DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 28, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Amendments to the claims have changed the scope of the claimed invention, resulting in a modification of the previous prior art rejection using the same prior art references.
On page 9 of the Remarks section as indicated by the page number at the bottom of each page, Applicant discusses the Specification objection and 112 rejections. Applicant states there is no reason to list information regarding the foreign priority applications in the Specification. Examiner indicates that it is helpful to provide the application numbers and publication numbers for easier review when viewing the application or patent publication. The objection remains.
The Examiner has withdrawn the previous 112 rejections in response to the amendments made to the claims.
On pages 10-11, Applicant argues against the previous 103 prior art rejection of independent Claim 1. Applicant argues that primary reference Klemola, (US 2018/0251388), does not disclose that the electrically insulating material is arranged between the flange and the first cathode in the longitudinal direction as presently claimed in Claim 1. Applicant asserts that the guide element 48 in Klemola only extends in the transversal direction of the cathode, not the longitudinal direction as claimed. However, the Examiner notes that the guide element 48 also extends a portion of the way length-wise (or longitudinally) upwards parallel to the longitudinal direction of the cathode 20. The Examiner notes that it is not claimed that the electrically insulating material must extend the full length or height of the cathode. The Examiner maintains that the guide element 48 extends in both a transversal and longitudinal direction in relation to the cathode 20 as it is a three-dimensional structure. The Examiner finds this remark unpersuasive.
Applicant also argues that Klemola does not disclose that the flange is mechanically supported to the first cathode in the longitudinal direction through the electrically insulating material as presently claimed in Claim 1. The Examiner notes that Klemola explicitly states in paragraph [0078] that the flange of the anode can be shaped to fit the controls/guide element 48, indicating that they are physically touching or connected. Thus, the Examiner finds this remark unpersuasive.
On pages 11-12, Applicant argues that Klemola and subsequently secondary reference Manikkathiagarajah et al., (“Mani”, US 2014/0027307), do not disclose “at least said anode support and the connection point of said anode support and the first anode are coated with a water-insoluble and electrically insulating coating” in Claim 1. Applicant argues that the operating principles of Klemola and Mani are different in which Applicant asserts that the electrodes are made of materials that do not wear in use while Klemola wears in use. Applicant asserts that electrolysis would be completely prevented by a coating of the anode electrode in Klemola. However, the Examiner notes that the combination of Mani already relies upon modifying Klemola to coat the connection point and the anode support, not necessarily the entire anode itself. Thus, Klemola already inherently would have any portion of the anode that is unmodified as uncoated, reading upon the claimed limitation. Furthermore, the Examiner further relies upon Figure 16 of Mani in which anode 101 is coated with Insulating Film 102 on one side, (See paragraph [0187], Mani; Only one side of the anode 102 is coated in Figure 16, indicating that the ‘remainder’ is uncoated). The Examiner finds this remark unpersuasive as a result, as the combination of Klemola and Mani would not result in the entirety of the anode being coated.
On pages 12-13, Applicant continues to argue against coating the anode of Klemola. Applicant argues that coating the anode in the positions claimed would prevent functioning of the anode, and that wearing of the anode would result in the anodes detaching at the connection point of the anode support. The Examiner notes that this result would not happen since Mani teaches coating its anode and would apply to the positioning in Klemola. Furthermore, the Examiner notes that Mani does not coat the entire anode as shown in Figure 16. Additionally, the Examiner observes that the claim does not limit how much of the anode should be coated but rather states a “remainder’ is uncoated. It is not explicitly clear that “only” the connection point would be coated as a requirement in the claim. The Examiner maintains that it is still open-ended as claimed. The Examiner finds Applicant’s remarks unpersuasive for these reasons.
On page 13, Applicant argues against the previous prior art rejection of the dependent claims, specifically Claim 16. Applicant argues that secondary reference Goto does not disclose using its material for the purpose of a spacer or connector, and argues that the Shore hardness of polyethylene varies significantly depending on its density and form, and concludes that it would not teach the specific hardness claimed in Claim 16. First, the Examiner notes that while the hardness of polyethylene may vary, the reference provided demonstrates that polyethylene has a range of hardness values, all of which fall within the claimed range which is open ended. The Examiner notes that no evidence has been provided to demonstrate that polyethylene in any particular form would have a hardness value that falls under 65 Sh(A) as claimed, and would have that form in Goto. Furthermore, the Examiner notes that it is also not specified that the electrically insulating material must be used as a spacer or connector, and additionally the positioning of the electrically insulating material has already been disclosed in Klemola. The Examiner maintains that Goto is relevant because it is directed toward electrolysis, (See column 21, lines 27-31, Goto). Thus, the Examiner finds this remark also unpersuasive.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the Specification is missing a section and section header at the beginning such as “Cross-Reference to Related Applications”, in which the application numbers/filing dates to which the application claims priority and their publication numbers and publication dates are recited.
