DETAILED ACTION
The previous prior art rejection under Muller et al. (US 6036962) and evidences by Morgan et al. (Interfacial Polycondensation. XIII. Viscosity-Molecular Weight Relationship and Some Molecular Characteristics of 6-10 Polyamide, J. Polymer Sci., Part A, Vol 1, pp 1147-1162, 299 (1963)) and Kory et al. (US 20160137782) and over Priedeman (US 20180030234) in view of Muller as evidences by Morgan and Kory maintained and therefore it is proper to make this rejection FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Muller et al. (US 6036962) and evidences by Morgan et al. (Interfacial Polycondensation. XIII. Viscosity-Molecular Weight Relationship and Some Molecular Characteristics of 6-10 Polyamide, J. Polymer Sci., Part A, Vol 1, pp 1147-1162, 299 (1963)) and Kory et al. (US 20160137782), all cited in previous Office Action.
Claim 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Priedeman (US
20180030234), cited in previous Office Action in view of Muller as evidences by Morgan and Kory.
Amendments to claims 1, 5 and 15 and new clams 16 and 17 are noted.
The Amendments solely drawn to a clarification of claims content.
In reference to claim 16, Priedeman discloses a water dispersible material is being in filament form (see 0011).
Regarding claim 17, Muller teaches laurolactam as a monomer (see 2:50).
The rejection can be found in the NON-FINAL office action mailed 7/29/2025 and is herein incorporated by reference
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Muller’s viscosity measurements are not equivalent to Applicant’s ones. Thus, Examiner’s assumption that Muller actually discloses a polymer with the same viscosity range is incorrect.
Examiner disagrees. Both Morgan’s and Applicant’s viscosity data represent the expression of polymer molecular weight. While Examiner provides some evidence that molecular weights in both cases are low (i.e. oligomeric range), Applicant fails to provide any correlation between IV value and molecular weight range of the polymer.
Applicant argues that there is no reason one skilled in the art would modify the cosmetic film of Muller in a manner to arrive at the claimed subject matter.
Examiner disagrees. Content of claims 1-17 does not indicate the method of using a water dispersible polyamide.
Note that Priedeman (US 20180030234) teaches a copolyamide for additive manufacture, while Muller discloses a cosmetic composition. However, Muller’s polymer structure allows to achieve the properties desired in Priedeman’s application.
For instance, required transparency of Priedeman’s additive can be achieved using Muller’s copolyamide (see Non-Final Office Action).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GL
/GREGORY LISTVOYB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765