DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 02/10/2026, in which claim 1 was amended, claims 2, 7 and 9 were cancelled, claims 6, 21-22 were withdrawn, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO2019242510A1), hereafter Wang et al. (US Pub. 20210065625) is used as English translation, in view of Cai (US Pub. 20210202885) and Chen et al. (US Pub. 20230329065).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 10 and 11, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 1A, Fig. 1D, Fig. 1F, Fig. 1J, Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, Fig. 2C a display panel having a display region, the display region comprising:
a first display region [A2] and a second display region [A1] or [A3];
wherein light transmittance of the first display region [A2] is greater than light transmittance of the second display region [A1][paragraph [0190]]; and
the display panel comprises:
a substrate having a plurality of first sub-pixels [P1] located in the first display region [A2];
the plurality of first sub-pixels [P1] comprise a plurality of first anodes [“the sub-pixel generally includes a laminated structure composed of an anode layer, a light emitting layer, and a cathode layer”][paragraph [0103]];
the plurality of first anodes [anodes of one of subpixels P1] comprise at least one first-type first anode [anode of subpixel 1];
wherein the plurality of first anodes further comprises a second-type first anode [anode of subpixel 2 or anode of subpixel 3], and
wherein the plurality of first anodes [anodes of subpixels P1] comprise a plurality of first-type first anodes [anodes of subpixels 1], the plurality of first anodes comprise a plurality of second-type first anodes [anodes of subpixels 2 or anodes of subpixels 3], and all the first-type first anodes [anodes of subpixels 1] and all the second-type first anodes [anodes of subpixels 2 or anodes of subpixels 3] are uniformly distributed in the first display region [A2][all the subpixels are uniformly distributed in the first display region [A2] thus all anodes of subpixels would also uniformly distributed in the first display region];
wherein the plurality of first anodes [anodes of subpixels 1, 2, 3] are distributed in an array [Fig. 1D, Fig. 1F, Fig. 1J, Fig. 2B, Fig. 2C show subpixels 1, 2, 3 are distributed in an array. Thus, anodes of subpixels 1, 2, 3 would also be distributed in an array],
the first-type first anodes [anodes of subpixels 1] and the second-type first anodes [anodes of subpixels 2 or anodes of subpixels 3] are alternately arranged in a column direction [Fig. 1D, Fig. 1F, Fig. 1J, Fig. 2B, Fig. 2C show subpixels 1 and subpixels 2 or subpixels 3 are alternately arranged in a column direction. Thus, anodes of subpixels 1 and anodes of subpixels 2 or anodes of subpixels 3 would also be alternately arranged in a column direction.].
Wang fails to disclose
each of the first anodes comprises: a first transparent conductive layer on the substrate, a first reflective layer on a side of the first transparent conductive layer away from the substrate, and a second transparent conductive layer on a side of the first reflective layer away from the substrate;
an orthographic projection area of a first transparent conductive layer in the first-type first anode on the substrate is larger than an orthographic projection area of a first reflective layer in the first-type first anode on the substrate;
wherein an orthographic projection area of the first reflective layer in the first-type first anode on the substrate is the same as an orthographic projection area of a second transparent conductive layer in the first-type first anode on the substrate;
an orthographic projection area of a first transparent conductive layer in the second-type first anode on the substrate is larger than an orthographic projection area of a first reflective layer in the second-type first anode on the substrate;
an orthographic projection area of the first reflective layer in the second-type first anode on the substrate is the same as an orthographic projection area of a second transparent conductive layer in the second-type first anode on the substrate;
the first transparent conductive layer and the first reflective layer in the first-type first anode have a first non-overlapping region, the first transparent conductive layer and the first reflective layer in the second-type first anode have a second non-overlapping region, and an area of the first non-overlapping region is different from an area of the second non-overlapping region;
wherein the first transparent conductive layer in the first-type first anode is different from the first transparent conductive layer in the second-type first anode.
