CTNF 17/770,143 CTNF 100500 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Response to Amendment The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 17 th April 2026. Claims 11 and 20 were amended; no claims were cancelled; no new claims were added; therefore, claims 11-20 are pending in current application and are addressed below. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments filed 17 th April 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant’s argument regarding the rejections should be withdrawn because none of the cited references teaches or suggests the amended feature is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in the present Office Action. See below. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11-13 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (US 20060152705 A1, hereinafter “Yoshida”), modified in view of Yoshizawa et al. (US 20210389460 A1, hereinafter “Yoshizawa”), in view of Gilbertson et al. (US 20200189524 A1, hereinafter “Gilbertson”) . Regarding claim 11 , Yoshida teaches a lidar sensor, comprising: a viewing window ( Yoshida ; Fig. 1, [0035], window part 41); and a cleaning unit ( Yoshida ; Fig. 8, [0057], wiper member 55): wherein the lidar sensor has a vertical axis that connects a first side of the lidar sensor to a second side of the lidar sensor, the first side and the second side being oppositely situated sides ( Yoshida ; Fig. 1, [0030], the radar apparatus 100 (equivalent to lidar sensor) is constructed of a light radiating part 10, a light receiving part 20 and laser radar CPU 30 are housed in a housing 40 (include upper, lower and rear sides)), wherein the viewing window is situated on a front side of the lidar sensor, which connects the first side of the lidar sensor to the second side of the lidar sensor ( Yoshida ; Fig. 1, [0035], housing 40 has a window part 41 site in the front of housing and connected to upper side and lower side of the housing), wherein the lidar sensor has a rear side, which connects the first side of the lidar sensor to the second side of the lidar sensor ( Yoshida ; Fig. 1, housing 40 has rear side connected upper and lower side); wherein the cleaning unit is situated on the front side of the lidar sensor ( Yoshida ; Fig. 8, [0057], wiper member 55 is on the window). wherein the lidar sensor is configured to be installed and operated on a vehicle ( Yoshida ; Fig. 1, [0028], the radar apparatus 100 is provided to detect a distance from an object existing in a scanning area such as used in a vehicle control unit). Yoshida does not teach , the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position, and in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor. wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation. wherein the lidar sensor has a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis, and an optical center of the lidar sensor lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor, such that a region of the front side remains available for the cleaning unit in the park position without obstructing the field of view of the lidar sensor. Yoshizawa teaches , in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor ( Yoshizawa ; Fig. 2, [0075], lidar system 110 includes housing 57 with an upper wall 57a, a lower wall 57b (facing the upper wall 57a), side wall 57c and opening 57d; Fig. 4, [0080], the light projecting and receiving unit 111 is located in such a way as to be turned upside down. This implied the lidar system 110 can be position in normal position or upside down position which equivalent to the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor as stated in the claim). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor taught by Yoshizawa with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to position lidar system in either normal position (Fig. 2) or upside down position (Fig. 4) for sequentially performing scanning as needed ( Yoshizawa ; [0075], [0080]). However, Yoshida modified in view of Yoshizawa still not teach , the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position, and wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation. wherein the lidar sensor has a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis, and an optical center of the lidar sensor lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor, such that a region of the front side remains available for the cleaning unit in the park position without obstructing the field of view of the lidar sensor. Gilbertson disclosed in Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0036], internal sensor components 410, 420, 430 (include one or more imaging sensor such as LIDAR…[0039]) may be positioned within the interior of the sensor housing 330 and behind a housing window 440 with wiper 310/320 position on the window; Fig. 8, [0057], the motor 870 may rotate the rotating drive mechanism in a first direction such that the wiper 810 (corresponding to any of wipers 310, 320, … [0055]) moves from initial position (equivalent to the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window) depicted in Fig. 8 (clearly see the initial position is on the window 440 in Fig. 8 and extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side) across the entirety to a second position indicated by dashed line area 886; [0040], further disclosed the housing window 440 may be configured to provide sufficient area for each of the fields of view 412, 422, 432 to be unimpeded by other components of the sensor and/or the wipers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the wiper 810 is positioned in the initial position on the edge of window which is not blocking the field of view of sensor 410, 420, 430. Gilbertson further teaches , wherein the lidar sensor has a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis ( Gilbertson ; Fig. 4, copied below, [0038], shows the top view of the lidar system includes three lidar sensors 410, 420, 430 [0039]; the marked dashed line equivalent to a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis), and an optical center of the lidar sensor ( Gilbertson ; Fig. 4, copied below, there is no mention of optical center but it would be obvious to the skill of the art to recognize the optical center is the point