DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments are presented on pages 14-15 and 19-20 that Matsuoka would teach away from an openable cover while a cable is attached. These arguments are not found persuasive due to the fact that the absence of a teaching would not constitute a teaching away. Matsuoka does not teach any disadvantages of an openable cover and the new prior art reference Nakayama et al. (US 2015/0372465 A1, hereafter Nakayama) teaches a cover with integral hinges as detailed in the claim rejections below and would therefore also be securely attached to a main body [0032, 0040-0043, fig. 1].
The arguments are presented on pages 16-18, and 20 regarding the direction of the power supply cables. These arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendments. The Yamada and Maguire references are no longer relied upon and the first direction is now considered to be horizontal as detailed in the rejection of the amended claims below.
The arguments are presented on page 20 that Matsuoka would not teach a cover disposed on one side in a first direction in which the substrate and the energy storage unit are aligned. These arguments are not found persuasive due to the fact that the horizontal direction is now relied upon as the first direction and Matsuoka teaches the cover (protective cover 20), substrate holder (cutout 15), and energy storage unit (storage device 11) are aligned in the horizontal direction [0015-0017, fig. 2]
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-14, 18, and 20 , filed 10/14/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 1, 12, and 17 under Matsuoka modified by Maguire have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Matsuoka and the new prior art of Nakayama et al. (US 2015/0372465 A1, hereafter Nakayama) as detailed in the claim rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka et al. (JP 2004-152661, hereafter Matsuoka) in view of Nakayama et al. (US 2015/0372465 A1, hereafter Nakayama).
With regard to claims 1 and 6, Matsuoka teaches an energy storage apparatus including an energy storage unit (storage device 11) including an energy storage device (storage device main body 18) [0015, fig. 2], the energy storage apparatus including;
a substrate (electric circuit 17) electrically connected to the energy storage unit [0015] ;
a substrate accommodating unit that accommodates the substrate including a substrate holder (cutout 15) that has an opening and holds the substrate within the opening [0015-0017] and a cover (protective cover 20) that can open and close the opening disposed on one side in a first direction of the substrate in which the substrate and energy storage unit are aligned (horizontally) [0015, fig. 2];
a cable (connection cable 30) in which one end is electrically connected to the energy storage (via terminal 43) unit while the other end is connected to an external conductive member of the energy storage apparatus (to connect to motor 10) [0016, 0020, fig. 2],
wherein the cable is disposed on one side of at least a part of the cover while connected to the external conductive member [0015, fig. 2].
Matsuoka does not teach that the cover is openable while one end of the cable is connected to the energy storage device and the other end is not connected or that the cable is disposed in the first (horizontal direction). However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakayama teaches a cover (insulating cover 31) that is rotatably attached and teaches connecting a cable (wires W) extending in a first (horizontal) direction, which allows for opening while the cable is electrically connected (claim 6) [0032, 0040-0043, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the rotatable cover and cable arrangement of Nakayama with the energy storage unit of Matsuoka for the benefit of covering connecting portions with a temporarily lockable cover that suppresses a decrease in insulating properties [0062].
With regard to claim 2, Matsuoka teaches the energy storage unit (storage device 11) is disposed on the other side in the first direction of the cover (right side in horizontal direction) [0015, fig. 2], and
the cable protrudes from the energy storage unit and is connected to the external conductive member (to connect to motor 10) [0015, fig. 2]. Matsuoka does not explicitly teach that the cable is disposed on one side in the first direction of part of the cover or extends to one side in the first direction. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakayama teaches a cover (insulating cover 31) that is rotatably attached and teaches connecting a cable (wires W) extending in a first (horizontal) direction, which allows for opening while the cable is electrically connected [0032, 0040-0043, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the rotatable cover and cable arrangement of Nakayama with the energy storage unit of Matsuoka for the benefit of covering connecting portions with a temporarily lockable cover that suppresses a decrease in insulating properties [0062].
With regard to claim 7, Matsuoka teaches the energy storage unit (storage device 11) is disposed in the first direction on the other side of the substrate (horizontal and on the right) [0015-0017, fig. 2-4], and
the cable protrudes from the energy storage unit and is connected to the external conductive member (to connect to motor 10) [0015, fig. 2]. Matsuoka does not explicitly teach that the cable is disposed on one side in the first direction of part of the cover or extends to one side in the first direction. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakayama teaches a cover (insulating cover 31) that is rotatably attached and teaches connecting a cable (wires W) extending in a first (horizontal) direction, which allows for opening while the cable is electrically connected [0032, 0040-0043, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the rotatable cover and cable arrangement of Nakayama with the energy storage unit of Matsuoka for the benefit of covering connecting portions with a temporarily lockable cover that suppresses a decrease in insulating properties [0062].
