DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
The finality of the office action dated 28th October 2025 is withdrawn and replaced with the current office action, and the period of reply is reset to 3 months.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (US 20060152705 A1, hereinafter “Yoshida”), modified in view of Albuquerque et al. (US 20200355808 A1, hereinafter “Albuquerque”), in view of Yoshizawa et al. (US 20210389460 A1, hereinafter “Yoshizawa”), in view of Gilbertson et al. (US 20200189524 A1, hereinafter “Gilbertson”).
Regarding claim 11, Yoshida teaches a lidar sensor, comprising:
a viewing window (Yoshida; Fig. 1, [0035], window part 41); and
a cleaning unit (Yoshida; Fig. 8, [0057], wiper member 55):
wherein the lidar sensor has a vertical axis that connects a first side of the lidar sensor to a second side of the lidar sensor, the first side and the second side being oppositely situated sides (Yoshida; Fig. 1, [0030], the radar apparatus 100 (equivalent to lidar sensor) is constructed of a light radiating part 10, a light receiving part 20 and laser radar CPU 30 are housed in a housing 40 (include upper, lower and rear sides)),
wherein the viewing window is situated on a front side of the lidar sensor, which connects the first side of the lidar sensor to the second side of the lidar sensor (Yoshida; Fig. 1, [0035], housing 40 has a window part 41 site in the front of housing and connected to upper side and lower side of the housing),
wherein the lidar sensor has a rear side, which connects the first side of the lidar sensor to the second side of the lidar sensor (Yoshida; Fig. 1, housing 40 has rear side connected upper and lower side);
wherein the cleaning unit is situated on the front side of the lidar sensor (Yoshida; Fig. 8, [0057], wiper member 55 is on the window).
wherein the lidar sensor is configured to be installed and operated on a vehicle (Yoshida; Fig. 1, [0028], the radar apparatus 100 is provided to detect a distance from an object existing in a scanning area such as used in a vehicle control unit).
Yoshida does not teach,
the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position, and
in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor.
wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation.
Albuquerque teaches,
the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position (Albuquerque; Fig. 1, [0033], cleaning unit 30 is situated at an outside of the housing. [0034], Parking position 60 (parallel to the vertical axis) laterally adjacent to cover 22 is also provided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position taught by Albuquerque with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the cleaning unit 30 extending along a direction of vertical axis which can cover the whole window area while moving from one side to the other side of the window for cleaning purpose. After cleaning process, the cleaning unit 30 move to the parking position (parallel to the vertical axis) outside of the window area to avoid bock the field of view of the detection area (Albuquerque; [0033]).
However, Yoshida as modified in view of Albuquerque still not teach,
in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor.
wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation.
Yoshizawa further teaches,
in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor (Yoshizawa; Fig. 2, [0075], lidar system 110 includes housing 57 with an upper wall 57a, a lower wall 57b (facing the upper wall 57a), side wall 57c and opening 57d; Fig. 4, [0080], the light projecting and receiving unit 111 is located in such a way as to be turned upside down. This implied the lidar system 110 can be position in normal position or upside down position which equivalent to the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor as stated in the claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position taught by Albuquerque and include in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor taught by Yoshizawa with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to position lidar system in either normal position (Fig. 2) or upside down position (Fig. 4) for sequentially performing scanning as needed (Yoshizawa; [0075], [0080]).
Nevertheless, Yoshida as modified in view of Albuquerque, Yoshizawa still not teach,
wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation.
Gilbertson teaches, wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation (Gilbertson; Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0036], internal sensor components 410, 420, 430 (include one or more imaging sensor such as LIDAR…[0039]) may be positioned within the interior of the sensor housing 330 and behind a housing window 440 with wiper 310/320 position on the window; Fig. 8, [0057], the motor 870 may rotate the rotating drive mechanism in a first direction such that the wiper 810 (corresponding to any of wipers 310, 320, … [0055]) moves from initial position (equivalent to the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window) depicted in Fig. 8 (clearly see the initial position is on the window 440 in Fig. 8) across the entirety to a second position indicated by dashed line area 886; [0040], further disclosed the housing window 440 may be configured to provide sufficient area for each of the fields of view 412, 422, 432 to be unimpeded by other components of the sensor and/or the wipers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the wiper 810 is positioned in the initial position on the edge of window which is not blocking the field of view of sensor 410, 420, 430.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position taught by Albuquerque and include in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor taught by Yoshizawa, include wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation taught by Gilbertson with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to park the wiper cleaning assembly in the initial position, in which the cleaning assemblies are not in the FOV of the optical sensors while it is not in use (Gilbertson; [0040], [0057]). Predictably, during the optical sensors operation process, the sensor’s FOV will not be blocked when the cleaning assembly is not in use.
