DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figs. 1A-6B include shadings making it difficult to appreciate the details of the invention. In addition, the figures lack reference numerals and fig. 1D appears to include more than one drawing figure.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 7, and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 2, 3, 7, and 8, “longitudinal strip” should be recited as --one of the longitudinal strips-- for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4 and 9 “the distance between two consecutive attachment points” lacks antecedent basis and it is unclear whether the “attachment points’ are one and the same as the previously claimed pivot points.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim-(s) 1, 5, 6, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Angel (9,433,738).
Regarding claim 1, Angel discloses an endotracheal (ET) device assembly comprising an expandable lattice (40) positioned around at a portion of the endotracheal tube circumference (bottom circumference of endotracheal tube 20; col. 13 lines 30-35), the lattice (40) comprising a plurality of longitudinal strips (i.e. lattice strips) connected at a plurality of pivot points (pivoting points for expansion) forming an expandable and retractable cylindrical lattice (col. 8 lines 24-35, col. 7 lines 63-67, figs. 1-3 disclose an expanding mesh like stent thereby including pivot points for expansion).
Regarding claim 5, Angel discloses the cylindrical lattice (40) is expanded or contracted by a fixed point actuator (i.e. balloon) operatively coupled to the lattice (col. 7 lines 25-35, 60-67 disclose expansion via a balloon which thereby includes an end fixed/attached to itself).
Regarding claim 6, Angel discloses an expandable lattice (40; fig. 1) comprising a plurality of longitudinal strips (lattice strips) connected at a plurality of pivot points (pivoting points for expansion) forming an expandable and retractable cylindrical lattice (col. 8 lines 24-35, col. 7 lines 63-67, figs. 1-3 disclose an expanding and contracting mesh like stent thereby including pivot points for expansion).
Regarding claim 10, Angel discloses the cylindrical lattice (40) is expanded or contracted by a fixed point actuator (i.e. balloon) operatively coupled to the lattice (col. 7 lines 25-35, 60-67 disclose expansion via a balloon which thereby includes an end fixed/attached to itself).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angel in view of Cartledge (2013/0046373).
Regarding claim 2, Angel substantially teaches the claimed invention except for a first longitudinal strip and a second longitudinal strip are connected by a fastener passing through coincident holes formed in the first longitudinal strip and second longitudinal strip. However, Cartledge discloses in figs. 43-53 a stent useable for the trachea ([0013]) including a first longitudinal strip (i.e. struts) and a second longitudinal strip (i.e. adjacent strut) are connected by a fastener (i.e. screw, rivet) passing through coincident holes formed in the first longitudinal strip and second longitudinal strip ([0215] lines 1-15, [0216], [0218] lines 1-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured the stent of Angel with struts having fasteners in coincident holes as taught by Cartledge to provide the advantage of enhanced adjustability providing in situ accommodation to local anatomy as disclosed by Cartledge in [0019] and [0020]).
Regarding claim 3, Angel substantially teaches the claimed invention except for a first longitudinal strip forms a receiving portion of a coupling mechanism and a second longitudinal strip forms a donating portion wherein the receiving portion complements the donating portion and interacts to form a pivot point between the first longitudinal strip and the second longitudinal strip. However Cartledge discloses in figs. 43-63 a first longitudinal strip (strut) forms a receiving portion of a coupling mechanism (hole) and a second longitudinal strip (strut with linked fastener) forms a donating portion (fastener portion) wherein the receiving portion complements the donating portion and interacts to form a pivot point between the first longitudinal strip and the second longitudinal strip ([0215] lines 1-15, [0216], [0217] lines 1-20, [0218] lines 1-10 disclose the struts are linked to pivot via connected screws/rivets). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured the stent of Angel with struts having fasteners as taught by Cartledge to provide the advantage of enhanced adjustability providing in situ accommodation to local anatomy as disclosed by Cartledge in [0019] and [0020]).
