DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement of Receipt
Applicant’s Response, filed 12/18/2025, in reply to the Office Action mailed 6/30/2025, is acknowledged and has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5, 9 and 10 have been amended. Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14 and 15 are pending, of which claims 6-8, 11, 12, 14 and 15 are withdrawn from consideration at this time as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Claims 1-3, 5, 9 and 10 are readable upon the elected invention and are examined herein on the merits for patentability.
Response to Arguments
Any rejection not reiterated herein has been withdrawn as being overcome by claim amendment. New grounds for rejection are set forth herein, necessitated by claim amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gatzinksy et al. (Brain Research, 2001, 920, 226–238).
Gatzinsky discloses development and testing the biological activity and specificity of a novel fluorescent dextran-Texas Red–nerve growth factor (DTR–NGF) conjugate. DTR–NGF was found to promote survival and neurite outgrowth in cultured dissociated sympathetic neurons similarly to native NGF. The conjugate was taken up and transported retrogradely by terminal sympathetic nerves innervating the iris to neurons in the ipsilateral superior cervical ganglion (SCG) of young adult rats (abstract).
Preparation of dextran-Texas Red–NGF (DTR NGF) conjugates is taught on page 227, including linking chemistry, wherein standard dextran 50 000 was derivatized with 10 mol of amines per mol of dextran and subsequently labelled with Texas Red sulfonyl chloride to obtain 4 mol of dye per mol of dextran. Murine 2.5S NGF was treated with dimethylmaleic anhydride to reversibly block the amines. Some of the carboxyl groups of the NGF were activated by a proprietary method to react with the remaining amines of the Texas Red-amino dextran. The stoichiometry was designed to yield conjugates in the ratio of one molecule of DTR to one of NGF.
It is noted that protein dimer is not disclosed. With regard to claim 10, wherein the dye-protein conjugate facilitates one or more of a) endocytosis; b) axonal transport; and c) pharmacological activity in the neuronal cell body, it is noted that the Texas Red-NGF conjugate meets the structural limitations of the instant claims. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure or composition as that which is claimed, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The “discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” See Atlas Power Co. v. Ireco Inc., 51 USPQ 2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Therefore, merely claiming a new use, new function, or new property, which is inherently present in the prior art does not make the claim patentable. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), and MPEP § 2112.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kasaian et al. (Exp Cell Res, 1994, 210, 77-85).
Kasaian discloses that the interaction of fluorescein-labeled nerve growth factor (NGF) with human melanoma cells (A875) has been studied in order to assess better methodology for rigorous NGF binding studies. The NGF was modified at a single carboxyl group with iodoacetamidofluorescein after reaction with carbodiimide and cystamine (abstract).
Samples showed that they contained a fluorescein:protein ratio of 1:1. The major band in the FL-NGF lanes corresponds to NGF with one conjugated fluorescein molecule, and the faint more acidic bands probably represent small amounts of NGF with one or two more fluoresceins bound. The correspondence of one focused band in the preparation with one fluorescein per molecule indicates that random labeling of the 10 carboxyls of NGF does not occur (which would produce numerous acidic bands) and that a single, unique Asp or Glu is preferentially modified (page 80).
Preparation of fluorescein-labeled NGF is set forth on page 78, including EDAC-based linker chemistry. It is noted that protein dimer is not disclosed. With regard to claim 10, wherein the dye-protein conjugate facilitates one or more of a) endocytosis; b) axonal transport; and c) pharmacological activity in the neuronal cell body, it is noted that the fluorescein-NGF conjugate meets the structural limitations of the instant claims. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure or composition as that which is claimed, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The “discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” See Atlas Power Co. v. Ireco Inc., 51 USPQ 2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Therefore, merely claiming a new use, new function, or new property, which is inherently present in the prior art does not make the claim patentable. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), and MPEP § 2112.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed at this time.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LHS/
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618