from which scanning beam of lidar sensor goes out. Fig. 4 shows the FOV (412, 422, 432) of each lidar sensor (410, 420, 430), therefore, the three circles marked on the Figure shows the position of the optical center of each lidar sensor 410, 420, 430 as expected) lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor ( Gilbertson ; Fig. 4, copied below, there is no mention of the geometrical center of the lidar system but would obvious to the skill of art to recognize the marked solid circle is the geometrical center of the lidar system), such that a region of the front side remains available for the cleaning unit in the park position without obstructing the field of view of the lidar sensor ( Gilbertson ; Fig. 8, [0057], initial position of wiper 810, Fig. 4, [0040], the housing window 440 may be configured to provide sufficient area for each of the fields of view 412, 422, 432 to be unimpeded by other components of the sensor and/or the wipers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the wiper 810 is positioned in the initial position on the edge of window which is not blocking the field of view of sensor 410, 420, 430. PNG media_image1.png 433 628 media_image1.png Greyscale It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor taught by Yoshizawa , include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position; wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation; wherein the lidar sensor has a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis, and an optical center of the lidar sensor lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor, such that a region of the front side remains available for the cleaning unit in the park position without obstructing the field of view of the lidar sensor taught by Gilbertson with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to park the wiper cleaning assembly in the initial position extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side, in which the cleaning assemblies are not in the FOV of the optical sensors while it is not in use ( Gilbertson ; [0040], [0057]). Predictably, during the optical sensors operation process, the sensor’s FOV will not be blocked when the cleaning assembly is not in use. Regarding claim 12 , Yoshida as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 11. Yoshida does not teach , wherein the cleaning unit includes a wiper blade that, in the park position, is situated parallel to the vertical axis. Gilbertson teaches , wherein the cleaning unit includes a wiper blade that, in the park position, is situated parallel to the vertical axis ( Gilbertson ; [0017], the wiper system may include two wipers may be moved along a sensor housing such that the wiper blades of the wiper loosen, pull and push away the contaminants built up on the sensor housing; Fig. 8, [0057], shows the initial park position of wiper 810 and clearly see the wiper is situated parallel to the vertical axis). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor taught by Yoshizawa , include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position; wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation; wherein the lidar sensor has a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis, and an optical center of the lidar sensor lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor, such that a region of the front side remains available for the cleaning unit in the park position without obstructing the field of view of the lidar sensor; wherein the cleaning unit includes a wiper blade that, in the park position, is situated parallel to the vertical axis taught by Gilbertson with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the wiper system may be moved along a sensor housing such that the wiper blades of the wiper loosen, pull and push away the contaminants built up on the sensor housing ( Gilbertson ; [0017], [0057]). Regarding claim 13 , Yoshida as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 11. Yoshida does not teach , wherein the cleaning unit is configured to be moved from the park position over the viewing window, the cleaning unit being moved in a direction of movement that is at a right angle to the vertical axis. Gilbertson teaches , wherein the cleaning unit is configured to be moved from the park position over the viewing window, the cleaning unit being moved in a direction of movement that is at a right angle to the vertical axis ( Gilbertson ; [0057], the motor 870 may rotate the rotating drive mechanism in a first direction such that the wiper 810 (corresponding to any of wipers 310, 320, … [0055]) moves from initial position (equivalent to the park position over viewing window) depicted in Fig. 8 across the entirety to a second position indicated by dashed line area 886; implies the movement direction is at a right angle to the vertical axis). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor taught by Yoshizawa , include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position; wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation; wherein the lidar sensor has a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis, and an optical center of the lidar sensor lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor, such that a region of the front side remains available for the cleaning unit in the park position without obstructing the field of view of the lidar sensor; wherein the cleaning unit is configured to be moved from the park position over the viewing window, the cleaning unit being moved in a direction of movement that is at a right angle to the vertical axis taught by Gilbertson with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the wiper system may be moved along a sensor housing such that the wiper blades of the wiper loosen, pull and push away the contaminants built up on the sensor housing ( Gilbertson ; [0017], [0057]). Regarding claim 16 , Yoshida as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 11, wherein the front side having the viewing window is shaped such that it is symmetrical to a plane of symmetry that stands perpendicular to the vertical axis ( Yoshida ; Fig. 9, window 41a and 41b is situated in between middle of the housing (equivalent to the window is symmetrical to a plane of symmetry that