DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application, filed 12 May, 2022, is a national stage application of PCT/CN2020/120569, filed 13 October, 2020, which claims foreign benefit of Application CN 2019 10987593.8, filed 13 October, 2019.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
Claims 2, 4, 24-28, 32-36, and 40-41, filed 20 January, 2026, represent all claims currently under consideration.
Response to Declaration & Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and the Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 have been fully considered. The Declaration is persuasive only with respect to the compound encompassed by Formula 1b (e.g., Compound E1) and the claims directed thereto. Accordingly, the rejections of Claims 4, 26-28 and 34-36 under 35 U.S.C. §103 and the nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting doctrine have been withdrawn.
With respect to the remaining Claims 2, 24-25, 32-33, and 40-41 directed to Formula 1a, Applicant’s renewed arguments concerning lead compound selection and routine modification have been considered but are not persuasive for the reasons previously set forth in the Office Action mailed 3 February, 2026. The Declaration does not establish unexpected results commensurate in scope with the subject matter encompassed by Formula 1a. Accordingly, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103 and the nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting doctrine are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – MAINTAINED for Formula 1a Claims
Claims 2, 24-25, 32-33, and 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai and Tian (US 2019/0308984 Al, linked to WO 2018/090939 A1, of previous record.)
‘984 shares the same Applicant and two of the same Inventors.
Regarding Claim 2, Cai and Tian teach the Weel kinase inhibitor E77 (‘984, Pg. 34, Para 0368), shown top right, which overlaps the instantly claimed Formula Ia, shown middle right, wherein R1 is chloro, R2 is chloro, R3 is methyl, R4 is methyl, R5 is methyl, and R6 is methyl.
While Compound E77 fails to disclose R7 is a fluoro or methyl, Cai and Tian teach the genus of Formula III (‘984, Pg. 7, Para 0071), shown bottom right, wherein Ar1 is a phenyl substituted with halogens, and Ar2 is a phenyl substituted with halo or C1-C6 alkyl, which is substituted by one piperazinyl or one piperidinyl, and the piperazinyl or piperidinyl are optionally substituted by 1-3 substituents selected from C1 -C4 alkyl (‘984, Pg. 7, Para 0075.)
Regarding Claims 24 and 25, Cai and Tian teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising a compound of Formula III in an effective amount for the treatment of cancer (‘984, Pg. 2, Para 0013), wherein the pharmaceutical composition useful for the treatment of cancer may also contain one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers or diluents (‘984, Pg. 2, Para 0014.)
Regarding Claim 25, Cai and Tian teach a composition effective to treat cancer comprising a compound of Formula III, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or prodrug thereof, which functions as a kinase inhibitor, in combination with at least one known anticancer agent or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (‘984, Pg. 20, Para 0321.)
Regarding Claim 40, Cai and Tian teach that anticancer agents may include, but are not limited to, the PARP inhibitors olaparib, niraparib, rucaparib, and talazoparib (‘984, Pg. 20, Para 0321.)
Regarding Claims 32-33 and 41, Cai and Tian teach a therapeutic method comprising administering to a mammal an effective amount of a compound of Formula III, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or prodrug thereof, wherein said therapeutic method is useful for the treatment of diseases related with kinase, especially Weel kinase, such as cancer. Such diseases that can be treated or prevented by the method or pharmaceutical composition of the present disclosure include, but are not limited to, liver cancer, melanoma, Hodgkin's disease, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, acute lymphocytic leukemia, chronic lymphocytic leukemia, multiple myeloma, neuroblastoma, breast carcinoma, ovarian carcinoma, lung carcinoma, Wilms' tumor, cervical carcinoma, testicular carcinoma, soft-tissue sarcoma, primary macroglobulinemia, bladder carcinoma, chronic granulocytic leukemia, primary brain carcinoma, malignant melanoma, small-cell lung carcinoma, stomach carcinoma, colon carcinoma, malignant pancreatic insulinoma, malignant carcinoid carcinoma, choriocarcinoma, mycosis fungoides, head and neck carcinoma, osteogenic sarcoma, pancreatic carcinoma, acute granulocytic leukemia, hairy cell leukemia, rhabdomyosarcoma, Kaposi's sarcoma, genitourinary carcinoma, thyroid carcinoma, esophageal carcinoma, malignant hypercalcemia, cervical hyperplasia, renal cell carcinoma, endometrial carcinoma, polycythemia vera, essential thrombocytosis, adrenal cortex carcinoma, skin cancer, and prostatic carcinoma (‘984, Pg. 20, Para 0317.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select an exemplified compound of Cai and Tian and modify it. The prior art teaches a genus of compounds sharing a common core scaffold and therapeutic application and exemplifies multiple compounds exhibiting overlapping substituent patterns at corresponding positions. Such teachings would have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify exemplified compounds through routine, single-steps substitutions, including methylation, demethylation, or halogen substitution, as part of ordinary medicinal chemistry optimization. Additionally, the overlapping substitution patterns observed across Cai and Tian’s exemplified compounds with similar biological activity – wherein overlapping Ar1 and Ar2 differ primarily in the presence or absence of hydrogen, methyl, or halogen substituents – demonstrate that such positional and functional group changes were conventional optimization strategies recognized in the art and expressly taught by Cai and Tian. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success from these conservative modifications, as one skilled in the art would have anticipated that replacement among these commonly interchanged substituents at the same or analogous positions would yield compounds exhibiting comparable inhibitory potency and therapeutic profiles against the same class of diseases.