Regarding claim 12, Yoshida as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 11.
Yoshida does not teach, wherein the cleaning unit includes a wiper blade that, in the park position, is situated parallel to the vertical axis.
Albuquerque teaches, wherein the cleaning unit includes a wiper blade that, in the park position, is situated parallel to the vertical axis (Albuquerque; [0033], line 16, the cleaning unit includes two vertically oriented wiper blades 38; [0034], parking position 60 (parallel to the vertical axis) laterally adjacent to cover 22 is also provided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position and the cleaning unit includes a wiper blade that, in the park position, is situated parallel to the vertical axis taught by Albuquerque and include wherein the lidar sensor is configured to be installed and operated on a vehicle in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor taught by Yoshizawa, include wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation taught by Gilbertson with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that using wiper blade may wipe contaminants from cover 22. Even some residual contaminants maybe left after first wiper blade, it can be subsequently removed by the following wiper blade (second wiper blade) in the movement direction (Albuquerque; [0033]). Furthermore, after cleaning process, the cleaning unit 30 move to the parking position (parallel to the vertical axis) outside of the window area to avoid bock the field of view of the detection area.
Regarding claim 13, Yoshida as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 11.
Yoshida does not teach, wherein the cleaning unit is configured to be moved from the park position over the viewing window, the cleaning unit being moved in a direction of movement that is at a right angle to the vertical axis.
Albuquerque teaches, wherein the cleaning unit is configured to be moved from the park position over the viewing window, the cleaning unit being moved in a direction of movement that is at a right angle to the vertical axis (Albuquerque; [0034], parking position 60 (parallel to the vertical axis) laterally adjacent to cover 22 is also provided. [0014], the housing includes at least one guide rail. The cleaning unit is situated at the outside of the housing with the aid of the guide rail and may be moved along the guide rail with the aid of the drive unit, in particular back and forth in front of the cover (equivalent to the cleaning unit being moved in a direction of movement that is at the right angle to the vertical axis)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include wherein the cleaning unit is configured to be moved from the park position over the viewing window, the cleaning unit being moved in a direction of movement that is at a right angle to the vertical axis taught by Albuquerque and include wherein the lidar sensor is configured to be installed and operated on a vehicle in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor taught by Yoshizawa, include wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation taught by Gilbertson with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to operate the cleaning unit long the guide rail to move in particular back and forth in front of the cover for cleaning the contaminants (Albuquerque; [0033]).
Regarding claim 16, Yoshida as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 11, wherein the front side having the viewing window is shaped such that it is symmetrical to a plane of symmetry that stands perpendicular to the vertical axis (Yoshida; Fig. 9, window 41a and 41b is situated in between middle of the housing (equivalent to the window is symmetrical to a plane of symmetry that stands perpendicular to the vertical axis)).
Regarding claim 17, Yoshida as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 11, wherein the lidar sensor has a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis, and an optical center of the lidar sensor lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor (Yoshida; Fig. 1, [0031], the light radiating part 10 has a laser diode 11 that radiates a pulsed laser through a scanner 13; please see Figure 1 below for more detail include a longitudinal axis (red line), optical center of the lidar sensor (blue dot) which shows an optical center of the lidar sensor lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor).
Fig. 1
Regarding claim 18, Yoshida as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim, wherein a direction of rotation of a rotating deflecting unit of the lidar sensor is configurable (Yoshida; [0031], the light radiating part 10 has a laser diode 11 that radiates a pulsed laser through a scanner 13; [0032], scanner 13, a polygon mirror is rotatably arranged).
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida, modified in view of Albuquerque, in view of Yoshizawa, in view of Gilbertson, in view of Bai et al. (DE 19850639 A1, hereinafter “Bai”).
Regarding claim 14, Yoshida as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 11.
Yoshida does not teach, wherein the lidar sensor has a holder that enables a fastening of the lidar sensor and is shaped in such a way that it is symmetrical to a plane of symmetry that stands perpendicular to the vertical axis.
