DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claim 1 has been amended, claims 2-7 and 13-15 are as previously presented, claims 8-12 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-7 and 13-15 are currently examined.
Status of objections and rejections
The rejection below has been modified as necessitated by applicants amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20190125935 A) and in view of Nianwu (High rate lithium sulfur batteries promoted by reduced graphene oxide coating).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses A positive electrode active material having a core/shell structure for a lithium secondary battery, comprising [abstract], a core containing sulfur-carbon composites [0023]: and a shell containing carbon nanotubes positioned on the surface of the core [0023, 0053-0054, 0109].
Kim is silent to the use of thermally expanded-reduced graphene oxide in a sulfur-carbon composites.
Nianwu discloses a sulfur-carbon composite contains thermally expanded-reduced graphene oxides and sulfur contained in at least a part of the surface and inside of the thermally expanded-reduced graphene oxide (pg. 1, col.2, line 16- pg.2, col.1, line 3, fig. 1. Nianwu discloses a thermally exfoliated (expanded) graphene nanosheet that has had sulfur incorporated into the sheets of expanded graphene. This composite is then coated with reduced graphene oxide sheets. The examiner is interpreting this composite to be a thermally expanded-reduced graphene oxide. Furthermore, graphene oxide can be expanded and reduced via chemical and/or thermal means, regardless of the method the end product is the same. As such thermally expanded-reduced graphene oxide is a product-by-process claim (see MPEP 2133).).
Finally, Nianwu discloses that the thermally expanded graphene displays a wrinkled (“crumpled”) laminar (“paper”) structure and covered with wrinkled paper-like reduced graphene oxide layers (pg. 2, col 1, line 34 – pg. 2, col 2, line 10, fig. 2, Nianwu).
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would be motivated to modify the core of the carbon component of the sulfur-carbon composite disclosed by Kim to include the thermally expanded-reduced graphene oxide disclosed by Nianwu as it has a large specific surface area, high pore volume, and excellent conductivity (pg. 1, col.2, line 20-23).
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified above discloses the positive electrode active material having the core/shell structure for the lithium secondary battery, wherein the specific surface area of the thermally expanded-reduced graphene oxide is 500 to 1200m2/g (pg. 2, col. 1 line 26-28, Nianwu discloses a specific surface area of 598 m2/g which lies inside the claimed range disclosed by the applicant (see MPEP 2144.05).).
Regarding claim 3, Kim as modified above discloses the positive electrode active material having the core/shell structure for the lithium secondary battery. wherein the pore volume of the thermally expanded-reduced graphene oxide is 3 to 7 cm3/g (pg. 2, col. 1 line 26-28, Nianwu discloses a pore volume of 2.61 cm3/g which approaches the range disclosed by the applicant (see MPEP 2144.05).).
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 4, Kim as modified above discloses the positive electrode active material having the core/shell structure for the lithium secondary battery, wherein the carbon nanotube is contained in an amount of 0.5 to 2 parts by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of the sulfur-carbon composite [0044, Kim discloses a ratio of carbon material (carbon nanotubes) in the coating layer (shell) to the sulfur-carbon complex to be preferably 1-3 parts to 100 parts by weight. Which overlaps the claimed range (see MPEP 2144.05).].
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified above discloses the positive electrode active material having the core/shell structure for the lithium secondary battery, wherein the thermally expanded-reduced graphene oxide and sulfur are mixed in a weight ratio of 1:1 to 1:9 [0109, Kim discloses a sulfur/carbon weight ratio of 8:2, which lies inside the claimed range (see MPEP 2144.05).].
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 7, Kim as modified above discloses the positive electrode active material having the core/shell structure for the lithium secondary battery, wherein the positive electrode active material for the lithium secondary battery is a positive electrode active material for a lithium-sulfur battery [abstract].
Regarding claim 13, Kim as modified above discloses a lithium secondary battery comprising a positive electrode [0025, 0089]; a negative electrode [0025, 0089]; a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode [0025, 0089]; and an electrolyte solution [0089], wherein the positive electrode contains the positive electrode active material of [0113].
Regarding claim 15, Kim as modified above discloses the lithium secondary battery, wherein the lithium secondary battery is a lithium-sulfur battery [abstract].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhou (US 20150221935 A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kim is silent to the shell of the core/shell structure containing pores.
However, Zhou discloses the positive electrode active material having the core/shell structure for the lithium secondary battery, wherein the shell contains pores having a size of 2 to 200 nm [0022, Zhou discloses a core/shell structure for a lithium-sulfur battery wherein the shell has pores with a diameter ranging from 1-20 nm, which overlaps the claimed range (see MPEP 2144.05).].
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim (see MPEP 2144.05).
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would be motived to further modify the core/shell structure disclosed by Kim to have the pores in the shell as disclosed by Zhou as they still allow for sulfur to be confined while improving conductivity [0022].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Kim as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Manthiram (US 20190115587 A1).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kim is silent to the loading amount of sulfur in the cathode.
However, Manthiram discloses the lithium secondary battery, wherein the loading amount of sulfur in the positive electrode is 2 to 15 mg/cm2 [0024, Manthiram discloses a lithium-sulfur battery with a core-shell structure in which the sulfur loading in the cathode is at least 3g/cm3 (ix and x), which lies inside the claimed range].
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim (see MPEP 2144.05).
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would be motivated to further modify the positive electrode material and positive electrode such that the sulfur loading is greater than 3 g/cm3 as this allow for high energy density for the lithium-sulfur battery [0018].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/24 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See below for more detail.
Applicant amended claim 1 to include the claim language “and wherein the thermally expanded-reduced graphene oxide has a crumbled paper structure”. Applicant then argues that neither Kim nor Nianwu disclose the thermally expanded reduced graphene oxide has a “crumpled paper structure”. However, Nianwu discloses that the thermally reduced graphene has a “wrinkled laminar structure” and the composite is covered with a “wrinkled paper-like” reduced graphene oxide layer, which reads on the claimed language.
Applicant additionally argues that: 1) “the claimed invention is further characterized as having a "crumpled paper structure" prepared by sequentially performing the thermal expansion process and the reduction process.” and 2) details as to the process for creating the invention . The asserted instant specification support is not a special definition of a claim term , see MPEP 2111.01.II and 2145.VI. Furthermore, applicant’s arguments are in regard to a process limitation, while the claim in question is a product claim. As, such “wrinkled” reads on the BRI of “crumpled” as discussed above.
In regards to the allowability of claim 1, applicant further argues that the specific surface area and pore volume of the of Nianwu’s nanosheet will not be “high” enough or a “desired” value will not be obtained. However, applicant’s arguments are not claimed in claim 1 and as such are moot.
No other arguments were presented.
The examiner does not find the applicants arguments to be persuasive and as such maintains their rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUINTIN D. ELLIOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724