DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of 17/770,264
Claims 1-10, 12-13, 21-22, 24, and 26-29 are currently pending.
Priority
Instant application 17/770,264, filed 4/19/2022, claims priority as follows:
Support for the instant claims is found in the provisional application.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filed 6/26/2026 has been entered. No claims have been amended, cancelled, or added.
Claims 8-10, 12-13, 26-27, and 29 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in the Final dated 2/26/2026. In response, Applicant argues the elected species is not a compound of Broad’s formula (I) because Broad makes clear that all of R4-R7 cannot be hydrogen regardless of the exemplary compounds taught by Broad. Applicant’s arguments have been considered, and are considered persuasive. Thus, the rejection is overcome and withdrawn.
However, new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group II, claims 8-13 and 26-29, drawn to methods of treating a parasitic disease caused by a parasite from the genus Cryptosporidium, in the reply filed 5/14/2025 is acknowledged. Applicant’s election of compound 16:
in the reply filed 5/14/2025, is also acknowledged. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Examination will begin with the elected species. In accordance with MPEP § 803.02, if upon examination of the elected species, no prior art is found that would anticipate or render obvious the instant invention based on the elected species, the search of the Markush-type claim will be extended. If prior art is then found that anticipates or renders obvious the non- elected species, the Markush-type claim will be rejected. It should be noted that the prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species. Should Applicant overcome the rejection by amending the claim, the amended claim will be examined again. The prior art search will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. In the event prior art is found during further examination that renders obvious or anticipates the amended Markush-type claim, the claim will be rejected and the action made final.
In the Non-Final Rejection dated 6/12/2025, the elected species was searched and prior art was identified. During the search, the scope of the elected species search was expanded to include additional variables of instant R4 and R5 and an additional 102 rejection was identified. Both rejections of the elected and expanded species have been overcome. The scope of the search was then expanded to compounds of Formulae (I) and (IV) where R1 is aryl, L1 is -CΞC-, A1 is CH, A2 is CH, L2 is -C(O)NR-, where R is hydrogen, R2 is a substituted aryl, L3 is absent, R3 is hydrogen, L4 is alkylene, R4 is -N(R)2, where R is alkyl, R5 is hydrogen, R6 is hydrogen, --- is a double bond, m is 1, n is 1, and R7 is hydrogen and an additional expanded species of Formula (I) and (IV) where R1 is aryl, L1 is -CΞC-, A1 is CH, A2 is CH, L2 is -C(O)NR-, where R is hydrogen, R2 is a substituted aryl, L3 is absent, R3 is hydrogen, L4 is alkylene, R4 is -OH, R5 is hydrogen, R6 is hydrogen, --- is a single bond, m is 1, n is 1, and R7 is hydrogen. The full scope of the claims has not yet been searched in accordance with Markush search practice. Claims 8-10, 26-27, and 29 read on the expanded species. The scope of claims 12 and 13 was searched and no art was identified, and thus the claims are objected to. Claims 1-7, 21-22, 24, and 28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species and/or group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 8 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 27 recite, “R7 is -CH2OR8; wherein R8 is alkyl having one or more optional points of substitution;”. However, the claims previously recite that R7 can be hydrogen, -CH2OH, or -CH2OR and do not previously recite an R8 variable. Thus, the limitation of R7 is indefinite and unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 recites a broader scope of R1 than that of claim 26, the claim from which 27 depends. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by The Broad Institute, Inc. (WO 2018/175385 A1, cited in the IDS of 4/19/2022, herein after “Broad”). This rejection applies to an expanded species.
The reference Broad discloses compounds useful for the treatment of parasitic diseases (abstract), and specifically discloses compound E4 (page 21):
Which is used in a method of inhibiting or preventing the growth of parasites from C. parvum in the inoculation medium RPMI 1640 (page 141, lines 7-9) and was found to have an EC50 of 68 nm (page 141, Table 5). Compound E4 anticipates a compound of instant Formula (IV) of claim 26:
When R1 is aryl, L1 is -CΞC-, A1 is CH, A2 is CH, L2 is -C(O)NR-, where R is hydrogen, R2 is a substituted aryl, L3 is absent, R3 is hydrogen, L4 is alkylene, R4 is -N(R)2, where R is alkyl, R5 is hydrogen, R6 is hydrogen, --- is a double bond, m is 1, n is 1, and R7 is hydrogen. Thus, Broad anticipates claims 26 and 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10, 26-27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The Broad Institute, Inc. (WO 2018/175385 A1, cited in the IDS of 4/19/2022, herein after “Broad”). This rejection applies to an expanded species.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
The reference Broad teaches as disclosed above and at least those teachings are incorporated herein. In addition to compound E4, Broad teaches that compound E27:
is also active against C. parvum (page 141):
.
Compound E27 partially maps to a compound of instant formulae (I) and (IV):
When R1 is aryl, L1 is -CΞC-, A1 is CH, A2 is CH, L2 is -C(O)NR-, where R is hydrogen, R2 is a substituted aryl, L3 is absent, R3 is hydrogen, L4 is alkylene, R4 is -OH, R6 is hydrogen, --- is a single bond, m is 1, n is 1, and R7 is hydrogen.
The compound E27 differs from a compound of the instant method claims by the presence of an alkyl amine substituent on the diazacyclooctane, specifically in the R5 position of the instant formulae. The instant formulae require that R5 and R6 be hydrogen.
However, Broad teaches that compounds of the disclosure are believed to inhibit the growth of or kill a parasitic protozoan that causes malaria and/or cryptosporidiosis (page 31, lines 21-25), and includes compounds that fall under this definition but not tested in the specific cryptosporidiosis assay. Such compounds include E35 (page 28):
Which differs from compound E27 by the lack of alkyl amine in the R5 position, and the presence of an alkyl group adjacent to the R5 site. Stated briefly, compound E27 teaches a compound where R6 is hydrogen, and the sites on the diazacyclooctane adjacent to R5 and R6 are hydrogen, whereas compound E35 teaches a compound where R5, R6, and the site on the diazacyclooctane adjacent to R6 is hydrogen.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
The reference Broad fails to teach an anticipatory species in a method of treatment or prophylaxis of a parasitic disease caused by a parasite from the genus Cryptosporidium.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
The level of ordinary skill in the art is represented by an artisan who has sufficient background in the development of Cryptosporidium treatment methods with azetidine-based compounds. An artisan possesses the technical knowledge necessary to make adjustments to the azetidine-based compounds to enhance their effectiveness in the treatment methods. Said artisan has also reviewed the problems in the art as regards to use of said Cryptosporidium treatment methods with azetidine-based compounds and understands the solutions that are widely known in the art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
Applying KSR prong (B), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the alkyl amine moiety of Compound E27 of Broad with the hydrogen at the same site of compound E35 because the compounds are known for the same purpose. Structurally similar compounds are expected to have similar properties. A skilled artisan would be motivated before the effective filing date to make such a substitution to identify additional compounds additional of treating Cryptosporidiosis. The same person of ordinary skill would have reasonably predicted success in light of the teachings of Broad.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Claims 8-10, 26-27, and 29 are rejected. Claims 12 and 13 are objected to. Claims 1-7, 21-22, 24, and 28 are withdrawn.
/K.N.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621