DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 6/6/2026. As directed, claims 1-4 and 6-9 have been amended and no claims have been added or canceled. Thus claims 1-10 are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figs. 1A-6B lack reference numerals and fig. 1D appears to include more than one drawing figure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angel (9,433,738) in view of Cartledge (2013/0046373).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Angel discloses an endotracheal (ET) device assembly comprising an expandable lattice (40) positioned around at a portion of the endotracheal tube circumference (bottom circumference of endotracheal tube 20; col. 13 lines 30-35), the lattice (40) comprising a plurality of longitudinal strips (i.e. lattice strips) connected at a plurality of pivot points (pivoting points for expansion) forming an expandable and retractable cylindrical lattice (col. 8 lines 24-35, col. 7 lines 63-67, figs. 1-3 disclose an expanding mesh like stent thereby including pivot points for expansion).
Angel substantially teaches the claimed invention except for wherein axial contraction of the lattice is able to result in radial expansion and axial elongation is able to result in radial contraction of the lattice. However, Cartledge teaches in figs. 43-53 a stent useable for the trachea ([0013]) including a first longitudinal strip (i.e. struts) and a second longitudinal strip (i.e. adjacent strut) are connected by a fastener (i.e. screw, rivet) ([0215] lines 1-15, [0216], [0218] lines 1-10) wherein axial contraction (fig. 48) of the lattice is able to result in radial expansion and axial elongation (figs. 49, 50) is able to result in radial contraction of the lattice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured the stent of Angel with struts having fasteners in coincident holes enabling radial expansion and contraction as taught by Cartledge to provide the advantage of enhanced adjustability providing in situ accommodation to local anatomy as disclosed by Cartledge in [0019] and [0020]).
Regarding claims 2 and 7, The modified Angel discloses (see figs. 43-53 of Cartledge) a stent useable for the trachea ([0013]) including a first longitudinal strip (i.e. struts) and a second longitudinal strip (i.e. adjacent strut) are connected by a fastener (i.e. screw, rivet) passing through coincident holes formed in the first longitudinal strip and second longitudinal strip ([0215] lines 1-15, [0216], [0218] lines 1-10 of Cartledge).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, The modified Angel discloses (see figs. 43-53 of Cartledge) a first longitudinal strip (strut) forms a receiving portion of a coupling mechanism (hole) and a second longitudinal strip (strut with linked fastener) forms a donating portion (fastener portion) wherein the receiving portion complements the donating portion and interacts to form a pivot point between the first longitudinal strip and the second longitudinal strip ([0215] lines 1-15, [0216], [0217] lines 1-20, [0218] lines 1-10 of Cartledge disclose the struts are linked to pivot via connected screws/rivets).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, The modified Angel discloses (see figs. 43-53 of Cartledge) a stent lattice having openings as attachment points to receive screws or rivets ([0215] lines 1-15, [0216], [0217] lines 1-20, [0218] lines 1-10 of Cartledge disclose the struts are linked to pivot via connected screws/rivets).
Angel discloses the stent can have a length of 3-8 cm (col. 8 lines 24-35) and the modified Angel substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the distance between two consecutive attachment points on a strip is 1/32, 1/16, 3/32, 1/8, 5/32, 3/16, 7/32, or 1/4 of an inch. However, figs. 44-63 of Cartledge disclose the attachment points are regularly spaced in close proximity along the length of the stent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured the stent of the modified Angel to include attachment points spaced within the claimed arrange as such would be considered a design choice fully implementable by one of ordinary skill in the art and well within an artisan’s skill. In addition, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are known, it is not inventive to determine optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Angel discloses the cylindrical lattice (40) is expanded or contracted by a fixed point actuator (i.e. balloon) operatively coupled to the lattice (col. 7 lines 25-35, 60-67 disclose expansion via a balloon which thereby includes an end fixed/attached to itself).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 6 last paragraph through page 7 2nd paragraph that the stent of Angel does not include pivot points or a fixed-point actuator as claimed. Examiner respectfully disagrees. A shown, the stent of Angel is a lattice that expands and contracts. Thus, the strips of the lattice pivot to expand and contract; the multiple points of pivoting as pivot point. In addition, Angel discloses in col. 7 lines 25-35, 60-67 expansion via a balloon which thereby includes an end fixed/attached to itself. Thus, Angel teaches this limitation as claimed.
Applicant argues on page 8 1st paragraph that Cartledge does not disclose simple longitudinal strips. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Cartledge discloses struts and strips. Thus, Cartledge teaches this limitation as claimed.
Applicant argues on page 8 2nd and 3rd paragraphs that there is no motivation to combine and the combination does not teach the unexpected advantages. However, one or ordinary skill in the art upon seeing the mesh of Angel would recognize that the pivoting struts of Cartledge would provide the advantage of enhanced adjustability providing in situ accommodation to local anatomy as disclosed by Cartledge in [0019] and [0020]). Thus proper motivation is provided.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LaToya M Louis/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785