DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application, filed April 15, 2022, is a national stage application of PCT/IB2020/059524, filed October 9, 2020, and claims the benefit of U.S. provisional application 62/915,841, filed October 16, 2019.
Status of the Application
Applicant’s communication, received June 25, 2026, wherein claims 1, 3, and 8 are amended and claim 2 is canceled, is acknowledged.
Withdrawn Objections
Applicant’s amendment, received June 25, 2026, with respect to the objection to claim 8 for minor informalities, has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection because claim 8 is amended to remove the informality. Therefore the objection is withdrawn.
The following rejections are maintained from the previous office action, updated herein to reflect Applicant’s incorporation of the limitations of previous claim 2 into claim 1. Applicant’s arguments are addressed following these rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao (Cao, Y.; et al. Micro and Nano Letters 2011, vol. 6, p. 874-877; of record) in view of Miyashita (Miyashita, K.; et al. Biosci. Biotech. Biochem. 1993, vol. 57, pp. 1638-1640; of record) and Strassburger (Publication no. WO 2008083213 A2; of record).
Claim 1 claims a substituted β-cyclodextrin (CD) inclusion complex of gamma-linolenic acid (GLA), wherein the concentration of GLA is in the range of 1-20 mg/ml; the concentration of CD is in the range of 10-40% (w/v); wherein the cyclodextrin is substituted β-cyclodextrin selected from 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin; sulfobutylether-β-cyclodextrin, sodium salt; and 2,6-dimethyl-β-cyclodextrin; the CD:GLA molar ratio is in the range of about 2:1 to 8:1; and the inclusion complex is a formulation in the form of a nanoemulsion or lyophilizate. Claim 3 requires the CD:GLA molar ratio is about 4:1, and claim 4 requires the nanoemulsion particle size is in the range of about 50 nm to 300 nm.
Cao teaches compositions of conjugated linolenic acid (abbreviated CLN therein) that are encapsulated by β-cyclodextrin (p. 874, Abstract, lines 2-3). Encapsulation of CLN by β-cyclodextrin is interpreted as formation of an inclusion complex, absent evidence to the contrary. In addition, CLN is a derivative of linolenic acid (an octadecatrienoic acid) with positions of unsaturation in different positions on the fatty acid than gamma-linolenic acid.
Cao teaches that conjugated linolenic acid (CLN) is an imprecisely defined term describing a group of positional and geometric isomers of octadecatrienoic acids with three conjugated double bonds (p. 874, left column, section 1, lines 1-5). Cao teaches that CLN has a strong potential for killing cancer cells due to its free radical scavenging capacity and anticarcinogenic activity against several carcinogen-induced animal models, including Caco-2 colon cancer cells (p. 874, left column, section 1, lines 6-12). However, Cao teaches CLN as being oxidatively unstable and having poor water solubility, and that a major thrust in CLN applications is to develop an effective method that can improve its stability and solubility (p. 874, left column, section 1, second paragraph, lines 3-9).
Cao teaches fabrication of CLN-loaded β-CD nanoflakes (p. 874, left column, section 1, third paragraph, lines 10-11). Cao teaches that CLN-loaded β-CD nanoflakes were prepared by mixing 2.5 mL of 250 mg/mL β-CD aqueous solution with 0.5 mL of CLN alcoholic solution under nitrogen with stirring (p. 874, right column, section 2.2, first paragraph, lines 1-4). Cao teaches the content of CLN ranged from 30 to 120 mg (p. 874, right column, section 2.2, first paragraph, lines 4-5). Therefore, an approximately 3 mL solution contained 625 mg of β-CD and 30-120 mg CLN. The solution with 30 mg CLN has a concentration of 10 mg/mL CLN and 20.8% wt/vol β-CD.
Cao further teaches that after mixing for ten minutes, the solution was cooled and 10 mL of petroleum ether was added to remove the free CLN, and after centrifugation, the petroleum ether layer containing free CLN was collected (p. 874, right column, section 2.2, lines 6-9). Cao teaches that the water layer from this extraction from petroleum ether was volatilized, freeze-dried, and the white powder was stored at -20°C (p. 874, right column, section 2.2, lines 12-13). This is interpreted as satisfying the limitations of a lyophilizate recited in claim 1.
Based on the description of this method as described above, 625 mg of β-CD and 30-120 mg of CLN were used to prepare 3 mL of solution. As evidenced by Sigma Aldrich, the molecular weight of β-CD is 1134.98 g/mol and the molecular weight of a linolenic acid (noting that all linolenic acids will have the same molecular weight) is 278.43 g/mol (SDS documents for each of β-CD and linolenic acid of record; see p. 2 of each SDS). Therefore, the composition with 30 mg of CLN and 625 mg of β-CD has approximately 0.108 mmol of CLN and 0.550 mmol of β-CD for a molar ratio of 1:5.1, and the composition with 120 mg of CLN has approximately 0.431 mmol of CLN and 0.550 mmol of β-CD for a molar ratio of 1:1.27.