stands perpendicular to the vertical axis)). Regarding claim 17 , Yoshida as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 11, wherein the lidar sensor has a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis, and an optical center of the lidar sensor lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor ( Yoshida ; Fig. 1, [0031], the light radiating part 10 has a laser diode 11 that radiates a pulsed laser through a scanner 13; please see Figure 1 below for more detail include a longitudinal axis (red line), optical center of the lidar sensor (blue dot) which shows an optical center of the lidar sensor lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor). PNG media_image2.png 456 606 media_image2.png Greyscale Fig. 1 Regarding claim 18 , Yoshida as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim, wherein a direction of rotation of a rotating deflecting unit of the lidar sensor is configurable ( Yoshida ; [0031], the light radiating part 10 has a laser diode 11 that radiates a pulsed laser through a scanner 13; [0032], scanner 13, a polygon mirror is rotatably arranged) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida, modified in view of Yoshizawa, in view of Gilbertson, in view of Bai et al. (DE 19850639 A1, hereinafter “Bai”) . Regarding claim 14 , Yoshida as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 11. Yoshida does not teach , wherein the lidar sensor has a holder that enables a fastening of the lidar sensor and is shaped in such a way that it is symmetrical to a plane of symmetry that stands perpendicular to the vertical axis. Bai teaches , wherein the lidar sensor has a holder that enables a fastening of the lidar sensor and is shaped in such a way that it is symmetrical to a plane of symmetry that stands perpendicular to the vertical axis ( Bai ; Fig. 9B, [0105], housing 70 (equivalent to holder) containing the radar antenna 3, which allows the radar antenna 3 to be fastened and is shaped such that it is symmetrical to a plane of symmetry (perpendicular to the vertical axis)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor taught by Yoshizawa , include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position; wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation; wherein the lidar sensor has a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis, and an optical center of the lidar sensor lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor, such that a region of the front side remains available for the cleaning unit in the park position without obstructing the field of view of the lidar sensor taught by Gilbertson and include wherein the lidar sensor has a holder that enables a fastening of the lidar sensor and is shaped in such a way that it is symmetrical to a plane of symmetry that stands perpendicular to the vertical axis taught by Bai with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to put the lidar/radar system inside a housing, fastened the system for protecting purpose (housing 70 using snow shielding plate (use the material such as Teflon) which ice, snow, water droplets and the like are difficult to adhere) ( Bai ; [0105]-[0108]). Regarding claim 15 , Yoshida as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 14. Yoshida does not teach , wherein the holder includes a centric holding point that is situated on the plane of symmetry and/or has two eccentric holding points that are situated symmetrically on different sides of the plane of symmetry. Bai teaches , wherein the holder includes a centric holding point that is situated on the plane of symmetry and/or has two eccentric holding points that are situated symmetrically on different sides of the plane of symmetry ( Bai ; Fig. 9a and Fig. 9b, [107], the housing 70 is fixed to the radar antenna mounting bracket 80 (radar antenna 3 is fixed to it) by fixing screws 82 and 81 (equivalent to two eccentric holding points) which are arranged symmetrically on different sides of the plane of symmetry). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor taught by Yoshizawa , include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position; wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation; wherein the lidar sensor has a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis, and an optical center of the lidar sensor lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor, such that a region of the front side remains available for the cleaning unit in the park position without obstructing the field of view of the lidar sensor taught by Gilbertson and include wherein the holder includes a centric holding point that is situated on the plane of symmetry and/or has two eccentric holding points that are situated symmetrically on different sides of the plane of symmetry taught by Bai with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to put the lidar/radar system inside a housing, fastened the system for protecting purpose ( Bai ; [0105]-[0108]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida, modified in view of Yoshizawa, in view of Gilbertson, in view of Gassend et al. (US 20200142073 A1, hereinafter “Gassend”) . Regarding claim 19 , Yoshida as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 11. Yoshida does not teach , wherein the lidar sensor is set up to receive a synchronization signal that makes it possible to synchronize a scanning process of the lidar sensor with a specified time frequency and/or a specified phase. Gassend teaches , wherein the lidar sensor is set up to receive a synchronization signal that makes it possible to synchronize a scanning process of the lidar sensor with a specified time frequency and/or a specified phase ( Gassend ; [0030], the system synchronizes the rotating lidars by using the same reference timing signal as a basis for matching the respective yaw directions of the two rotating lidars at any given time. For instance, the system can use a common clock signal to synchronize the frequency, phase, and/or direction of the rotation of the lidars). