DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 04/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of YE et al. (US 2020/0025833), herein after YE.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landman et al. (US 2012/0284441), herein after Landman, Park (US 2012/0268069), and YE (US 2020/0025833).
Regarding claim 1, Landman discloses a system for allocating communication identifications (IDs) (a system is capable of identification of electronic modules coupled to a data bus. A first slave electronic module and a second slave electronic module are adapted for communicating over the data bus, paragraph [0003]), the system comprising:
a plurality of slave battery management systems (BMSs) (46, 52, 58, fig. 1) sequentially connected to a power line for supplying power (paragraph [0008]), and allocating predetermined communication IDs based on a first current amount applied through the power line (A first current measurement circuits is capable of measuring a node current indicative of a number of other active slaves connected to the main power line and data bus. A master data processor in the master electronic module is arranged to assign a unique module identifier to a first slave electronic module based on the first node current and the aggregate current level, the unique module identifier indicating a respective position of the first slave electronic module on the data bus, Abstract); and
a master BMS (22, fig. 1) configured to communicate with the slave BMSs (paragraph [0033]),
wherein at least one slave BMS among the slave BMSs outputs a second current amount that is the first current amount minus a consumed current amount for driving through the power line (a first slave electronic module for communicating over the data bus, the first slave electronic module having a first resistor coupled in series with the main power line to provide a first incremental decrease in an aggregate current level of the main power line when the first slave electronic module is connected to the data bus and the main power line, claim 9; where the second output current amount can be calculated by subtracting the aggregate current and the consumed current by the first slave battery),
wherein the first current amount corresponds to a summation value of the consumed current amount of the at least one slave BMS receiving the first current amount and a consumed current amount of at least one posterior slave BMS sequentially connected to the at least one slave BMS receiving the first current amount (A master electronic module has a master current measurement circuit for determining an aggregate current level indicative of the total number of slave electronic modules on the main power line, abstract).
wherein the slave BMSs are connected in series (The first slave electronic module 46, the second slave electronic module 52 and the Nth slave electronic module 58 are powered by a power supply 84 (e.g., battery) via a daisy-chain conductor configuration or a group of series connections to the main power line 26, paragraph [0008]), and wherein each of the slave BMSs uses approximately an equal amount of current such that a last slave BMS located furthest away from a power source does not output any current (fig 3 shows the output current of the slave module and at the third position, the current is low. If one more slave module is added to the string, it will not output any current. Paragraph [0020] shows that the slave modules can be more than three and the output current has been decreasing after passing through each module, fig. 3). Landman further discloses wherein each of the slave BMSs includes: a shunt resistor coupled in series to the power line (The first slave electronic module has a first resistor coupled in series with a main power line, paragraph [0003]);
Although, Landman discloses the slave modules can measure the current data and transmit it to the master battery module. However, Landman is silent about the battery pack including slave BMSs having sequential physical locations to control a battery module containing at least one battery and a main BMS to control the N slave BMSs, wherein each of the slave BMSs determines its own predetermined communication ID and communicates the allocated predetermined communication ID with the master BMS, wherein the master BMS verifies the allocated predetermined communication ID for each of the slave BMSs, and wherein, when the master BMS determines that the slave BMSs have erroneously determined the predetermined communication ID, the master BMS assigns corrected predetermined communication ID for each of the slave BMSs and a plurality of resistors located between the shunt resistor and a slave controller, the plurality of resistors being configured to reduce voltages measured at a rear end of the shunt resistor by the slave controller.
Park discloses a battery pack system (100, fig. 1) for setting sequential ID to a multi-slave BMS in a battery pack, the battery pack including N (N: natural number of 2 or more) slave BMSs having sequential physical locations to control a battery module containing at least one battery and a main BMS to control the N slave BMSs (paragraph [0019]), wherein each of the slave BMSs determines its own predetermined communication ID and communicates the allocated predetermined communication ID with the master BMS (a main BMS to transmit a trigger signal to a first slave BMS to initialize ID setting, a first slave BMS to receive the trigger signal and transmit ID information of the first slave BMS to the main BMS, paragraph [0025]Note: the Salve already stored ID in it considered as predetermined communication ID), wherein the master BMS verifies the allocated predetermined communication ID for each of the slave BMSs, and wherein, when the master BMS determines that the slave BMSs have erroneously determined the predetermined communication ID, the master BMS assigns corrected predetermined communication ID for each of the slave BMSs (paragraph [0020]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to modify Landman’s battery pack system to include the feature of having own predetermined ID in the slave module based on the physical location and communicate it with the main controller as taught by Park, in order to improve the monitoring and controlling the battery pack efficiently (paragraph [0010]).