Cao further teaches the CLN loading and encapsulation efficiency depended on the concentration of CLN while the concentration of β-CD is kept constant (p. 875, left column, section 3.1, second paragraph, lines 11-13). Cao references table 1, which teaches that in solutions prepared from 250 mg of β-CD and 30-120 mg of CLN, encapsulation efficiency decreased from 97.8% to 94.2% as CLN content increased from 30 mg to 120 mg and that drug loading capacity increased from 10.5% to 31.2% as CLN content increased from 30 mg to 120 mg (p. 875, Table 1). Performing the same molecular weight calculations described above, the example with 30 mg of CLN and 250 mg of β-CD has a molar ratio of CLN:β-CD of approximately 1:2. Assuming the same 3 mL volume for these compositions as above, the 30 mg CLN solution has a concentration of 10 mg/mL CLN and 8.33% wt/vol β-CD.
Cao teaches that after CLN loading, CLN-loaded β-CD products are flake-shape, with about 50 nm in thickness and 1–3 μm in side length (p. 875, left column, Section 3.1, first paragraph, lines 7-9). Cao teaches that the dispersity of CLN and CLN-loaded β-CD nanoflakes in water after 2 min of ultrasonic treatment were compared, and whereas CLN is water insoluble and aggregates to form a block, CLN encapsulated in β-CD can be easily dispersed into water to form a turbid liquid (p. 875, right column, section 3.2, second paragraph, lines 1-6; p. 876, Figure 5). Given that the size of the CLN-loaded β-CD nanoflakes is reasonably measured in nanometers (with thickness of 50 nm) and their formation of a turbid liquid when dispersed in water, the examiner is reasonably interpreting this composition as a nanoemulsion as recited in claim 1, absent evidence to the contrary.
Finally, Cao teaches that encapsulation of CLN using β-CD improves the oxidative stability of CLN. Cao teaches the effect of oxidation on CLN and CLN-loaded β-CD nanoflakes in 1:1 water/ethanol at 50 °C. Cao teaches that CLN is unstable, with about 80% of CLN oxidized after exposure to air for 30 minutes and approximately 97% oxidized after 40 min (p. 875, right column, section 3.2, first paragraph, lines 1-6; p. 875, Figure 4a). However, Cao teaches that the oxidation rate of CLN encapsulated in β-CD is significantly slowed compared to that of free CLN, with less than 1% of CLN oxidized after 40 minutes and 35% CLN remaining after exposure to air for 280 hours (p. 875, right column, section 3.2, first paragraph, lines 6-11; p. 875, Figures 4b, 4c).
Cao does not teach the cyclodextrin inclusion complex including gamma-linolenic acid and wherein the cyclodextrin is selected from 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin; sulfobutylether-β-cyclodextrin, sodium salt; and 2,6-dimethyl-β-cyclodextrin, as required by independent claim 1.
Miyashita teaches the oxidation of polyunsaturated fatty acids in an aqueous solution catalyzed by Fe2+-ascorbic acid (p. 1638, left column, second paragraph, lines 1-3), explaining that these conditions were chosen due to increasing interest in the biological effects of polyunsaturated fatty acids and the need to assess stability under conditions closer to a biological system (p. 1638, left column, first paragraph, lines 14-16). Miyashita teaches that gamma-linolenic acid is rapidly oxidized by incubation with Fe2+-ascorbic acid at 37 °C in aqueous solution (p. 1639, Figure 1), including oxidizing more quickly than alpha linolenic acid (p. 1639, Figure 2). Therefore, based on the teachings of Miyashita, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized rapid oxidation as a potential challenge associated with using gamma-linolenic acid in a biological system.
Strassburger teaches a product comprising a guest complexed with a cyclodextrin, wherein the guest is more stable in the product and does not degrade as quickly as a product comprising the same guest without a cyclodextrin (cover page, abstract, lines 1-4).
