Response to Amendment
The Amendment, filed on 3/13/2026, has been entered and acknowledged by the Examiner. Claims 21-35 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 21-32 have been considered and they are persuasive; however, rejection of claims 33-35 is sustained since no amendment nor argument based on the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chandrasekar (EP2577873B 1) in view of JP5280425 (hereinafter “425”), and further in view of Hiroaki (JP 2005018672).
Regarding claim 33, Chandrasekar and Hiroaki disclose a system for compressing data, comprising: a schema manager configured to allow users to create, select or auto-generate a compression schema customized to a format of an input delimited text file, which compression schema comprises a table defining a number of ranges of line number and a number of ranges of columns numbers, enabling a specification of a covering with variable-sized rectangles of data in the an input delimited text file (¶ [0030]);
a parser configured to parse the data of the input delimited text file into a plurality of blocks based on the rectangle definitions in the compression schema (¶ [0059], parsing/extracting); and
a compression manager configured to compress the plurality of data units in the plurality of data blocks using different compression algorithms indicated by the compression instructions in the compression schema (¶¶ [0030]-[0031], a determination of a row-storage format for storing said columns. The means for analyzing includes means for determining whether to store column values in column-major or row-major format, and means for determining whether to use a compression technique to compress said column values).
Chandrasekar does not explicitly disclose “variable-size rectangle”; however, 425 and Hiroaki disclose “variable size rectangle” (middle page 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate 425 into Chandrasekar to enable to select specified characters for compression.
Hiroaki further discloses two or more different compression algorithms (¶ [0080], The schema update block 119 accepts user tag name batch change and node batch delete requests, and changes the schema tree. The schema tree 102 changed by the schema compression block 110 is converted into the compression schema 103, and is combined with the compressed data by the BXML combination block 114 to output a BXML document 105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hiroaki into Chandrasekar and 425 to allow different compressions in an XML file.
Regarding claim 34, Chandrasekar in view of 425 and Hiroaki disclose the system of claim 33, wherein the schema manager is to create a new compression schema or determine the best-matching one from a plurality of compression schemas based on information input by a user, wherein each of the plurality of compression schemas is customized for respective one of a plurality of different formats of delimited text files (¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 35, Chandrasekar in view of 425 and Hiroaki disclose the system of claim 33, wherein the compression manager is to obtain codes of the compression algorithms from the user or a compressor repository, instantiate the compressors for each data block by allocating computational resources and memory, and running and monitoring the compression of the data units (¶ [0065]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21-32 are allowed.
Conclusion
/TUANKHANH D PHAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2154