Chen et al. discloses in Fig. 1C, paragraph [0032], [0034], [0051]-[0052]
each of the first anodes [103 and 200] comprises: a first transparent conductive layer [103] on the substrate, a first reflective layer [1041 or 1051] on a side of the first transparent conductive layer [103] away from the substrate, and a second transparent conductive layer [1042 or 1052] on a side of the first reflective layer [103] away from the substrate;
an orthographic projection area of a first transparent conductive layer [103] in the first-type first anode [103 and 104] on the substrate is larger than an orthographic projection area of a first reflective layer [1041] in the first-type first anode [103 and 104] on the substrate;
wherein an orthographic projection area of the first reflective layer [1041] in the first-type first anode [103 and 104] on the substrate is the same as an orthographic projection area of a second transparent conductive layer [1042] in the first-type first anode on the substrate [103 and 104];
an orthographic projection area of a first transparent conductive layer [103] in the second-type first anode [103 and 105] on the substrate is larger than an orthographic projection area of a first reflective layer [1051] in the second-type first anode [103 and 105] on the substrate;
an orthographic projection area of the first reflective layer [1051] in the second-type first anode [103 and 105] on the substrate is the same as an orthographic projection area of a second transparent conductive layer [1052] in the second-type first anode [103 and 105] on the substrate;
Cai discloses in Fig. 8-Fig. 15, paragraph [0039]-[0074]
each of the first anodes [111 and 112][ Fig. 9] or [121 and 122][Fig. 11] or [131 and 132][Fig. 15] comprises: a first transparent conductive layer [112] or [122] or [132] on the substrate, a first reflective layer [111] or [121] or [131] on a side of the first transparent conductive layer [112] or [122] or [132] away from the substrate, and a second transparent conductive layer [112] or [122] or [132] on a side of the first reflective layer [111] or [121] or [131] away from the substrate;
wherein:
an orthographic projection area of a first transparent conductive layer [112a] or [122c] or [132b] in the first-type first anode on the substrate is larger than an orthographic projection area of a first reflective layer [111a] or [121c] or [131b] in the first-type first anode on the substrate;
an orthographic projection area of a first transparent conductive layer [112b] or [122a] or [132a] in the second-type first anode on the substrate is larger than an orthographic projection area of a first reflective layer [111b] or [121a] or [131a] in the second-type first anode on the substrate;
the first transparent conductive layer [112a] or [122c] or [132b] and the first reflective layer [111a] or [121c] or [131b] in the first-type first anode have a first non-overlapping region, the first transparent conductive layer [112b] or [122a] or [132a] and the first reflective layer [111b] or [121a] or [131a] in the second-type first anode have a second non-overlapping region, and an area of the first non-overlapping region is different from an area of the second non-overlapping region.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Cai and Chen et al. into the method of Wang et al. to include each of the first anodes comprises: a first transparent conductive layer on the substrate, a first reflective layer on a side of the first transparent conductive layer away from the substrate, and a second transparent conductive layer on a side of the first reflective layer away from the substrate; wherein: an orthographic projection area of a first transparent conductive layer in the first-type first anode on the substrate is larger than an orthographic projection area of a first reflective layer in the first-type first anode on the substrate; wherein an orthographic projection area of the first reflective layer in the first-type first anode on the substrate is the same as an orthographic projection area of a second transparent conductive layer in the first-type first anode on the substrate; an orthographic projection area of a first transparent conductive layer in the second-type first anode on the substrate is larger than an orthographic projection area of a first reflective layer in the second-type first anode on the substrate; an orthographic projection area of the first reflective layer in the second-type first anode on the substrate is the same as an orthographic projection area of a second transparent conductive layer in the second-type first anode on the substrate; the first transparent conductive layer and the first reflective layer in the first-type first anode have a first non-overlapping region, the first transparent conductive layer and the first reflective layer in the second-type first anode have a second non-overlapping region, and an area of the first non-overlapping region is different from an area of the second non-overlapping region. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable structure of anode having increased light transmittance so that the light transmittance of the first display area is improved, thereby allowing the camera module (which includes the optical imaging unit and the image processing unit) to receive more external light and ensuring uniformity of the overall display of the display panel [paragraph [0042], [0048],[0053], [0057], [0063], [0076] of Cai, paragraph [0052] of Chen et al.].
