DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the communications filed on March 27, 2026. The Applicant’s Amendment and Request for Reconsideration has been received and entered.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10-12, 15, 16, 18, and 21 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1, 7, 10, 12, and 18 have been amended. Claims 2, 3, 6, 9, 13, 14, 17, 19, and 20 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments necessitated the new grounds of rejection.
The rejection of claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10-12, 15, 16, 18, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is maintained for the reasons set forth infra. The Examiner respectfully argues that while there is the video template that is downloaded and adjusted with the product display data, the obtaining step is not recited in a manner that links to this adjusted video template.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10-12, 15, 16, 18, and 21 under 35 USC 101, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons set forth infra.
Additionally, the Examiner respectfully argues that the idea of generating a video into computer technology is recited at a high level of generality in the claims and not integrate the abstract idea into computer technology, as detailed infra.
Further, the Examiner respectfully argues that while Applicant asserts “by generating a product display video based on product display data and a video template, can reduce operational pressure on a server and pressure on a communication network” (App. Remarks. Page 15) – there is no basis for the assertion. Generally, generating a product display video based on product display data and a video template creates operational pressure on a server and pressure on a communication network. Support for how generating a product display video based on product display data and a video template reduces operational pressure on a server and pressure on a communication network is not found in Applicant’s disclosure. Further, the Examiner respectfully argues that “following problems will occur: complex video synthesis: the video is recorded and edited by professionals, and thus needs preparing a large amount of materials and takes a long waiting time; difficult updating: once the video is confirmed and produced, if one wants to adjust and modify the video again, re-recording and synthesis are required, which is not applicable to "a scene requiring timely response"; fixed video content: all users view the same video, and it is unable to customize different videos according to different users; customization for scenes: only a small number of customized scenes can be supported, and large-scale and mass production of videos cannot be performed” (App. Remarks. Page 15) -- are not technical improvements to the video creation but rather, business marketing improvements in providing customized videos for product marketing to users. Indeed, “by acquiring the product display data and material through real-time analysis, can ensure that video content is consistent with the product page, and can generate different product display videos for different users, to achieve accurate playing and improve user satisfaction” (emphasis added) (App. Remarks. Page 16), particularly as “the video is more attractive to users and can improve perception and understanding of the users. It is greatly helpful in improving traffic, conversion rate, user return visit rate and the like of a website.” (emphasis added) (App. Spec. [0003]).
Applicant’s remaining arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Particularly, Applicant’s arguments are directed to the instantly amended claims, and are thus moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. The Examiner notes that the amended claims have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and interpreted accordingly, found infra.
Claim Interpretation Note
Claim 1 recites the limitation “acquiring product attribute information corresponding to a product displayed on the product page, and determining a product display scene based on the product attribute information, when a user visits a product page;” (emphasis added). However, the claims do not positively recite a user visiting a product page. Accordingly, this “when” limitation is merely conditional and not necessarily performed.
Claims 4, 5, 7, and 8 depend from claim 1 and thus inherit the interpretation of claim 1.
Given the conditional nature of the claim language noted above, such language has been afforded appropriate patentable weight during examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10-12, 15, 16, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA , the applicant, regards as the invention.
Claim 1, and similarly claims 10 and 12, recites:
“and if the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data does not exist in the video template library, downloading the video template corresponding to the product display scene from the video template library, adjusting the video template corresponding to the product display scene based on the product display data, obtaining the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data, and storing the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data in the video template library, wherein the adjusting the video template corresponding to the product display scene comprises increasing or decreasing the product display information that can be displayed by the video template corresponding to the product display scene, and generating corresponding template description information.” (emphasis added).
As recited, it is unclear how the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data does not exist in the video template library, but then the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data can be obtained and stored. It appears that the obtaining and storing step contradict the initial portion of the limitation. While there is the video template that is downloaded and adjusted with the product display data, the obtaining step is not recited in a manner that links to this adjusted video template. For examination purposes, the Examiner has interpreted “and if the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data does not exist in the video template library, acquiring a video template corresponding to the product display scene, adjusting the video template based on the product display data, obtaining the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data, and storing the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data in the video template library, wherein the adjusting the video template comprises increasing or decreasing the product display information that can be displayed by the video template, and generating corresponding template description information” as merely if the video template does not exist, acquiring a video template corresponding to the product display scene, adjusting the video template based on the product display data.
Claims 4, 5, 7, and 8 depend from claim 1 and thus inherit the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claim 11 depends from claim 10 and thus inherit the deficiencies of claim 10.
Claims 15, 16, 18, and 21 depend from claim 13 and thus inherit the deficiencies of claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10-12, 15, 16, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1. When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Step 2A – Prong One. If the claims fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claims recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon.
Step 2A – Prong Two. If the claims recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon, it must then be determined whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. If the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, then the claims are directed to a judicial exception.
Step 2B. If the claims are directed to a judicial exception, it must be evaluated whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (i.e. “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception.
In the instant case, claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8 are directed to a process; claims 10-12, 15, 16, and 18 are directed to a machine; and claim 21 are directed to a manufacture.
