DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3, 6-12, 14, 17, 19, 21 and 23-28 are pending in the instant application and subject to examination herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) – Withdrawn
The prior rejection of claims 7 and 27 under U.S.C. § 112(b) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment of claims 7 and 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d) – Withdrawn
The prior rejection of claims 23 and 28 under U.S.C. § 112(d) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment of claims 23 and 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 – Withdrawn
The prior rejection of claims 1, 6-11, 19, 24-26 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huston (WO 2015/073836 A1) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 24.
The prior rejection of claims 1, 6, 8-10, 14, 23-28 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Veale (Veale, et al.; Medicinal Chemistry Communications, v9, pp2037-2044; 2018) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment of claims 1, 23-24 and 28.
The prior rejection of claims 1, 6, 8-10, 17 and 24 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Norcross (Norcross, et al.; Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, v59, pp6101-6120; 2016) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 24.
The prior rejection of claims 1, 6, 8-10, 21 and 23-28 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spalenka (Spalenka, et al.; Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, v62, article e01640-17; pp1-10; 2018) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment of claims 1, 23-24 and 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 – Necessitated by Amendments
Claims 1, 6, 9-11, 21 and 24-25 are anticipated by Tebbe.
Claims 1, 6, 9-11, 21 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tebbe (WO 2017/059191 A1).
Claim 1 is directed to a method of treating or inhibiting a parasitic disease in a subject comprising administering a composition comprising a compound of given formula, being a genus of pyrimidine/pyrimidinone compounds or super-annulated derivatives thereof, as shown in the table below. Claim 24 is directed to a compound of the same genus/structural formula as given in claim 1.
Tebbe discloses inhibitors of sepiapterin reductase (SPR) and uses of SPR inhibitors in the treatment of SPR-related diseases and/or disorders, including immunological disorders, including toxoplasmosis (paragraphs [0003]-[0005], [0067], [0070] and [0080]). Tebbe discloses compounds that anticipate the formulae of instant claims 1 and 24, including Tebbe’s compound Q-2801 shown in the table below (Table C, paragraph [0046], page 36):
Claim Number(s) of Instant Application
Instant Application
Tebbe
1, 24
wherein:
Thus, claims 1 and 24 are anticipated by the disclosure of Tebbe.
Claim 6 further limits claim 1 to wherein the subject suffering from the parasitic infection is human. Tebbe discloses that the preferred subject for treatments disclosed therein is human (paragraph [0066]).
Claim 9 further limits the method of claim 1 to wherein the composition to be administered comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, excipient or solvent. Claim 10 further limits claim 1 to wherein the composition is administered by any of a Markush group of administration routes that includes oral administration. Claim 11 further limits claim 10 to a Markush group of oral administration compositions that includes capsule and tablet. Tebbe discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising a compound disclosed therein with a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient such as diluent or carrier (paragraph [0081]), and further discloses such compositions for oral administration in the form of capsules and tablets (paragraph [0088]).
Claim 21 further limits claim 8 to a disease caused by Toxoplasma gondii (i.e., toxoplasmosis), and is met by the disclosure of Tebbe.
Claim 25 further limits the genus of compounds of claim 24 to a narrower genus that is also met by Tebbe’s compound Q-280 shown in the table above.
Thus, claims 6, 9-11, 21 and 25 are anticipated by the disclosure of Tebbe.
Claims 24-25 are anticipated by Flaherty.
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Flaherty (US 2021/0100797 A1)2.
The limitations of claims 24-25 are discussed in the rejection above and hereby incorporated into the instant rejection.
Flaherty discloses a genus of pyrimidinone compounds as adenylyl cyclase 1 (AC1) inhibitors, including multiple compounds that anticipate the genus of compounds of claim 24, such as Flaherty’s compound 53 shown in the table below (paragraph [0138]):
Claim Number(s) of Instant Application
Instant Application
Flaherty
24
wherein:
Thus, claims 24-25 are anticipated by the disclosure of Flaherty.
Claims 24-28 are anticipated by Watts.
Claims 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Watts (US Patent No. 10,662,176 B2)4.
The limitations of claims 24-25 are discussed in the rejection above and hereby incorporated into the instant rejection.
Watts discloses a genus of pyrimidinone compounds as adenylyl cyclase 1 (AC1) inhibitors, including multiple compounds that anticipate the genus of compounds of claim 24, such as the example shown in the table below:
Claim Number(s) of Instant Application
Instant Application
Watts
24
wherein:
N-[1-(5-ethyl-6-methyl-4-oxo-1,4-dihydropyrimidin-2-yl)-3-methyl-1H-pyrazol-5-yl]-4-chlorobenzamide
(Col. 19, lines 1-17)
Thus, claim 24 is anticipated by the disclosure of Watts.
Claims 25-27 further limit claim 24, each to a narrower genus of compounds, and each is met by Watts’ compound 9 shown in the table above.
Claim 28 further limits claim 24 to a Markush group of specific compounds that includes Watts’ compound shown in the table above (instant claims page 17, bottom row).
Thus, claims 25-28 are anticipated by the disclosure of Watts.
Claims 24-25 and 27-28 are anticipated by Dziomko.
Claims 24-25 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dziomko (Dziomko, et al.; Khimiya Geterotsiklicheskikh Soedinenii, v7, pp963-967; 1981).
The limitations of claims 24-25 and 27-28 are discussed in the rejection above and hereby incorporated into the instant rejection.
Dziomko teaches the synthesis of a series of pyrimidinyl-pyrazolo-pyridine compounds and the synthetic intermediates in their preparation, including Dziomko’s compounds IV5 and X6 shown in the table below (page 963-structures, and page 966-synthetic procedures):
Claim Number(s) of Instant Application
Instant Application
Dziomko
24
wherein:
Dziomko’s compound IV
24
wherein:
Dziomko’s compound X
Thus, claim 24 is anticipated by the teaching of Dziomko.
Claims 25 and 27 further limit claim 24, each to a narrower genus of compounds, and each is met by Dziomko’s compounds IV and X.
Claim 28 further limits claim 24 to a Markush group of specific compounds that includes the compound structures matching to Dziomko’s compounds IV and X (page 17, top row).
Thus, claims 25 and 27-28 are anticipated by the teaching of Dziomko.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Withdrawn
The prior rejection of claims 1-3, 6-10, 12, 14 and 23-28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veale (Veale, et al.; Medicinal Chemistry Communications, v9, pp2037-2044; 2018) in view of Croft (Croft, et al.; Emerging Topics in Life Sciences, v1, pp613-620; 2017) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment of claims 1, 23-24 and 28.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7-8, 12, 14, 17, 19 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.J.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629
1 N-cyclopentyl-5-methyl-1-(4-methyl-6-oxo-1,6-dihydropyrimidin-2-yl)-1H-pyrazole-
4-carboxamide
2 Effective Filing Date: 10/07/2019.
3 N-(l-(6-ethyl-4-oxo-1,4-dihydropyrimidin-2-yl)-3 -methyl-1H-pyrazol-5 -yl)-2-fluorobenzamide
4 Effective Filing Date: 01/24/2019.
5 2-(5-amino-3-methyl-1H-pyrazol-1-yl)-5-ethyl-6-methyl-3,4-dihydropyrimidin-4-one
6 N-[1-(5-ethyl-4-methyl-6-oxo-1,6-dihydropyrimidin-2-yl)-3-methyl-1H-pyrazol-5-yl]acetamide