DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I: Claims 1-7 in the reply filed on October 22, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 8-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 22, 2025.
Claim Interpretation
1. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “filler injecting unit” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the finishing body”. The claim limitation is indefinite as it is unclear if Applicant meant to claim the finishing band or the body. Claim 6 is rejected as best understood by examiner.
Claim 7recites “the body is recessed as much as a space in the shoe occupied by the inflated arch support portion”. The claim limitation is indefinite as it is unclear what Applicant is indenting to claim. Does Applicant mean the insole is placed in the interior of a shoe? Claim 7 is rejected as best understood by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (US 5,733,647) in view of Davidson (US 2015/0013190).
Regarding Claim 1, Moore discloses a shoe insole (10), comprising: a body (20,22a,22b,24a,24b,26a,26b) which is formed by a space fabric (20,22a,22b,24a,24b) so as to be inserted into a shoe and support at least a portion of a sole (Col.2, lines 11-33); and a finishing band (13) which is joined along the edge to the circumference of the body so as to finish an open edge of the body (Col.2, lines 11-20; as seen in Fig.1 & 3). Moore does not disclose injecting a filler into an inner space of the body. However, Davidson discloses an insole (as seen in Fig.3) having a body (165,200,205) formed by a space fabric (165; para.64) and injecting a filler (385) into an inner space of the body (para.99).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the space fabric of Moore for the space fabric and injected filler of Davidson, as a simple substitution of one well known type of insole cushioning material for another, in order to yield the predictable result of providing a cushioning insole.
Regarding Claim 2, Moore discloses a shoe insole of claim 1, wherein the finishing band (13) is overlap-sealed to the edge to be joined (Col.2, lines 11-20; as seen in Fig.1 & 3).
Regarding Claim 3, Moore discloses a shoe insole of claim 2, wherein when the finishing band (13) is overlap-sealed to the edge, one end on a cross section is closely joined to an upper skin (26a) of the body and the other end on the cross section is closely joined to a lower skin (26b) of the body (Col.2, lines 11-20; as seen in Fig.1 & 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Moore discloses a shoe insole of claim 2, wherein when the finishing band (13) is overlap-sealed to the edge, the finishing band is bent to have a cross-sectional U shape to have an upper piece (i.e. top portion of 13) closely joined to an upper skin (26a) of the body (as seen in Fig.3); a lower piece (i.e. bottom portion of 13) closely joined to a lower skin (26b) of the body; and a middle piece (i.e. middle portion of 13) which connects the upper piece and the lower piece between the upper piece and the lower piece (Col.2, lines 11-20; as seen in Fig.1 & 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Moore discloses a shoe insole of any one of claims 1 to 4, wherein the body is formed by the space fabric (20,22a,22b,24a,24b) having an entirely open circumference (i.e. open edge at perimeters of 20,22a,22b,24a,24b) and the band is formed to have a ring shape to finish the open edge of the body (Col.2, lines 11-20; as seen in Fig.1 & 3).
Regarding Claim 7, Moore discloses a shoe insole of claim 5, wherein the finishing band includes an arch support unit (i.e. 13 in the arch region) and the body is recessed as much as a space in the shoe occupied by the arch support portion (Col.2, lines 11-20; as seen in Fig.1). Moore does not disclose the arch support unit which is inflated to support an arch of a sole when the filler is injected and the body is recessed as much as a space in the shoe occupied by the inflated arch support portion. However, Davidson discloses an insole (as seen in Fig.3) where a finishing band (155) includes an arch support unit (180; as seen in Fig.5) and the body is recessed as much as a space in the shoe occupied by the arch support portion (as seen in Fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the finishing band of Moore to extend the band such that it forms an inflated arch support portion, as taught by Davidson, in order to provide an insole that supports a wearer’s arch for a more comfortable stride while in use.
4. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (US 5,733,647) and Davidson (US 2015/0013190), in view of Westin (US 2003/0046831).
Regarding Claim 6, Moore and Davidson disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Modified Moore does not disclose wherein the finishing band/body includes a filler injecting unit which is integrally formed before being joined to the edge. However, Westin teaches an insole (12) having a finishing band/body (14) including a filler injecting unit (18; para.31 & 34) which is integrally formed before being joined to an edge (as seen in Fig.1 & 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the finishing band of modified Moore to include a filler injecting unit, as taught by Westin, in order to provide a easy way to reinflate the insole when needed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732