Strassburger claims a method for reducing degradation of a guest in a product over time comprising adding a guest complexed with a cyclodextrin to the product, wherein the guest is complexed with the cyclodextrin in the presence in an emulsifier (p. 57, claim 32), and further claims the cyclodextrin comprises a β-cyclodextrin, a substituted β-cyclodextrin, and hydroxypropyl β-cyclodextrin (p. 58, claims 41-43), and teaches one such cyclodextrin is 2-hydroxypropyl β-cyclodextrin (p. 8, [0048], lines 1-2). Strassburger expressly teaches that the cyclodextrin inclusion complex may be prepared as an emulsion (p. 20, [00110], lines 3-5). Strassburger further teaches that the guest may include polyunsaturated fatty acids (p. 11, [0066], lines 1-2), and teaches gamma-linolenic acid (GLA) as one such example polyunsaturated fatty acids (p. 12, [0067], lines 1-5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Cao and prepare an inclusion complex of gamma-linolenic acid and 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method taught by Cao and prepare an inclusion complex of gamma-linolenic acid and 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin because Cao teaches encapsulation of conjugated linolenic acid in β-cyclodextrin, which protects it from oxidation, Miyashita teaches that gamma-linolenic acid is rapidly oxidized in aqueous solutions with catalysts in biological systems, and Strassburger teaches inclusion complexes of guest compounds in cyclodextrins for preventing or reducing guest compound degradation, specifically teaching gamma-linolenic acid as one such guest and 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin as one example β-cyclodextrin. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, in recognizing gamma-linolenic acid as susceptible to oxidative degradation and encapsulation of linolenic acids in β-cyclodextrins as one recognized strategy to reduce unwanted degradation, would have contemplated an inclusion complex of gamma-linolenic acid and β-cyclodextrin, including 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have further considered the method of preparing the compositions of CLN and β-cyclodextrin taught by Cao for guidance in preparing inclusion complexes of gamma-linolenic acid and 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin, because said method has been shown to be effective for formulating CLNs with β-cyclodextrins.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success modifying the method of Cao and preparing a composition comprising an inclusion complex of gamma-linolenic acid and 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin because Strassburger teaches inclusion complexes of polyunsaturated fatty acids in cyclodextrins, including gamma-linolenic acid as an example polyunsaturated fatty acid and 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin as an example 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success modifying the method of Cao by substituting gamma-linolenic acid in place of CLN and 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin in place of β-cyclodextrin, because these compounds are expressly suggested by Strassburger for formulation as inclusion complexes.
With respect to the concentration of cyclodextrin and gamma-linolenic acid required by claim 1 and the molar ratio of CD:GLA required by claims 1 and 3, in view of Cao teaching inclusion complexes with concentrations of CD and GLA that satisfy the present claims (or are just outside of the presently claimed range, such as the 8.3% w/v CD recited above) and that different ratios of CLN and CD affect the encapsulation efficiency of CLN, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the concentration of gamma-linolenic acid and substituted β-CD, as well as their molar ratio, as result-effective variables.
MPEP 2144.05 at II A states: “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” In this instance, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered compositions with varying concentrations and ratios of gamma-linolenic acid and β-cyclodextrin, to for example, optimize the encapsulation efficiency of gamma-linolenic acid and to adjust the drug loading capacity of the gamma-linolenic acid.
Therefore the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Miyashita and Strassburger as applied to claims 1 and 3-4 above, and further in view of Kokura (Kokura, S.; et al. Cancer Research 1997, vol. 57, pp. 2200-2202; of record) and Das (Das, U. N.; et al. Prostaglandins, Leukotrienes, and Essential Fatty Acids 2004, vol. 70, pp. 539-552; of record).
Claim 8 recites a method for treatment of cancer, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof the formulation according to claim 1, wherein the cancer is selected from cancers of the brain, gliomas, and metastatic cancers to the brain. Claim 9 depends from claim 8 and requires said glioma is glioblastoma multiforme.
Cao, Miyashita, and Strassburger teach as described in the above rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Cao, Miyashita, and Strassburger do not teach a method for treatment of cancer, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof the formulation of claim 1, wherein the cancer is selected from cancers of the brain, gliomas, and metastatic cancers to the brain including leptomeningeal cancers, as required by claims 8 and 9.
Kokura teaches the effect of polyunsaturated fatty acids on cancer. Specifically, Kokura teaches administration of 4 mg/kg oleic acid, linoleic acid, α-linolenic acid, and gamma-linolenic acid (p. 2200, left column, Materials and Methods section, second paragraph, lines 1-3) in rats with carcinoma. Kokura teaches that alpha-tocopherol levels in tumor and tumor volume were reduced by treatment with gamma-linolenic acid (p. 2201, Figures 2 and 3), and further reduced when mice were subjected to hyperthermia treatment in combination with administration of gamma-linolenic acid (p. 2201, Figure 5; p. 2202, Figure 6).
Kokura teaches that although they observed a slight antitumor effect of intraarterial injection of gamma-linolenic acid, extremely high doses would likely be required for significant antitumor effects, and in this instance, the antitumor effect was obtained with polyunsaturated fatty acids administered to increase the levels of radical reaction substrates, followed by a trigger for radical reactions, hyperthermia. Kokura concludes by stating that although the prospect of obtaining an antitumor effect with polyunsaturated fatty acids alone is attractive, there are several problems with clinical application of this approach, such as hemolysis and decreased fatty acid availability because of binding to albumin (p. 2202, right column, lines 1-12).