A claim “recites” an abstract idea if there are identifiable limitations that fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in MPEP 2106. In the instant case, claim 1, and similarly claims 10-12, recites the steps of: acquiring product attribute information corresponding to a product displayed on the product page, and determining a product display scene based on the product attribute information, when a user visits a product page, wherein: the product attribute information comprises: a product category and product feature information; the product display scene comprises: a plot, main characters, and other characters of a story designed for the product, and a scene and atmosphere where the story takes place; and the determining a product display scene based on the product attribute information comprises: determining the product display scene matching the product category and the product feature information; acquiring history behavior data of the user, and obtaining product display data based on the history behavior data, wherein the product display data comprises: product price, product specification, product discount, recommended product, product image, and videos uploaded by users; and the obtaining product display data based on the history behavior data comprises: determining a product display data category in which the user is interested according to the history behavior information; and extracting the product display data corresponding to the product display data category from the product page; acquiring a video template according to the product display scene and the product display data; and generating a product display corresponding to the product based on the product display data and the video template, a video template library is provided, a video template corresponding to the product display scene is preset in the video template library, the acquiring a video template according to the product display scene and the product display data comprises: sending a query request carrying a product display scene number and the product display data; judging whether a video template matching the product display scene and the product display data exists in the video template library; the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data if the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data exists in the video template library; and if the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data does not exist in the video template library, the video template corresponding to the product display scene from the video template library, adjusting the video template corresponding to the product display scene based on the product display data, obtaining the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data, and storing the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data in the video template library, wherein the adjusting the video template corresponding to the product display scene comprises increasing or decreasing the product display information that can be displayed by the video template, and generating corresponding template description information; and a product display video corresponding to the product based on the product display data and the video template comprises: acquiring display material corresponding to the product display data from a material library provided; determining insertion positions of the product display data and the display material in the video template; and inserting the product display data and the display material into the corresponding insertion positions, generating the product display video and storing the product display video in a display video library provided -- these claim limitations set forth certain methods of organizing human activity, particularly commercial interactions including advertising, marketing, and sales activities/behaviors.
Further, the limitations of the claims are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Taking the claim elements separately, the additional elements of a terminal and a memory coupled to the processor, storing program instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: generate a video, and performing the steps via a background server and downloading -- merely implement the abstract idea on a computer environment. Considered in combination, the steps of Applicant’s method add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately. Additionally, taking the dependent claim elements separately, the additional elements of clicks and click through rates also merely implement the abstract idea on a computer environment. Considered in combination, the steps of Applicant’s method add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately.
Thus, claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10-12, 15, 16, 18, and 21 are directed to an abstract idea.
Regarding the independent claims, the technical elements of a terminal and a memory coupled to the processor, storing program instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to merely implement the abstract idea on a computer environment. Additionally, the technical elements of performing the steps via a background server and downloading also merely implement the abstract idea on a computer environment. While claim 1 recites generating a video, this limitation is recited at a high level of generality and thus does not amount to significantly more. Additionally, regarding the dependent claims, the technical elements of clicks and click through rates also merely implement the abstract idea on a computer environment.
When considering the elements and combinations of elements, the claim(s) as a whole, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claims do not amount to an improvement to another technology or technical field; the claims do not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself; the claims do not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment; the claims merely amounts to the application or instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer; or the claims amounts to nothing more than requiring a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry.
The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention. Accordingly, claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10-12, 15, 16, 18, and 21 are rejected as ineligible for patenting under 35 USC 101 based upon the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10-12, 15, 16, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendlin (US PGP 2020/0104909) in view of Cai (US PGP 2018/0012261).
As per claim 1, Hendlin teaches video generation method executed by a processor located in a video generation apparatus of a terminal, the method comprising:
acquiring product attribute information corresponding to a product displayed on the product page, and determining a product display scene based on the product attribute information, when a user visits a product page, wherein: (Hendlin: [0068]-[0075](After displaying the selectable element, as shown in FIG. 1B, the client device 106 can also perform step 128 of receiving a user interaction with the selectable element. As further illustrated in FIG. 1B, upon receiving the indication of user interaction with the selectable element, the social networking system 104 performs step 132 of checking for updates to the product feed. In response to checking for updates, the merchant device can provide updates to the product feed, as illustrated in step 134. In particular, the steps 132-134 can include requesting and receiving an updated product feed from the merchant device 102. For example, the social networking system 104 can send a call to the merchant device 102 for an update to a database containing product information and receive an updated database. Similarly, the social networking system 104 can check a website for updated product information relating to a merchant's products (e.g., by parsing a merchant's website for any modifications and updating product information based on the modifications).)
