DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-21, and 24-25 are pending and examined herein.
Claims 4, 8, and 22-23 are canceled.
Priority
As detailed on the 14 November 2022 filing receipt, the application claims priority as early as 22 October 2019, to foreign application AU 2019903966. At this point in examination, all claims have been interpreted as being accorded this priority date as the effective filing date.
Specification
The objections to the specification are withdrawn in view of amendments to hyperlinks and corrections of typographical errors.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 19 is withdrawn in view of amendment removing the comma.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The rejections under 35 USC 112(b) regarding abbreviations are withdrawn in view of explanation of the abbreviations in the claims.
The rejections under 35 USC 112(b) regarding unclear ranges are withdrawn in view of amendment reciting specific ranges for the VAF threshold.
35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-18, 20-21, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. "Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas (such as a mathematical formula or equation), natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection" (MPEP 2106.04 § I). Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts, and procedures for evaluating, analyzing or organizing information, which are a type of mental process (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). The claims as a whole, considering all claim elements individually and in combination, are directed to a judicial exception at Step 2A, Prong 2, and the additional elements of the claims, considered individually and in combination, do not provide significantly more at Step 2B than the abstract idea of screening an embryo for variations.
MPEP 2106 organizes JE analysis into Steps 1, 2A (Prong One & Prong Two), and 2B as analyzed below.
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of
nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a 101 process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
The claims are directed to methods, which falls within one of the categories of statutory subject matter. [Step 1: Yes]
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
With respect to Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite judicial exceptions in the form of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) further explains that abstract ideas are defined as:
• mathematical concepts (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships
and mathematical calculations) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I));
• certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic principles or practices, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)); and/or
• mental processes (concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Claims 1 and 22 recite comparing variations based on alignment, which is interpreted as evaluating data, which the human mind is practically equipped to do.
Claims 1 and 22 recite filtering variations based on comparison of the parents’ genomes to the reference genome based on a threshold, where comparison of values to a threshold is a step the human is practically equipped to perform. It may also be considered a mathematical concept in the form of a numerical comparison.
Dependent claims 2-3 recite using one or more pathogenicity prediction algorithms, which is interpreted as using math.
Dependent claim 5 recites scoring variation, which generating a score is interpreted as a mathematical concept.
Dependent claim 6 recites additional information about the VAF threshold and thus is interpreted as further information about the mathematical concept discussed above.
Dependent claim 7 recites further comparison to a database, where data comparison in a step the human mind is practically equipped to perform.
Dependent claims 9-10 recite further information about variations, which are related to the data analysis step and part of the mental processes abstract idea.
Dependent claim 24 recites providing instruction or recommendation, which reads on a data evaluation or judgment and thus a mental process.
Dependent claim 25 recites screening steps for two embryos, and so the comparing and filtering steps are abstract ideas for the same reasons as claim 1, and making a selection, where the human mind is practically equipped to make a choice or selection based on the data.
Hence, the claims explicitly recite numerous elements that, individually and in combination,
constitute abstract ideas. The claims must therefore be examined further to determine whether they
integrate that abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)). [Step 2A: Yes]
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Because the claims recite judicial exceptions, direction under Step 2A Prong Two provides that the claims must be examined further to determine whether they recite elements in addition to the abstract ideas which integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)). A claim can be said to integrate a judicial exception into a practical application when it applies, relies on, or uses the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. This is performed by analyzing the additional elements of the claim to determine if the judicial exceptions are integrated into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)(I); MPEP 2106.05(a-h)). If the claim contains no additional elements beyond the judicial exceptions, the claim is said to fail to integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)(III)).
Elements in addition to the abstract ideas recited in the claims are: obtaining whole genome sequencing data (claims 1, 22, and 25), aligning whole genome sequencing data to a reference genome (claims 1, 22, and 25), culturing the embryo (claims 11 and 21), performing a biopsy on the embryo (claim 11), amplifying genomic DNA from the biopsy (claim 11), sequencing amplified genomic DNA (claim 11), trophectoderm biopsy (claim 12) that is performed within 5-6 days of culture (claim 13), multi-displacement amplification (claim 14), nanoball sequencing (claim 15) performed with combinatorial probe anchor ligation (claim 16), a reference genome being a Genome Reference Consortium Human Build (claim 17), screening two embryos (claim 18), the embryo being human (claim 20), and fertilizing an embryo (claim 21).