Appropriate correction is required.
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 is rejected as indefinite because it is not clear what the invention is limiting to its claimed features since it is dependent on a cancelled claim. Examiner interprets it dependent on Claim 1 for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 10 & 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemola, (US 2018/0251388), in view of Manikkathiagarajah et al., (“Mani”, US 2014/0027307), as evidenced by “Polyurethane”, (Antonella Patti and Domenico Acierno, “Structure-property relationships of waterborne polyurethane (WPU) in aqueous formulations”, J Vinyl Addit Technol. 29:589-606, 2023, 18 total pages).
Regarding Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 15, Klemola discloses an apparatus for purifying water, the apparatus comprising a cathode arrangement, comprising a first cathode having the shape of a cylindrical shell, thus the first cathode having the shape of a longitudinal profile in a longitudinal direction, (Cylindrical Sleeve Cathode Electrode 20, See Figures 2 & 3, See paragraph [0019]-[0022]), and an anode arrangement, which is electrically isolated from the cathode arrangement, the anode arrangement comprising a first anode having the shape of a bar or a cylindrical shell, the longitudinal direction of which is the same as the longitudinal direction of the first cathode, (Cylindrical Anode Electrode 30 to Cable 52 not Cable 51, See Figures 2 & 3, See paragraph [0019]-[0022]), an electrically conductive flange, (Flanges 42/43 on Electrode 30, See Figure 3 and See paragraph [0027]), an electrically conducting anode support, which is connected to the first anode and the flange and arranged to supply electricity to the first anode, (Anode Electrode Support 40 joined to Flanges 42/43 with Cable 52, See Figures 2 & 3, See paragraph [0028]), and a connection point for connecting an electric wire to the flange, (Anode Electrode Support 40 joined to Flanges 42/43 with Cable 52, See Figures 2 & 3, See 23 paragraph [0028]; inherent to have a point at which the wire connects to the projections/flanges), an electrically insulating material arranged between the flange and the first cathode in the longitudinal direction, (Guide Element 48, See Figure 3, See paragraph [0057], Klemola), wherein the first cathode encircles said first anode in a transverse direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction in such a way that a first gap remains in the transverse direction between the first anode and the first cathode for transporting the water, (Cathode 20 surrounds Anode 30 with gap 25, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0019]-[0022]), said flange is mechanically supported to the first cathode in the longitudinal direction through the electrically insulating material, (Mesh 24 and Disc 22 supports both Flange 42, Guide Element 48 and Cathode 20, See Figure 3, See paragraph [0048] & [0078]; the flange can be shaped to fit the controls/guide element 48), and said connection point is at least as far from a longitudinal centre axis of the cathode arrangement as such a point of the first cathode that is closest to said connection point, (Pixel length of end of Flange 43 is 45 pixel lengths which is at least as far away from middle of overall arrangement as the cathode 20 is from the end of Flange 43 which is 36 pixel lengths apart), wherein the first cathode comprises cathode material, (Cylindrical Sleeve Cathode Electrode 20, See Figures 2 & 3, See paragraph [0023]), the first anode comprises anode material, which is selected from the group of aluminium (Al), iron (Fe), magnesium (Mg), carbon (C), chromium (Cr), copper (Cu), manganese (Mn), tin (Sn), lead (Pb) and bismuth (Bi), (See paragraph [0034]).
Klemola does not explicity disclose in the anode arrangement, at least said anode support and a connection point of said anode support and the first anode are coated with a water-insoluble and electrically insulating coating, or the remainder of the anode is uncoated.