the product attribute information comprises: a product category and product feature information; (Hendlin: [0076] (a particular product (e.g., green hats)); [0114] (As shown in FIG. 3A, the database 300 includes a variety of types of product information. In particular, the database 300 includes rows describing product name, price, category, group, sale status, sale price, color, stock status, etc. The database 300 can include a variety of additional types of product information. For example, the database 300 can include media content items corresponding to products (e.g., a location of product image files or product video files), product specifications, product descriptions, product locations, product shipping items, product timing information (e.g., information indicating a time corresponding to seasonal products), product sale information (e.g., sale volume or sale rank compared to other products), or other product information.); [0068]-[0075])
the determining a product display scene based on the product attribute information comprises: determining the product display scene matching the product category and the product feature information; (Hendlin: [0068]-[0075] (Hendlin: [0068]-[0075](After displaying the selectable element, as shown in FIG. 1B, the client device 106 can also perform step 128 of receiving a user interaction with the selectable element. As further illustrated in FIG. 1B, upon receiving the indication of user interaction with the selectable element, the social networking system 104 performs step 132 of checking for updates to the product feed. In response to checking for updates, the merchant device can provide updates to the product feed, as illustrated in step 134. In particular, the steps 132-134 can include requesting and receiving an updated product feed from the merchant device 102. For example, the social networking system 104 can send a call to the merchant device 102 for an update to a database containing product information and receive an updated database. Similarly, the social networking system 104 can check a website for updated product information relating to a merchant's products (e.g., by parsing a merchant's website for any modifications and updating product information based on the modifications). )
acquiring history behavior data of the user from the background server, and obtaining product display data based on the history behavior data, wherein (Hendlin: [0050](For example, the term “user characteristics” includes demographic information (e.g., age, gender, sex, marital status), contact information, location information, user history (e.g., user clicks, purchases, views or interactions), computing device information (e.g., device type, operating system, software installed, browsers utilized), or other information regarding a user.); [0070]-[0078] (As also shown in FIG. 1B, the social networking system 104 can also perform step 136 of detecting social networking system data. In particular, the social networking system 104 can perform the step 136 by monitoring user input and gathering social networking system data. For example, the social networking system 104 can detect user characteristics corresponding to users of the social networking system 104 (e.g., demographic information, location information). Similarly, the social networking system 104 can detect and monitor clicks with selectable elements (e.g., advertisements) on the social networking system 104; product purchases via the social networking system 104; items viewed on the social networking system 104, or communications provided via the social networking system 104 (e.g., social networking posts, social networking comments, or social networking messages). For instance, in one or more embodiments, the social networking system 104 can populate an unpopulated product display layout based on product information (e.g., a product name, a product image, a product price, a product order, a product group, product sales, or product attributes) identified in a product feed. In particular, the social networking system 104 can select products to utilize in populating an unpopulated product display layout based on product information. In addition to product information, the social networking system 104 can also generate a custom merchant content interface based on social networking system data. For example, the social networking system 104 can populate unpopulated elements in a custom merchant content template based on social networking system data. In particular, the social networking system 104 can select products to utilize in populating an unpopulated product display layout based on social networking system data. To illustrate, the social networking system 104 can detect a heightened number of purchases of a particular product (e.g., green hats) on the social networking system 104 with regard to a particular user characteristic (e.g., males between 25 and 30). The social networking system 104 can determine that a user of the client device 106 possesses the particular user characteristic (e.g., the user is a male between 35 and 30). In response, the social networking system 104 can select the particular product (e.g., green hats), and populate an unpopulated product display layout with a media content item corresponding to the particular product (e.g., images of the green hats)); [0186] (In particular, the social networking system data manager 708 can monitor user input (e.g., user input in relation a social networking system) and gather social networking system data based on the user interactions. For example, as described above, the social networking system can monitor user input to determine user characteristics, user history (e.g., purchase history), selections, or views.); [0203] (By way of example, in one or more embodiments the merchant device 804 a sends a request to the server(s) 808 (e.g., the social networking system 812) to generate a custom merchant content template. The server(s) 808 can provide a custom merchant content generation tool to the merchant device 804 a and the merchant device 804 a can collect user input and send the user input to the server(s) 808 (e.g., via the user input detector 704). In response, the server(s) 808 can generate (e.g., via the custom merchant content template facility 710) one or more custom merchant content templates.))
wherein the product display data comprises: product price, product specification, product discount, recommended product, product image, and videos uploaded by users; and (Hendlin: [0070]-[0078] (For instance, in one or more embodiments, the social networking system 104 can populate an unpopulated product display layout based on product information (e.g., a product name, a product image, a product price, a product order, a product group, product sales, or product attributes) identified in a product feed. In particular, the social networking system 104 can select products to utilize in populating an unpopulated product display layout based on product information. In addition to product information, the social networking system 104 can also generate a custom merchant content interface based on social networking system data. For example, the social networking system 104 can populate unpopulated elements in a custom merchant content template based on social networking system data. In particular, the social networking system 104 can select products to utilize in populating an unpopulated product display layout based on social networking system data. To illustrate, the social networking system 104 can detect a heightened number of purchases of a particular product (e.g., green hats) on the social networking system 104 with regard to a particular user characteristic (e.g., males between 25 and 30). The social networking system 104 can determine that a user of the client device 106 possesses the particular user characteristic (e.g., the user is a male between 35 and 30). In response, the social networking system 104 can select the particular product (e.g., green hats), and populate an unpopulated product display layout with a media content item corresponding to the particular product (e.g., images of the green hats. The social networking system 104 can access a product feed indicating what products are currently on sale, and, based on the merchant preference, populate a product display layout with the identified on sale products.); [0096]-[0097] (The digital merchant content system 100 generates the user interface 204, as shown in FIG. 2B, based on user interaction by a merchant. In particular, the digital merchant content system 100 generates the digital video interactive element 220 based on user interaction with a selectable option for adding a digital video interactive element together with a user interaction by the merchant selecting a media content item to include with the digital video interactive element 220. Furthermore, the merchant interacts with the user interface 204 to locate, arrange, and/or re-size the digital video interactive element 220 and/or the content area 208.); [0114]; [0150]-[0151] (The digital merchant content system 100 can identify any variety of media content items to utilize in populating an unpopulated element in an unpopulated product display layout. In relation to the embodiment of FIG. 4D, the digital merchant content system 100 identifies digital images corresponding to the selected products 462. In other embodiments, the digital merchant content system 100 can identify digital videos, digital text (e.g., product name, product price, or sale language) or other media content item to populate an unpopulated product display layout.))
