DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 02/23/2026:
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, and 15 are pending in the current application. Claim 1 has been amended.
Response to Arguments
Examiner notes that Applicant’s claim set filed 01/21/2026 was previously entered with Examiner’s Advisory Action, therefore, overcoming the rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in the Final Rejection dated 11/21/2025.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot due to the amendment to the claims.
After consideration of Applicant’s arguments, the Examiner’s position that Miura in view of Yang reads on Applicant’s claims remains.
While the microchannels of Miura are not open such that part of the microchannels is defined by the side of the battery cell, Yang teaches a flow channels formed such that an outer surface of a battery defines part of a flow channel (see the rejection below). Yang teaches this allows coolant in the flow channel to directly contact the outer surface of the batteries and take away the generated heat (see the rejection below).
However, in order to advance prosecution, Eppinger et al (DE102019215688A1) is used alongside Yang in the rejection below to further reject the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the open surface of the first lateral side" and “both open surfaces of the respective first lateral side…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the open surface of the first lateral side” in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the side of a second battery cell". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation “the side of the battery cell”, which appears to reference back to claim 1’s “a side of a battery cell of a plurality of battery cells, is drawn to “a first battery cell” in claim 4. However, there was only one “side of a battery cell” in claim 1, therefore, “the side of a second battery cell” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al (JP2019035572A as given in the 04/15/2022 IDS, using the previously provided machine English translation from Espacenet) in view of Yang (US 20070126396 A1) and Eppinger et al (DE102019215688A1 using the provided machine English translation from Espacenet).
Regarding claim 1, Miura discloses a housing device of a traction battery with fluid-based cooling of a vehicle, wherein the traction battery has a plurality of battery cells (battery pack BP with battery cells BC in Figs. 1-2 and 7; see entire disclosure and especially P16-17), the housing device comprising:
a housing body (the battery pack is placed under the floor of the vehicle or under the trunk, therefore, the walls of the vehicle under the floor or trunk at which the battery pack sits can be drawn to the housing body; see entire disclosure and especially P22) including:
an enclosed interior with a plurality of receiving positions shaped to receive the plurality of battery cells (the battery cells would be received within the enclosed interior of the walls of the vehicle under the floor or trunk at which the battery pack sits and each battery cell has its own receiving position, therefore, there are a plurality of receiving positions for receiving the plurality of battery cells), and
a bottom region configured to receive liquid fluid (the bottom region would be the region of the trunk at which liquid supply section 42 in Figs. 1-2 and 7 sits and receives a working fluid (therefore, the bottom region receives the working fluid as well); see entire disclosure and especially P62); and
an evaporation device configured to evaporate the liquid fluid (heat exchanger 40; see entire disclosure and especially P55, 66), the evaporation device including at least one evaporation element positioned in the housing body (at least one multi-hole pipe 50 in Fig. 7; see entire disclosure and especially P68-69), the at least one evaporation element including:
a top end having first openings as outlets (the end of multi-hole pipe 50 having an opening at 50b, facing fluid outlet 44 can be drawn to the claimed top end; as seen at this end, the pipe is open, therefore, these are first openings as outlets; see Fig. 7; see entire disclosure and especially P62, 69),
a bottom end opposite the top end, the bottom end having second openings as inlets (the end of multi-hole pipe 50 having an opening at 50a, facing liquid supply section 42 can be drawn to the claimed bottom end; similar to the top end, this end of the pipe would be open, therefore, these are second openings as inlets; see Fig. 7; see entire disclosure and especially P62, 69),
a lateral side extending from the top end to the bottom end (see the large flat side of the multi-hole pipe 50 that would physically contact the battery cells in Fig. 7), and
a plurality of microchannel structures (plurality of evaporation passages 401 in Fig. 7; see entire disclosure and especially P68-69) extending from the first openings at the top end to the second openings at the bottom end (see Fig. 7).
However, Miura does not disclose the plurality of microchannel structures are exposed such that when the lateral side of the at least one evaporation element is assembled to a side of a battery cell of the plurality of battery cells, microchannels are formed between the lateral side of the at least one evaporation element and the side of the battery cell, wherein the microchannels are defined by the lateral side of the at least one evaporation unit, the plurality of microchannel structures, and the side of the battery cell.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yang teaches a flow channel (170 in Figs. 2-3) can be formed between a first cartridge (101 in Figs. 2-3) and a second cartridge (102 in Figs. 2-3) that batteries (unit cells 200/201) sit thereon (P8, 13). Yang teaches the cartridges are constructed in a frame structure in which outer surfaces of the batteries are almost fully exposed (see Figs. 1-2; P13). Yang teaches, as a result, the coolant flowing through the flow channel is brought into direct contact with the outer surfaces of the batteries, and, consequently, the coolant takes heat generated from the batteries, while the coolant flows through the flow channel, and then discharges the heat out of a battery module the batteries are within (P9-10, 13).
Also in a similar field of endeavor, Eppinger teaches to cool energy storage units, either indirect or direct cooling is used (P2). Eppinger teaches direct cooling has a significantly higher efficiency than indirect cooling and is therefore preferred (P2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Yang and Eppinger and modified Miura wherein the plurality of microchannel structures are exposed such that when the lateral side of the at least one evaporation element is assembled to a side of a battery cell of the plurality of battery cells, microchannels are formed between the lateral side of the at least one evaporation element and the side of the battery cell, wherein the microchannels are defined by the lateral side of the at least one evaporation unit, the plurality of microchannel structures, and the side of the battery cell, given Yang teaches this allows coolant to directly contact batteries while taking their heat and discharging said heat outside of a module and Eppinger teaches direct cooling has a significantly higher efficiency than indirect cooling and is therefore preferred.
