DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II in the reply filed on 6/3/26 is acknowledged. Claims 4,21-31,35 and 36 are canceled in the amendment filed 5/8/26. The claims 39-43 are newly added in the amendment filed 6/3/26, were searched and are therefore joined to the claims of group II.
Claim Objections
Claims 32 and 39 are objected to because of the following informalities: the structures
and
appear to be cutoff as they do not fully contain the terminal amino groups. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32-34 and 37-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roivainen et al. (J Nucl Med 2013; 54:867-872) in view of Cappelletti et al. (US 2011/0052491A1) and in further view of Tweedle et al. (US 5,846,519).
Roivainen et al. (J Nucl Med 2013; 54:867-872) discloses the gastrin-releasing peptide antagonist 68Ga-BAY 86-7548 (68Ga-DOTA-4-amino -1-carboxymethylpiperidine-D-Phe-Gln-Trp-Ala-Val-Gly-His-Sta-Leu-NH2, RM2)
(p867, left column, third paragraph; p870, Discussion).
Roivainen et al. does not disclose Me-Trp.
Cappelletti et al. (US 2011/0052491A1) discloses compounds for targeting GRP receptors
comprising M-N-O-P-G wherein M is a metal chelator, N-O-P comprises an amino acid linker and G is a GRP targeting receptor peptide (p2, [0013-0014],[0016-0019]; p39, [0244]).
M comprises DOTA, etc. (p2, [0014]; p8, [0148]; p9, [0153]).
The G moiety GRP targeting receptor peptide comprises D-Phe-Q-αMeWAVGHLM-NH2 (SEQ ID NO: 30) (p27, Table 3; L410, Table 4A; claim 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the tryptophan (Trp, W) of 68Ga-BAY 86-7548 with the Me-Trp (αMeW) of Cappelletti et al. as the substitution as one known amino acid for another known and comparable amino acid predictably provides an analogous GRP peptide targeting compound with a reasonable expectation of success.
Roivainen et al. does not disclose 177Lu or a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, excipient or diluent.
Cappelletti et al. further discloses that the metal chelators may be complexed with a radionuclide, such as 68Ga, 177Lu, etc. (p2, [0014]; p9, [0154]).
The compounds for targeting GRP receptors can be administered as a composition comprising excipients, diluents, carriers, etc. that are all well-known in the art (p39, [0243]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the 68Ga of Roivainen et al. for the 177Lu of Cappelletti et al. as the substitution of one known radionuclide for another known radionuclide predictably provides an analogous GRP peptide targeting compound used for radiotherapy with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare the resulting GRP peptide targeting compound in a composition comprising excipients, diluents and/or carriers of Cappelletti et al. for effective administration for GRP targeting for the advantage of radiotherapy with a reasonable expectation of success.
Roivainen et al. does not explicitly disclose the chelator
.
Cappelletti et al. further discloses of the metal chelators, such as DOTA, etc. (p7, [0146]; p9, [0153]) and those incorporated by reference, such as US 5,846,519 (p8, [0148]).
Tweedle et al. (US 5,846,519) discloses macrocyclic chelating agents comprise
wherein Y is NR1; R1 is
, etc.; R2 is H, etc. that are used to chelate metal ions, such as 68Ga, etc. (column 2, lines 48-58; column 4, lines 1+).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the DOTA chelator of Roivainen et al. for the macrocyclic chelator (DOTA derivative) of Tweedle et al. as the substitution of one known DOTA chelator for another known DOTA chelator derivative predictably provides an analogous GRP peptide targeting compound chelated to a radionuclide, such as 68Ga for the advantage of radiotherapy with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed at this time.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/MELISSA J PERREIRA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1618