DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group III and the species of STAT2 in the reply filed on 13 March 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the pending claims are linked by a common technical relationship involving patient-specific neural organoids for autism-related evaluation and treatment, together with a kit specifically adapted for carrying out that analysis. This is not found persuasive because Applicant has failed to traverse the Restriction with respect to the prior art that was applied in order to break Unity of Invention. Applicant indicates claims 19-20 read upon the elected invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-13, 22, and 24-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 19-20 are examined upon their merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. This application is the national state entry of PCT/US2020/056076 filed on 16 October 202, and claims the benefit of US Provisional applications 62/916,659 filed on 17 October 2019 and 62/916,201 filed on 16 October 2019.
Claims 19-20 have an effective US filing date of 16 October 2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 14, April 2022, 15 December 2025 and 13 March 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: MPEP 2173.05(s) states: “Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table ‘is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience.’ Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted).” This is not one of those exceptional circumstances, and therefore the claims must be re-written to exclude reference to Tables.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01. Specifically, browser-executable code appears at paragraphs [0065], [0077], and [00156] of the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites intended use that imposes no material limitation upon the scope of the claim. Claim 20 recites, a container “for collection of a tissue sample from a human.” The intended use does not define structural attribute(s) of the container (in contrast see MPEP 2173.05(g) where a kit “comprising components capable of being assembled” defined a structural attribute of the kit. In re Venezia, 530 F.2d 956, 189 USPQ 149 (CCPA 1976)). For purposes of applying prior art, the claim will be interpreted as reading upon any container, but does not require human tissue samples.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al., Clinical and Experimental Pharmacology and Physiology, 34, 1097-1101, 2007.
Regarding Claim 19, the Sun et al. prior art teaches a kit comprising an array containing the sequences of the instantly-elected STAT2. The prior art discloses total RNA was isolated from tissues using TRIzol reagent (Invitrogen). Expression profiles were created using the superarray Q series JAK/STAT signalling pathway gene array (http://www.superarray.com/). These nylon filter arrays contain 96 known transcripts specific to Jak/STAT signalling pathways (pg. 1098, sections titled ‘RNA Isolation’ and ‘Gene Expression profiling’) See also Figure 1c of the reference, which teaches STAT2 of the instant claim in in the array (sixth column, fourth from the bottom).
Regarding Claim 20, the Sun et al. prior art teaches a container and reagents required for RNA isolation from the tissue sample, wherein it teaches total RNA was extracted using TRIZOL Total RNA Isolation Reagent (Invitrogen) (“reagents required for RNA isolation from the tissue sample “ of the claim) and aliquots (“container” of the instant claim) of total RNA (2 mg) were digested with RQ1 RNase-Free DNase (Promega, Madison, WI, USA) (see pg. 1098, section titled ‘Real-time quantitative PCR’).
Therefore, the elements of the claimed kit are taught by the prior art an, further, are all utilized together.
Reference cited but not relied upon as prior art:
Zeng et al., J Virology, 81(5): 2401-2417, 2007.
The Zeng et al. prior art reference teaches the same superarray Q series JAK/STAT signalling pathway gene array along with TRIzol reagents utilized in the Sun reference above (pg. 2402, last paragraph, RNA isolation), however, the prior art actually discloses methods of using this kit comprising human tissue samples.
Double Patenting
Claims 19 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-21 of copending Application No. 17/047,179 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to a kit comprising an array containing the sequences of one or a plurality of biomarkers listed in the claims 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, or 15 in a human patient; containing a container for collection of a tissue sample from a human (claim 20); and, reagents required for RNA isolation (claim 21). Claim 6 of the reference application recites Table 1, which includes the instantly-elected STAT2 (see Table 1, pg. 5 and Table 7, pg. 34).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 19 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-21 of copending Application No. 17/095,209 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims are directed to a kit comprising an array containing the sequences of one or a plurality of biomarkers listed in the claim 6 in a human patient. Again, Claim 6 of the reference application recites Table 1, which includes the instantly-elected STAT2 (see Table 1, pg. 5 and Table 7, pg. 34). Claim 20 is directed to the kit containing a container for collection of a tissue sample from a human; and Claim 21 is directed to reagents for RNA isolation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/STACEY N MACFARLANE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1675