With regard to claim 9, Matsuoka teaches a power cable [0016]. Matsuoka does not explicitly teach that the cover is at least partially unfastened. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakayama teaches a cover (insulating cover 31) that is rotatably attached and teaches connecting a cable (wires W) extending in a first (horizontal) direction, which allows for opening while the cable is electrically connected [0032, 0040-0043, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the rotatable cover and cable arrangement of Nakayama with the energy storage unit of Matsuoka for the benefit of covering connecting portions with a temporarily lockable cover that suppresses a decrease in insulating properties [0062].
Claim(s) 3-5, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka and Nakayama as applied to claims 1-2, 6-7, and 9 above, and further in view of Maeda et al. (US 2018/0053970 A1, hereafter Maeda).
With regard to claims 3-4, Matsuoka does not explicitly teach the cable disposed in recesses included on the cover. However, in the same field of endeavor, Maeda teaches the use of first, second, and third recesses in a first and second directions (horizontal and vertical recesses within support portions 96, 97, 98, and 99) [0066, fig. 11] with the cable disposed in the recesses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the support portions and recesses of Maeda with the energy storage apparatus and cable of Matsuoka for the benefit of supporting the cable while allowing for relative movement between attached components [Maeda 0061].
With regard to claim 5, Matsuoka teaches a circuit substrate (electric circuit 17) [0015] but does not explicitly teach the cover including a regulating unit. However, in the same field of endeavor, Maeda teaches the use of regulating units (support portions 96, 97, 98, and 99) with sidewalls that extend in a second direction intersecting the first direction (horizontal thickness of sidewalls) [0066, fig. 11] so that the regulating unit regulates the movement of the cable to the other side in the second direction (the walls of the support portions would prevent lateral movement of the cable). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the support portions (regulating units) of Maeda with the energy storage apparatus and cable of Matsuoka for the benefit of supporting the cable while allowing for relative movement between attached components [Maeda 0061].
With regard to claim 11, modified Matsuoka teaches the energy storage apparatus detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Matsuoka further teaches the cover is disposed on one side in the first direction of the substrate accommodating unit (left side of cutout 15 in the horizontal direction) [0015-0017, fig. 2].
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach the cable disposed in recesses included on the cover. However, in the same field of endeavor, Maeda teaches the use of first, second, and third recesses in a first and second directions (horizontal and vertical recesses within support portions 96, 97, 98, and 99) [0066, fig. 11] with the cable disposed in the recesses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the support portions and recesses of Maeda with the energy storage apparatus and cable of Matsuoka for the benefit of supporting the cable while allowing for relative movement between attached components [Maeda 0061].
With regard to claim 17, Matsuoka teaches an energy storage apparatus including an energy storage unit (storage device 11) including an energy storage device (storage device main body 18) [0015, fig. 2], the energy storage apparatus including;
a substrate (electric circuit 17) electrically connected to the energy storage unit [0015] ;
a substrate accommodating unit that accommodates the substrate including a substrate holder (cutout 15) that has an opening and holds the substrate within the opening [0015-0017] and a cover (protective cover 20) that can open and close the opening disposed on one side of the substrate in a direction in which the substrate and energy storage unit are aligned (left side in horizontal direction) [0015, fig. 2];
a cable (connection cable 30) in which one end is electrically connected to the energy storage (via terminal 43) unit while the other end is connected to an external conductive member of the energy storage apparatus (to connect to motor 10) [0016, 0020, fig. 2],
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach that the cable is disposed on one side in the first direction of part of the cover or extends to one side in the first direction or that the cable is connected while the cover is open. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakayama teaches a cover (insulating cover 31) that is rotatably attached and teaches connecting a cable (wires W) extending in a first (horizontal) direction, which allows for opening while the cable is electrically connected [0032, 0040-0043, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the rotatable cover and cable arrangement of Nakayama with the energy storage unit of Matsuoka for the benefit of covering connecting portions with a temporarily lockable cover that suppresses a decrease in insulating properties [0062].