Double Patenting – MAINTAINED for Formula 1a Claims
Claims 2, 24-25, 32-33, and 40-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-4, 6-15, and 17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,703,759.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed compounds, compositions, and methods of use are suggested and/or exemplified within the patent and are therefore anticipated or an obvious variation of the reference claims.
Instant Formula Ia is fully encompassed by the broader genus formulas of Patent ‘759, to include the subgenus Formula III (‘759, Claim 10), wherein Ar1 is a phenyl substituted with two halogens, and Ar2 is a substituted phenyl of which the substituents are selected from: halo or a C1-C6 alkyl, which is substituted by one piperazinyl or one piperidinyl, and the piperazinyl or piperidinyl are optionally substituted by 1-3 substituents selected from C1-C4 alkyl.
Claims 2, 24-25, 32-33, and 40-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-7 and 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,345,711.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed methods and the compounds upon which they rely are suggested and/or exemplified within the patent and are therefore anticipated or an obvious variation of the reference claims.
Patent ‘711 teaches a method for treating Wee1-mediated disease in a subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of a compound of Formula I, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, or a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of Formula I or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, combined with an effective amount of at least one known anticancer agent, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of the said anticancer agent (shown to the right), wherein A is N, R1 is an optionally substituted aryl (phenyl), R2 is an optionally substituted aryl (phenyl), and R3-R7 are independently H, wherein the disease can be liver cancer, and wherein the anticancer agent can be busulfan.
Instant Formula Ia is fully encompassed by the broader genus formulas of Patent ‘759, to include the subgenus Formula III (‘759, Claim 7), wherein Ar1 is a phenyl substituted with two halogens, and Ar2 is a substituted phenyl of which the substituents are selected from: halo or a C1-C6 alkyl, which is substituted by one piperazinyl or one piperidinyl, and the piperazinyl or piperidinyl are optionally substituted by 1-3 substituents selected from C1-C4 alkyl.
Claims 2, 24-25, 32-33, and 40-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-4, and 6-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,345,710 in view of Meanwell (J. Med. Chem. 2011, 54, 2529–2591, of previous record.)
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed compounds and methods of use are an obvious variation of the Patented claims.
Patent ‘710 teaches Formula I (‘710, Col 70, Claim 1), shown top right, wherein A is N, R1 is an optionally substituted C6-C14 aryl (phenyl), R3-R5 are independently H, and R2 is an optionally substituted C6-C14 aryl (phenyl).
This differs from the instantly claimed Formula Ia by the placement of the N atoms on the tricyclic rings.
However, Meanwell specifically teaches the tactical application of N for C substitution in dihydropyridine derivatives (Meanwell, Pg. 2543, §3.3.3.)
Additionally, Patent ‘710 teaches R1 is AR1, wherein AR1 is
, R2 is AR2, wherein AR2 is
(’710, Claims 1-4, and 6-18.) Furthermore Patent ‘710 teaches a pharmaceutical composition of the compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (as in instant Claim 14), further comprising an anticancer agent such as busulfan (as in instant Claims 15-16) capable of treating Wee1 mediated cancers, such as liver cancer (as in instant Claim 19-23.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a nitrogen atom for a carbon atom in the tricyclic rings of the Patented Formula I, as such substitutions are routine bioisosteric modifications used to modulate pharmacokinetic or binding properties without altering the fundamental scaffold, as taught by Meanwell.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627