DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 27-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/18/25.
Claim Interpretation
The claims use the word “nominal” in various places. This will be treated to mean “standard”.
Claim Objections
Claims 17 -26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17, line 14 “a condensate” should be amended to “the condensate”.
Claim 17, line 17 “the suction” should be a “suction”.
Claim 24, lines 2-3 “of the flow rate of flow rate” should be amended to just “of the flow rate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17, line 12 “the synthesis section” lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 17 and 25 uses the term “the loop” or “the synthesis loop” throughout, which lacks antecedent basis but should be amended to “the ammonia synthesis loop”.
Claim 20, lines 1-2 “determining the amount of gas in the bypass stream as a function of the instant amount. . . “ is unclear because it is unclear what “the instant amount” means.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 21, 22, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johanning (WO 2018/091410) and in view of Benner (U.S. Pat.: 4568532) and in view of Maxwell “Ammonia Synthesis”, attached, and in view of Iob (WO 2011/051079) and in view of Lee (US Pat.: 5484584).
The Examiner has provided a machine translation of the foreign references cited. The citation of the prior art in this rejection refers to the machine translation.
Johanning describes a method for producing ammonia (para. 1). The method describes operating the plant at either full or partial load mode (paragraph 22 or para. 23). In this embodiment, a raw synthesis gas goes into a reformer (1) (para. 171 or para. 130). This can be considered to meet the feature of Claim 1 describing “producing an ammonia make-up synthesis gas in a front-end”, where the “front-end” is considered the front portion of the device of Figure 1. The raw synthesis gas then passes through a compressor (4). The stream is then sent to a stripper (7) and into a wash column (5) (Fig. 1). Some of the stream from the wash column is fed into an ammonia synthesis reactor (10, then to 11, then to 12). This can be considered an ammonia synthesis loop of Claim 1. The loop includes reactor 11. Reactor 11 is described as the ammonia synthesis reactor (see para. 176 and 135). Johanning does not specifically state that the ammonia synthesis reactor uses catalysts.The ammonia synthesis reactor (11) can be considered equivalent to the converter where ammonia is synthesized of Claim 1.
The reference describes use of a compressor that helps feed make-up synthesis gas to the loop, but does not describe a circulator, which is a compressor configured to maintain circulation in the ammonia synthesis loop.
Downstream from the ammonia synthesis reactor (11) is a liquid ammonia device (12). The reference does not state that the liquid ammonia device 12 is a condenser or that there is a separator used to separate liquid ammonia from the gaseous stream.
The system has a recycle line, but not one that feeds from the separator section to the suction of the circulator.
As to the operation, Johanning explains that their process is useable for separate startups and separate operation of two subsystems, where the operation can be in partial load (para. 129 and para. 20, 23). This is shown in the different figures. For example, when the system is operating under a partial load, Johanning describes this a case I (para. 45). When the system is operated under full mode, Johanning shows a few options, which is described as case II, case III or case IV (para. 46). The optional return line from 12 to 5 (Fig. 1) or (from 15 to 5 in Fig. 3 or 11 to 5 in Fig. 4) can be considered a recycle line.
As to the load conditions, Johanning does not teach that the make-up synthesis gas is less than a nominal flow. However, in Figure 1, the partial load conditions different the conditions of the other full load conditions (Fig. 2), where the dotted lines indicate an alternative operation (see para. 170 or para. 129), but in the full load condition, all the synthesis gas is sent to the ammonia synthesis reactor (11) (para. 180, 138). Since the process does not divide the gas into a bypass loop (such as in Fig. 1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the full amount of make-up gas can be considered a “nominal amount”. Nonetheless, this feature is taught by Lee below.
When operated under partial load, a bypass stream may come from 11 (converter) at a point upstream of the converter, which can be considered a bypass stream (see Fig. 4, 11 bypass stream back to 5).
Johanning does not teach reintroducing the bypass stream at the suction side of the circulator.