Wang et al. discloses the first-type first anode [anode of subpixel 1] is different from the second-type first anode [anode of subpixel 2][Fig. 1J] or [anode of subpixel 3][Fig. 2B][subpixel 2 or subpixel 3 has different size and shape than subpixel 1, thus it would be obvious that anode of subpixel 2 or anode of subpixel 3 would have different size and shape than anode of subpixel 1].
Chen et al. and Cai et al. discloses each of the first anodes comprises a first transparent conductive layer. Thus, the first transparent conductive layers of first anodes having different size and shape would also have different size and shape. Therefore, the combination of Chen et al., Cai et al. and Wang et al. would result to “the first transparent conductive layer in the first-type first anode is different from the first transparent conductive layer in the second-type first anode.”
In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for the first transparent conductive layer in the first-type first anode with respect to the first transparent conductive layer in the second-type first anode: the first transparent conductive layer in the first-type first anode is different from/is same as the first transparent conductive layer in the second-type first anode. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try the first transparent conductive layer in the first-type first anode is different from the first transparent conductive layer in the second-type first anode with reasonable expectation of success to yield first-type first anode and second-type first anode having desired performance.
Regarding claim 4, Cai discloses in Fig. 15
wherein the area of the first non-overlapping region is larger than the area of the second non-overlapping region, and an area of the first reflective layer [131b] in the first-type first anode is smaller than an area of the first reflective layer [131a] in the second-type first anode.
Regarding claim 5, Cai discloses in Fig. 9
wherein the area of the first non- overlapping region is smaller than the area of the second non-overlapping region, and an area of the first reflective layer [111a] in the first-type first anode [111a and 112a] is larger than an area of the first reflective layer [111b] in the second-type first anode [111b and 112b].
Regarding claim 8, Ma et al. discloses in Fig. 8
wherein the first transparent conductive layer [RE2] of the first anode [RE] comprises a main body part and a connection line [RL] connected to the main body part, and an orthographic projection of the first reflective layer [RE3] in the first-type first anode [RE] on the substrate falls into a range of an orthographic projection of a main body part in the first-type first anode [RE] on the substrate;
wherein a center position of the first reflective layer [RE3] in the first-type first anode substantially coincides with a center position of the main body part.
Cai also discloses in Figs. 5, 9, 11, 15
wherein the first transparent conductive layer [112] or [122] or [132] of the first anode [111 and 112][Fig. 5, Fig. 9] or [121 and 122][Fig. 11] or [131 and 132][Fig. 15] comprises a main body part and an orthographic projection of the first reflective layer [111] or [111a] or [121c] or [131b] in the first-type first anode [111 and 112][Fig. 5, Fig. 6] or [111a and 112a]Fig. 9] or [121c and 122c][Fig. 11] or [131b and 132b][Fig. 15] on the substrate falls into a range of an orthographic projection of a main body part in the first-type first anode [111 and 112][Fig. 5, Fig. 6] or [111a and 112a]Fig. 9] or [121c and 122c][Fig. 11] or [131b and 132b][Fig. 15] on the substrate;
wherein a center position of the first reflective layer [111] or [111a] or [121c] or [131b] in the first-type first anode substantially coincides with a center position of the main body part.
Regarding claims 12, 14, Cai discloses in Figs. 8-11
a plurality of second sub-pixels [P2] located in the second display region [12], wherein each of the second sub-pixels [P2] is provided with a second anode [121 and 122], the second anode comprises: a third transparent conductive layer [first 122] on the substrate, a second reflective layer [121] on a side of the third transparent conductive layer [first 122] away from the substrate, and a fourth transparent conductive layer [second 122] on a side of the second reflective layer [121] away from the substrate;
orthographic projections of the third transparent conductive layer [first 122], the second reflective layer [121] and the fourth transparent conductive layer [second 122] on the substrate substantially overlap;
a ratio of an area [S22] of the second reflective layer [121] in the second anode to an area [S1a, S1b, S1c, S2a, S2b, S2c] of the first reflective layer [111 a, b or c][Fig. 9] or [121 a, d or c][Fig. 11] in the first anode is in a range of 0.7 to 1.5; and
a resolution of the first display region [11] is less than a resolution of the second display region [12][Cai discloses the first display region and the second display region having the claimed structure. Thus, Cai’s device presumably exhibits the claimed property of “a resolution of the first display region is less than a resolution of the second display region.” “WHEN THE STRUCTURE RECITED IN THE REFERENCE IS SUBSTANTIALLY IDENTICAL TO THAT OF THE CLAIMS, CLAIMED PROPERTIES OR FUNCTIONS ARE PRESUMED TO BE INHERENT. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”. MPEP 2112.01 (I).].