Mani discloses an apparatus, (See Abstract, Mani), where in the anode arrangement, at least said anode support and a connection point of said anode support and the first anode are coated with a water-insoluble and electrically insulating coating, and the remainder of the anode is uncoated, (Anode 101 coated with Insulating Film 102 on one side, See Figure 16, See paragraph [0187], Mani; as evidenced by “Polyurethane” on page 4, polyurethane is insoluble in water. Only one side of the anode 102 is coated in Figure 16, indicating that the ‘remainder’ is uncoated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus of Klemola by incorporating in the anode arrangement, at least said anode support and the connection point of said anode support and the first anode are coated with a water-insoluble and electrically insulating coating and the remainder of the anode is uncoated as in Mani so that it “prevents the solution to be electrolysed from contacting the anode surface”, (See paragraph [0187], Mani), which “minimises the potential for inadvertent short circuiting of the electrodes” and “improving selectivity over water electrolysis”, (See paragraph [0056], Mani).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 2: The apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the flange encircles said longitudinal centre axis and the anode support delimits an opening, which forms a flow channel for said water to the first gap or from the first gap, (Flanges 42/43 are located on outside of central axis, Support 40 and Gap 25 has Mesh 24 in which water flows, See Figure 3, See paragraph [0048], Klemola).
Claim 3: The apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the apparatus includes fastening means for fastening said flange to the first cathode, (See paragraph [0057], Klemola).
Claim 6: The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the anode support and the first anode are made of the same metal, (See paragraph [0034]; The metal of each comprise the same group and can be selected the same).
Claim 7: The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the cathode material is more electronegative than the anode material, (See paragraph [0023] and [0034], Klemola; graphite is more electronegative than aluminum as evidenced by the Pauling scale of the periodic table, Carbon (C) or graphite is 2.55 while Aluminum (Al) is 1.61).
Claim 15: The apparatus according to claim 1, including equipment for supplying an additive for enhancing floc formation to the water at a point, which is located after the first anode and the first cathode in the flow direction of the water, (See paragraph [0055] & [0059], Klemola).
Regarding Claims 10, 13, 14, modified Klemola discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, comprising a secondary cathode arrangement, which comprises a first secondary cathode having the shape of a cylindrical shell, a longitudinal direction of which is the same as the longitudinal direction of the first cathode, (Cylindrical Sleeve Cathode Electrode 20, See Figures 2 & 3, See paragraph [0019]-[0022]; and See Cathode Electrodes 20a-20c and more, See Figure 4, See paragraph [0048] & [0058]; the same features of the electrodes apply to this embodiment as stated), a secondary anode arrangement, which is electrically isolated from the secondary cathode arrangement, the secondary anode arrangement comprising a first secondary anode having the shape of a bar or a cylindrical shell, the longitudinal direction of which is the same as the longitudinal direction of the first cathode, (Cylindrical Anode Electrode 30 to Cable 52 not Cable 51, See Figures 2 & 3, See paragraph [0019]-[0022]; See Anode Electrodes 30a-30c and more, See Figure 4, See paragraph [0048] & [0058]; the same features of the electrodes apply to this embodiment as stated), an electrically conductive secondary flange, (Flanges 42/43 on Electrode 30, See Figure 3 and See paragraph [0027] and See Figure 4, See paragraph [0048] & [0058]; the same features of the electrodes apply to this embodiment as stated), an electrically conducting secondary anode support, which is connected to the first secondary anode and the secondary flange and arranged to supply electricity to the first secondary anode, (Anode Electrode Support 40 joined to Flanges 42/43 with Cable 52, See Figures 2 & 3, See paragraph [0028] and See Figure 4, See paragraph [0048] & [0058]; the same features of the electrodes apply to this embodiment as stated), and a secondary connection point for connecting an electric wire to the secondary flange, (Anode Electrode Support 40 joined to Flanges 42/43 with Cable 52, See Figures 2 & 3, See 23 paragraph [0028]; inherent to have a point at which the wire connects to the projections/flanges; and See Figure 4, See paragraph [0048] & [0058]; the same features of the electrodes apply to this embodiment as stated), wherein the first secondary cathode encircles the first secondary anode in the transverse direction so that a first secondary gap remains between the first secondary anode and the first secondary cathode in said transverse direction for transporting said water, (Cathode 20 surrounds Anode 30 with gap 25, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0019]-[0022]; and See Figure 4, See paragraph [0048] & [0058]; the same features of the electrodes apply to this embodiment as stated), the secondary flange is mechanically supported to the first secondary cathode in the longitudinal direction, (Mesh 24 and Disc 22 supports both Flange 42 and Cathode 20, See Figure 3, See paragraph [0048] and See Figure 4, See paragraph [0048] & [0058]; the same features of the electrodes apply to this embodiment as stated), electrically insulating secondary insulating material is arranged between the secondary flange and the first secondary cathode, (Guide Element 48, See Figure 3, See paragraph [0057]; and See Figure 4, See paragraph [0048] & [0058]; the same features of the electrodes apply to this embodiment as stated), and the secondary connection point is at least as far from a longitudinal centre axis of the secondary cathode arrangement as such a point of the first secondary cathode that is closest to said secondary connection point, (Pixel length of end of Flange 43 is 45 pixel lengths which is at least as far away from middle of overall arrangement as the cathode 20 is from the end of Flange 43 which is 36 pixel lengths apart).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 13: The apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the anode arrangement is electrically isolated from the secondary anode arrangement, (Anodes 30a-c, See Figure 4, See paragraph [0048], Klemola).