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach the cable disposed in recesses included on the cover. However, in the same field of endeavor, Maeda teaches the use of first, second, and third recesses in a first and second directions (horizontal and vertical recesses within support portions 96, 97, 98, and 99) [0066, fig. 11] with the cable disposed in the recesses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the support portions and recesses of Maeda with the energy storage apparatus and cable of Matsuoka for the benefit of supporting the cable while allowing for relative movement between attached components [Maeda 0061].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka and Nakayama as applied to claims 1-2, 6-7, and 9 above, and further in view of Drozdz et al. (US 2008/0233469 A1, hereafter Drozdz).
With regard to claim 8, Matsuoka and Nakayama teach a cover rotatably attached to a substrate holder that holds a substrate (electric circuit 17) as detailed in the rejection of claims 1 and 6 above. Matsuoka does not explicitly teach the substrate holder is a separate member from the energy storage unit. However, in the same field of endeavor, Drozdz teaches the use of a separate substrate holder (plate mounting plate 26) located between a PCB (substrate) and a battery module [0026, fig. 2]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a separate substrate holder with the energy storage apparatus of modified Matsuoka since it is known to be effective for attaching electronic circuits [Drozdz 0026].
Claim(s) 10, 12-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka and Nakayama as applied to claims 1-2, 6-7, and 9 above, and further in view of Petkus et al. (US 2017/0237052 A1, hereafter Petkus).
With regard to claim 10, Matsuoka does not explicitly teach the cable extends from one side of the cover in the first direction to another side. However, this would be an obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would only require bending the cable and bending cables to connect components is well known in the art as evidenced by Petkus [0056, fig. 2].
With regard to claim 12, Matsuoka teaches an energy storage apparatus including an energy storage unit (storage device 11) including an energy storage device (storage device main body 18) [0015, fig. 2], the energy storage apparatus including;
a substrate (electric circuit 17) electrically connected to the energy storage unit [0015] ;
a cover (protective cover 20) disposed on one side in a first direction of the substrate in which the substrate and energy storage unit are aligned (horizontally) [0015, fig. 2];
a cable (connection cable 30) in which one end is electrically connected to the energy storage (via terminal 43) unit while the other end is connected to an external conductive member of the energy storage apparatus (to connect to motor 10) [0016, 0020, fig. 2],
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach the cable is disposed on one side in the first direction of at least a part of the cover while connected to the external conductive member or that while the cover is open the cable is electrically connected to the energy storage unit. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakayama teaches a cover (insulating cover 31) that is rotatably attached and teaches connecting a cable (wires W) extending in a first (horizontal) direction, which allows for opening while the cable is electrically connected [0032, 0040-0043, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the rotatable cover and cable arrangement of Nakayama with the energy storage unit of Matsuoka for the benefit of covering connecting portions with a temporarily lockable cover that suppresses a decrease in insulating properties [0062].
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach the cable extends from one side of the cover in the first direction to another side. However, this would be an obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would only require bending the cable and bending cables to connect components is well known in the art as evidenced by Petkus [0056, fig. 2].
With regard to claim 13, Matsuoka teaches the energy storage unit (storage device 11) is disposed on the other side in the first direction of the cover (horizontally on the right) [0015-0017, fig. 4], and
the cable protrudes from the energy storage unit and is connected to the external conductive member (to connect to motor 10) [0015-0017, fig. 2-4]. Matsuoka does not explicitly teach the cable is disposed on one side in the first direction of at least a part of the cover while connected to the external conductive member. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakayama teaches a cover (insulating cover 31) that is rotatably attached and teaches connecting a cable (wires W) extending in a first (horizontal) direction, which allows for opening while the cable is electrically connected [0032, 0040-0043, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the rotatable cover and cable arrangement of Nakayama with the energy storage unit of Matsuoka for the benefit of covering connecting portions with a temporarily lockable cover that suppresses a decrease in insulating properties [0062].
With regard to claim 15, Matsuoka teaches a power cable [0016].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka, Nakayama, and Petkus as applied to claims 10, 12-13 and 15 above, and further in view of Drozdz et al. (US 2008/0233469 A1, hereafter Drozdz).
With regard to claim 14, Matsuoka does not teach that the cover is rotatably opened. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakayama teaches a cover (insulating cover 31) that is rotatably attached and teaches connecting a cable (wires W) extending in a first (horizontal) direction, which allows for opening while the cable is electrically connected [0032, 0040-0043, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the rotatable cover and cable arrangement of Nakayama with the energy storage unit of Matsuoka for the benefit of covering connecting portions with a temporarily lockable cover that suppresses a decrease in insulating properties [0062].