These steps, aside from the transferring step, are steps required for generation of data for comparing variations in the child and parent genomes to determine if a trait – whether broadly phenotypic or more specifically pathogenic – is present. Therefore, these are data collection steps. Data collection steps are insignificant extra solution activity and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2016.05(g)).
Thus, the claims recite elements in addition to the abstract ideas which do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application, and must be examined further to determine whether elements in addition to the abstract ideas provide significantly more (MPEP 2106.05). [Step 2A Prong Two: No]
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
Claims found to be directed to a judicial exception are then further evaluated to determine if the claims recite an inventive concept that provides significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Step 2B of 101 analysis determines whether the claims contain additional elements that amount to an inventive concept, and an inventive concept cannot be furnished by an abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05).
Elements in addition to the abstract ideas recited in the claims are: obtaining whole genome sequencing data (claims 1, 22, and 25), aligning whole genome sequencing data to reference genomes (claims 1, 22, and 25), culturing the embryo (claims 11 and 21), performing a biopsy on the embryo (claim 11), amplifying genomic DNA from the biopsy (claim 11), sequencing amplified genomic DNA (claim 11), trophectoderm biopsy (claim 12) that is performed within 5-6 days of culture (claim 13), multi-displacement amplification (claim 14), and nanoball sequencing (claim 15) performed with combinatorial probe anchor ligation (claim 16), referring to a human genome (claim 17), screening two embryos (claim 18), transferring the embryo (claims 19 and 21), the embryo being human (claim 20), and fertilizing an embryo (claim 21).
The specification discloses “suitable methods for culturing, performing biopsies, amplifying DNA, and sequencing the DNA will be known by those skilled in the art” (pg. 4, lines 36-37). Multi-displacement amplification is disclosed in the specification as actively used in whole genome sequencing and thus considered to be conventional (pg. 13, lines 16-18).
Rubio (Biology of Reproduction 101(6): 1083-1090, 2019; previously cited on the 12 January 2026 PTO-892 form) teaches at least trophectoderm biopsy for testing for genetic defects in embryos (abstract), including comparison to a reference sample and determining paternal and maternal origins (pg. 1084, col. 2, first paragraph). Culturing a blastocyst is taught (abstract), including in situations of multiple pregnancies (abstract).
Kamps (International Journal of Molecules Sciences 18(2): 57 pgs., 2017; previously cited on the 12 January 2026 PTO-892 form) teaches cPAL and nanoballs are “established protocols… robust for clinical use” (pg. 30, fourth paragraph) and determining risk in “pre-implantation genetic diagnosis” (abstract).
Therefore, the recited additional elements, alone or in combination, do not appear to provide an inventive concept. [Step 2B: No]
Conclusion: Claims are Directed to Non-statutory Subject Matter
For these reasons, the claims, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole,
are directed to an abstract idea and lack an inventive concept. Hence, the claimed invention does not
constitute significantly more than the abstract idea, so the claims are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as
being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 19 is overcomes the rejection at Step 2A Prong Two, as the transferring step is impacted by the abstract data comparison and filtering steps, as the transferring step requires the determination the embryo is not at risk.
Response to the 13 July 2026 Applicant Remarks
Applicant remarks state, regarding Step 2A Prong Two, the field of pre-implantation genetic testing is allegedly improved by the screening steps (pg. 9, fifth paragraph) which is achieved by overcoming issues related to artifacts in low starting amounts of fetal DNA by comparison to reference sequences (pg. 10, second paragraph). More specifically, comparison to reference and parent sequences and variant allele frequency filtering are the steps providing the improvement (pg. 11, second paragraph).
At Step 2A Prong Two, elements in addition to the abstract ideas are evaluated to determine if they integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)). The steps of sequence comparison and filtering, which provide the information to determine if the embryo is at risk, are abstract ideas provided by mental steps of data comparison. The step of determining risk is not a technology or technical field but a mental step and so at least claim 1 is interpreted as directed to an abstract idea at Step 2A Prong Two.