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor taught by Yoshizawa , include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position; wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation; wherein the lidar sensor has a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis, and an optical center of the lidar sensor lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor, such that a region of the front side remains available for the cleaning unit in the park position without obstructing the field of view of the lidar sensor taught by Gilbertson and include wherein the lidar sensor is set up to receive a synchronization signal that makes it possible to synchronize a scanning process of the lidar sensor with a specified time frequency and/or a specified phase taught by Gassend with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to synchronize two rotating lidars (including frequency, phase, and/or direction of the rotation) using a common clock signal for range detection ( Gassend ; [0030]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida, modified in view of Gassend, in view of Yoshizawa, in view of Gilbertson . Regarding claim 20 , Yoshida teaches a sensor system, comprising: lidar sensor ( Yoshida ; Fig. 1, [0028], a radar apparatus 100) including: a viewing window ( Yoshida ; Fig. 1, [0035], window part 41 ); and a cleaning unit ( Yoshida ; Fig. 8, [0057], wiper member 55): wherein the lidar sensor has a vertical axis that connects a first side of the lidar sensor to a second side of the lidar sensor, the first side and the second side being oppositely situated sides ( Yoshida ; Fig. 1, [0030], the radar apparatus 100 (equivalent to lidar sensor) is constructed of a light radiating part 10, a light receiving part 20 and laser radar CPU 30 are housed in a housing 40 (include upper, lower and rear sides)), wherein the viewing window is situated on a front side of the lidar sensor, which connects the first side of the lidar sensor to the second side of the lidar sensor ( Yoshida ; Fig. 1, [0035], housing 40 has a window part 41 site in the front of housing and connected to upper side and lower side of the housing), wherein the lidar sensor has a rear side, which connects the first side of the lidar sensor to the second side of the lidar sensor ( Yoshida ; Fig. 1, housing 40 has rear side connected upper and lower side); wherein the cleaning unit is situated on the front side of the lidar sensor ( Yoshida ; Fig. 8, [0057], wiper member 55 is on the window), wherein the lidar sensor is configured to be installed and operated on a vehicle ( Yoshida ; Fig. 1, [0028], the radar apparatus 100 is provided to detect a distance from an object existing in a scanning area such as used in a vehicle control unit); Yoshida does not teach , at least two lidar sensors, each including: the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position, and in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor. the first side of one of the lidar sensors and the second side of another of the lidar sensors being situated on a common side. wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation. wherein the lidar sensor has a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis, and an optical center of the lidar sensor lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor, such that a region of the front side remains available for the cleaning unit in the park position without obstructing the field of view of the lidar sensor. Gassend teaches , at least two lidar sensors ( Gassend ; Fig. 5A, [0124], vehicle 500 includes lidar device 502, 504, 506, 508, 510, which are mounted to respectively, a top side, front side, back side, right side, and left side of vehicle 500). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include at least two lidar sensors taught by Gassend with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to attach multiple lidars on the same vehicle and the system synchronizes multiple lidars can facilitate the combination of data collected by the multiple lidars into a single point cloud ( Gassend ; [0031]). Nevertheless, Yoshida as modified in view of Gassend still not teach , the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position, and in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor. the first side of one of the lidar sensors and the second side of another of the lidar sensors being situated on a common side. wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation. Yoshizawa further teaches , in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor ( Yoshizawa ; Fig. 2, [0075], lidar system 110 includes housing 57 with an upper wall 57a, a lower wall 57b (facing the upper wall 57a), side wall 57c and opening 57d; Fig. 4, [0080], the light projecting and receiving unit 111 is located in such a way as to be turned upside down. This implied the lidar system 110 can be position in normal position or upside down position which equivalent to the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor as stated in the claim). the first side of one of the lidar sensors and the second side of another of the lidar sensors being situated on a common side (same as above; since the lidar can be position either normal position or upside down position, it implies one can position two lidars such that the first side of one of the lidar sensors and the second side of another of the lidar sensor being situated on a common side as stated in the claim). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include at least two lidar sensors taught by Gassend , include wherein the lidar sensor is configured to be installed and operated on a vehicle in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor and the first side of one of the lidar sensors and the second side of another of the lidar sensors being situated on a common side taught by Yoshizawa with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to position lidar system in either normal position (Fig. 2) or upside down position (Fig. 4) for sequentially performing scanning as needed ( Yoshizawa ; [0075], [0080]). Yet, Yoshida as modified in view of Gassend, Yoshizawa still not teach , the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position, and wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation. wherein the lidar sensor has a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis, and an optical center of the lidar sensor lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor, such