Das teaches that polyunsaturated fatty acids, especially gamma-linolenic acid (GLA), have selective tumoricidal action especially against malignant glioma cells both in vitro and in vivo (p. 539, Abstract, lines 2-4). Das teaches that malignant astrocytomas, anaplastic astrocytoma and glioblastoma multiforme are the most common glial tumors, with an annual incidence of 3–4 per 100,000 population, and that at least 80% of malignant gliomas are glioblastomas (p. 539, left column, first paragraph, lines 7-11). Das further teaches administration of GLA to patient with glioblastoma multiforme (p. 546, Figure 3; p. 547, Figure 4). Das teaches an open label clinical study was performed on six patients with recurrent glioma or anaplastic astrocytoma, and that intratumoral injection of GLA given at the rate of 1 mg/day for 7–10 days produced a significant reduction in the tumor size without any acute side effects, and that pre- and post-treatment CT scans of three of the patients (see Figures 3-5 in Das, pp. 546, 547, and 548) showed that intratumoral injection of GLA induced significant reduction in tumor size and decrease in midline shift, an indication that tumor has regressed (p. 545, left column, first paragraph). The patient in Figure 3 and the patient in Figure 4 are reported to specifically suffer from glioblastoma multiforme (see captions of Figures 3 and 4, pp. 546-547).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to administer the composition obvious over Cao in view of Miyashita and Strassburger for treating glioblastoma multiforme. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer the composition obvious over Cao in view of Miyashita and Strassburger for treating glioblastoma multiforme in view of Kokura teaching the anti-tumor benefit of intraarterial injection of gamma-linolenic acid as well as the challenges of administering polyunsaturated fatty acids, such as hemolysis and decreased fatty acid availability, and Das teaching the effectiveness in administering gamma-linolenic acid for treating glioblastoma multiforme. Therefore, given the protective effects of encapsulation of CLN and gamma-linolenic acid with β-cyclodextrin taught by Cao and Strassburger, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that administering the inclusion complex obvious over Cao in view of Miyashita and Strassburger for treating glioblastoma multiforme may overcome stated challenges with administering gamma-linolenic acid as taught by Kokura, such as decreased stability and decreased bioavailability, and thus improve the utility of gamma-linolenic acid as a treatment for glioblastoma multiforme, as taught by Das.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success administering the composition of claim 1 for treating glioblastoma multiforme because a lack of stability of gamma-linolenic acid in biological or biological-like systems is a recognized problem taught by Miyashita and Kokura, and thus administration of said inclusion complex, which is expected to reduce degradation of gamma-linolenic acid, as taught by Strassburger and as observed for CLN by Cao, may also reduce degradation of gamma-linolenic acid when administered for treating glioblastoma multiforme.
Therefore the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Response to Applicant’s arguments
In response to the previous rejections, Applicant provides the following arguments:
1. Applicant argues that Cao teaches nanoflakes of conjugated linolenic (CLN) acid and β-CD, and fails disclose substituted β-CD as claimed in the present invention. Applicant argues these exclusions are substantial because the presently claimed formulation requires both a structurally distinct fatty acid and a structurally distinct cyclodextrin carrier. Further, GLA and CLN are not interchangeable species. CLN contains conjugated carbon-carbon double bonds, whereas GLA is a non-conjugated polyunsaturated fatty acid having methylene-interrupted double bonds at the 6, 9, and 12 positions. Thus, the difference between GLA and CLN is not merely a positional variation; it changes the chemical and physicochemical behavior of the fatty acid. Because GLA lacks the conjugated double-bond system present in CLN, GLA presents different stability and formulation challenges. A person of ordinary skill in the art would therefore not reasonably expect formulation parameters developed for CLN in Cao to be directly applicable to GLA with a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant further argues Cao uses β-CD. In contrast, the pending claims require substituted β-CD, such as hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin or sulfobutyl ether-β-cyclodextrin. β-CD is a natural cyclic oligosaccharide having low to moderate aqueous solubility, whereas substituted β-CDs contain hydrophilic or ionic substituents that can significantly alter water solubility, complexation behavior, chemical stability, and pharmaceutical performance. Accordingly, Cao does not disclose the cyclodextrin component required by the amended claims.
Applicant argues that the problem addressed in Cao is the oxidative instability of CLN and improvement of the oxidative stability and dispersibility of CLN through β-CD encapsulation. Cao suggests potential use of the CLN-β-CD product as a neoplastic agent for colon cancer, but these teachings do not disclose or suggest the presently claimed substituted β-CD:GLA inclusion complex, nor do they provide a reason to select the claimed substituted β-CD:GLA molar ratio.
