DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 7/17/25 has been entered.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, 12-13, 15-17 and 19-23 remain pending within the application.
The amendment filed 7/17/25 is sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claims 3-4, 6-7, 10, 14, and 16-17. The previous rejections have been withdrawn.
The amendment filed 7/17/25 is sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 103(a) rejections of claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, 12-13, 15-17. The previous rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-10, 12-13, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong United States Patent Application Publication US 2011/0199318 in view of Amit United States Patent Application Publication US 2006/0103667 in further view of Buczek United States Patent Application Publication US 2008/0082938.
Regarding claim 1, Fong discloses a window display method, comprising:
displaying a window of an application installed in a terminal device, wherein the window of the application is divided into comprises a title display region and a page display region (Fong, para [0046], with regards to fig 2, UI comprises parallel layers displayed simultaneously; Fong, para [0047-48], with regards to fig 3A, layers 310 and 312 represents title region, Layer 314 represents page display region), wherein the title display region is configured to display a plurality of titles (Fong, para [0047-48], layers 310 and 312 represents title region display region. Category represents a first title, subcategory represents a second title), and wherein the window of the application further comprises a page display region is configured to display a page corresponding to one of the plurality of titles displayed in the title display region (Fong, para [0047-48, 0086], with regards to fig 3A, layers 310 and 312 represents title region, Layer 314 represents page display region. Displays page with elements in example 6, fig 6A);
moving the page in the page display region in a first direction by a first distance and moving a corresponding title in the title display region in the first direction by a second distance, wherein the first distance is associated with a size of the page in the page display region (Fong, para [0091], with regards to fig 6A-6D and the steps shown in fig 7, displays different page area based on movement; Fong, para [0077-79], Moves title a distance based on lock points vs scroll movement which is another distance) and wherein the second distance is associated with a size of the corresponding title in the title display region (Fong, para [0058], lock point designated based on region containing title of category);
wherein as one of the page and the corresponding title is moved, the other one of the page and the corresponding title is also moved, wherein the first distance by which the page is moved is different from the second distance by which the corresponding title is moved (Fong, para [0077-79], Moves title a distance based on lock points vs scroll movement which is another distance).
Fong does not disclose:
in response to a sliding event performed on the window in a first direction, moving the page in the page display region in the first direction by a first distance and moving a corresponding title in the title display region in the first direction by a second distance, wherein the first distance is one or more times of associated with a size of the page in the page display region, and wherein the second distance is one or more times of a size of the corresponding title in the title display region;
wherein a ratio of the first distance to the second distance is equal to a ratio of the size of the page to the size of the corresponding title; and
and in response to a sliding event performed on the window in a second direction, moving the page in the page display region in the second direction while keeping the plurality of titles in the title display region non-moving.
Amit discloses:
wherein a ratio of the first distance to the second distance is equal to a ratio of the size of the page to the size of the corresponding title (Amit, para [0027], Translation of objects (moving them) while preserving context and aspect ratio; Amit, para [0085-86], to maintain aspect ratios, determines proportional percentage shifts. Applying a proportional percentage shift interpreted as applying a ratio of the size of the page to the size of the corresponding sub-element for the movement of 2 distances).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the lock points and distance measures to include parameters for translations including specifying aspect ratios for the distances. The motivation for doing so would have been to easily resize and translate images and text (Amit, para [0014]).
Fong in view of Amit does not disclose:
in response to a sliding event performed on the window in a first direction, moving the page in the page display region in the first direction by a first distance and moving a corresponding title in the title display region in the first direction by a second distance, wherein the first distance is one or more times of associated with a size of the page in the page display region, and wherein the second distance is one or more times of a size of the corresponding title in the title display region; and
and in response to a sliding event performed on the window in a second direction, moving the page in the page display region in the second direction while keeping the plurality of titles in the title display region nonmoving.
Buczek discloses:
in response to a sliding event performed on the window in a first direction, moving the page in the page display region in the first direction by a first distance and moving a corresponding title in the title display region in the first direction by a second distance (Buczek, para [0044-46], with regards to fig 6-10, title display region represented by first column of rows that display the row titles, page region represented by rows 610), wherein the first distance is one or more times of associated with a size of the page in the page display region, and wherein the second distance is one or more times of a size of the corresponding title in the title display region (Buczek, para [0044-46], with regards to fig 6-10, as the user scrolls down vertically, the title headers of the rows and table display region are scrolled up); and
and in response to a sliding event performed on the window in a second direction, moving the page in the page display region in the second direction while keeping the plurality of titles in the title display region non-moving (Buczek, para [0020-21], with regards to fig 2-3, as a user scrolls horizontally to the right, the first column of rows that display the row titles are maintained as the data for the table is scrolled).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display of a title of data based on the teachings of Buczek. The motivation for doing so would have been to assist with an understanding of data as the user views the table (Buczek, para [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Fong in view of Amit discloses the window display method according to claim 1. Fong additionally discloses wherein the sliding operation event performed in the first direction comprises an operation for moving the page in the page display region or moving the title in the title display region (Fong, para [0091], with regards to fig 6A-6D and the steps shown in fig 7, displays different page area based on movement; Fong, para [0077-79], Moves title a distance based on lock points vs scroll movement which is another distance).