and the obtaining product display data based on the history behavior data comprises: determining a product display data category in which the user is interested according to the history behavior information; and (Hendlin: [0070]-[0078] (As also shown in FIG. 1B, the social networking system 104 can also perform step 136 of detecting social networking system data. In particular, the social networking system 104 can perform the step 136 by monitoring user input and gathering social networking system data. For example, the social networking system 104 can detect user characteristics corresponding to users of the social networking system 104 (e.g., demographic information, location information). Similarly, the social networking system 104 can detect and monitor clicks with selectable elements (e.g., advertisements) on the social networking system 104; product purchases via the social networking system 104; items viewed on the social networking system 104, or communications provided via the social networking system 104 (e.g., social networking posts, social networking comments, or social networking messages). For instance, in one or more embodiments, the social networking system 104 can populate an unpopulated product display layout based on product information (e.g., a product name, a product image, a product price, a product order, a product group, product sales, or product attributes) identified in a product feed. In particular, the social networking system 104 can select products to utilize in populating an unpopulated product display layout based on product information. In addition to product information, the social networking system 104 can also generate a custom merchant content interface based on social networking system data. For example, the social networking system 104 can populate unpopulated elements in a custom merchant content template based on social networking system data. In particular, the social networking system 104 can select products to utilize in populating an unpopulated product display layout based on social networking system data. To illustrate, the social networking system 104 can detect a heightened number of purchases of a particular product (e.g., green hats) on the social networking system 104 with regard to a particular user characteristic (e.g., males between 25 and 30). The social networking system 104 can determine that a user of the client device 106 possesses the particular user characteristic (e.g., the user is a male between 35 and 30). In response, the social networking system 104 can select the particular product (e.g., green hats), and populate an unpopulated product display layout with a media content item corresponding to the particular product (e.g., images of the green hats));
extracting the product display data corresponding to the product display data category from the product page; (Hendlin: [0070]-[0078] (As also shown in FIG. 1B, the social networking system 104 can also perform step 136 of detecting social networking system data. In particular, the social networking system 104 can perform the step 136 by monitoring user input and gathering social networking system data. For example, the social networking system 104 can detect user characteristics corresponding to users of the social networking system 104 (e.g., demographic information, location information). Similarly, the social networking system 104 can detect and monitor clicks with selectable elements (e.g., advertisements) on the social networking system 104; product purchases via the social networking system 104; items viewed on the social networking system 104, or communications provided via the social networking system 104 (e.g., social networking posts, social networking comments, or social networking messages). For instance, in one or more embodiments, the social networking system 104 can populate an unpopulated product display layout based on product information (e.g., a product name, a product image, a product price, a product order, a product group, product sales, or product attributes) identified in a product feed. In particular, the social networking system 104 can select products to utilize in populating an unpopulated product display layout based on product information. In addition to product information, the social networking system 104 can also generate a custom merchant content interface based on social networking system data. For example, the social networking system 104 can populate unpopulated elements in a custom merchant content template based on social networking system data. In particular, the social networking system 104 can select products to utilize in populating an unpopulated product display layout based on social networking system data. To illustrate, the social networking system 104 can detect a heightened number of purchases of a particular product (e.g., green hats) on the social networking system 104 with regard to a particular user characteristic (e.g., males between 25 and 30). The social networking system 104 can determine that a user of the client device 106 possesses the particular user characteristic (e.g., the user is a male between 35 and 30). In response, the social networking system 104 can select the particular product (e.g., green hats), and populate an unpopulated product display layout with a media content item corresponding to the particular product (e.g., images of the green hats));
acquiring a video template according to the product display scene and the product display data; and (Hendlin: [0079]-[0080] (In addition, it will be appreciated that the step 138 can also comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces. Indeed, the step 138 can comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces based on a plurality of custom merchant content templates, product information, and/or social networking system data. More specifically, the step 138 can comprise selecting a plurality of custom merchant content templates, populating the selected plurality of custom merchant content templates to generate custom merchant content interfaces, and generating dynamic links between the custom merchant content interfaces. For instance, as mentioned above, the digital merchant content system 100 (via the merchant device 102 and the social networking system 104) can generate a plurality of custom merchant content templates. The social networking system 104 can select a subset of custom merchant content templates from the plurality of custom merchant content templates. For example, the social networking system 104 can utilize product information from a product feed and/or social networking system data to select a subset of custom merchant content templates from a plurality of custom merchant content templates.); [0128] (As shown in FIG. 4B, the custom merchant content template 420 comprises a plurality of content areas 422, 424, and 426. In particular, the content area 422 includes an element 428 that comprises a digital video); [0097] (The digital merchant content system 100 generates the user interface 204, as shown in FIG. 2B, based on user interaction by a merchant. In particular, the digital merchant content system 100 generates the digital video interactive element 220 based on user interaction with a selectable option for adding a digital video interactive element together with a user interaction by the merchant selecting a media content item to include with the digital video interactive element 220. Furthermore, the merchant interacts with the user interface 204 to locate, arrange, and/or re-size the digital video interactive element 220 and/or the content area 208.); [0151]; [0164])
