit emits light with the initial grayscale data; constructing the sensing parameter model based on the initial grayscale data, the initial sensing data, and the initial state parameter (Chu: [0142], “To sum up, in the pixel compensation method provided in this embodiment of the present disclosure, the display screen may sense the subpixel by using the photosensitive unit, to obtain the actual luminance value of the subpixel, determine the theoretical luminance value of the subpixel based on the compensation sensing model, and then perform pixel compensation on the subpixel based on the theoretical luminance value and the actual luminance value of the subpixel, thereby implementing pixel compensation during use of the display screen” Additionally, figs. 4-5 recites a pixel compensation method which can be used with the embodiment of fig. 3. Specifically step 401 of fig. 4 recites generating a compensation sensing model where fig. 5 teaches the details of this step. [0148], “Substep 4011a. Sense the plurality of subpixels in each of them target grayscales by using the plurality of photosensitive units, to obtain a theoretical luminance value of each subpixel in each target grayscale” and step 401a; generating a compensation sensing model based on theoretical pixel data corresponding to the m target grayscales and theoretical sensing data corresponding to the m target grayscales. [0171], “The sensing parameter value of the photosensitive unit includes an illumination time and an integration capacitance” which affects the luminance value and thus affects the compensation sensing model);
analyzing the target grayscale data by a pre-constructed sensing parameter model to determine the theoretical sensing data when the pixel unit emits light with the target grayscale data ([0137], “The compensation sensing model is used to record a correspondence between target grayscales and theoretical pixel data, and the theoretical pixel data includes the reference luminance value of each subpixel.” Where at [0170]-[0171] a step of adjusting a sensing parameter value where “The sensing parameter value of the photosensitive unit includes an illumination time and an integration capacitance, and when the sensing parameter value of the photosensitive unit corresponding to each subpixel is adjusted, the illumination time and the integration capacitance of each photosensitive unit may be adjusted based on priorities”. Where the step of “adjusting” the sensing parameter would not be performed based on a random selection and therefore would require some model, or code or appropriate steps, to be followed to perform the step of adjusting.);
wherein the constructing the sensing parameter model based on the initial grayscale data, the initial sensing data, and the initial state parameter comprises:
determining whether the initial sensing data is within the sensing threshold range preset to acquire a sensing data determination result (fig. 6, step 4011a5);
when the sensing data determination result is that the initial sensing data is within the sensing threshold range, using the initial grayscale data, the initial sensing data, and the initial state parameter as a first model parameter of the sensing parameter model (fig. 6, step 4011a6);
when the sensing data determination result is that the initial sensing data is not within the sensing threshold range, adjusting the initial state parameter to acquire a target state parameter unit the target sensing data corresponding to the target state parameter is within the sensing threshold range (step 4011a7);
using the initial grayscale data, the target state parameter, and the target sensing data as a second model parameter of the sensing parameter model (fig. 6, step 4011a8);
constructing the sensing parameter model based on the first model parameter and/or the second model parameter (fig. 5, step 4014a, generating a compensation sensing model based on theoretical pixel data, target grayscales and theoretical sensing data, where the theoretical pixel data is sensed in step 4011a where substep 4011a7 includes adjusting a sensing parameter),
wherein the constructing the sensing parameter model based on the initial grayscale data, the initial sensing data, and the initial sensing parameter comprises:
when the display device is in a black screen state, acquiring sensing data of the sensing unit in a state when no light is sensed to acquire reference sensing data (Chu: [0151], “a grayscale of the display screen may be adjusted to the grayscale L0, so that the display screen displays the black image. Then the plurality of photosensitive units is controlled to sense the plurality of subpixels. In this case, a luminance value obtained through sensing by each photosensitive unit may be the initial luminance value of the corresponding subpixel” and [0153], “Therefore, a luminance value of the subpixel is actually 0. In this embodiment of the present disclosure, the initial luminance value of the subpixel is actually the luminance value obtained through sensing by the photosensitive unit when the display screen displays the black image (in other words, the processing element determines the luminance value based on the dark current that is output by the photosensitive element), rather than the luminance value of the subpixel. In this embodiment of the present disclosure, for convenience of description, the luminance value obtained through sensing by the photosensitive unit when the display screen displays the black image is referred to as the initial luminance value of the subpixel”);