As to the catalyst feature and the controlling the flow rate of ammonia make-up gas from the front end to one that is smaller than a nominal flow rate, Benner teaches in the background field that commercial production of ammonia synthesis is typically performed over catalyst bed(s) (col. 1, lines 22-24) that enable conversion of the gas into ammonia at targeted concentrations (col. 1, lines 37-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include catalysts in the ammonia synthesis reactor of Johanning, as taught by Benner because it is conventional in the art and can be employed to enable conversion of the entering gases into ammonia at targeted concentrations.
In the method of Benner, their process feeds an entering gas stream made up of synthesis gas and then fed into a compressor (col. 3, lines 9-11). The ammonia synthesis is manufactured in an ammonia synthesis loop (col. 1, lines 58-61). Benner explains in the background that a stoichiometric ratio of H to N is operated at about 3 in the prior art (col. 1, lines 14-16), but that their system incorporates a recycled gas that is fed as part of the entering stream over the ammonia synthesis gas (col. 1, lines 60-63). The catalyst used can produce ammonia at ratio of less than stoichiometric (col. 2, lines 1-11). The entering gas is then adjusted to lower than stoichiometric (col. 2, lines 18-22). This saves power (col. 2, lines 28-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the flow of the entering synthesis gas to below the stoichiometric levels, as taught by Benner for use with the process of Johanning because Johanning explains that is lower the power consumption of the system.
As to the feature of using a condenser in the liquid ammonia generation step (12) of Johanning, Maxwell describes the process for ammonia synthesis (title). The background describes the standard process of making ammonia (Intro, para. 1-2). In this process, Maxwell explains that after the feed gas leaves the ammonia synthesis converter, ammonia is condensed by cooling and removed, which results in the highest ammonia concentration for condensation (see page 1, para. 2). The device used to cool the ammonia can be considered a condenser.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employs a condenser, as taught by Maxwell in the liquid ammonia generation step of the ammonia synthesis loop of Johanning because this is known to result in the highest ammonia concentration.
Johanning describes use of a compressor that helps feed make-up synthesis gas to the loop, but does not describe a circulator, which is a compressor configured to maintain circulation in the ammonia synthesis loop.
Iob describes a plant for the synthesis of ammonia (page 7, line 5) that includes a front-end syngas flow (pg 7, line 9), followed by a compression section 130 (pg 7, line 10), which then feeds to a loop (pg. 7, lines 10-11). The loop includes a catalytic reactor, a gas cooler and a liquid separator to produce liquid ammonia (pg. 7, lines 12-15). The circulation in the loop 106 is created by a compressor, which is also referred to as a circulator (pg. 7, lines 15-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a compressor in the synthesis loop, as taught by Iob for use in the synthesis loop of Johanning because compressors circulate the reactants in the synthesis loop.
As to the recycle line being from the separation section to the suction of the circulator, Iob teaches that after the separation section (150) there is a stream 16, which is recycled at the suction of the circulator 140 (page 9, lines 5-6, 15-17). By feeding the recycle line to the suction of the circulator, Iob explains that it minimizes the energy requirement for the compression step (page 9, lines 16-17). The stream 16 can be considered part of the separation section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to feed the recycle line from the separation section to the suction of the circulator, as taught by Iob for use with the recycle line of Johanning because it minimizes the energy requirement for the compression step.
As to the condition of the ammonia synthesis loop when operated at full load conditions, where there is a nominal flow rate of ammonia make0up gas transferred from the front end to the synthesis loop, this feature is taught by Lee.
Lee describes a process for the ammonia production (abstract). The reference explains in the background that it is generally known in the prior art to feed a synthesis gas to an ammonia-making synthesis loop (col. 1, lines 14-18), which Lee maintains in their process of making ammonia (see Fig. 1). Lee explains in their standard process that the rate of raw makeup stream is about equal to the rate of ammonia production in a continuous ammonia synthesis loop (col. 4, lines 19-22).
