DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
For purpose of clarity, it is noted that “R1” of claim 1, “is an aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms” is interpreted to mean that the group R1 comprises an aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms (open-ended to comprise other atoms such as oxygen); since dependent claim 2 states that “R1 is an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms or an alkyloxy group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms.” Thus, the Examiner is interpreting, for example, the R1 group of claim 1 comprises an alkyl and/or alkyloxy group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US Patent No. 5824240).
Regarding claims 1-2; Sato et al. teaches polymer prepared from the following compounds of formulae (8) and (8A) (reads on siloxane-based derived structural unit and silane-based structural unit 1):
Wherein X1 and X2 each represent a divalent organic group having not less than 2 carbon atoms; X1A represents tetravalent organic residue having not less than two carbon atoms; Y1 represents a hydrolyzable functional group (e.g. alkoxy; methoxy, ethoxy); Y2 represents a monovalent or divalent non-hydrolyzable organic group (e.g. alkyl); methyl, ethyl; n is 1-3 and m is 0-2 [col8, line60-col9, line30]. Sato et al. teaches an example of the X1A group is an benzene [col13, line1-5].
Sato et al. teaches all of the above required components, however fails to explicitly disclose each in a preferred embodiment. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including the non-preferred embodiments. See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.); MPEP §2123. Sato et al. does not specifically disclose an embodiment containing the above formulae. However, at the time of invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare a composition containing the above formula (8) and (8A) based on the invention of Sato et al., and would have been motivated to do so since Sato et al. suggests that the composition can contain units derived from formula (8) and (8A). Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767