DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 4-6 are pending, and claim 1 is currently under review.
Claims 2-3 and 7 are cancelled.
Claims 4-6 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/23/2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 4-6 remain(s) pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (WO2017111290, US 2018/0371568 referred to as English translation) in view of Tsuchida et al. (JPH01319629, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 1, Hong et al. discloses a steel for pressure vessels [abstract]; wherein said steel has a composition as seen in table 1 below [abstract]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the steel composition of Hong et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Hong et al. does not expressly teach inclusions of Cr, Mo, Al, Nb, or V as claimed. Tsuchida et al. discloses a steel for chemical reaction vessels which undergo pressure tests (ie. pressure vessel) having excellent toughness and good strength even after post weld heat treatment [p.1-3]; wherein said steel includes inclusions of Cr, Mo, Al, Nb, and V as shown in table 1 below for the purposes of improving strength and deoxidizing steel [p.2-3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the steel of Hong et al. by including the aforementioned alloying elements for the above benefits as taught by Tsuchida et al. The examiner notes that these ranges of Tsuchida et al. further overlap with the claimed ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Hong et al. further teaches that the steel microstructure includes tempered martensite and tempered bainite, with tempered martensite included in an amount of 20 to 75 percent as determined by the examiner [abstract]. Hong et al. also teaches a tensile strength of greater than 600 MPa and a charpy impact energy value of 200 J or more [0012-0013]. The examiner notes that these ranges overlap with that as claimed. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1
Hong et al.
C
0.1 – 0.16
0.07 – 0.17
Si
0.2 – 0.35
0.15 – 0.4
Mn
0.4 – 0.6
0.3 – 0.7
Cr
6.5 – 7.5
0.5 – 13 (Tsuchida et al.)
Mo
0.7 – 0.9
0 – 3 (Tsuchida et al.)
Al
0.005 – 0.05
0.003 – 0.0405 (Tsuchida et al.)
P
0 – 0.015
0 – 0.012
S
0 – 0.02
0 – 0.015
Nb
0.002 – 0.025
0.01 – 0.2 (Tsuchida et al.)
V
0.25 – 0.35
0.003 – 0.5 (Tsuchida et al.)
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Response to Arguments
The previous double patenting rejections are withdrawn in view of the terminal disclaimer filed 12/23/2025.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art heat treatment is different from the instant application and therefore the prior art does not meet the claimed tensile strength range in view of the examples of the prior art. The examiner cannot concur. Firstly, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113. The examiner notes that the instant claim is directed to a steel product which merely requires a tensile strength range as claimed, which overlaps with the disclosure of Hong et al. as shown above, which is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Secondly, although applicant argues that Hong et al. is limited to tensile strengths of up to 615 MPa, the examiner cannot concur. These ranges merely pertain to the specific examples of Hong et al., which do not constitute a teaching away from the broader disclosed range of Hong et al. of 600 MPa or more. See MPEP 2123. Since Hong et al. broadly and expressly teaching an overlapping tensile strength range, and since Hong et al. does not expressly teach away or discredit an upper limit of tensile strength, the examiner cannot concur that Hong et al. limits tensile strength to 615 MPa. The examiner further notes that all of the examples of Hong et al. have low C amounts, wherein one of ordinary skill in the art of steel metallurgy would understand that increasing C to higher amounts within the range of Hong et al. would naturally result in higher strengths, for example.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734