Applicant remarks further analogize the instant fact pattern to Enfish, wherein “a specific, novel combination of steps-trio testing combined with VAF threshold filtering applied specifically to the problem of distinguishing true genetic variations from amplification artifacts in embryo WGS data-that achieves a result that was not reliably achievable before” (pg. 12, second paragraph). However, it is not clear that they are similar because Enfish recites improvement to computer functionality, whereas the instant claims are directed to an improvement is mutation diagnosis in an embryo. Similarly, McRO uses rules to achieve a function in a computer that a computer could not previously achieve and could not exist whatsoever. That is, at Step 2A, Prong Two, the improvement was deemed eligible as it improved a technology or computer functionality rather than being directed to abstract ideas (MPEP 2106.04(d)). In the instant application, the claims recite steps for identifying embryonic mutation by comparisons among sequences. These are abstract ideas related to mental processes and mathematical concepts respectively, and not related to improvement of technology or computer functionality. Therefore, the outcome of 101 eligibility differs between McRO and the instant application.
Applicant remarks state the data acquisition steps are specific means by which the sample data is obtained and thus are not insignificant extra-solution activity (pg. 12, last paragraph). However, because these steps are known within the state of the art for generating whole genome sequencing, it is unclear how these steps are helping provide an improvement at Step 2A Prong Two and not data gathering steps for the data comparison and filtering steps upon which the determination of a mutation being present is based on.
Applicant remarks state the claims are directed to “a specific technical method of screening an IVF embryo for pathogenic genetic variations, the outcome of which can be used to directly inform a clinical decision with real-world consequences for the health of a future child” (pg. 13, second paragraph). However, screening for variations culminates in a determination if mutations are present, which is not a physical step. Informing decisions is also not the same as acting on the decisions. It is noted that claims 19 and 21 recite transferring an embryo if risk of mutation is not determined, which is interpreted as more than mere instructions to apply (pg. 15-16, Sections IV), and so it is agreed claims 19 and 21 should not be rejected under 35 USC 101. This differs from new claims 24-25, where providing instructions or recommendations (claim 24) or making a selection (claim 25) are abstract, mental steps. Guiding a future, unclaimed step (pg. 16, last paragraph) is not considered an element in addition to the abstract ideas.
Therefore, the rejection under 35 USC 101 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In view or the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1, 6, and 9-22
Claims 1, 6, and 9-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shendure (US 20150105267 A1; previously cited on the 12 January 2026 PTO-892 form) in view of Drmanac (US 20140323316 A1; previously cited on the 12 January 2026 PTO-892 form), Hyland (US 20130073214 A1; previously cited on the 12 January 2026 PTO-892 form), and Chudova (US 20160019338 A1; previously cited on the 12 January 2026 PTO-892 form).
Claim 1 recites obtaining whole genome sequencing data from the embryo, the embryo's male parent, and the embryo's female parent; aligning the embryo sequencing data to a reference genome and identifying variations in the embryo sequencing data relative to the reference genome; aligning the male parent's sequencing data and the female parent's sequencing data to the reference genome and identifying variations present in the parent sequencing data relative to the reference genome; comparing the variations identified in the aligning steps to identify inherited genetic variations in the embryo, wherein the inherited genetic variations are present in the embryo sequencing data and at least one parent's sequencing data; and filtering the variations identified in the first aligning step that were not identified as inherited genetic variations in the filtering step through a variation allele frequency (VAF) threshold, wherein the filtered variations having a VAF above the threshold are identified as de novo genetic variations;
Shendure teaches determining sites in the fetal DNA but not in the maternal or paternal DNA based on comparison to a reference sequence (pg. 12, paragraph [103]) which is based on genomic sequence data (pg. 12, paragraph [101]). Shendure teaches a subsequent filtering step to identify de novo mutations (pg. 12, paragraph [103]). Shendure teaches determining minor allele frequency (pg. 2, paragraph [18]), which is a more specific metric of variant allele frequency, but not as a filter for sequence data.
Shendure does not teach variation allele frequency as a filter metric nor application to embryos.
Drmanac teaches determining sequence variation in an embryo by screening prior to implantation (pg. 15, paragraph [183]).
Hyland teaches a “low frequency variant filter” which “can exclude a less common allele (alternate call) when the percentage of reads of the less common allele is below an allele frequency threshold” (pg. 10, paragraph [114]).
Shendure teaches SNPs as possibly pathogenic (pg. 3, paragraph [23]), but does not teach comparison to a database to determine a risk of pathogenic mutations in the embryo.