subtracting the initial sensing data from the reference sensing data to acquire an initial sensing difference when the sensing data determination result is that the initial sensing data is within the sensing threshold range (Chu: [0155], “the luminance correction value of each subpixel may be a difference between the initial luminance value of each subpixel and an initial luminance value of a reference subpixel”);
updating the first model parameter of the sensing parameter model based on the initial sensing difference corresponding to the initial sensing data, the initial grayscale data, and the initial state parameter (Chu teaches at fig. 4 steps of generating a compensation sensing model (step 401) and updating the reference luminance value in the compensation sensing model (step 408). Chu further teaches at fig. 6 an implementation of step 401 which includes substeps 4011a1-4011a8. Chu discloses at [0155] that “the luminance correction value of each subpixel may be a difference between the initial luminance value of each subpixel and an initial luminance value of a reference subpixel, or may be a difference between the initial luminance value of each subpixel and an average value of initial luminance values of all subpixels of the display screen” where [0156] further provides details explain the difference between the initial luminance value and the reference value. Chu further discloses at [0157], “It should be noted that the photosensitive element, the current integrator, the TFT, and the like all have errors. Therefore, the luminance value obtained by sensing the subpixel by the photosensitive unit also have an error. In this embodiment of the present disclosure, the initial luminance value of each subpixel is determined, and the luminance correction value of each subpixel is determined based on the initial luminance value of each subpixel, so as to subsequently correct the luminance value of each subpixel, to eliminate impact of the errors of the photosensitive element, the current integrator, and the TFT on the luminance value of the subpixel obtained through sensing by the photosensitive unit”. Where the initial luminance value reads on the initial sensing data, the reference value reads on the initial grayscale data and error of the photosensitive element reads on the initial state parameter).
In view of the teachings of Wang and Chu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the specific and/or alternative steps of creating a grayscale compensation model as reference for actual sensed data for determining the grayscale compensation as taught by Chu, in the grayscale compensation method of Wang as known specific or alternative implementation, for the purpose of improving display uniformity by compensating based on the aging of pixels of a display screen using such compensation reference model (Chu: [0131]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wang and Chu further discloses wherein the constructing the sensing parameter model based on the initial grayscale data, the initial sensing data, and the initial sensing parameter comprises:
when the target sensing data corresponding to the target state parameter is within the sensing threshold range, subtracting the target sensing data from the reference sensing parameter to acquire a target initial sensing difference (Chu: fig. 6, step 4011a7);
updating the second model parameter of the sensing parameter model based on the target initial sensing difference corresponding to the target sensing data, the initial grayscale data, and the target state parameter (Chu: fig. 6, step 4011a8).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wang and Chu further discloses wherein the adjusting the initial state parameter to acquire the target state parameter comprises:
adjusting an initial light emission duration in the initial state parameter to acquire a target initial light emission duration (Chu: [0040], adjusting illumination time);
adjusting the initial specification parameter of the integral capacitance in the initial state parameter to acquire a target initial specification parameter of the integral capacitance when the initial light emission duration is adjusted to a preset duration range upper limit (Chu: [0040], “Optionally, the sensing parameter value of the photosensitive unit comprises an illumination time and an integration capacitance, and the adjusting a sensing parameter value of a photosensitive unit corresponding to each subpixel comprises: adjusting at least one of the illumination time and the integration capacitance of the photosensitive unit corresponding to each subpixel based on a priority of the illumination time and a priority of the integration capacitance, wherein the priority of the illumination time is higher than the priority of the integration capacitance”);
using the target initial emission duration and/or the target initial specification parameter of the integral capacitance collectively as the target state parameter (Chu: [0040], “the sensing parameter value of the photosensitive unit comprises an illumination time and an integration capacitance”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wang and Chu further discloses wherein after adjusting the initial specification parameter of the integral capacitance in the initial state parameter to acquire the target initial specification parameter of the integral capacitance, the method comprises:
acquiring the sensing data of the sensing unit in a state that no light is sensed and updating the reference sensing data when the display device is in the black screen state again based on the target initial specification parameter of the integral capacitance (Chu: [0153], “It should be noted that the photosensitive element outputs the current signal, and a dark current exists in the photosensitive element without light irradiation. Therefore, when the display screen displays the black image, the processing element of the photosensitive unit may determine the luminance value based on the dark current that is output by the photosensitive element. When the display screen displays the black image, the subpixel actually emits no light. Therefore, a luminance value of the subpixel is actually 0. In this embodiment of the present disclosure, the initial luminance value of the subpixel is actually the luminance value obtained through sensing by the photosensitive unit when the display screen displays the black image (in other words, the processing element determines the luminance value based on the dark current that is output by the photosensitive element), rather than the luminance value of the subpixel. In this embodiment of the present disclosure, for convenience of description, the luminance value obtained through sensing by the photosensitive unit when the display screen displays the black image is referred to as the initial luminance value of the subpixel”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wang and Chu further discloses wherein the target grayscale data comprises first target grayscale data, the display device comprises N rows of pixel unit rows, N is a natural number, and the acquiring target grayscale data comprises:
acquiring first target grayscale data of each pixel unit in an nth row of the pixel units of the display device, wherein n is a natural number less than or equal to N (Wang: [0037], “The difference value between the theoretical threshold voltage of the drive transistor and an actual threshold voltage of the drive transistor at each gray level among the actual threshold voltages of the drive transistor at different gray levels is computed to determine the deviation values of the threshold voltages of the drive transistor at different gray levels” where n and N are both equal 1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wang and Chu further discloses wherein the actual sensing data comprises first actual sensing data, and the sensing the brightness of the pixel unit when emitting light with the target grayscale data comprises:
modifying an initial specification parameter of the sensing unit to acquire a first initial specification parameter corresponding to the first target grayscale data, the sensing unit sensing the pixel unit with the first initial specification parameter (Chu: fig. 4 and [0204], “Step 403. Adjust the sensing parameter value of each photosensitive unit based on the theoretical sensing data corresponding to the first target grayscale, so that the sensing parameter value of each photosensitive unit is a theoretical sensing parameter value”);
sensing the brightness of the pixel unit when emitting light with the first target grayscale data to acquire the first actual sensing data (Chu: fig. 4 and [0208], “Step 404. Sense the plurality of subpixels in the first target grayscale based on the corresponding theoretical sensing parameter values by using the plurality of photosensitive units, to obtain an actual luminance value of each subpixel.”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wang and Chu further discloses wherein the sensing error data comprises first sensing error data, and the determining the sensing error data of the pixel unit according to the actual sensing data and the theoretical sensing data corresponding to the target grayscale data comprises:
determining the first sensing error data of the pixel unit from the first actual sensing data and first theoretical sensing data corresponding to the first target grayscale data (Chu: fig. 4 and [0211], “In this embodiment of the present disclosure, the theoretical pixel data corresponding to each target grayscale in the compensation sensing model includes a reference luminance value of each subpixel in each target grayscale. Therefore, the compensation sensing model may be queried based on the first target grayscale, to obtain theoretical pixel data corresponding to the first target grayscale. Then the reference luminance value of each subpixel in the first target grayscale is determined from the theoretical pixel data corresponding to the first target grayscale”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wang and Chu further discloses wherein the compensating the target grayscale data of the pixel unit according to the sensing error data comprises:
compensating the first target grayscale data of the pixel unit based on the first sensing error data (Chu: fig. 4 and [0220], “Step 407. Perform pixel compensation on each subpixel based on the actual luminance value of each subpixel and the theoretical luminance value of each subpixel”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wang and Chu further discloses wherein the target grayscale data comprises second target grayscale data, and the acquiring the target grayscale data comprises:
acquiring second target grayscale data previously saved by the display device at a reset scan point stage of the display device (Chu: [0016], “the compensation sensing model is used to record a one-to-one correspondence between target grayscales, theoretical pixel data, and theoretical sensing data, the theoretical sensing data comprises a theoretical sensing parameter value of each photosensitive unit, and the theoretical sensing parameter value of each photosensitive unit is a sensing parameter value when each photosensitive unit senses the corresponding subpixel and obtains a corresponding theoretical luminance value”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wang and Chu further discloses wherein the actual sensing data comprises second actual sensing data, and the sensing the brightness of the pixel unit when emitting light with the target grayscale data to acquire the actual sensing data, comprising:
modifying an initial specification parameter of the sensing unit to acquire a second initial specification parameter of the second target grayscale data, the sensing unit sensing the pixel unit with the second initial specification parameter (Chu: [0022], “the display screen has m target grayscales, the first target grayscale is any one of the m target grayscales, m is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and the reference luminance value is the theoretical luminance value”);
sensing the brightness of the pixel unit when emitting light with the second target grayscale data to acquire the second actual sensing data (Chu: fig. 5, step 4011a is performed for m target grayscales).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wang and Chu further discloses wherein the sensing error data comprises second sensing error data, and the determining the sensing error data of the pixel unit according to the actual sensing data and the theoretical sensing data corresponding to the target grayscale data comprises:
determining the second sensing error data of the pixel unit according to the second actual sensing data and second theoretical sensing data corresponding to the second target grayscale data (Wang: [0036], “The difference value between the theoretical threshold voltage of the drive transistor and an actual threshold voltage of the drive transistor at each gray level among the actual threshold voltages of the drive transistor at different gray levels is computed to determine deviation values of threshold voltages of the drive transistor at different gray levels.”).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wang and Chu further discloses wherein the compensating the target grayscale data of the pixel unit according to the sensing error data comprises:
compensating the second target grayscale data of the pixel unit based on the second sensing error data (Wang: [0036], “The compensation data voltages of the drive transistor at different gray levels are determined according to the deviation values of the threshold voltages of the drive transistor at different gray levels”).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wang and Chu further discloses wherein the compensating the target grayscale data of the pixel unit according to the sensing error data comprises:
determining whether the sensing error data exceeds a preset error threshold range, and acquiring a determination result;
compensating the target grayscale data of the pixel unit based on the determination result (Chu: fig. 6 step 4001a5 determining whether a corrected luminance value of each subpixel falls within a preset luminance value range and 4011a6, 4011a7, and 4011a8).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wang and Chu further discloses wherein the determining the sensing error data of the pixel unit based on the actual sensing data and the theoretical sensing data corresponding to the target grayscale data comprises:
determining the sensing error data based on a following operational mode:
ΔSense = RealSense x Gain - TargetSense,
wherein RealSense is the actual sensing data, TargetSense is the target sensing data, ΔSense is the sensing error data, and Gain is a screen display gain value (Chu: [0014]-[0015] compensation error = compensation factor x actual luminance – theoretical luminance).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wang and Chu further discloses wherein the compensating the target grayscale data of the pixel unit according to the sensing error data comprises:
compensating the target grayscale data of the pixel unit based on a following operation mode:
GL” = GL’ ± Step, Step>0,
wherein GL’ is the target grayscale data of the pixel unit before compensation, GL” is the target grayscale data of the pixel unit after compensation, and Step is a pixel compensation value for compensating the target grayscale data (Wang: [0081], “The deviation values of the threshold voltages of the drive transistor at all gray levels are computed according to the theoretical threshold voltage of the drive transistor and the actual threshold voltages of the drive transistor at all gray levels. In this manner, the compensation data voltages of the drive transistors at all gray levels are obtained, and a data voltage written through the data signal line is compensated” where data is compensated based on the deviation values).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Wang and Chu further discloses wherein the compensating the second target grayscale data of the pixel unit based on the second sensing error data comprises:
determining whether the second sensing error data exceeds a preset second error threshold range, and acquiring a second determination result (Wang: [0081], “the difference value between the theoretical threshold voltage of the drive transistor and an actual threshold voltage at each gray level among the actual threshold voltages at different gray levels is computed to determine the deviation values of the threshold voltages of the drive transistor at different gray levels”);
compensating the second target grayscale data of the pixel unit based on the second determination result (Wang: fig. 2, step S130, where the method of Wang would be performed a plurality of times and would therefore update over time).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, Applicants argue “Chu does not disclose, teach or otherwise suggest how to update the sensing parameter model, let alone ‘updating the first model parameter of the sensing parameter model based on the initial sensing difference corresponding to the initial sensing data, the initial grayscale data, and the initial state parameter’ (page 8, paragraph 5), however Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner maintains Chu teaches at fig. 4 steps of generating a compensation sensing model (step 401) and updating the reference luminance value in the compensation sensing model (step 408). Chu further teaches at fig. 6 an implementation of step 401 which includes substeps 4011a1-4011a8. Chu discloses at [0155] that “the luminance correction value of each subpixel may be a difference between the initial luminance value of each subpixel and an initial luminance value of a reference subpixel, or may be a difference between the initial luminance value of each subpixel and an average value of initial luminance values of all subpixels of the display screen” where [0156] further provides details explain the difference between the initial luminance value and the reference value. Chu further discloses at [0157], “It should be noted that the photosensitive element, the current integrator, the TFT, and the like all have errors. Therefore, the luminance value obtained by sensing the subpixel by the photosensitive unit also have an error. In this embodiment of the present disclosure, the initial luminance value of each subpixel is determined, and the luminance correction value of each subpixel is determined based on the initial luminance value of each subpixel, so as to subsequently correct the luminance value of each subpixel, to eliminate impact of the errors of the photosensitive element, the current integrator, and the TFT on the luminance value of the subpixel obtained through sensing by the photosensitive unit”. Where the initial luminance value reads on the initial sensing data, the reference value reads on the initial grayscale data and error of the photosensitive element reads on the initial state parameter. Applicants further argue “Wang never involves any model, let alone ‘sensing parameter model’” (page 8, paragraph 7), however Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation a model is an abstract representation of a real-world system or phenomenon using mathematical concepts, equations, and relationships to analyze, predict, or understand its behavior. Wang teaches at [0075], “The correspondence relationship curve between gray level voltages and actual threshold voltages of the drive transistor is fitted according to five classic gray level voltages and a plurality of actual threshold voltages of the drive transistor in one-to-one correspondence with the five classic gray level voltages. The actual threshold voltages of the drive transistor at all gray levels are obtained according to the correspondence relationship curve between the gray level voltages and the actual threshold voltages of the drive transistor. Thus, the deviation values of the threshold voltages of the drive transistor at all gray levels are computed according to the theoretical threshold voltage of the drive transistor and the actual threshold voltages of the drive transistor at all gray levels”. The relationship of Wang reads on a model. Therefore, the combination of Wang and Chu teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (US 11,030,946) discloses “After the light sensing component obtains the detected brightness, a FFT operation may be executed on the detected brightness to obtain the frequency-domain amplitude of the display refresh rate, and the amplitude may be substituted into the prediction model for calculation to estimate the value of impact of the present display brightness of the display array on ambient brightness determination of the light sensing component. Then, the value of impact estimated by the prediction model may be subtracted from the detected brightness obtained by each channel of the light sensing component to determine the calculation parameter configured to calculate the ambient brightness. Finally, the calculation parameter of each channel may be substituted into a formula (for example, the formula (17)) for calculation of the ambient brightness to determine the ambient brightness Lux.” (column 15, lines 36-51).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EJF/
/BENJAMIN C LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2629