Regarding claim 4, Angel discloses a mesh link stent (fig. 1) but does not specifically disclose wherein the distance between two consecutive attachment points on a strip is 1/32, 1/16, 3/32, 1/8, 5/32, 3/16, 7/32, or 1/4 of an inch. However, Cartledge discloses in figs. 43-63 a stent lattice having openings as attachment points to receive screws or rivets ([0215] lines 1-15, [0216], [0217] lines 1-20, [0218] lines 1-10 disclose the struts are linked to pivot via connected screws/rivets). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured the stent of Angel with struts having fasteners in coincident holes as taught by Cartledge to provide the advantage of enhanced adjustability providing in situ accommodation to local anatomy as disclosed by Cartledge in [0019] and [0020]).
Angel discloses the stent can have a length of 3-8 cm (col. 8 lines 24-35) and the modified Angel substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the distance between two consecutive attachment points on a strip is 1/32, 1/16, 3/32, 1/8, 5/32, 3/16, 7/32, or 1/4 of an inch. However, figs. 44-63 of Cartledge disclose the attachment points are regularly spaced in close proximity along the length of the stent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured the stent of the modified Angel to include attachment points spaced within the claimed arrange as such would be considered a design choice fully implementable by one of ordinary skill in the art and well within an artisan’s skill. In addition, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are known, it is not inventive to determine optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 7, Angel substantially teaches the claimed invention except for a first longitudinal strip and a second longitudinal strip are connected by a fastener passing through coincident holes formed in the first longitudinal strip and second longitudinal strip. However, Cartledge discloses in figs. 43-53 a stent useable for the trachea ([0013]) including a first longitudinal strip (i.e. struts) and a second longitudinal strip (i.e. adjacent strut) are connected by a fastener (i.e. screw, rivet) passing through coincident holes formed in the first longitudinal strip and second longitudinal strip ([0215] lines 1-15, [0216], [0218] lines 1-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured the stent of Angel with struts having fasteners in coincident holes as taught by Cartledge to provide the advantage of enhanced adjustability providing in situ accommodation to local anatomy as disclosed by Cartledge in [0019] and [0020]).
Regarding claim 8, Angel substantially teaches the claimed invention except for a first longitudinal strip forms a receiving portion of a coupling mechanism and a second longitudinal strip forms a donating portion wherein the receiving portion complements the donating portion and interacts to form a pivot point between the first longitudinal strip and the second longitudinal strip. However Cartledge discloses in figs. 43-63 a first longitudinal strip (strut) forms a receiving portion of a coupling mechanism (hole) and a second longitudinal strip (strut with linked fastener) forms a donating portion (fastener portion) wherein the receiving portion complements the donating portion and interacts to form a pivot point between the first longitudinal strip and the second longitudinal strip ([0215] lines 1-15, [0216], [0217] lines 1-20, [0218] lines 1-10 disclose the struts are linked to pivot via connected screws/rivets). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured the stent of Angel with struts having fasteners as taught by Cartledge to provide the advantage of enhanced adjustability providing in situ accommodation to local anatomy as disclosed by Cartledge in [0019] and [0020]).
Regarding claim 9, Angel discloses a mesh link stent (fig. 1) but does not specifically disclose wherein the distance between two consecutive attachment points on a strip is 1/32, 1/16, 3/32, 1/8, 5/32, 3/16, 7/32, or 1/4 of an inch. However, Cartledge discloses in figs. 43-63 a stent lattice having openings as attachment points to receive screws or rivets ([0215] lines 1-15, [0216], [0217] lines 1-20, [0218] lines 1-10 disclose the struts are linked to pivot via connected screws/rivets). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured the stent of Angel with struts having fasteners in coincident holes as taught by Cartledge to provide the advantage of enhanced adjustability providing in situ accommodation to local anatomy as disclosed by Cartledge in [0019] and [0020]).
Angel discloses the stent can have a length of 3-8 cm (col. 8 lines 24-35) and the modified Angel substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the distance between two consecutive attachment points on a strip is 1/32, 1/16, 3/32, 1/8, 5/32, 3/16, 7/32, or 1/4 of an inch. However, figs. 44-63 of Cartledge disclose the attachment points are regularly spaced in close proximity along the length of the stent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured the stent of the modified Angel to include attachment points spaced within the claimed arrange as such would be considered a design choice fully implementable by one of ordinary skill in the art and well within an artisan’s skill. In addition, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are known, it is not inventive to determine optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
O’Neil (8,807,136) discloses an endotracheal tube with struts.
/LaToya M Louis/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785