Bai teaches, wherein the lidar sensor has a holder that enables a fastening of the lidar sensor and is shaped in such a way that it is symmetrical to a plane of symmetry that stands perpendicular to the vertical axis (Bai; Fig. 9B, [0105], housing 70 (equivalent to holder) containing the radar antenna 3, which allows the radar antenna 3 to be fastened and is shaped such that it is symmetrical to a plane of symmetry (perpendicular to the vertical axis)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position taught by Albuquerque, include wherein the lidar sensor is configured to be installed and operated on a vehicle in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor taught by Yoshizawa, include wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation taught by Gilbertson and include wherein the lidar sensor has a holder that enables a fastening of the lidar sensor and is shaped in such a way that it is symmetrical to a plane of symmetry that stands perpendicular to the vertical axis taught by Bai with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to put the lidar/radar system inside a housing, fastened the system for protecting purpose (housing 70 using snow shielding plate (use the material such as Teflon) which ice, snow, water droplets and the like are difficult to adhere) (Bai; [0105]-[0108]).
Regarding claim 15, Yoshida as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 14.
Yoshida does not teach, wherein the holder includes a centric holding point that is situated on the plane of symmetry and/or has two eccentric holding points that are situated symmetrically on different sides of the plane of symmetry.
Bai teaches, wherein the holder includes a centric holding point that is situated on the plane of symmetry and/or has two eccentric holding points that are situated symmetrically on different sides of the plane of symmetry (Bai; Fig. 9a and Fig. 9b, [107], the housing 70 is fixed to the radar antenna mounting bracket 80 (radar antenna 3 is fixed to it) by fixing screws 82 and 81 (equivalent to two eccentric holding points) which are arranged symmetrically on different sides of the plane of symmetry).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position taught by Albuquerque, include wherein the lidar sensor is configured to be installed and operated on a vehicle in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor taught by Yoshizawa, include wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation taught by Gilbertson and include wherein the holder includes a centric holding point that is situated on the plane of symmetry and/or has two eccentric holding points that are situated symmetrically on different sides of the plane of symmetry taught by Bai with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to put the lidar/radar system inside a housing, fastened the system for protecting purpose (Bai; [0105]-[0108]).
Claim(s) 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida, modified in view of Albuquerque, in view of Yoshizawa, in view of Gilbertson, in view of Gassend et al. (US 20200142073 A1, hereinafter “Gassend”).
Regarding claim 19, Yoshida as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 11.
Yoshida does not teach, wherein the lidar sensor is set up to receive a synchronization signal that makes it possible to synchronize a scanning process of the lidar sensor with a specified time frequency and/or a specified phase.
Gassend teaches, wherein the lidar sensor is set up to receive a synchronization signal that makes it possible to synchronize a scanning process of the lidar sensor with a specified time frequency and/or a specified phase (Gassend; [0030], the system synchronizes the rotating lidars by using the same reference timing signal as a basis for matching the respective yaw directions of the two rotating lidars at any given time. For instance, the system can use a common clock signal to synchronize the frequency, phase, and/or direction of the rotation of the lidars).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position taught by Albuquerque, include wherein the lidar sensor is configured to be installed and operated on a vehicle in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor taught by Yoshizawa, include wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation taught by Gilbertson and include wherein the lidar sensor is set up to receive a synchronization signal that makes it possible to synchronize a scanning process of the lidar sensor with a specified time frequency and/or a specified phase taught by Gassend with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to synchronize two rotating lidars (including frequency, phase, and/or direction of the rotation) using a common clock signal for range detection (Gassend; [0030]).
Regarding claim 20, Yoshida teaches a sensor system, comprising:
lidar sensor (Yoshida; Fig. 1, [0028], a radar apparatus 100) including:
a viewing window (Yoshida; Fig. 1, [0035], window part 41); and
a cleaning unit (Yoshida; Fig. 8, [0057], wiper member 55):
wherein the lidar sensor has a vertical axis that connects a first side of the lidar sensor to a second side of the lidar sensor, the first side and the second side being oppositely situated sides (Yoshida; Fig. 1, [0030], the radar apparatus 100 (equivalent to lidar sensor) is constructed of a light radiating part 10, a light receiving part 20 and laser radar CPU 30 are housed in a housing 40 (include upper, lower and rear sides)),
wherein the viewing window is situated on a front side of the lidar sensor, which connects the first side of the lidar sensor to the second side of the lidar sensor (Yoshida; Fig. 1, [0035], housing 40 has a window part 41 site in the front of housing and connected to upper side and lower side of the housing),
wherein the lidar sensor has a rear side, which connects the first side of the lidar sensor to the second side of the lidar sensor (Yoshida; Fig. 1, housing 40 has rear side connected upper and lower side);
wherein the cleaning unit is situated on the front side of the lidar sensor (Yoshida; Fig. 8, [0057], wiper member 55 is on the window),
wherein the lidar sensor is configured to be installed and operated on a vehicle (Yoshida; Fig. 1, [0028], the radar apparatus 100 is provided to detect a distance from an object existing in a scanning area such as used in a vehicle control unit);
Yoshida does not teach,
at least two lidar sensors, each including:
the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position, and
in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor.
the first side of one of the lidar sensors and the second side of another of the lidar sensors being situated on a common side.
wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation.