generating a product display video corresponding to the product based on the product display data and the video template, wherein (Hendlin: [0079]-[0080] (For example, the social networking system 104 can utilize product information from a product feed and/or social networking system data to select a subset of custom merchant content templates from a plurality of custom merchant content templates.); [0128] (As shown in FIG. 4B, the custom merchant content template 420 comprises a plurality of content areas 422, 424, and 426. In particular, the content area 422 includes an element 428 that comprises a digital video); [0045] (As used herein, the term “element” refers to any digital item or object making up a user interface. For example, the term “element” can include an icon, window, terminal, tag, container, field, frame, box, or graphical control. An element can include digital media items. For example, a digital image or digital video can be associated with an element such that the digital image or digital video is included with the element in a user interface. As just mentioned, an element can be unpopulated or populated. For example, an unpopulated element can comprise a frame or field that is not associated with a digital media item, whereas, a populated element can comprise a frame or field associated with a digital media item. Moreover, as used herein, the term “product element” refers to an element that includes product information regarding one or more products.); [0097]; [0151] (In other embodiments, the digital merchant content system 100 can identify digital videos, digital text (e.g., product name, product price, or sale language) or other media content item to populate an unpopulated product display layout.); [0164] (For example, FIG. 5C illustrates the computing device 500 upon selection of the selectable element 410. In particular, FIG. 5C shows that the touchscreen 502 displays a custom merchant content interface 520 based on the custom merchant content template 510. In particular, the custom merchant content interface 520 comprises content areas 522-526. The content area 522 comprises an element 528 that includes a digital image. The content area 530 comprises a product display layout 532 with a plurality of elements 532 a-532 g; and the content area 526 includes an element 534 that includes a digital video.))
a video template library is provided on the background server, a video template corresponding to the product display scene is preset in the video template library, the acquiring a video template according to the product display scene and the product display data comprises: (Hendlin: [0079]-[0080]; [0128]; [0097]; [0151]; [0164]; [0045]; [0187])
sending a query request carrying a product display scene number and the product display data to the background server; (Hendlin: [0071] (In particular, the social networking system 104 can generate a custom merchant content interface based on a custom merchant content template, a product feed, and/or social networking system data. For example, in one or more embodiments, step 138 comprises identifying one or more custom merchant content templates. In particular, the social networking system 104 can identify custom merchant content templates associated with a merchant corresponding to the selectable element (e.g., the custom merchant content template stored at step 118). [0079]-[0080] (For example, the social networking system 104 can utilize product information from a product feed and/or social networking system data to select a subset of custom merchant content templates from a plurality of custom merchant content templates.); [0128] (As shown in FIG. 4B, the custom merchant content template 420 comprises a plurality of content areas 422, 424, and 426. In particular, the content area 422 includes an element 428 that comprises a digital video); [0151] (In other embodiments, the digital merchant content system 100 can identify digital videos, digital text (e.g., product name, product price, or sale language) or other media content item to populate an unpopulated product display layout.); [0212] (As shown in FIG. 9, the method 900 also includes an act 904 of receiving a product feed. In particular, the act 904 can include receiving, by the social networking system, a product feed comprising product information corresponding to the merchant. For instance, in one or more embodiments, the act 904 can include receiving, by the social networking system, a website corresponding to the merchant comprising one or more product advertisements; and analyzing the website and the one or more product advertisements to determine the product information. Furthermore, the act 904 can include receiving an update to the product feed comprising updated product information.); [0164] (For example, FIG. 5C illustrates the computing device 500 upon selection of the selectable element 410. In particular, FIG. 5C shows that the touchscreen 502 displays a custom merchant content interface 520 based on the custom merchant content template 510. In particular, the custom merchant content interface 520 comprises content areas 522-526. The content area 522 comprises an element 528 that includes a digital image. The content area 530 comprises a product display layout 532 with a plurality of elements 532 a-532 g; and the content area 526 includes an element 534 that includes a digital video.); [0259])
judging whether a video template matching the product display scene and the product display data exists in the video template library; (Hendlin: [0079]-[0080] (In addition, it will be appreciated that the step 138 can also comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces. Indeed, the step 138 can comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces based on a plurality of custom merchant content templates, product information, and/or social networking system data. More specifically, the step 138 can comprise selecting a plurality of custom merchant content templates, populating the selected plurality of custom merchant content templates to generate custom merchant content interfaces, and generating dynamic links between the custom merchant content interfaces. For instance, as mentioned above, the digital merchant content system 100 (via the merchant device 102 and the social networking system 104) can generate a plurality of custom merchant content templates. The social networking system 104 can select a subset of custom merchant content templates from the plurality of custom merchant content templates. For example, the social networking system 104 can utilize product information from a product feed and/or social networking system data to select a subset of custom merchant content templates from a plurality of custom merchant content templates.); [0128] (As shown in FIG. 4B, the custom merchant content template 420 comprises a plurality of content areas 422, 424, and 426. In particular, the content area 422 includes an element 428 that comprises a digital video); [0097]; [0151]; [0164]; [0045] (For example, a digital image or digital video can be associated with an element such that the digital image or digital video is included with the element in a user interface. As just mentioned, an element can be unpopulated or populated. For example, an unpopulated element can comprise a frame or field that is not associated with a digital media item, whereas, a populated element can comprise a frame or field associated with a digital media item. Moreover, as used herein, the term “product element” refers to an element that includes product information regarding one or more products.); [0187] Moreover, as shown in FIG. 7, the digital merchant content system 100 also includes the custom merchant content template facility 710. The custom merchant content template facility 710 can generate, create, modify, select, update, and/or provide one or more custom merchant content templates. In particular, the custom merchant content template facility 710 can generate one or more custom merchant content templates comprising one or more media content items and an unpopulated product display layout (e.g., media content items specified by a merchant and an unpopulated product display layout specified by a merchant). Moreover, as described above, the custom merchant content template facility 710 can select a subset of custom merchant content templates from a plurality of custom merchant content templates (e.g., based on product information 716 e or social networking system data 716 b).)