Regarding claim 4, modified Miura meets the limitation wherein:
the lateral side is a first lateral side (first lateral side can be drawn to the side able to be seen in Miura Fig. 7),
the at least one evaporation element further includes a second lateral side opposite the first lateral side (second lateral side can be drawn to the side unable to be seen that is opposite to the first lateral side in Miura Fig. 7),
the plurality of microchannel structures are on the open surface of the first lateral side and on an open surface of the second lateral side of the at least one evaporation element (in Yang, the first cartridge and second cartridge have the flow channel between, and between the first cartridge and second cartridge batteries sit; batteries sit within the cell partitions of the frame members of the cartridges, therefore, there would be batteries within the cell partitions of the frame members of the first cartridge and batteries within the cell partitions of the frame members of the second cartridge; if the flow channels are provided between the first cartridge and the second cartridge, and the frame structure of the cartridges is constructed in such a way that the outer surfaces of the batteries are almost fully exposed, then there would be an open surface on each side of the pair of cartridges; see Yang P8-10 and 13; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art modifying Miura by Yang would provide wherein the plurality of microchannel structures are on the open surface of the first lateral side and on an open surface of the second lateral side of the at least one evaporation element) and
the microchannels are formed via arranging the at least one evaporation element with both open surfaces of the respective first lateral side and the second lateral side along the side of the battery cell, which is a first battery cell, and the side of a second battery cell of the plurality of battery cells (see Fig. 7 of Yang wherein the multi-walled pipes 50 are to be set between two arrays of battery cells).
Regarding claim 5, modified Miura meets the limitation wherein:
the lateral side is a first lateral side (first lateral side can be drawn to the side able to be seen in Miura Fig. 7),
the evaporation device further includes a second lateral side opposite the first lateral side (second lateral side can be drawn to the side unable to be seen that is opposite to the first lateral side in Miura Fig. 7),
the battery cell is a first battery cell, when assembled to the side of the first battery cell and a side of a second battery cell, the plurality of microchannel structures is closed along the first lateral side and the second lateral side, such that the microchannels are formed with the evaporation element, and the at least one evaporation device is in thermally conductive contact with at least one battery cell of the plurality of battery cells during operation (in Yang, the first cartridge and second cartridge have the flow channel between, and between the first cartridge and second cartridge batteries sit; batteries sit within the cell partitions of the frame members of the cartridges, therefore, there would be batteries within the cell partitions of the frame members of the first cartridge and batteries within the cell partitions of the frame members of the second cartridge; if the flow channels are provided between the first cartridge and the second cartridge, and the frame structure of the cartridges is constructed in such a way that the outer surfaces of the batteries are almost fully exposed, then there would be an open surface on each side of the pair of cartridges; see Yang P8-10 and 13; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art modifying Miura by Yang would provide wherein the plurality of microchannel structures are on the open surface of the first lateral side and on an open surface of the second lateral side of the at least one evaporation element; following this, in Figs. 1 and 7 of Miura it is shown that the multi-holed pipe 50 is to be sandwiched between two battery arrays; therefore, when the modified multi-holed pipes 50 are assembled to the side of the first battery cell (cell from an array on one side) and a side of a second battery cell (cell from an array on the other side), the plurality of microchannel structures is closed along the first lateral side and the second lateral side (sandwiched between the two cells), such that the microchannels are formed with the evaporation element, and the at least one evaporation device is in thermally conductive contact with at least one battery cell of the plurality of battery cells during operation; one of ordinary skill in the art would make sure this structure is present, because if not, the liquid fluid would leak from the battery cells and sufficient cooling would not occur).
Regarding claim 7, modified Miura meets the limitation wherein the at least one evaporation element is arranged in a region between at least two receiving positions for the plurality of battery cells (the battery cells would be received within the enclosed interior of the walls of the vehicle under the floor or trunk at which the battery pack sits and each battery cell has its own receiving position, therefore, there are a plurality of receiving positions for receiving the plurality of battery cells; given there are two battery cell arrays seen in Fig. 7, there are at least two receiving positions for the plurality of battery cells in the battery cell array; as seen in Figs. 1 and 7, the multi-holed pipes 5 are arranged between the two battery cell arrays, therefore, the at least one evaporation element is arranged in a region between at least two receiving positions for the plurality of battery cells).
Regarding claim 15, modified Miura meets the limitation wherein the second openings include a through-hole in an inlet region of the evaporation device (there must be a through-hole at the second openings or fluid could not go throughout the microchannel structures, P69).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al (US 20210249712 A1)
Lee teaches a swelling absorption pad (126 in Figs. 7-8) includes a coolant channel through which coolant may flow to cool a battery cell (P61). Lee teaches the coolant channel has an opened shape so that the coolant flowing through the coolant channel directly contacts a pair of battery cells in contact with the swelling absorption pad (P63).
Kustosch (US 20190097281 A1)
Kustosch teaches a housing for a battery module including battery cells (4 in Fig. 1) accommodated in an interior space (3 in Fig. 1) of the housing (P45-48). Kustosch teaches a flow-guiding element (13 in Fig. 1) having a main body (14 in Fig. 1) and spacer elements (15 in Fig. 1, P64-67). Kustosch teaches the spacer elements make direct contact with the battery cells and space the battery cells apart from the main body (P68-69). Kustosch teaches a flow chamber (16 in Fig. 1) can be formed between the main body of the flow-guiding element and the battery cell by means of the spacer elements (P69). Kustosch teaches the first flow chamber is delimited by at least the battery cell, the main body, and a frame (31 in Fig. 1, P126). Kustosch teaches temperature-control fluid flows through the first flow chamber (P87). Kustosch teaches flow through the first flow chamber can control the temperature of the entire battery cell over a large area (P131).
Conclusion
/MARY GRACE HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1729