Chudova teaches comparison of genetic data suggesting a syndrome to ClinVar, which is an archive of relationships among sequence variation and human phenotype (pg. 48, Table 5), where ClinVar teaches a pathogenicity risk. Chudova also teaches application to embryos (pg. 45, paragraph [451]).
Claim 6 recites he VAF threshold in step e) is between 0.25 to 0.45 or 0.3 to 0.4 or is about 0.35. The specification discloses “about” refers to at least +/- 10% of the recited value.
Hyland teaches excluding a less common allele using a variant filter (pg. 10, paragraph [114]). Hyland teaches low frequency variants having a frequency of less than 0.5 (pg. 1, paragraph [7]), which is within 10% of the recited 0.45 threshold.
Claim 9 recites the genetic variations include single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs), insertions or deletions (indels), copy number variations (CNVs), and/or structural variations.
Shendure teaches variations including SNPs (pg. 3, paragraph [23]).
Hyland teaches variations including SNPs, indels, and CNVs (pg. 8, paragraph [91]).
Chudova teaches variations include CNVs (abstract).
Claim 10 recites the inherited genetic variations include autosomal dominant, autosomal recessive, compound heterozygous, and/or X-linked genetic variations.
Shendure teaches diagnosis of both recessive and dominant disorders (pg. 8, paragraph [63]).
Claim 11 recites the whole genome sequencing data from the embryo is obtained by culturing the embryo, performing a biopsy on the embryo, amplifying genomic DNA from the biopsy, and sequencing the amplified genomic DNA.
Shendure teaches amplifying and sequencing DNA cell-free DNA (pg. 2, paragraph [20]) but not culturing an embryo or performing a biopsy.
Drmanac teaches culturing cells (pg. 9, paragraph [122]) and biopsy from a blastocyst embryo (pg. 10, paragraph [138]).
Claim 12 recites the biopsy is a trophectoderm biopsy.
Drmanac teaches trophectoderm biopsy (pg. 10, paragraph [138]).
Claim 13 recites the trophectoderm biopsy is performed on day 5 or day 6 of culture.
Drmanac teaches trophectoderm biopsy on a blastocyst (pg. 10, paragraph [138]), where a blastocyst is a 5-6 day old embryo.
Claim 14 recites wherein the genomic DNA is amplified from the biopsy using multi-displacement amplification (MDA).
Drmanac teaches multiple displacement amplification (pg. 9, paragraph [123]).
Claim 15 recites the genomic DNA is sequenced using DNA nanoball sequencing.
Drmanac teaches nanoball sequencing (pg. 5, paragraph [89]).
Claim 16 recites the DNA nanoball sequencing is performed with combinatorial probe anchor
ligation (cPAL).
Drmanac teaches sequencing performing used cPAL (pg. 10, paragraph [135]).
Claim 17 recites the reference genome is a Genome Reference Consortium Human Build.
Shendure teaches alignment to the human reference genome sequence hg19 (pg. 9, paragraph [71]), also known as Genome Reference Consortium human build 37.
Claim 18 recites two or more embryos from the same parents are screened.
Chudova teaches transferring multiple embryos during in vitro fertilization (pg. 44, paragraph [451]).
Claim 19 recites transferring the embryo into the female parent's, or a surrogate's, uterus.
Chudova teaches transferring embryos (pg. 44, paragraph [451]).
Claim 20 recites the embryo is a human embryo.
Shendure teaches application to a human (pg. 8, paragraph [63]).
Claim 21 recites an IVF process comprising fertilizing an egg from a female parent with a sperm from a male parent, culturing the fertilized egg, thereby producing an embryo, screening the embryo for pathogenic genetic variations using the method of claim 1, and transferring the embryo into the female parent's, or a surrogate's, uterus.
Drmanac teaches “pre-implantation genetic diagnosis” (pg. 15, paragraph [182]), where an embryo would require fertilization of egg with a sperm, culturing cells (pg. 9, paragraph [122]) and biopsy from a blastocyst embryo (pg. 10, paragraph [138]) and “embryo screening” (pg. 15, paragraph [183]), and finally transferring reads on implantation, and Drmanac teaches pre-implantation, implying an implantation step which would produce a baby. Chudova also teaches embryo transfer to cause pregnancy following in vitro fertilization (pg. 44, paragraph [451]).
Claim 22 recites the steps of claim 1 except they are applied to a phenotypic trait rather than a pathogenic variation.