downloading the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data from the video template library if the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data exists in the video template library; and (Hendlin: [0079]-[0080] (In addition, it will be appreciated that the step 138 can also comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces. Indeed, the step 138 can comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces based on a plurality of custom merchant content templates, product information, and/or social networking system data. More specifically, the step 138 can comprise selecting a plurality of custom merchant content templates, populating the selected plurality of custom merchant content templates to generate custom merchant content interfaces, and generating dynamic links between the custom merchant content interfaces. For instance, as mentioned above, the digital merchant content system 100 (via the merchant device 102 and the social networking system 104) can generate a plurality of custom merchant content templates. The social networking system 104 can select a subset of custom merchant content templates from the plurality of custom merchant content templates. For example, the social networking system 104 can utilize product information from a product feed and/or social networking system data to select a subset of custom merchant content templates from a plurality of custom merchant content templates.); [0128] (As shown in FIG. 4B, the custom merchant content template 420 comprises a plurality of content areas 422, 424, and 426. In particular, the content area 422 includes an element 428 that comprises a digital video); [0097]; [0151]; [0164]; [0045] (For example, a digital image or digital video can be associated with an element such that the digital image or digital video is included with the element in a user interface. As just mentioned, an element can be unpopulated or populated. For example, an unpopulated element can comprise a frame or field that is not associated with a digital media item, whereas, a populated element can comprise a frame or field associated with a digital media item. Moreover, as used herein, the term “product element” refers to an element that includes product information regarding one or more products.); ; [0187] (Moreover, as shown in FIG. 7, the digital merchant content system 100 also includes the custom merchant content template facility 710. The custom merchant content template facility 710 can generate, create, modify, select, update, and/or provide one or more custom merchant content templates. In particular, the custom merchant content template facility 710 can generate one or more custom merchant content templates comprising one or more media content items and an unpopulated product display layout (e.g., media content items specified by a merchant and an unpopulated product display layout specified by a merchant). Moreover, as described above, the custom merchant content template facility 710 can select a subset of custom merchant content templates from a plurality of custom merchant content templates (e.g., based on product information 716 e or social networking system data 716 b).); [0097] (The digital merchant content system 100 generates the user interface 204, as shown in FIG. 2B, based on user interaction by a merchant. In particular, the digital merchant content system 100 generates the digital video interactive element 220 based on user interaction with a selectable option for adding a digital video interactive element together with a user interaction by the merchant selecting a media content item to include with the digital video interactive element 220. Furthermore, the merchant interacts with the user interface 204 to locate, arrange, and/or re-size the digital video interactive element 220 and/or the content area 208.); [0221]; Figs. 1A-1C)
if the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data does not exist in the video template library, downloading the video template corresponding to the product display scene, adjusting the video template corresponding to the product display scene based on the product display data, obtaining the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data, and storing the video template matching the product display scene and the product display data in the video template library, wherein the adjusting the video template corresponding to the product display scene comprises increasing or decreasing the product display information that can be displayed by the video template corresponding to the product display scene, and generating corresponding template description information; and (Hendlin: [0079]-[0080] (In addition, it will be appreciated that the step 138 can also comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces. Indeed, the step 138 can comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces based on a plurality of custom merchant content templates, product information, and/or social networking system data. More specifically, the step 138 can comprise selecting a plurality of custom merchant content templates, populating the selected plurality of custom merchant content templates to generate custom merchant content interfaces, and generating dynamic links between the custom merchant content interfaces. For instance, as mentioned above, the digital merchant content system 100 (via the merchant device 102 and the social networking system 104) can generate a plurality of custom merchant content templates. The social networking system 104 can select a subset of custom merchant content templates from the plurality of custom merchant content templates. For example, the social networking system 104 can utilize product information from a product feed and/or social networking system data to select a subset of custom merchant content templates from a plurality of custom merchant content templates.); [0128] (As shown in FIG. 4B, the custom merchant content template 420 comprises a plurality of content areas 422, 424, and 426. In particular, the content area 422 includes an element 428 that comprises a digital video); [0097]; [0151]; [0164]; [0045] (For example, a digital image or digital video can be associated with an element such that the digital