that a region of the front side remains available for the cleaning unit in the park position without obstructing the field of view of the lidar sensor. Gilbertson disclosed in Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0036], internal sensor components 410, 420, 430 (include one or more imaging sensor such as LIDAR…[0039]) may be positioned within the interior of the sensor housing 330 and behind a housing window 440 with wiper 310/320 position on the window; Fig. 8, [0057], the motor 870 may rotate the rotating drive mechanism in a first direction such that the wiper 810 (corresponding to any of wipers 310, 320, … [0055]) moves from initial position (equivalent to the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window) depicted in Fig. 8 (clearly see the initial position is on the window 440 in Fig. 8 and extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side) across the entirety to a second position indicated by dashed line area 886; [0040], further disclosed the housing window 440 may be configured to provide sufficient area for each of the fields of view 412, 422, 432 to be unimpeded by other components of the sensor and/or the wipers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the wiper 810 is positioned in the initial position on the edge of window which is not blocking the field of view of sensor 410, 420, 430. Gilbertson further teaches , wherein the lidar sensor has a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis ( Gilbertson ; Fig. 4, copied below, [0038], shows the top view of the lidar system includes three lidar sensors 410, 420, 430 [0039]; the marked dashed line equivalent to a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis), and an optical center of the lidar sensor ( Gilbertson ; Fig. 4, copied below, there is no mention of optical center but it would be obvious to the skill of the art to recognize the optical center is the point from which scanning beam of lidar sensor goes out. Fig. 4 shows the FOV (412, 422, 432) of each lidar sensor (410, 420, 430), therefore, the three circles marked on the Figure shows the position of the optical center of each lidar sensor 410, 420, 430 as expected) lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor ( Gilbertson ; Fig. 4, copied below, there is no mention of the geometrical center of the lidar system but would obvious to the skill of art to recognize the marked solid circle is the geometrical center of the lidar system), such that a region of the front side remains available for the cleaning unit in the park position without obstructing the field of view of the lidar sensor ( Gilbertson ; Fig. 8, [0057], initial position of wiper 810, Fig. 4, [0040], the housing window 440 may be configured to provide sufficient area for each of the fields of view 412, 422, 432 to be unimpeded by other components of the sensor and/or the wipers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the wiper 810 is positioned in the initial position on the edge of window which is not blocking the field of view of sensor 410, 420, 430. PNG media_image1.png 433 628 media_image1.png Greyscale It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Yoshida to include at least two lidar sensors taught by Gassend , include wherein the lidar sensor is configured to be installed and operated on a vehicle in such a way that, optionally, the first side or the second side is an upper side of the lidar sensor and the first side of one of the lidar sensors and the second side of another of the lidar sensors being situated on a common side taught by Yoshizawa , include the cleaning unit extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side when the cleaning unit is in a park position; wherein the park position is arranged on a region of the viewing window that is not required for lidar operation; wherein the lidar sensor has a longitudinal axis that runs along the front side and stands perpendicular to the vertical axis, and an optical center of the lidar sensor lies on the longitudinal axis at a distance from a geometrical center of the lidar sensor, such that a region of the front side remains available for the cleaning unit in the park position without obstructing the field of view of the lidar sensor taught by Gilbertson with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to park the wiper cleaning assembly in the initial position extending along a direction of the vertical axis over the front side, in which the cleaning assemblies are not in the FOV of the optical sensors while it is not in use ( Gilbertson ; [0040], [0057]). Predictably, during the optical sensors operation process, the sensor’s FOV will not be blocked when the cleaning assembly is not in use. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHIA-LING CHEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1047. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday 8-5 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yuqing Xiao can be reached at (571)270-3630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645 /YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 2 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 3 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 4 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 5 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 6 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 7 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 8 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 9 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 10 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 11 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 12 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 13 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 14 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 15 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 16 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 17 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 18 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 19 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 20 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 21 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 17/770,143 Page 22 Art Unit: 3645