Regarding claim 13, Cai discloses in Fig. 8 and Fig. 10
wherein the plurality of first sub-pixels [P1] have a plurality of emission colors [RGB], and the first-type first anode and the second-type first anode correspond to first sub-pixels with a same emission color [R][Fig. 8] or [B][Fig. 10];
Regarding claim 15, Wang et al. further discloses in Fig. 2B, Fig. 2C, paragraph [0082], [0087]
a plurality of second sub-pixels [subpixels 1] located in the second display region [A1], wherein each of the second sub-pixels [subpixels 1] is provided with a second anode [anode of subpixels 1 in region A1][“the sub-pixel generally includes a laminated structure composed of an anode layer, a light emitting layer, and a cathode layer”, paragraph [0103]],
a ratio of a resolution of the first display region [A2] to a resolution of the second display region [A1] is in a range of 0.8 to 1.2 [paragraph [0087], “the pixel distribution density of the second display sub-region is generally not less than 1/4 of the pixel distribution density of the first display sub-region. For example, the pixel distribution density of the second display sub-region is 1/2, 1/3 or 1/4 of the pixel distribution density of the first display sub-region. Of course, when the resolution of the display substrate can be made higher.”]
and the second anode [anode of subpixels 1 in region A1] is larger than the first anode [anode of subpixels 1 in region A2] in size. [area of subpixels 1 in region A1 is larger than area of subpixels 1 in region A2. Thus, an anode of subpixel 1 in region A1] is larger than an anode of subpixel 1 in region A2 in size].
Wang et al. fails to disclose
the second anode comprises: a third transparent conductive layer on the substrate, a second reflective layer on a side of the third transparent conductive layer away from the substrate, and a fourth transparent conductive layer on a side of the second reflective layer away from the substrate.
Cai discloses in Fig. 11, paragraph [0044]
the second anode comprises: a third transparent conductive layer [first 122] on the substrate, a second reflective layer [121] on a side of the third transparent conductive layer [first 122] first away from the substrate, and a fourth transparent conductive layer [second 122] on a side of the second reflective layer [121] away from the substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Cai into the method of Wang et al. to include the second anode comprises: a third transparent conductive layer on the substrate, a second reflective layer on a side of the third transparent conductive layer away from the substrate, and a fourth transparent conductive layer on a side of the second reflective layer away from the substrate. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable configuration of an anode in the second display region [paragraph [0044] of Cai]. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 18, Cai discloses in paragraph [0042], [0044] and Ma et al. discloses in paragraph [0060]
wherein materials of the first transparent conductive layer, the second transparent conductive layer, the third transparent conductive layer and the fourth transparent conductive layer comprise at least one of ITO, IZO or IGZO [ITO], and materials of the first reflective layer and the second reflective layer comprise at least one of Al, Ag, Mo, Ti or TiN [Ag].
Regarding claim 19, Cai discloses in Fig. 1 and Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 1A wherein a shape of the first display region is at least one of a circle, an ellipse, a rectangle or a polygon [a circle, a rectangle].
Regarding claim 20, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 1A, paragraph [0078], [0082], [0087]
a display apparatus, comprising a photosensitive device [camera] and the display panel [A1 and A2] according to claim 1; wherein the photosensitive device [camera] is disposed in the first display region [A2] of the display panel
Cai further discloses in Fig. 1, paragraph [0037] a display apparatus, comprising a photosensitive device [15] and the display panel [AA] according to claim 1; wherein the photosensitive device [15] is disposed in the first display region [11] of the display panel [AA].