Claim 14: The apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the first secondary anode includes secondary anode material, which is selected from the group of aluminium (Al), iron (Fe), magnesium (Mg), carbon (C), chromium (Cr), copper (Cu), manganese (Mn), tin (Sn), lead (Pb) and bismuth (Bi), (See paragraph [0034]), and said anode material is a different material than the secondary anode material, (See paragraph [0034]).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 11, 12, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemola, (US 2018/0251388), in view of Manikkathiagarajah et al., (“Mani”, US 2014/0027307), in further view of Dale, (US 2016/0090314).
Regarding Claims 8 & 9, modifed Klemola discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first anode has the shape of a cylindrical shell, the cathode arrangement comprises a second cathode having the shape of a bar or a cylindrical shell, a longitudinal direction of which is the same as the longitudinal direction of the first cathode, an electrically conductive cathode support, which is arranged to support the second cathode to the first cathode and supply electricity from the first cathode to the first anode, wherein the first anode encircles said second cathode in the transverse direction in such a way that a second gap remains in the transverse direction between the second cathode and the first anode for transporting said water.
Dale discloses wherein the first anode has the shape of a cylindrical shell, (Anode 2b, See Figure 1d, See paragraph [0107]), the cathode arrangement comprises a second cathode having the shape of a bar or a cylindrical shell, a longitudinal direction of which is the same as the longitudinal direction of the first cathode, (Middle Cathode 3, See Figure 1d, See paragraph [0107], Dale), an electrically conductive cathode support, which is arranged to support the second cathode to the first cathode and supply electricity, (See paragraph [0029] & [0031], Dale), from the first cathode to the first anode, wherein the first cathode encircles said second cathode in the transverse direction in such a way that a second gap remains in the transverse direction between the second cathode and the first anode for transporting said water, (Anode 2b surrounds Middle Cathode 3, See Figure 1d, See paragraph [0107] & [0108], Dale).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Klemola by incorporating wherein the first anode has the shape of a cylindrical shell, the cathode arrangement comprises a second cathode having the shape of a bar or a cylindrical shell, a longitudinal direction of which is the same as the longitudinal direction of the first cathode, an electrically conductive cathode support, which is arranged to support the second cathode to the first cathode and supply electricity from the first cathode to the first anode, wherein the first anode encircles said second cathode in the transverse direction in such a way that a second gap remains in the transverse direction between the second cathode and the first anode for transporting said water as in Dale because “depending on the material and geometrical structure of the electrodes and applied voltage and current varying levels of reaction products may be generated, the quantities of which being matched ot the application in hand” which “would allow…the possibility of treating very low conductivity waters or liquid with OH radicals…or treatment from the production of rection products such as chlorine or total residual oxidants…in more conductive waters or liquid” or “both types of reaction products may be generated simultaneously”, (See paragraph [0108], Dale).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 9: The apparatus according to Claim 8 for purifying water, wherein the anode arrangement comprises a second anode, which has the shape of a cylindrical shell and is connected to the anode support, (Anode 2a, See Figure 1d, See paragraph [0107], [0029], [0031], Dale), the cathode arrangement comprises a third cathode, which has the shape of a bar or a cylindrical shell and is connected to a cathode support, (Inner Cathode 3, See Figure 1d, See paragraph [0107], paragraph [0029], [0031], Dale), wherein the second cathode encircles the second anode in the transverse directions, a third gap thus existing in the transverse direction between the second cathode and the second anode, (Outer Gap 4a, See Figure 1d, See paragraph [0107], Dale), the second anode encircles the third cathode in the transverse direction, a fourth gap thus existing in the transverse direction between the second anode and the third cathode, (Inner Gap 4a, See Figure 1d, See paragraph [0107], Dale).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Klemola discloses the apparatus according to Claim 10, but does not disclose wherein the first secondary anode has the shape of a cylindrical shell, the secondary cathode arrangement comprises a second secondary cathode having the shape of a bar or a cylindrical shell, a longitudinal direction of which is the same as the longitudinal direction of the first secondary cathode, and an electrically conductive secondary cathode support, which is arranged to support the second secondary cathode to the first secondary cathode and supply electricity from the first secondary cathode to the second secondary cathode, wherein the first secondary anode encircles said second secondary cathode in the transverse direction in such a way that a second secondary gap remains in the transverse direction between the second secondary cathode and the first secondary anode for transporting the water.