YE discloses the resistance module is electrically connected between the Rli and the controller (31, fig. 3) to protect the detection module (fig. 3, paragraph [0081] the resistance module provides the voltage division at the output shows that the plurality of the resistor connected between Rli and the detection module).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Landman’s system in view of Park to include the resistance module between the shunt resistor and the slave controller as taught by Ye, in order to protect the slave controller from the overvoltage damage. Using a voltage divider to protect a controller allows to safely scale down a higher input voltage to a safe level, while a resistance module (like a basic inline resistor) protects by restricting current flow.
Regarding claim 2, Landman further discloses wherein each of the slave BMSs includes; a slave storage (data storage device 208, fig. 2) for storing information for indicating resistance of the shunt resistor (paragraph [0042]Note: the storage device store multiple data related to the slave battery); and the slave controller (processor 210, fig. 2; paragraph [0041]) for measuring voltages at a front end and a rear end of the shunt resistor to calculate a voltage value caused by a voltage drop, and calculating the first current amount based on the voltage value and resistance of the shunt resistor (paragraph [0042] the current is measured with the help of resistor. The voltage is drop across the resistor and the current is measured based on the voltage drop across the resistor).
Regarding claim 3, Landman further discloses wherein the master BMS (a master microcontroller 20, fig. 1) includes a communication ID allocating table in which a plurality of communication IDs corresponding to a number of the slave BMSs and the first current amounts are recorded into a signal for instructing allocation of the communication IDs and broadcasting the same (The master microcontroller 20 or master electronic module 22 may use a look-up table similar to FIG. 2, a file (e.g. inverted file), a data record, data base or other data structure to identify the value of the measured current at the Nth node 34. Once the value of the measured current is identified as approximately equal to V/(R1+R2+R3+RM), the corresponding measuring slave is identified as the third or Nth slave electronic module 54, which is farthest from the master electronic module 22, paragraph [0048]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 4, Landman further discloses wherein the slave BMSs further include a slave communicator for communicating with the master BMS and receiving the signal (the first slave electronic module 46, a second slave electronic module 52, an Nth slave electronic module 58, and a master electronic module 22 are capable of communicating data (e.g., between any two modules) over the data bus 24, paragraph [0023]), and when receiving the signal through the slave communicator, the slave controller measures the voltages at the front end and the rear end of the shunt resistor and calculates the first current amount (paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 5, Landman further discloses wherein the slave controller allocates the communication ID (column 100 of fig. 3) that corresponds to the calculated first current amount as the communication ID of the slave controller based on the communication ID allocating table (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Landman further discloses wherein the master BMS receives the calculated first current amount and the allocated communication ID from the slave BMSs, and compares the received first current amount and the received communication ID and the communication ID allocating table to verify allocation of communication IDs of the slave BMSs (The current measurement circuit (42, 48, 54) may comprise a transimpedance amplifier, a transresistance amplifier, a differential amplifier for measuring a voltage drop across resistor (R1, R2, R3) for measuring the current at a supply node before entering the electronic module (46, 52, 58) or for measuring a current at an output node leaving the electronic module, so long as the current is measured at the same node for each module to allow for accurate comparison of measured current data within the master electronic module 22, paragraph [0013]the comparison is showing in the table of fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Landman further discloses wherein the communication ID is an ID for controller area network (CAN) communication (The data bus 24 may comprise a controller area network (CAN) data bus, paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 8, Landman further discloses wherein the master BMS is operable by the power source for supplying the power to the slave BMSs (power supply 84 supply power to each component, fig. 1, paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Landman discloses a method for allocating communication identification (IDs) of slave battery management systems (BMSs) sequentially connected to a power line for supplying power based on a first current amount applied through the power line (The first slave electronic module 46, the second slave electronic module 52 and the Nth slave electronic module 58 are powered by a power supply 84 (e.g., battery) via a daisy-chain conductor configuration or a group of series connections to the main power line 26, paragraph [0008]), comprising
allowing the slave BMSs to allocate predetermined communication IDs as communication IDs of the slave BMSs based on the first current amount (a system 11 is capable of identification of electronic modules (46, 52, 58) coupled to a data bus 24, paragraph [0007]),
wherein at least one of the slave BMSs outputs a second current amount that is the first current amount minus a consumed current amount for driving through the power line (a first slave electronic module for communicating over the data bus, the first slave electronic module having a first resistor coupled in series with the main power line to provide a first incremental decrease in an aggregate current level of the main power line when the first slave electronic module is connected to the data bus and the main power line, claim 9; where the second output current amount can be calculated by subtracting the aggregate current and the consumed current by the first slave battery), and
the first current amount corresponds to a summation value of a consumed current amount of the at least one slave BMS receiving the first current amount and a consumed current amount of at least one posterior slave BMS sequentially connected to the at least one slave BMS receiving the first current amount(A master electronic module has a master current measurement circuit for determining an aggregate current level indicative of the total number of slave electronic modules on the main power line, abstract).