Shendure teaches “Mendelian disorders” (pg. 1, col. 1, paragraph [5]) and diseases such as Parkinson’s (pg. 2, col. 1, paragraph [10]), while Chudova teaches at least use of fetal and maternal DNA and their relationship to phenotypes (pg. 12, paragraph [149]). A pathogenic trait is interpreted as a species of the genus phenotypic trait, and thus teachings of disease states read on phenotypic states.
Combining Shendure, Drmanac, Hyland, and Chudova
Shendure teaches determining sites in the fetal DNA but not in the maternal or paternal DNA based on comparison to a reference sequence (pg. 12, paragraph [103]) which is based on genomic sequence data (pg. 12, paragraph [101]). Prior art Drmanac teaches embryo screening as part of genetic diagnosis (pg. 15, paragraph [182-183]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the screening at the fetal stage as performed by Shendure with screening at the embryonic stage as taught by Drmanac because the screening against a reference steps are similar and thus the results were reasonably predictable.
The claimed invention teaches a filter based on variant allele frequency. Prior art Shendure teaches filters to remove artifacts or problematic sequence information (pg. 5, paragraph [40]). Hyland teaches a method of mapping reads to a reference and scoring variants including filtering less frequent alleles, as determined by a low frequency variant filter (pg. 10, paragraph [114]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace one sequence quality filter with another for the purposes of de novo mutation determination because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results were reasonably predictable. Furthermore, both Shendure and Hyland are directed to determining sequence variation, with Hyland teaching application to “novel mutations” and mutations in “fetal DNA” (pg. 10, paragraph [110]), and thus they share a field of endeavor.
Further combination with Chudova, which teaches using sequence data to determine syndromes, would be obvious because Chudova teaches determining phenotypic information from sequence data and mapping the ClinVar database, because it is a database that describes structure and prevalence of variants (pg. 48, paragraph [488]), including pathogenicity, and thus would be valuable for determining de novo mutation pathogenicity. Shendure and Chudova are both applicable to embryo or fetal screening and their combination would be expected to succeed.
Therefore, the invention is prima facie obvious.
Claims 2-3
Claims 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shendure in view of Drmanac, Hyland and Chudova as applied to claims 1, 6, and 9-22 above and further in view of Reese (US 20130332081 A1; previously cited on the 12 January 2026 PTO-892 form).
Claim 2 recites using one or more pathogenicity prediction algorithms to predict if any of
the genetic variations not identified as known pathogenic genetic variations in the comparing step above are pathogenic genetic variations.
Reese teaches “to identify mutated genes and their disease-causing variants in genome-wide searches” (pg. 15, paragraph [159]).
Claim 3 recites the one or more pathogenicity prediction algorithms include SIFT, Polyphen2
HVAR, MutationTaster2, MutationAssessor, FATHMM, or FATHMM MKL.
The previously combined art does not teach use of these algorithms.
Reese teaches SIFT (pg. 15, paragraph [159]).
Combining Shendure, Drmanac, Hyland, Chudova, and Reese
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to modify prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date of the invention. One would have been motivated to combine the work of Reese, which teaches mutation detection using SIFT, which the previously combined works because Reese teaches metrics of deleteriousness in phenotype-causing genetic variants, where such an algorithm is useful for overcoming the bottleneck of variant annotation caused by analysis of genomic data (pg. 1, paragraphs [3-4]). Reese and at least Shendure and Chudova are related to detecting potentially pathogenic variation and their combination would be expected to succeed. Therefore, the invention is prima facie obvious.
Claim 5
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shendure in view of Drmanac, Hyland and Chudova as applied to claims 1, 6, and 9-22 above and further in view of Samocha (bioRxiv 148353, 32 pgs., 2017; previously cited on the 12 January 2026 PTO-892 form).
Claim 5 recites predicting a variation to be a pathogenic genetic variation requires that a variation has a MPC score of greater than about 2 and/or a Phred scaled CADD score of greater than about 20. The specification discloses “about” refers to at least +/- 10% of the recited value.
Samocha teaches an MPC score of greater than or equal to 2 (pg. 5, first paragraph).
Combining Shendure, Drmanac, Hyland, Chudova, and Samocha
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to modify prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date of the invention. One would have been motivated to combine the work of Samocha, which teaches deleteriousness prediction, because Samocha teaches a metric for detecting missense variation (abstract), which has been applied to parent-child trios (pg. 2, last paragraph). Samocha and at least Shendure, Drmanac, and Chudova are related to detecting potentially pathogenic variation including in parent-child situations, and their combination would be expected to succeed. Therefore, the invention is prima facie obvious.