2. Applicant argues that Table 1 of Cao teaches CLN-β-CD complexes prepared at specific ratios, including a CLN:β-CD molar ratio of about 1:1.27 and another ratio of about 1.5:1. Expressed as βCD: CLN ratios, these are approximately 1.27:1 and 0.67:1. By contrast, amended claim 1 requires a substituted β-CD:GLA molar ratio of 2:1 to 8:1, which represents a substantially greater cyclodextrin-to-fatty-acid ratio than the ratios disclosed in Cao.
Applicant argues the claimed molar ratio is not a result-effective variable that could be obtained through routine optimization. Cao teaches ratios suitable for CLN and β-CD, not for GLA and substituted β-CD. The encapsulation efficiency reported in Cao establishes, at most, a functional relationship for CLN with β-CD and cannot be extrapolated to the presently claimed GLA/substituted β-CD system. The claimed ratio provides unexpectedly enhanced stability of GLA and is therefore a critical formulation parameter rather than a routine optimization of Cao.
Applicant argues that the molar ratio calculation relied upon in the office action does not establish obviousness. Applicant argues the molecular weight of β-CD differs from that of substituted β-CDs, because, for example, hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin has an average molecular weight that differs significantly from β-CD. Therefore, any apparent similarity in nominal ratios does not reflect the actual amount or molar quantity of carrier required in the presently claimed formulation.
3. Applicant argues that Cao fails to teach a lyophilizate of GLA and substituted β-CD. Applicant argues that the present invention discloses stable lyophilizate are obtained as shown in figure 1. The photograph shows well dispersed droplets with average size of 200±85 nm.
Applicant further argues the process and product described in the present application are materially different from the product disclosed in Cao, as Cao describes freeze-dried, flake-shaped CLN-loaded β-CD particles. In contrast, the present invention provides a nanoemulsion, which is a colloidal particulate system comprising a continuous phase and dispersed nanoscale droplets. Nanoemulsions are kinetically stable systems and present different stability requirements, physical behavior, and pharmaceutical performance characteristics from dispersed nanoflakes.
Applicant argues the structural difference between the claimed nanoemulsion and the nanoflake system of Cao is therefore a fundamental technical distinction, not a mere difference in terminology. A person of ordinary skill in the art would not have reasonably expected the
freeze-dried CLN nanoflakes of Cao to inherently produce a stable GLA nanoemulsion or a lyophilizate of GLA with substituted β-CD. Accordingly, the claimed nanoemulsion and lyophilizate cannot be regarded as obvious variants of Cao.
4. Applicant argues Strassburger is directed to stabilizing guest compounds with cyclodextrins and reducing the formation of degradation products. The principal guest compounds in Strassburger are flavouring agents, and the problem addressed is improvement of flavour stability when products are exposed to light. Strassburger is therefore directed to a different field, a different technical problem, and a different objective from the present invention.
5. Applicant argues that Strassburger emphasizes complexation in the presence of an emulsifier and teaches that degradation of the guest may be reduced by complexation with cyclodextrin in such systems. Strassburger teaches that hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin may provide superior colour stability but may be less effective than β-cyclodextrin in preventing flavour off-notes, and therefore suggests mixtures of β-cyclodextrin and hydroxypropyl β-cyclodextrin for balancing those flavour-related properties. Applicant argues skilled person following Strassburger would therefore be directed towards flavour stabilization systems involving emulsifiers and cyclodextrin mixtures, not toward the presently claimed substituted β-CD:GLA pharmaceutical inclusion complex at the claimed molar ratio.
6. Applicant argues Miyashita concerns the oxidative stability of typical polyunsaturated fatty acids and is different from the problem solved by the present invention. Miyashita reports that α-linolenic acid may exhibit higher oxidative stability than γ-linolenic acid in aqueous solution and discusses the oxidative stability of mixtures such as DHA/linoleic acid mixtures. Such disclosure may identify instability of certain polyunsaturated fatty acids, but it does not teach the presently claimed solution. Applicant argues that Miyashita does not disclose cyclodextrin complexation as a stabilization strategy, does not teach substituted β-CD, does not teach nanoemulsions or lyophilizates, and does not teach the claimed substituted β-CD:GLA molar ratio. At most, Miyashita identifies a general oxidation problem. It provides no teaching that would have led a skilled person to the claimed formulation and no reasonable expectation of success in obtaining it.
Applicant argues Miyashita is also silent regarding anti-brain-cancer properties of GLA, and a person of ordinary skill, considering Miyashita as a primary reference, would not combine it with Cao to arrive at the present claims because the references concern different fatty acids and different formulation contexts. Miyashita is directed to oxidative stability in an aqueous or dietary context, whereas the present invention provides a stable pharmaceutical formulation of GLA for medical use.