image or digital video is included with the element in a user interface. As just mentioned, an element can be unpopulated or populated. For example, an unpopulated element can comprise a frame or field that is not associated with a digital media item, whereas, a populated element can comprise a frame or field associated with a digital media item. Moreover, as used herein, the term “product element” refers to an element that includes product information regarding one or more products.); [0187] Moreover, as shown in FIG. 7, the digital merchant content system 100 also includes the custom merchant content template facility 710. The custom merchant content template facility 710 can generate, create, modify, select, update, and/or provide one or more custom merchant content templates. In particular, the custom merchant content template facility 710 can generate one or more custom merchant content templates comprising one or more media content items and an unpopulated product display layout (e.g., media content items specified by a merchant and an unpopulated product display layout specified by a merchant). Moreover, as described above, the custom merchant content template facility 710 can select a subset of custom merchant content templates from a plurality of custom merchant content templates (e.g., based on product information 716 e or social networking system data 716 b).); [0097] (The digital merchant content system 100 generates the user interface 204, as shown in FIG. 2B, based on user interaction by a merchant. In particular, the digital merchant content system 100 generates the digital video interactive element 220 based on user interaction with a selectable option for adding a digital video interactive element together with a user interaction by the merchant selecting a media content item to include with the digital video interactive element 220. Furthermore, the merchant interacts with the user interface 204 to locate, arrange, and/or re-size the digital video interactive element 220 and/or the content area 208.); [0221]; Figs. 1A-1C)
the generating a product display video corresponding to the product based on the product display data and the video template comprises: acquiring display material corresponding to the product display data from a material library provided on the background server; (Hendlin: [0079]-[0080] (In addition, it will be appreciated that the step 138 can also comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces. Indeed, the step 138 can comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces based on a plurality of custom merchant content templates, product information, and/or social networking system data. More specifically, the step 138 can comprise selecting a plurality of custom merchant content templates, populating the selected plurality of custom merchant content templates to generate custom merchant content interfaces, and generating dynamic links between the custom merchant content interfaces. For instance, as mentioned above, the digital merchant content system 100 (via the merchant device 102 and the social networking system 104) can generate a plurality of custom merchant content templates. The social networking system 104 can select a subset of custom merchant content templates from the plurality of custom merchant content templates. For example, the social networking system 104 can utilize product information from a product feed and/or social networking system data to select a subset of custom merchant content templates from a plurality of custom merchant content templates.); [0128] (As shown in FIG. 4B, the custom merchant content template 420 comprises a plurality of content areas 422, 424, and 426. In particular, the content area 422 includes an element 428 that comprises a digital video); [0097]; [0151]; [0164])
determining insertion positions of the product display data and the display material in the video template; and (Hendlin: [0079]-[0080] (In addition, it will be appreciated that the step 138 can also comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces. Indeed, the step 138 can comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces based on a plurality of custom merchant content templates, product information, and/or social networking system data. More specifically, the step 138 can comprise selecting a plurality of custom merchant content templates, populating the selected plurality of custom merchant content templates to generate custom merchant content interfaces, and generating dynamic links between the custom merchant content interfaces. For instance, as mentioned above, the digital merchant content system 100 (via the merchant device 102 and the social networking system 104) can generate a plurality of custom merchant content templates. The social networking system 104 can select a subset of custom merchant content templates from the plurality of custom merchant content templates. For example, the social networking system 104 can utilize product information from a product feed and/or social networking system data to select a subset of custom merchant content templates from a plurality of custom merchant content templates.); [0128] (As shown in FIG. 4B, the custom merchant content template 420 comprises a plurality of content areas 422, 424, and 426. In particular, the content area 422 includes an element 428 that comprises a digital video); [0045] (As used herein, the term “element” refers to any digital item or object making up a user interface. For example, the term “element” can include an icon, window, terminal, tag, container, field, frame, box, or graphical control. An element can include digital media items. For example, a digital image or digital video can be associated with an element such that the digital image or digital video is included with the element in a user interface. As just mentioned, an element can be unpopulated or populated. For example, an unpopulated element can comprise a frame or field that is not associated with a digital media item, whereas, a populated element can comprise a frame or field associated with a digital media item. Moreover, as used herein, the term “product element” refers to an element that includes product information regarding one or more products.))