Claim 7
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shendure in view of Drmanac, Hyland and Chudova as applied to claims 1, 6, and 9-22 above and further in view of Khera (US 20190017119 A1; previously cited on the 12 January 2026 PTO-892 form).
Claim 7 recites the database of known pathogenic genetic variations is ClinVar, and wherein determining that a genetic variation is a pathogenic genetic variation in step f) requires that the genetic variation has a clinical significance value of pathogenic or likely pathogenic in the ClinVar database.
Chudova teaches use of ClinVar (pg. 48, Table 5) but not a specific metric of pathogenicity.
Khera teaches inclusion of variants if they are deemed clinically significant in ClinVar (paragraph [446]).
Combining Shendure, Drmanac, Hyland, Chudova, and Khera
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to modify prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date of the invention. One would have been motivated to combine the work of Khera, which teaches use of ClinVar for determining whether a mutation is pathogenic (paragraph [446]), which is online and thus widely available to determine mutation specificity. At least Chudova also teaches use of ClinVar to analyze syndromes associated with mutations (pg. 48, Table 5), and thus this combination would be expected to success and be prima facie obvious..
Response to the 13 July 2026 Applicant Remarks
Applicant remarks state the variations filtered through the VAF threshold are the subset that are not inherited (pg. 19, second paragraph), which differs from at least the combination of Shendure and Hyland. Applicant remarks state “there is no teaching or suggestion that the skilled person would first remove inherited variants using trio analysis and then apply a VAF threshold only to the remaining variants as recited in claim 1” (pg. 21, third paragraph). However, Shendure teaches, first, determining variations by “starting with... sites observed in the fetal DNA, but not in the maternal or paternal DNA”, where mutations in the fetus not found in the maternal DNA or paternal DNA are thus not inherited, meaning inherited mutations are not present. Shendure then follows that step by applying filters which are used to discover candidate de novo mutations, meaning that is the second step to “identify de novo mutations” (paragraph [103]). Therefore, the particular order in which the steps put forth by Shendure to prepare the data is considered to be analogous to the instant claims.
Then, Hyland is incorporated the teach the specific variant filtering, where Shendure teaches low coverage and low quality reads (paragraph [104-112]). Hyland teaches such a threshold and keeping an allele if it is above a threshold, which is analogous to claim 1 element (e) which recites having a variant frequency above a threshold are identified as de novo variations. Both Shendure and Hyland teach whole genome sequencing and thus the claimed steps of WGS of embryos and parents, alignments to determine variations, and screening steps to validate variation are interpreted as taught. Both Shendure and Hyland are directed to determining sequence variation, with Hyland teaching application to “novel mutations” and mutations in “fetal DNA” (pg. 10, paragraph [110]), and thus their combination would be prima facie obvious.
It is noted that applicant remarks note the high error rate associated with whole genome amplification associated with embryonic sequencing (pg. 19, last paragraph). However, the data being derived from whole genome amplification is not required, as the claims only require obtaining data in the independent claims, while claim 14 recites multi-displacement amplification which is related to but not required for whole genome amplification. For instance, applicant remarks state the combination which Hyland does not address the same technical problem of identifying de novo variants from WGA-derived embryo sequencing (pg. 21, second paragraph), but neither WGA-derived sequencing nor data derived from said sequencing appears to be required by the claims.
Regarding rationale for combination with Hyland (pg. 21, Section IV), Hyland teaches filters to detect somatic mutations – that is, mutations which are not inherited – and novel mutations including those in fetal DNA (pg. 10, paragraph [110]). Therefore, Hyland is at least applicable to identifying non-inherited variants in fetal DNA, which Shendure also teaches. The ordering of the two steps is considered similar based on the understanding of Shendure above. Therefore, a substitution of the filtering step of Hyland, where “filters” are for “specific detection of low frequency variant[s]” including those in fetal DNA, would be reasonable to combine with Shendure, which teaches “detecting low frequency alleles” including “de novo mutations” in the fetal genome (paragraph [4]).
Therefore, for at least these reasons, the rejection under 35 USC 103 is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1685
/OLIVIA M. WISE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1685