7. Applicant argues that although an obviousness determination based on multiple references does not require an actual physical substitution of elements, the proposed combination must still be supported by an expressed reason to combine the references with a reasonable expectation of success. Here, the proposed substitution of GLA from Miyashita and substituted β-CD from Strassburger into the CLN / β-CD system of Cao is not supported by the teachings of the cited art. The references address different compounds, different fields, different formulation problems, and different intended uses. The Examiner's proposed combination can be reconstructed only with knowledge of Applicant's disclosure. Miyashita. identifies oxidation susceptibility of certain fatty acids, Cao discloses β-CD nanoflakes of CLN, and Strassburger concerns flavour stabilization using cyclodextrins. None of these references, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests the specific combination of: (i) GLA; (ii) substituted β-CD; (iii) a substituted β-CD:GLA molar ratio of 2:1 to 8:1; and (iv) a stable nanoemulsion or lyophilizate suitable for pharmaceutical administration. The proposed rejection therefore relies on impermissible hindsight reconstruction.
Applicant argues that even assuming, arguendo, that a skilled person had been motivated to combine Cao, Miyashita, and Strassburger, the cited art still fails to provide a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining the presently claimed formulation. The cited art neither teaches the critical substituted β-CD:GLA molar ratio nor suggests the unexpectedly
enhanced stability associated with that ratio.
8. Applicant argues Das teaches that GLA or its salts may be useful in treating gliomas, a point already acknowledged in the background section of the present application, Kokura discusses antitumour activity involving γ-linolenic acid, including the observation that intraarterial injection of γ-linolenic acid showed only a slight antitumour effect and that high doses would likely be required for significant antitumour effects, and Kokura indicates that hyperthermia combined with γ-linolenic acid can increase free-radical reactions in cancer tissue and suppress tumour growth.
Applicant argues Das and Kokura do not remedy the deficiencies of Cao, Miyashita,
and Strassburger, and that neither Das nor Kokura address the stability problems associated with GLA formulations. Neither reference teaches cyclodextrin complexation of GLA, substituted β-CD, nanoemulsion formulations, lyophilizates, or the claimed substituted β-CD:GLA molar ratio. Das addresses therapeutic utility of GLA against gliomas, and Kokura addresses antitumour effects under different treatment conditions, including hyperthermia, but they do not teach the stable pharmaceutical formulation now claimed.
Applicant’s arguments summarized above have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive.
With respect to argument 1 above, each of GLA and CLN are fatty acid compounds, although, as Applicant argues, the specific positions of unsaturation in the fatty acid differ. Applicant argues that GLA and CLN are not interchangeable species because these structure changes change the chemical and physicochemical behavior of the fatty acid and presents different stability and formulation challenges, but prior art (Strassburger) suggests gamma-linolenic acid formulated by inclusion in a claimed substituted β-CD. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success formulating GLA and a claimed substituted β-CD.
Regarding the substituted β-CD required by the present claims, because Strassburger teaches a product comprising a guest complexed with a cyclodextrin wherein the guest is more stable in the product and does not degrade as quickly as a product comprising the same guest without a cyclodextrin, and further suggests a substituted β-cyclodextrin for said complex, 2-hydroxypropyl β-cyclodextrin, one of ordinary skill in the art would have contemplated a substituted β-cyclodextrin in place of the β-cyclodextrin taught by Cao. Each of Cao, Miyashita, and Strassburger are concerned with oxidative degradation of unsaturated fatty acid compounds, and are therefore reasonable to combine.
Regarding the oxidative instability of Cao, Cao teaches that complexation of conjugated linolenic acids with cyclodextrin improves its oxidative stability. Miyashita teaches that gamma-linolenic acid is susceptible to oxidation. Therefore, the prior art acknowledges the problem of oxidative stability associated with gamma-linolenic acid. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably considered formulating gamma-linolenic acid in such a way as to reduce oxidation. As one example, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably considered methods known in the prior art to reduce oxidation of other unsaturated fatty acids, such as the complexation of conjugated linolenic acids with β-CD, as taught by Cao and Strassburger.
With respect argument 2 above, because Cao teaches inclusion complexes with concentrations of CD and CLN that satisfy the present claims (or are just outside of the presently claimed range, such as the 8.3% CD recited above) and that different ratios of CLN and CD affect the encapsulation efficiency of CLN, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the concentration of gamma-linolenic acid and substituted β-CD, as well as their molar ratio, as result-effective variables.
MPEP 2144.05 at II A states: “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” In this instance, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered compositions with varying concentrations and ratios of gamma-linolenic acid and β-cyclodextrin, to for example, optimize the encapsulation efficiency of gamma-linolenic acid.