Therefore, since Johhanning describes use of either full load or partial load operation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that during full load the amount of make up stream (syn gas) entering in the loop is about equal to the rate of ammonia produced in the ammonia synthesis loop, as taught by Lee because this is known as standard means of maintaining a continuous reaction. The balanced between the inlet and the outlet compounds can be considered a nominal flow or a standard amount.
As to Claims 21, 22 and 23, Johanning teaches use of a compressor (4) which operates 200-350 bar (para. 63). The reference does not state that this is a nominal flow or what that is in relation to the nominal flow. However, the specification gives examples of a nominal pressure range, which can be from 226 bar (example 1). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.”
Claim(s) 19, 20, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johanning, Benner, Maxwell, Iob and Lee as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Kudrjashov (RU 2306590).
The references do not describe use of a temperature sensor across the converter and adjusting the gas in the bypass stream as a result.
Kudrjashov describes a digital multivariable system for controlling ammonia synthesis (title) for use in the automatic control of temperature in ammonia synthesis (“description”, para. 2) . This system uses sensors in the circulating gas, a temperature controller and sensors in all the catalyst layers and valves on a bypass flow (page 2, lines 8-13). Additionally, the system contains sensors used for measuring the concentration of ammonia and are connected by their inputs to the regulator output temperature in the catalysts which are associated with temperature controllers and a valve on the bypass stream (page 2, lines 10-22). The temperature sensors go across catalysts I-IV layers (page 2, para. 6). Since there are various temperature sensors across various catalysts, this can be considered to meet the feature “detecting the difference of temperature across the converter” because the temperature sensors would inherently detect difference in temperature across the converters since these temperature sensors are spread across the catalysts. Also, since there is a temperature sensor towards an inlet and a temperature sensor towards the outlet, this meets the features of “by detecting the difference between the temperature of the gas feed entering the converter and the temperature of an ammonia-containing product withdrawn from the converter” of Claim 19.
The system includes a valve on the bypass stream associated with a control system, which is also associated with the temperature sensors and temperature controller (page 2, lines 8-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the temperature sensors across the catalysts to adjust the valve in the bypass stream, as taught by Kudrjashov for use with the ammonia synthesis of Johanning, Benner, Maxwell, Iob and Lee because this is a known way to automatically control the temperature in an ammonia synthesis device.
As to Claim 20, Kudrjashov teaches in the background that “The method controls temperatures in the catalyst beds by changing the supply of circulating gas and bypass flows depending on the flow rate, pressure, temperature and gas composition at the inlet to the synthesis column, gas pressure in the evaporator, set and measured values of the temperature in the layers” (page 1, “description, para. 2”). The invention of Kudrjashov is the same except that it additionally introduces sensors for the concentration of ammonia and inert gases in the circulating gas, temperature regulator outputs (page 2, para. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that to employ sensors to determine the gas composition at the inlet of the synthesis column in order to adjust the bypass flow, as taught by Kudrjashov for use with the process of Johanning, Benner, Maxwell, Iob and Lee because this is a known way to automatically control the temperature in an ammonia synthesis device.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johanning, Benner, Maxwell, Iob and Lee as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Neumann (DE 102007004294).
The references do not describe the features of Claim 26.
Neumann describes a process for producing fuels (abstract). This reference explains that synthesis gas is made using renewable raw materials (page 3, para. 3), which can be used for ammonia synthesis (Claim 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a synthesis gas made using renewable raw materials, as taught by Neumann for use with the ammonia synthesis process of Johanning, Benner, Maxwell, Iob and Lee because it is known to obtain synthesis gas using renewable raw materials for use as feed in an ammonia synthesis process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18, 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Kudrjashov (RU 2306590). Kudrjashov uses temperature sensors in the converter to adjust the bypass flow (see above), but does not use pressure detectors to determine this.
Conclusion
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 May 30, 2025