wherein the slave BMSs are connected in series (The first slave electronic module 46, the second slave electronic module 52 and the Nth slave electronic module 58 are powered by a power supply 84 (e.g., battery) via a daisy-chain conductor configuration or a group of series connections to the main power line 26, paragraph [0008]), and wherein each of the slave BMSs uses approximately an equal amount of current such that a last slave BMS located furthest away from a power source does not output any current (fig 3 shows the output current of the slave module and at the third position, the current is low. If one more slave module is added to the string, it will not output any current. Paragraph [0020] shows that the slave modules can be more than three and the output current has been decreasing after passing through each module, fig. 3). Landman further discloses wherein the allocating of the predetermined communication IDs as the communication IDs of the slave BMSs based on the first current amount includes measuring voltages at a rear end of a shunt resistor coupled in series to the power line (The current measurement circuit (42, 48, 54) may comprise a transimpedance amplifier, a transresistance amplifier, a differential amplifier for measuring a voltage drop across resistor (R1, R2, R3) for measuring the current at a supply node before entering the electronic module (46, 52, 58) or for measuring a current at an output node leaving the electronic module, so long as the current is measured at the same node for each module to allow for accurate comparison of measured current data within the master electronic module 22, paragraph [0013]).
Landman discloses the method steps where the slave modules can measure the current data and transmit it to the master battery module.
However, Landman does not explicitly disclose the method steps of determining, by each of the slave BMSs, the predetermined communication ID and communicating the allocated predetermined communication ID with the master BMS; and verifying, by the master BMS, the allocated predetermined communication ID for each of the slave BMSs, wherein when the master BMS determines that the slave BMSs have erroneously determined the predetermined communication ID, the master BMS assigns corrected predetermined communication ID for each of the slave BMS, and wherein the allocating of the predetermined communication IDs as the communication IDs of the slave BMSs based on the first current amount includes measuring voltages at a rear end of a shunt resistor coupled in series to the power line, reducing, by a plurality of resistors located between the shunt resistor and a slave controller, the measured voltages and calculating, by the slave controller, a voltage value caused by a voltage drop.
Park discloses a battery pack system (100, fig. 1) having a method for setting sequential ID to a multi-slave BMS in a battery pack, the battery pack including N (N: natural number of 2 or more) slave BMSs having sequential physical locations to control a battery module containing at least one battery and a main BMS to control the N slave BMSs (paragraph [0019]),
The method includes a step of determining, by each of the slave BMSs, the predetermined communication ID and communicating the allocated predetermined communication ID with the master BMS; and verifying, by the master BMS, the allocated predetermined communication ID for each of the slave BMSs (a main BMS to transmit a trigger signal to a first slave BMS to initialize ID setting, a first slave BMS to receive the trigger signal and transmit ID information of the first slave BMS to the main BMS, paragraph [0025]Note: the Salve already stored ID in it considered as predetermined communication ID), wherein when the master BMS determines that the slave BMSs have erroneously determined the predetermined communication ID, the master BMS assigns corrected predetermined communication ID for each of the slave BMS (paragraph [0020]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to modify Landman’s battery pack system to include the feature of having own predetermined ID in the slave module based on the physical location and communicate it with the main controller as taught by Park, in order to improve the monitoring and controlling the battery pack efficiently (paragraph [0010]).