Regarding the specific molecular weights of gamma-linolenic acid and the substituted β-cyclodextrin required by the present claims, the examiner agrees with Applicant that the molecular weights of CLN and β-cyclodextrin taught by Cao will be different. Based on the description of the method of Cao, 625 mg of β-CD and 30-120 mg of CLN were used to prepare 3 mL of solution. The composition with 30 mg of CLN includes 0.108 mmol of CLN and 0.550 mmol of β-CD, which is a molar ratio of 1:5.1. The composition with 120 mg of CLN has approximately 0.431 mmol of CLN and 0.550 mmol of β-CD for a molar ratio of 1:1.27.
Sigma Aldrich provides that 2-hydroxypropyl β-CD has a molecular weight of approximately ~1396 Da (p. 3, Properties section; of record). Noting that all linolenic acids will have the same molecular weight, a composition with 30 mg of CLN and 625 mg of 2-HP-β-CD has approximately 0.108 mmol of CLN and 0.447 mmol of 2-HP-β-CD for a molar ratio of 1:4.1, and a composition with 120 mg of CLN has approximately 0.431 mmol of CLN and 0.447 mmol of 2-HP β-CD for a molar ratio of 1:1.04. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, following the guidance of Cao and solely substituting the same mass of β-CD for 2-HP-β-CD, would have prepared a composition that satisfies the instant claims. Moreover, the Office maintains that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized substituted β-CDs as having different molecular weights, and would have considered these different molecular weights when preparing the product obvious over Cao in view of Strassburger and Miyashita.
Although Table 1 of Cao teaches 250 mg of β-CD content, Cao clearly teaches in their method that to prepare CLN-loaded β-CD nanoflakes: 2.5 mL of 250 mg/mL β-CD aqueous solution was mixed with 0.5 mL of CLN alcoholic solution. Therefore, based on the description of Cao’s method, 625 mg of β-CD were used to prepare the conjugates, or one of ordinary skill in the art would have at least considered the method of Cao using 625 mg of β-CD. Applicant’s arguments cite a CLN:β-CD ratio of about 1.5:1. This appears to be typographical error from the ratio recited in the office action, 1:5.1, which falls within the claimed range.
Finally, Applicant argues the claimed ratio provides unexpectedly enhanced stability of GLA and is therefore a critical formulation parameter rather than a routine optimization of Cao, however it is unclear how such enhanced stability is unexpected in view of the prior art suggesting improved stability of unsaturated fatty acids by complexation with β-CD. In this instance, absent secondary considerations of non-obviousness such as superior encapsulation efficiency associated with a specific molar ratio of gamma-linolenic acid and substituted β-cyclodextrin, this combination and the specific molar ratio of these components are obvious over the cited prior art.
With respect to argument 3 above, Cao teaches both a lyophilized sample (see p. 874, right column, section 2.2; lines 12-13; the water layer was freeze-dried to obtain a white powder) and an emulsion (see p. 876, Figure 5; formation of a turbid liquid with CLN). Therefore, Cao appears to teach each formulation of claim 1. In addition, Cao teaches the nanoflakes were 50 nm in thickness. Cao does not expressly teach the size of the particle when present in the dispersion of Figure 5, however, absent a showing that a size of the particles when dispersed in water according to Figure 5 of Cao does not satisfy the limitations of present claim 4, the Office asserts that the preponderance of evidence favors the emulsion of Cao as satisfying the limitations of claim 4.
Regarding the properties of the claimed nanoemulsion, the Office maintains that the size of the particles and formation of a turbid liquid indicate formation of a nanoemulsion, absent evidence to the contrary.
However, Applicant is invited to provide evidence of unpredictability regarding the formation of a nanoemulsion from a lyophilizate, which would place claims directed to the nanoemulsion in condition for allowance. As stated above, the examiner maintains that the nanoemulsion of the present claims is obvious in view of Cao disclosing the turbid composition formed from their nanometer-sized particles in water, which appears to have the properties as a nanoemulsion. However, evidence that a resulting emulsion does not necessarily include the same size lyophilizate particles used when preparing said emulsion, or evidence that a turbid composition formed by a lyophilizate in liquid does not necessarily have the same properties as the present nanoemulsion with respect to, for example, the stability of the nanoemulsion, would offer persuasive evidence of nonobviousness to overcome this rejection.
However, such evidence of non-obviousness would only place the claims directed to the nanoemulsion in condition for allowance.
With respect to argument 4 above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized reducing oxidative degradation as one example of reducing the formation of guest degradation products, as taught by Strassburger, and therefore would have considered the teachings of Strassburger as relevant to those of Cao and Miyashita. Regarding Applicant’s argument that Strassburger is directed to improving flavor stability, although Strassburger teaches examples wherein cyclodextrin is used to improve flavor stability, because Strassburger teaches that their invention provides a product comprising a guest complexed with a cyclodextrin wherein the guest is more stable in the product and does not degrade as quickly as a product comprising the same guest without a cyclodextrin (e.g., see Abstract of Strassburger), one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the teachings of Strassburger are not solely limited to complexation of flavoring agents with cyclodextrin.