Albuquerque teaches,
the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position (Albuquerque; Fig. 1, [0033], cleaning unit 30 is situated at an outside of the housing. [0034], Parking position 60 (parallel to the vertical axis) laterally adjacent to cover 22 is also provided), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position taught by Albuquerque with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the cleaning unit 30 extending along a direction of vertical axis which can cover the whole window area while moving from one side to the other side of the window for cleaning purpose. After cleaning process, the cleaning unit 30 move to the parking position outside (parallel to the vertical axis) of the window area to avoid bock the field of view of the detection area (Albuquerque; [0033]).
However, Yoshida as modified in view of Albuquerque still not teach,
at least two lidar sensors, each including:
in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor.
the first side of one of the lidar sensors and the second side of another of the lidar sensors being situated on a common side.
wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation.
Gassend teaches, at least two lidar sensors (Gassend; Fig. 5A, [0124], vehicle 500 includes lidar device 502, 504, 506, 508, 510, which are mounted to respectively, a top side, front side, back side, right side, and left side of vehicle 500).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position taught by Albuquerque, include at least two lidar sensors taught by Gassend with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to attach multiple lidars on the same vehicle and the system synchronizes multiple lidars can facilitate the combination of data collected by the multiple lidars into a single point cloud (Gassend; [0031]).
Nevertheless, Yoshida as modified in view of Albuquerque and Gassend still not teach,
in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor.
the first side of one of the lidar sensors and the second side of another of the lidar sensors being situated on a common side.
wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation.
Yoshizawa further teaches,
in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor (Yoshizawa; Fig. 2, [0075], lidar system 110 includes housing 57 with an upper wall 57a, a lower wall 57b (facing the upper wall 57a), side wall 57c and opening 57d; Fig. 4, [0080], the light projecting and receiving unit 111 is located in such a way as to be turned upside down. This implied the lidar system 110 can be position in normal position or upside down position which equivalent to the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor as stated in the claim).
the first side of one of the lidar sensors and the second side of another of the lidar sensors being situated on a common side (same as above; since the lidar can be position either normal position or upside down position, it implies one can position two lidars such that the first side of one of the lidar sensors and the second side of another of the lidar sensor being situated on a common side as stated in the claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position taught by Albuquerque, include at least two lidar sensors taught by Gassend and include wherein the lidar sensor is configured to be installed and operated on a vehicle in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor and the first side of one of the lidar sensors and the second side of another of the lidar sensors being situated on a common side taught by Yoshizawa with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to position lidar system in either normal position (Fig. 2) or upside down position (Fig. 4) for sequentially performing scanning as needed (Yoshizawa; [0075], [0080]).
Yet, Yoshida as modified in view of Albuquerque, Gassend, Yoshizawa still not teach,
wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation.
Gilbertson teaches, wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation (Gilbertson; Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0036], internal sensor components 410, 420, 430 (include one or more imaging sensor such as LIDAR…[0039]) may be positioned within the interior of the sensor housing 330 and behind a housing window 440 with wiper 310/320 position on the window; Fig. 8, [0057], the motor 870 may rotate the rotating drive mechanism in a first direction such that the wiper 810 (corresponding to any of wipers 310, 320, … [0055]) moves from initial position (equivalent to the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window) depicted in Fig. 8 (clearly see the initial position is on the window 440 in Fig. 8) across the entirety to a second position indicated by dashed line area 886; [0040], further disclosed the housing window 440 may be configured to provide sufficient area for each of the fields of view 412, 422, 432 to be unimpeded by other components of the sensor and/or the wipers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the wiper 810 is positioned in the initial position on the edge of window which is not blocking the field of view of sensor 410, 420, 430.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position taught by Albuquerque, include at least two lidar sensors taught by Gassend and include wherein the lidar sensor is configured to be installed and operated on a vehicle in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor and the first side of one of the lidar sensors and the second side of another of the lidar sensors being situated on a common side taught by Yoshizawa, include wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation taught by Gilbertson with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to park the wiper cleaning assembly in the initial position, in which the cleaning assemblies are not in the FOV of the optical sensors while it is not in use (Gilbertson; [0040], [0057]). Predictably, during the optical sensors operation process, the sensor’s FOV will not be blocked when the cleaning assembly is not in use.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645 /YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645