Dale discloses wherein the first secondary anode has the shape of a cylindrical shell, (Anode 2b, See Figure 1d, See paragraph [0107]), the secondary cathode arrangement includes a second secondary cathode having the shape of a bar or a cylindrical shell, a longitudinal direction of which is the same as the longitudinal direction of the first secondary cathode, (Middle Cathode 3, See Figure 1d, See paragraph [0107], Dale), and an electrically conductive secondary cathode support, which is arranged to support the second secondary cathode to the first secondary cathode and supply electricity from the first secondary cathode to the second secondary cathode, (See paragraph [0029] & [0031], Dale), wherein the first secondary anode encircles said second secondary cathode in the transverse directions in such a way that a second secondary gap remains in the transverse direction between the second secondary cathode and the first secondary anode for transporting said water, (Anode 2b surrounds Middle Cathode 3, See Figure 1d, See paragraph [0107] & [0108], Dale).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Klemola by incorporating wherein the first secondary anode has the shape of a cylindrical shell, the secondary cathode arrangement comprises a second secondary cathode having the shape of a bar or a cylindrical shell, a longitudinal direction of which is the same as the longitudinal direction of the first secondary cathode, and an electrically conductive secondary cathode support, which is arranged to support the second secondary cathode to the first secondary cathode and supply electricity from the first secondary cathode to the second secondary cathode, wherein the first secondary anode encircles said second secondary cathode in the transverse direction in such a way that a second secondary gap remains in the transverse direction between the second secondary cathode and the first secondary anode for transporting the water as in Dale because “depending on the material and geometrical structure of the electrodes and applied voltage and current varying levels of reaction products may be generated, the quantities of which being matched to the application in hand” which “would allow…the possibility of treating very low conductivity waters or liquid with OH radicals…or treatment from the production of rection products such as chlorine or total residual oxidants…in more conductive waters or liquid” or “both types of reaction products may be generated simultaneously”, (See paragraph [0108], Dale).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Klemola discloses apparatus according to Claim 10, wherein the anode arrangement extends from the flange in the longitudinal direction towards a first direction, (Electrode 30/Support 40 extend from Flanges 42/43 upwards, See Figures 2 & 4, See paragraphs [0019]-[0022]), the secondary anode arrangement extends from the secondary flange in the longitudinal direction towards a second direction that is reverse to the first direction, (Electrode 30b/Support 40b extend from Flanges 42/43 downwards, See Figures 2 & 4, See paragraphs [0019]-[0022]), but does not disclose the longitudinal centre axis of the cathode arrangement is also the longitudinal centre axis of the secondary cathode arrangement.