Ma et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, paragraph [0005], [0034]
a display apparatus, comprising a photosensitive device [camera] and the display panel [AA] according to claim 1; wherein the photosensitive device [camera] is disposed in the first display region [AA2] of the display panel
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO2019242510A1), hereafter Wang et al. (US Pub. 20210065625) is used as English translation, in view of Cai (US Pub. 20210202885) and Chen et al. (US Pub. 20230329065) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Yang et al. (US Pub. 20210012706).
Regarding claims 16-17, Cai further discloses in Fig. 1
a bezel region located outside the display region [AA],
the second display region [12 and 14] has a transition region [14] adjacent to the first display region [11].
Wang et al., Chen et al. and Cai fails to disclose
a plurality of first driving circuits electrically connected to the first anodes,
wherein the plurality of first driving circuits are located in the bezel region adjacent to the first display region; or the plurality of first driving circuits are located in the transition region, or the plurality of first driving circuits are distributed in the second display region;
a transparent wire routing layer between the first driving circuits and the first anodes, wherein the first driving circuits are electrically connected to the first anodes through transparent wires in the transparent wire routing layer.
Yang et al. discloses in Fig. 1-Fig. 3, paragraph [0028]-[0038], [0050]
a plurality of first driving circuits [22] electrically connected to the first anodes [anodes of subpixels 21 in A22][drive circuits 22 are electrically connected to subpixels 21 in A22 thus drive circuits 22 are electrically connected to anodes of subpixels 21 in A22], wherein the plurality of first driving circuits [22] are located in the transition region [A21];
a transparent wire routing layer [layer comprising transparent conductive electrodes 31] between the first driving circuits [22] and the first anodes [anodes of subpixels 21 in A22], wherein the first driving circuits [22] are electrically connected to the first anodes [anodes of subpixels 21 in A22] through transparent wires [transparent conductive electrodes 31] in the transparent wire routing layer [layer comprising transparent conductive electrodes 31].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Yang et al. into the method of Wang et al., Chen et al. and Cai to include a plurality of first driving circuits electrically connected to the first anodes, wherein the plurality of first driving circuits are located in the transition region; a transparent wire routing layer between the first driving circuits and the first anodes, wherein the first driving circuits are electrically connected to the first anodes through transparent wires in the transparent wire routing layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al., Chen et al. and Cai in the above manner for the purpose of improving the light transmittance of the first display area, and improving the display uniformity of the display panel; enabling different driving circuits in the same column can provide different data signals for the light-emitting devices in different columns [paragraph [0036]-[0037], [0050] of Yang et al.].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 02/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 9 of Applicant’s remarks, Examiner respectfully disagrees because the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Further, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As stated above, Wang et al. discloses the first-type first anode [anode of subpixel 1] is different from the second-type first anode [anode of subpixel 2][Fig. 1J] or [anode of subpixel 3][Fig. 2B][subpixel 2 or subpixel 3 has different size and shape than subpixel 1, thus it would be obvious that anode of subpixel 2 or anode of subpixel 3 would have different size and shape than anode of subpixel 1].
Chen et al. and Cai et al. discloses each of the first anodes comprises a first transparent conductive layer. Thus, the first transparent conductive layers of first anodes having different size and shape would also have different size and shape. Therefore, the combination of Chen et al., Cai et al. and Wang et al. would result to “the first transparent conductive layer in the first-type first anode is different from the first transparent conductive layer in the second-type first anode.”
In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for the first transparent conductive layer in the first-type first anode with respect to the first transparent conductive layer in the second-type first anode: the first transparent conductive layer in the first-type first anode is different from/is same as the first transparent conductive layer in the second-type first anode. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try the first transparent conductive layer in the first-type first anode is different from the first transparent conductive layer in the second-type first anode with reasonable expectation of success to yield first-type first anode and second-type first anode having desired performance.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected and the Action is made FINAL.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893