With respect to argument 5 above, Strassburger teaches a method of complexation with an emulsifier, as Applicant notes, however it’s unclear how this is relevant to the present rejection, because the presently claimed formulation may be formulated as a nanoemulsion. In addition, if for some reason the emulsifier is relevant, Strassburger further claims complexation products with a cyclodextrin and guest (e.g., p. 55, claim 8), and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have contemplated these cyclodextrin/guest complexes without an emulsifying agent.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments about Strassburger’s teachings of color stability compared with flavor stability, although Strassburger acknowledges the benefits of the combination of β-CD and 2-HP-β-CD, the Office maintains that Strassburger teaches each as unexpectedly better for preserving one property or another, but does not teach β-CD and 2-HP-β-CD as unable to form an inclusion complex with gamma-linolenic acid. Thus Strassburger does not teach away from the claimed invention. Moreover, each of β-CD and 2-HP-β-CD in complex with gamma-linolenic acid would be expected to increase the stability of the gamma-linolenic acid, absent evidence to the contrary.
With respect to argument 6 above, Miyashita teaches that both alpha-linolenic acid and gamma-linolenic acid are subject to oxidative degradation. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a need to protect gamma-linolenic acid from oxidation, and would have considered the strategies known in the prior art to protect unsaturated fatty acids from oxidation, such as the strategies taught by Miyashita. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have contemplated other methods for protecting unsaturated fatty acids from oxidation as well, including the complexation methods of Cao and Strassburger, and would have further recognized these methods as useful for protecting each of alpha-linolenic acid and gamma-linolenic acid. Moreover, because Miyashita teaches that gamma-linolenic acid is more susceptible to degradation than alpha-linolenic acid, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized gamma-linolenic acid as in greater need of protection from oxidative degradation than alpha-linolenic acid.
Regarding arguments concerning the anti-brain-cancer properties of GLA, Miyashita teaches the oxidative instability of GLA, and thus would be obvious to combine with Cao and Strassburger for reasons described above. Miyashita failing to directly teach the anti-brain-cancer properties of GLA does render patentable the product obvious over Cao, Strassburger, and Miyashita.
With respect to argument 7 above, as stated, because Miyashita teaches oxidative instability as a problem associated with GLA, one of ordinary skill in the art would have looked to methods in the prior art for reducing oxidative instability of fatty acids, including to the formulations that include β-CD and substituted β-CD taught by Cao and Strassburger. Accordingly, the present rejections do not rely on impermissible hindsight.
Regarding the argument that the cited art still fails to provide a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining the presently claimed formulation, because Strassburger suggests GLA may be formulated with a β-CD, including the substituted β-CDs recited in claim 1, the prior art provides a reasonable expectation of obtaining the claimed formulation with enhanced stability. Regarding the critical substituted β-CD:GLA molar ratio, the Office maintains that the optimal molar ratio would have been identified by routine optimization, as taught by Cao, absent evidence of unexpected results that demonstrate the criticality of this molar ratio for substituted β-CD and GLA.
With respect to argument 8 above, in view of Das teaching GLA is effective for treating gliomas and Miyashita, Kokura, and Strassburger teaching that GLA is susceptible to degradation, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a formulation that protects GLA from such degradation may also be useful for treating gliomas.
Moreover, in view of Das and Kokura, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that any reduced efficacy of GLA may be due to the recognized challenges associated with administering GLA, and thus administration of a formulation of GLA that protects against degradation, such as the formulation of GLA obvious over Cao in view of Miyashita and Strassburger as described above, may further improve the antitumor effect and/or lower the required dose of GLA. Moreover, because Das teaches the efficacy of GLA delivered directly to the tumor, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the mode of administration of GLA is important, would have recognized the challenges of administering GLA acknowledged by Kokura, and thus would have contemplated formulations that may reduce GLA degradation in biological conditions.
Therefore, for the reasons stated above, the present rejection of claims 1 and 3-4 as unpatentable over Cao in view of Miyashita and Strassburger, and the present rejection of claims 8-9 as unpatentable over Cao in view of Miyashita and Strassburger, and further in view of Kokura and Das, are maintained.
As stated above, the Office maintains that the size of the particles and formation of a turbid liquid indicate formation of a nanoemulsion, absent evidence to the contrary. However, Applicant is encouraged to provide evidence of unpredictability regarding the formation of a nanoemulsion from a lyophilizate, which may be sufficient to overcome rejections relating to the nanoemulsion and place claims directed to the nanoemulsion in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/ANDREA OLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693