DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-16 and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The specification nor the figures adequately describe what the directionality of the one-way valve is and where the valve is located. The language “one-way” insinuates flow can only go from point A to point B, but those points are not specified. With this interpretation, a one-way valve like a flap valve would be oriented in a manner that prevents upward flow in the IV line when a drug is being added via the port, but would need to be moved entirely out of the way to then allow flow between the vial and the IV line. However, based on the discussion of said valve in the current Specification, it appears that “one-way” was meant to mean a binary on/off or open/closed type of flow wherein one position simply allows flow in a direction and another position does not allow that same flow in that direction—this is the interpretation used below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection above, Haber et al. (US 5647845 A) discloses a one-way valve. In the binary open/closed interpretation of the valve, Haber operates in the same manner. The first position of the claimed valve prevents fluid communication with the IV line, and Haber also has a first position with the same function. Similar with a second position, the claimed invention and Haber disclose a second position wherein fluid communication is allowed with the IV line. With the binary interpretation of “one-way”, either a fluid pathway is clear and allowing flow or it is not; Haber discloses such an interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-15, 21-22, 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haber et al. (US 5647845 A).
Regarding claim 14, Haber discloses a device (1) for use with a drug vial (100) having a cap (fig. 1), comprising:
a cap clasp (20) having at least two arms (28) adapted to selectively couple with the cap of the vial (column 5 lines 46-52);
a vial spike (16) generally centrally located between the at least two arms (28) and configured to pierce a seal of the vial (column 8 line 67 – column 9 line 2);
an intravenous (IV) line (82, fig. 12, column 8 lines 17-20) coupled with the vial spike (16, although fig. 8 shows the closed valve position not permitting flow, the spike 16 can connect to the pathway of the IV drip chamber);
a one-way valve (8) having a first position wherein the one-way valve is configured to prevent fluid communication with the IV line (column 9 lines 14-19, no communication with the IV line) and a second position wherein the one-way valve (8) is configured to allow fluid communication with the IV line (column 9 lines 32-47); and
a port (14) configured to allow fluid to be added to the device via a pathway separate from the vial spike (16) when the one-way valve is in the first position (column 8 lines 8-18).
Regarding claim 15, Haber discloses the device of claim 14 and further discloses wherein the at least two arms (28) are flexibly positionable around the cap of the vial (figs. 2A and 2B, column 5 lines 53-67).
Regarding claim 21, Haber discloses the device of claim 14 and further discloses wherein the port (14) is configured to allow the fluid to be added to the device for mixing with drug from the drug vial when the one-way valve is in the first position (column 9 lines 14-19).
Regarding claim 22, Haber discloses the device of claim 14 and further discloses a hub (2), wherein the hub is directly coupled with the IV line (82), the vial spike (16), and the port (14, fig. 12).
Regarding claim 25, Haber discloses the device of claim 14 and further discloses wherein the cap clasp comprises a third arm (28) adapted to selectively couple with the cap of the vial (figs. 2A and 2B).
Regarding claim 26, Haber discloses the device of claim 25 and further discloses wherein the cap clasp comprises a fourth arm (28) adapted to selectively couple with the cap of the vial (figs. 2A and 2B).
Regarding claim 27, Haber discloses the device of claim 26 and further discloses wherein the at least two arms, the third arm, and the fourth arm are circumferentially spaced around an outer periphery of the cap clasp (figs. 2A and 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haber (US 5647845 A).
Regarding claim 23, Haber discloses the device of claim 14 and an IV line (82, fig. 12). However, Haber fails to expressly disclose wherein at least a portion of the IV line comprises at least one bend and/or is configured to bend during removal of the device from the vial.
While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to a device must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, because device claims cover what a device is, not what a device does (MPEP 2114). Thus, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, or elsewhere in a claim, then it meets the claim. In this case, the IV line of Haber is capable of performing the claimed function bending while the device is moved around when the vial is removed because the claim nor the specification discloses a non-traditional type of IV line that is well known to be flexible tubing that can be bent or twisted due to its flexible, often plastic, material.
Regarding claim 24, Haber discloses the device of claim 14 and the vial spike (16) and IV line (82). However, Haber fails to disclose wherein the vial spike and IV line are provided as a single, pre-assembled unit; rather, the IV line is a separate tube that is fitted into the port of the drip chamber of the device to establish a fluid connection.
Haber discloses the claimed invention except for that single, pre-assembled unit of the vial spike and the IV line. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to have the IV line integrally formed with the device to create one single unit, since it has been held that forming a single assembly which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 V.B.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haber (US 5647845 A) in view of Bloom et al. (US 4128098 A).
Haber discloses the device of claim 14 but fails to disclose wherein the vial spike includes at least one slot formed thereon.
Bloom teaches a similar device in the same field of endeavor wherein the vial spike includes at least one slot formed thereon (fig. 5, column 2 lines 36-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spike of Haber and incorporate the slotted spike of Bloom to allow air to enter the passage to avoid a vacuum in the vial (column 2 lines 36-41).
Conclusion
/ERIN A KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SUSAN S SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781 15 July 2026