DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112(f)
The claim 76 limitation “vacuum means for evacuating the volume” is interpreted under 112f with the corresponding structure of a vacuum pump from page 11 line 11 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 68-69, 72-73, and 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simpson et al. US 4,085,170 (hereafter Simpson).
Regarding claim 68, Simpson teaches a generator for producing nanobubbles or nanodroplets at ambient conditions (Fig 1; the conditions of the area surrounding the produced nanobubbles/nanodroplets); the generator comprising:
a volume (15) for accommodating a liquid (col 3 line 28);
a source (source of first phase in col 1 line 30 – col 2 line 60; 19 in Fig 1) for supplying a medium to the volume for distributing within the liquid,
wherein the medium is provided to the volume at ambient conditions (col 3 lines 14-33; further where the generator is fully capable of providing the medium at ambient conditions in accordance with MPEP 2114, 2115, and 2173.05(g) by operating the source at ambient conditions);
an electrode (28, 29 in Fig 1) for generating an electric field in the proximity of the volume for facilitating the generation of nanobubbles or nanodroplets at ambient conditions, wherein the electrode and the liquid are not in direct electrical contact to avoid electrolysis (col 4 lines 9-24, col 3 lines 37-53).
Regarding claim 69, Simpson teaches all the limitations of claim 68. Simpson further teaches wherein the source comprises a gas source for supplying a gas medium or wherein the source comprises a liquid source for supplying a liquid medium (first phase in col 1 line 30 – col 2 line 60).
Regarding claim 72, Simpson teaches all the limitations of claim 68. Simpson further teaches wherein the generator is fully capable of having at least one magnet with a magnetic flux density in the range of 0.5 kgs2/A to 2 kgs2/A situated in the vicinity of the generator in accordance with MPEP 2114, 2115, and 2173.05(g). The at least one magnet is not positively recited because the invention is directed to a generator and the magnet is not recited as a component of the generator.
Regarding claim 73, Simpson teaches all the limitations of claim 68. Simpson further teaches wherein the electrode comprises a cathode and an anode (potential between electrodes, col 2 lines 15-60).
Regarding claim 77, Simpson teaches all the limitations of claim 68. Simpson further teaches wherein at least one environmental parameter of the ambient conditions is the same within the volume of the generator and without.
(where at least one environmental parameter, such as temperature, is
fully capable of being the same within the volume of the generator and without
in accordance with MPEP 2114, 2115, and 2173.05(g) by operating the volume at the same temperature as outside the volume, for instance room temperature).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 70 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simpson as applied to claim 68 above, and further in view of Robinson US 2010/0084272 (hereafter Robinson) and Mellor et al. US 5,403,450 (hereafter Mellor).
Regarding claim 70, Simpson teaches all the limitations of claim 68. Simpson further teaches wherein the electrode is operably connected to a voltage supply (col 4 lines 46-68) wherein the electrode is such that the electrode and the liquid are not in direct electrical contact (col 4 lines 9-24, col 3 lines 37-53).
Simpson does not teach wherein the electrode comprises a foil, and wherein the foil is laminated and the folded being folded in a spiral bound configuration.
Robinson teaches water treatment with bubbles (¶164) with electrodes wherein the electrode comprises a foil (¶18-28), and wherein the foil is laminated (as shown in Figs 1-4). Robinson teaches where the foil electrode is an equivalent of metal rods (¶18-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode rods (28, 29) of Simpson by substituting the foil electrode (¶18-28) of Robinson as an obvious art recognized equivalent (MPEP 2144.06 II).
Mellor teaches a foil electrode where the foil is folded in a spiral bound configuration (col 7 lines 1-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode shape (28, 29) of Simpson by making the electrodes folded in a spiral bound configuration (col 7 lines 1-23) of Mellor as a matter of obvious change in shape (MPEP 2144.04 IV B) and in order to increase the surface area compared to a flat shape.
Claim 72 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simpson as applied to claim 68 above.
Regarding claim 72, Simpson teaches all the limitations of claim 68.
Simpson does not state at least one magnet situated in the vicinity of the generator and wherein the magnet provides a magnetic flux density in the range of 0.5 kgs-2 A-1 and 2kgs-2 A-1.
The claimed invention is directed a generator and the magnet which is provided in the vicinity of the generator is not positively recited.
In addition to the generator of Simpson being fully capable of having a magnet in the vicinity, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a magnet in the vicinity of the generator. For instance, it would have been obvious to include a pump in the vicinity of the generator in order to move the liquid and it would have been obvious to power the pump with an electric motor as well known. An electric motor comprises at least one magnet. Further, the magnetic flux density of the magnet would have been fully capable of being 0.5 kgs2/A to 2 kgs2/A.
Claim 75 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simpson as applied to claim 68 above, and further in view of Shiue et al. US 2007/0272550 (hereafter Shiue).
Regarding claim 75, Simpson teaches all the limitations of claim 68.
Simpson does not teaches where the electrode is arranged to consist of a series of concentric elements.
Shiue teaches liquid treatment (Fig 1) where the electrode is arranged to consist of a series of concentric elements in order to create a strong field (¶24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode rods (28, 29) of Simpson by substituting the concentric elements (Fig 1) of Shiue in order to create a strong field (¶24).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 71, 74, and 76 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 71, the closest prior art is Simpson et al. US 4,085,170 and Graeme GB2424875 published 11 Oct. 2006. Simpson teaches a generator comprising electrodes. Graeme teaches angled electrodes. Graeme does not teach the cascading electrodes as claimed.
Regarding claim 74, the closest prior art is Simpson et al. US 4,085,170 and Shiue et al. US 2007/0272550. Simpson teaches a generator comprising electrodes. Shiue teaches mesh/screen electrodes with the mesh in contact with the liquid. Simpson teaches the electrodes isolated from the liquid.
Regarding claim 76, the closest prior art is Simpson et al. US 4,085,170 and JP 2017-62098. Simpson teaches a generator comprising electrodes. ‘098 teaches freezing nano-bubble containing liquid. The modification would not have been obvious to freeze the nanobubbles/nanodroplets for facilitating storage because Simpson is concerned with industrial electrode nanobubble/nanodroplet formation where the ‘098 reference teaches a device for making ice.
Response to Arguments
The following is a response to Applicant’s arguments filed 7 Nov. 2025:
Applicant argues that the specification defines “ambient conditions in paragraph 180 as published (page 26 lines 28-40 as filed).
Examiner disagrees. The specification provides examples of ambient conditions, but does not define the term.
The specification states “In the exemplary embodiment, 'ambient conditions' refers to values of environmental parameters in the immediate surround of the apparatus.” The reference to values of environmental parameters in the immediate surround of the apparatus is a non-limiting example of ambient conditions.
The specification states “For example, ambient conditions may comprise but are not limited to …”. The ambient condition ranges are non-limiting examples of ambient conditions.
Applicant argues that nanobubbles are not an inherent feature of the Simpson disclosure.
Examiner alleges that, rather than nanobubbles being inherent in the prior art, the prior art is fully capable of producing nanobubbles. See MPEP 2114, 2115, 2173.05(g).
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776