DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8 December 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of group I in the reply filed on 8 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robert (US 2005/0162040).
With respect to claim 1, Robert discloses an ultrasonic transducer (Fig 1) comprising: at least a first membrane (item 1) configured to exhibit a first vibration to transceive ultrasonic waves (Paragraph 42); an electronic circuit coupled to the first membrane and configured to transceive electrical signals causing, or caused by, the first vibration (Paragraph 42); and a control element (items 5 and 7) disposed on a first side of the first membrane and configured to induce a displacement asymmetry (Figs 1-2, paragraph 43), in a motion of the first membrane during the first vibration, to the first side compared to a second side the opposite the first side (Figs 1-2, paragraph 43).
With respect to claim 10, Robert discloses the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 1, wherein the membrane comprises a first piezoelectric layer (item 1) for transceiving the electrical signals related to the first vibration of the first membrane (Fig 1, paragraph 42).
With respect to claim 5, Robert discloses the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 10, wherein the electronic circuit is configured to transmit a first electrical signal (item 6) to the first piezoelectric layer of the first membrane for causing the first vibration, wherein the electronic circuit is configured to transmit a different, second electrical signal (item 8) to the control element for dynamically affecting the membrane displacement during a respective vibration cycle of the first vibration caused by the first electrical signal (Paragraphs 42-43).
With respect to claim 6, Robert discloses the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 10, wherein the control element comprises an electrostatic device (items 5 and 7) configured to generate electrostatic charges on a surface of the first membrane comprising the first piezoelectric layer, and on another opposing surface adjacent the first membrane (Fig 1, Paragraphs 42-43).
With respect to claim 7, Robert discloses the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 6, wherein the electrostatic charge is generated on a second membrane (Fig 1, Paragraphs 42-43).
With respect to claim 8, Robert discloses the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 6, wherein the electrostatic device is configured to generate an alternating signal of electrostatic charges, wherein the application of electrostatic charges is synchronized with the first vibration of the first membrane (this is merely functional language stating an intended operational mode of the device caused by the applied signals, and wherein the device of Robert is “configured to” perform the stated functions)
With respect to claim 9, Robert discloses the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 6, wherein the electrostatic device is configured to include a continuous signal, or offset in an alternating signal, for applying the electrostatic charges, wherein the electrostatic charges are configured to change an equilibrium position of at least the first membrane (Fig 1, paragraphs 42-43; also, this is merely functional language stating an intended operational mode of the device caused by the applied signals, and wherein the device of Robert is “configured to” perform the stated functions).
With respect to claim 11, Robert discloses the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 6, wherein the electrostatic charge affects a stiffness of the first membrane (Figs1-2, paragraphs 42-43).
With respect to claim 12, Robert discloses the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 1, wherein the control element is configured to reduce an amplitude of the first membrane in one of the directions, towards the first side or the second side, compared to the opposite direction (Figs 1-2, paragraphs 42-43).
With respect to claim 13, Robert discloses the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 1, wherein the control element comprises a connection structure that is connected exclusively to a center of the first membrane on the first side (Fig 1, wherein the size of the “center” is undefined by the claim and therefore may be broadly defined to be anything other the outer edges where the membrane is supported), wherein the connection structure allows the displacement of the first membrane towards the first side but constrains the displacement to the second side (Figs 1-2, paragraphs 42-43).
With respect to claim 14, Robert discloses the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 10, wherein the first vibration has: a first amplitude between an equilibrium position of the first membrane and a maximum extended position of the first membrane to the first side, and a second amplitude between the equilibrium position and a maximum extended position of the first membrane to the second side, wherein the control element is configured to affect the motion of the first membrane for inducing a difference between the first and second amplitudes of at least five percent (Figs 1-2, paragraphs 42-43, wherein the device of Robert is “configured to” affect a difference in amplitude of greater than five percent based on the amplitude of the voltages applied between electrodes 5 ad 7 of the electrostatic element).
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uchikawa (US 3947644).
With respect to claim 1, Uchikawa discloses an ultrasonic transducer (Fig 4) comprising: at least a first membrane (item 1) configured to exhibit a first vibration to transceive ultrasonic waves (column 3, lines 7-16); an electronic circuit coupled to the first membrane and configured to transceive electrical signals causing, or caused by, the first vibration (column 3, lines 7-16); and a control element (item 9) disposed on a first side of the first membrane and configured to induce a displacement asymmetry, in a motion of the first membrane during the first vibration, to the first side compared to a second side the opposite the first side (Fig 4, wherein the displacement asymmetry inherently results from the elastic pressure provided by the material between the two membranes of Uchikawa).
With respect to claim 20, Uchikawa discloses the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 10, wherein the control element comprises a second piezoelectric layer (item 1’), wherein the electronic circuit is configured to actuate the second piezoelectric layer to dynamically change a characteristic of the first membrane during a part of a vibration cycle of the first membrane, wherein a first electric signal is sent to the first piezoelectric layer and a different, second electric signal is sent to the second piezoelectric layer (Fig 4, column 3, lines 7-16).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not want to disclose or suggest “wherein the control element comprises a second membrane disposed parallel to the first membrane with a closed pocket there between, wherein the closed pocket contains a fluid, resisting compression when the closed pocket contracts, causing a non-linear force on the first membrane as a function of its displacement towards the second membrane for inducing the displacement asymmetry” in combination with the remaining elements of claim 2
Conclusion
/DEREK J ROSENAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837