Regarding claim 3, Fong in view of Amit discloses the window display method according to claim 1. Amit additionally discloses wherein the page is moved in a first direction by the first distance, the title is moved in the first direction by the second distance, the page has a first width in the first direction, the title has a second width in the first direction, and the ratio of the first width to the second width is equal to a ratio of the first distance to the second distance (Amit, para [0027], Translation of objects (moving them) while preserving context and aspect ratio; Amit, para [0085-86], to maintain aspect ratios, determines proportional percentage shifts. Applying a proportional percentage shift interpreted as applying a ratio of the size of the page to the size of the corresponding sub-element for the movement of 2 distances).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the lock points and distance measures to include parameters for translations including specifying aspect ratios for the distances. The motivation for doing so would have been to easily resize and translate images and text (Amit, para [0014]).
Regarding claim 9, it recites substantially similar elements of claim 1 and is thus similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 10, it recites substantially similar elements of claim 3 and is thus similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 12, it recites substantially similar elements of claim 1 and is thus similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 13, it recites substantially similar elements of claim 2 and is thus similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 19, it recites substantially similar elements of claim 2 and is thus similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 20, it recites substantially similar elements of claim 3 and is thus similarly rejected.
Claim(s) 5-7, 15-18, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong United States Patent Application Publication US 2011/0199318 in view of Amit United States Patent Application Publication US 2006/0103667 in further view of Broderson United States Patent Application Publication US 2008/0066010.
Regarding claim 5, Fong in view of Amit discloses the window display method according to claim 1. Fong in view of Amit does not disclose the additional limitations of claim 5.
Broderson discloses wherein the corresponding title is a first title, the title display region further comprises a second title, the first title has a first brightness, the second title has a second brightness, and the first brightness is greater than the second brightness(Broderson, para [0067-68], highlighting 1 but not the other represents a first brightness and a second brightness. Moving the highlight indicator represents a modification of title brightness).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display of titles and display pages to include using a structure Broderson. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a desirable that the user interface conveys information to the user in an intuitive manner, and readily provides access to various functions (Broderson, para [0002]).
Regarding claim 6, Fong in view of Amit discloses the window display method according to claim 3. Fong in view of Amit does not disclose the additional limitations of claim 6.
Broderson discloses wherein the corresponding title is a first title, the title display region further comprises a second title, the first title has a first brightness, the second title has a second brightness, and the first brightness is greater than the second brightness, and wherein the window display method further comprises: displaying a page corresponding to the second title in the page display region in response to detecting that after the first title is moved in the first direction by the second distance; and changing the second title from the second brightness to the first brightness(Broderson, para [0067-68], highlighting 1 but not the other represents a first brightness and a second brightness. Moving the highlight indicator represents a modification of title brightness).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display of titles and display pages to include using a structure Broderson. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a desirable that the user interface conveys information to the user in an intuitive manner, and readily provides access to various functions (Broderson, para [0002]).
Regarding claim 7, Fong in view of Amit in further view of Broderson discloses the window display method according to claim 6. Broderson additionally discloses further comprising: in response to determining that the first title is still displayed in the title display region after the first title is moved in the first direction by the second distance, changing the first title from the first brightness to the second brightness (Broderson, para [0067-68], highlighting 1 but not the other represents a first brightness and a second brightness. Moving the highlight indicator represents a modification of title brightness).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display of titles and display pages to include using a structure Broderson. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a desirable that the user interface conveys information to the user in an intuitive manner, and readily provides access to various functions (Broderson, para [0002]).
Regarding claim 15, it recites substantially similar elements of claim 5 and is thus similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 16, it recites substantially similar elements of claim 6 and is thus similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 17, it recites substantially similar elements of claim 7 and is thus similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 21, it recites substantially similar elements of claim 5 and is thus similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 22, it recites substantially similar elements of claim 6 and is thus similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 23, it recites substantially similar elements of claim 7 and is thus similarly rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/25 with regards to Amit have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the ratio in Amit is a resize ratio and points to paragraph [0212]. Examiner disagrees with this interpretation. Though an aspect ratio is discussed within Amit, the ratio that examiner has pointed to is a separate ratio of the distances of translated objects. Within the prior office action of 4/24/25, examiner pointed to paragraph [0027] which discussed translation of objects (moving them) while preserving context and aspect ratio. Examiner would like to additionally point to supporting paragraphs [0085-86] further discussing the translation and determining a ratio for it (Amit, para [0085-86], to maintain aspect ratios, determines proportional percentage shifts. Applying a proportional percentage shift interpreted as applying a ratio of the size of the page to the size of the corresponding sub-element for the movement of 2 distances).
It is noted that any citations to specific pages, columns, lines or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2123).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent US 6,912,694- Provides scrolling functionality for at least 2 frames simultaneously.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOPE C SHEFFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2141