YE discloses the resistance module is electrically connected between the Rli and the controller (31, fig. 3) to protect the detection module (fig. 3, paragraph [0081] the resistance module provides the voltage division at the output shows that the plurality of the resistor connected between Rli and the detection module).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Landman’s system in view of Park to include the resistance module between the shunt resistor and the slave controller as taught by Ye, in order to protect the slave controller from the overvoltage damage. Using a voltage divider to protect a controller allows to safely scale down a higher input voltage to a safe level, while a resistance module (like a basic in line resistor) protects by restricting current flow.
Regarding claim 10, Landman further discloses wherein the allocating of the predetermined communication IDs as the communication IDs of the slave BMSs based on the first current amount includes:
calculating the first current amount based on the voltage value and resistance of the shunt resistor (The current measurement circuit (42, 48, 54) may comprise a transimpedance amplifier, a transresistance amplifier, a differential amplifier for measuring a voltage drop across resistor (R1, R2, R3) for measuring the current at a supply node before entering the electronic module (46, 52, 58) or for measuring a current at an output node leaving the electronic module, so long as the current is measured at the same node for each module to allow for accurate comparison of measured current data within the master electronic module 22, paragraph [0013]); and
allocating the communication ID that corresponds to the calculated first current amount as the communication of the slave BMS ID based on the communication ID allocating table in which a plurality of communication IDs corresponding to a plurality of first current amounts are recorded (fig. 3, paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 11, Landman further discloses after the allocating of the predetermined communication IDs as the communication IDs of the slave BMSs based on the first current amount, allowing a master BMS to receive the calculated first current amount and the allocated communication ID from the slave BMSs, and verify allocation of communication IDs of the respective slave BMSs (The second slave electronic module 52 reports the measured current to the master electronic module 22. The master microcontroller 20 or master electronic module 22 may use a look-up table similar to FIG. 2, a file (e.g. inverted file), a data record, data base or other data structure to identify the value of the measured current at the second node 32. Once the value of the measured current is identified as approximately equal to (or proportional to) V/(R1+R2+RM), the corresponding measuring slave is identified as the second slave electronic module 52, which is second closest to or second in sequence downstream from the master electronic module 22, paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 15, Landman further discloses wherein the slave controller is connected to each of the resistors located at each end of the shunt resistor (the resistor RR is connected to the slave controller 44 through a switch s1, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Landman further discloses wherein the first current amount corresponds to a predetermined multiple of the consumed current amount, and wherein the predetermined multiple corresponds to a number of sequentially connected slave BMSs (The current measurement circuit (42, 48, 54) may comprise a transimpedance amplifier, a transresistance amplifier, a differential amplifier for measuring a voltage drop across resistor (R1, R2, R3) for measuring the current at a supply node before entering the electronic module (46, 52, 58) or for measuring a current at an output node leaving the electronic module, so long as the current is measured at the same node for each module to allow for accurate comparison of measured current data within the master electronic module 22, paragraph [0013], where the comparison is made based on the preexisting data in master controller).
Regarding claim 17, Landman further discloses the reference resistor is connected between the power line and a ground line (fig. 1). However, Landman is silent about the plurality of the resistor is used to reduce the voltage.
YE discloses the resistance module is electrically connected between the Rli and the controller (31, fig. 3) to protect the detection module (fig. 3, paragraph [0081] the resistance module provides the voltage division at the output shows that the plurality of the resistor connected between Rli and the detection module).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Landman’s system in view of Park to include the resistance module between the power line, and a ground line which is further connected to slave controller as taught by Ye, in order to protect the slave controller from the overvoltage damage. Using a voltage divider to protect a controller allows to safely scale down a higher input voltage to a safe level, while a resistance module (like a basic inline resistor) protects by restricting current flow.
Regarding claim 18, Landman further discloses wherein the slave controller is connected to the power line through three different connections (44 is connected to the power line through 42, 85 and 86, fig. 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859