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach the substrate holder is a separate member from the energy storage unit. However, in the same field of endeavor, Drozdz teaches the use of a separate substrate holder (plate mounting plate 26) located between a PCB (substrate) and a battery module [0026, fig. 2]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a separate substrate holder with the energy storage apparatus of modified Matsuoka since it is known to be effective for attaching electronic circuits [Drozdz 0026].
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka, Nakayama, and Petkus as applied to claims 10, 12-13 and 15 above, and further in view of Maeda et al. (US 2018/0053970 A1, hereafter Maeda).
With regard to claim 16, Matsuoka teaches a substrate accommodating unit that accommodates the substrate including a substrate holder (cutout 15) that has an opening and holds the substrate within the opening [0015-0017] and a cover (protective cover 20) that can open and close the opening [0015, fig. 2];
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach the cable disposed in recesses included on the cover. However, in the same field of endeavor, Maeda teaches the use of first, second, and third recesses in a first and second directions (horizontal and vertical recesses within support portions 96, 97, 98, and 99) [0066, fig. 11] with the cable disposed in the recesses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the support portions and recesses of Maeda with the energy storage apparatus and cable of Matsuoka for the benefit of supporting the cable while allowing for relative movement between attached components [Maeda 0061].
Claim(s) 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka, Nakayama, and Maeda as applied to claims 3-5, 11, and 17 above, and further in view of Reimer et al. (US 2019/0237721 A1, hereafter Reimer).
With regard to claim 18, Matsuoka teaches the energy storage unit (storage device 11) is disposed on the other side in the first direction of the cover (horizontal to the right) [0015-0017, fig. 2], and
the cable protrudes from the energy storage unit and is connected to the external conductive member (to connect to motor 10) [0015-0017, fig. 2-4]. Matsuoka does not explicitly teach the cable is disposed on one side in the first direction of at least a part of the cover while connected to the external conductive member. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakayama teaches a cover (insulating cover 31) that is rotatably attached and teaches connecting a cable (wires W) extending in a first (horizontal) direction, which allows for opening while the cable is electrically connected [0032, 0040-0043, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the rotatable cover and cable arrangement of Nakayama with the energy storage unit of Matsuoka for the benefit of covering connecting portions with a temporarily lockable cover that suppresses a decrease in insulating properties [0062].
Modified Matsuoka would not teach a vertical height of a recess is below a cover. However, in the same field of endeavor, Reimer teaches the use of recesses (in fixing means 24 in recess 18) that are located vertically below the top surface of a cover [0034, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the recesses vertically below a cover of Reimer with the energy storage unit of modified Matsuoka to allow for coiling and protection of cables [Reimer 0009].
With regard to claim 20, Matsuoka teaches a power cable [0016]. Modified Matsuoka would not teach a vertical height of a recess is below a cover. However, in the same field of endeavor, Reimer teaches the use of recesses (in fixing means 24 in recess 18) that are located vertically below the top surface of a cover [0034, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the recesses vertically below a cover of Reimer with the energy storage unit of modified Matsuoka to allow for coiling and protection of cables [Reimer 0009].
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka and Nakayama as applied to claims 3-5, 11, and 17 above, and further in view of Drozdz et al. (US 2008/0233469 A1, hereafter Drozdz).
With regard to claim 19, Matsuoka does not teach that the cover is rotatably opened. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakayama teaches a cover (insulating cover 31) that is rotatably attached and teaches connecting a cable (wires W) extending in a first (horizontal) direction, which allows for opening while the cable is electrically connected [0032, 0040-0043, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the rotatable cover and cable arrangement of Nakayama with the energy storage unit of Matsuoka for the benefit of covering connecting portions with a temporarily lockable cover that suppresses a decrease in insulating properties [0062].
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach the substrate holder is a separate member from the energy storage unit. However, in the same field of endeavor, Drozdz teaches the use of a separate substrate holder (plate mounting plate 26) located between a PCB (substrate) and a battery module [0026, fig. 2]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a separate substrate holder with the energy storage apparatus of modified Matsuoka since it is known to be effective for attaching electronic circuits [Drozdz 0026]. Since the substrate holder (cutout 15) of Matsuoka is located on the other side of the cover in the first direction (horizontally to the right) [0015-0017, fig. 2] when used with the energy storage apparatus of modified Matsuoka the substrate holder of Drozdz would sandwich the substrate between itself and the cover in the first direction.
Conclusion
/BRENT C THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724