Dale discloses wherein the longitudinal centre axis of the cathode arrangement is also the longitudinal centre axis of the secondary cathode arrangement, (Cathodes 3 share same longitudinal axis, See Figure 1d, See paragraph [0107], Dale).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Klemola by incorporating wherein the longitudinal centre axis of the cathode arrangement is also the longitudinal centre axis of the secondary cathode arrangement as in Dale because “depending on the material and geometrical structure of the electrodes and applied voltage and current varying levels of reaction products may be generated, the quantities of which being matched to the application in hand” which “would allow…the possibility of treating very low conductivity waters or liquid with OH radicals…or treatment from the production of rection products such as chlorine or total residual oxidants…in more conductive waters or liquid” or “both types of reaction products may be generated simultaneously”, (See paragraph [0108], Dale).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Klemola discloses the apparatus according to claim 13, the apparatus comprises second insulating material between the flange and the secondary flange in the longitudinal direction, (Guide Element 48, See Figure 3, in combination with Multiple Electrodes 2a/b, See Figure 4, See paragraph [0057] & [0058], Klemola), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the longitudinal centre axis of the cathode arrangement is also the longitudinal centre axis of the secondary cathode arrangement.
Dale discloses wherein the longitudinal centre axis of the cathode arrangement is also the longitudinal centre axis of the secondary cathode arrangement, (Cathodes 3 share same longitudinal axis, See Figure 1d, See paragraph [0107], Dale).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Klemola by incorporating wherein the longitudinal centre axis of the cathode arrangement is also the longitudinal centre axis of the secondary cathode arrangement as in Dale because “depending on the material and geometrical structure of the electrodes and applied voltage and current varying levels of reaction products may be generated, the quantities of which being matched to the application in hand” which “would allow…the possibility of treating very low conductivity waters or liquid with OH radicals…or treatment from the production of rection products such as chlorine or total residual oxidants…in more conductive waters or liquid” or “both types of reaction products may be generated simultaneously”, (See paragraph [0108], Dale).
Claim(s) 16 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemola, (US 2018/0251388), in view of Manikkathiagarajah et al., (“Mani”, US 2014/0027307), in further view of Goto et al., (“Goto”, US 5,256,268), as evidenced by “Hardness”, (Wei Dai Vian and Nancy Denton, “Hardness Comparison of Polymer Specimens Produced with Different Processes”, ASEE IL-IN Section Conference, 3, 2018, 14 total pages).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Klemola discloses the apparatus according to claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a hardness of the electrically insulating material is at least 65 Sh(A).
Goto discloses wherein a hardness of the electrically insulating material is at least 65 Sh(A), (See column 21, lines 24-36, Goto; polyethylene. As evidenced by Hardness, polyethylene has a Shore A hardness between 80 and 98, on page 8, anticipating the claimed range at these values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Klemola by incorporating wherein a hardness of the electrically insulating material is at least 65 Sh(A) as in Goto “in order to improve the durability”, (See column 21, lines 25-28, Goto), so it “can endure even when it is used over a long period of time or it is repeatedly used”, (See column 15, lines 15-18, Goto).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Klemola discloses the apparatus according to claim 17, but does not disclose wherein the electrically conducting anode support is connected to the first anode by welding.
Goto discloses wherein the electrically conducting anode support is connected to the first anode by welding, (See column 24, lines 29-34, Goto).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Klemola by incorporating wherein the electrically conducting anode support is connected to the first anode by welding as in Goto so that the “anode…is fixed to…the anodic base”, (See column 24, lines 30-31, Goto), while “all the water is processed” to “improve operation efficiency”, (See column 28, lines 16-17, lines 7-8, Goto).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemola, (US 2018/0251388), in view of Manikkathiagarajah et al., (“Mani”, US 2014/0027307), in further view of Dale, (US 2016/0090314), in further view of Goto et al., (“Goto”, US 5,256,268), as evidenced by “Hardness”, (Wei Dai Vian and Nancy Denton, “Hardness Comparison of Polymer Specimens Produced with Different Processes”, ASEE IL-IN Section Conference, 3, 2018, 14 total pages).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Klemola discloses the apparatus according to claim 17, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a hardness of the second insulating material is at least 65 Sh(A).
Goto discloses wherein a hardness of the second insulating material is at least 65 Sh(A), (See column 21, lines 24-36, Goto; polyethylene. As evidenced by Hardness, polyethylene has a Shore A hardness between 80 and 98, on page 8, anticipating the claimed range at these values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Klemola by incorporating wherein a hardness of the second insulating material is at least 65 Sh(A) as in Goto “in order to improve the durability”, (See column 21, lines 25-28, Goto), so it “can endure even when it is used over a long period of time or it is repeatedly used”, (See column 15, lines 15-18, Goto).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779