inserting the product display data and the display material into the corresponding insertion positions, generating the product display video and storing the product display video in a display video library provided on the background server. (Hendlin: [0079]-[0080] (In addition, it will be appreciated that the step 138 can also comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces. Indeed, the step 138 can comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces based on a plurality of custom merchant content templates, product information, and/or social networking system data. More specifically, the step 138 can comprise selecting a plurality of custom merchant content templates, populating the selected plurality of custom merchant content templates to generate custom merchant content interfaces, and generating dynamic links between the custom merchant content interfaces. For instance, as mentioned above, the digital merchant content system 100 (via the merchant device 102 and the social networking system 104) can generate a plurality of custom merchant content templates. The social networking system 104 can select a subset of custom merchant content templates from the plurality of custom merchant content templates. For example, the social networking system 104 can utilize product information from a product feed and/or social networking system data to select a subset of custom merchant content templates from a plurality of custom merchant content templates.); [0128] (As shown in FIG. 4B, the custom merchant content template 420 comprises a plurality of content areas 422, 424, and 426. In particular, the content area 422 includes an element 428 that comprises a digital video); [0045] (As used herein, the term “element” refers to any digital item or object making up a user interface. For example, the term “element” can include an icon, window, terminal, tag, container, field, frame, box, or graphical control. An element can include digital media items. For example, a digital image or digital video can be associated with an element such that the digital image or digital video is included with the element in a user interface. As just mentioned, an element can be unpopulated or populated. For example, an unpopulated element can comprise a frame or field that is not associated with a digital media item, whereas, a populated element can comprise a frame or field associated with a digital media item. Moreover, as used herein, the term “product element” refers to an element that includes product information regarding one or more products.))
Hendlin does not explicitly state the following known technique which is taught by Cai:
the product display scene comprises: a plot, main characters, and other characters of a story designed for the product, and a scene and atmosphere where the story takes place; and (Cai: [0008] (a. The information is an infusion of different kinds of media (e.g. text information, video, statistics report); c. The storytelling is personalized to the customer, i.e. the story (e.g. one or more scenes comprising one or more dramatic characters) is constructed based on the customer's preferences, profile, and previous shopping experiences. Compared to simple information retrieval and aggregation, a personalized story is compelling and informative, which can gain high consensus with the user.); [0026], [0032]-[0036])
This known technique is applicable to the method of Hendlin as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to displaying videos to user.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have recognized that applying the known technique of Cai would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved method. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Cai to the teachings of Hendlin would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such plot, character, scene, and atmosphere features into similar methods. Further, applying the plot, main characters, and other characters of a story designed for the product, and a scene and atmosphere where the story takes place to the product display scene of Hendlin would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved method that would enable more engaging user interactions rather than a simple and passive information portal. (Cai: [0008]);
As per claim 4, Hendlin/Cai teach wherein the determining a product display data category in which the user is interested according to the history behavior information comprises:
obtaining browsing times of the user for history product pages and click times for product information display regions in the history product pages; (Hendlin: [0050](For example, the term “user characteristics” includes demographic information (e.g., age, gender, sex, marital status), contact information, location information, user history (e.g., user clicks, purchases, views or interactions), computing device information (e.g., device type, operating system, software installed, browsers utilized), or other information regarding a user.); [0070]-[0078] (As also shown in FIG. 1B, the social networking system 104 can also perform step 136 of detecting social networking system data. In particular, the social networking system 104 can perform the step 136 by monitoring user input and gathering social networking system data. For example, the social networking system 104 can detect user characteristics corresponding to users of the social networking system 104 (e.g., demographic information, location information). Similarly, the social networking system 104 can detect and monitor clicks with selectable elements (e.g., advertisements) on the social networking system 104; product purchases via the social networking system 104; items viewed on the social networking system 104, or communications provided via the social networking system 104 (e.g., social networking posts, social networking comments, or social networking messages)).
obtaining a click through rate of the user for each product information display region based on the click times and the browsing times; and (Hendlin: [0050](For example, the term “user characteristics” includes demographic information (e.g., age, gender, sex, marital status), contact information, location information, user history (e.g., user clicks, purchases, views or interactions), computing device information (e.g., device type, operating system, software installed, browsers utilized), or other information regarding a user.); [0070]-[0078] (As also shown in FIG. 1B, the social networking system 104 can also perform step 136 of detecting social networking system data. In particular, the social networking system 104 can perform the step 136 by monitoring user input and gathering social networking system data. For example, the social networking system 104 can detect user characteristics corresponding to users of the social networking system 104 (e.g., demographic information, location information). Similarly, the social networking system 104 can detect and monitor clicks with selectable elements (e.g., advertisements) on the social networking system 104; product purchases via the social networking system 104; items viewed on the social networking system 104, or communications provided via the social networking system 104 (e.g., social networking posts, social networking comments, or social networking messages); [0134]-[0139] (In addition to merchant preferences, the ranking algorithm 460 can also apply criteria directed to product performance. For example, in one or more embodiments, the digital merchant content system 100 analyzes the social networking system data 458 to identify metrics regarding product performance. To illustrate, the digital merchant content system 100 can determine a number of clicks a product receives on the social networking system (e.g., number of advertisements selected for a particular product), a number of purchases of a product via the social networking system, a number of views of a product via a social networking system, or a time duration that users view a product via a social networking system. The ranking algorithm 460 can generate a score based on the extent to which a particular product generates clicks, views, purchases, and/or viewed time via the social networking system. It will be appreciated that the ranking algorithm 460 can utilize criteria directed to a variety of user characteristics. For example, the ranking algorithm can utilize criteria directed to location, user history (e.g., a user's previous views, purchases, or clicks), demographic information, computing device information (i.e., device type, type of operating system, browser utilized, or software installed) or other user characteristics.); [0243]-[0244])
determining a product information display region in which the user is interested based on the click through rate, and acquiring the product display data category corresponding to the product information display region in which the user is interested. (Hendlin: [0050]; [0070]-[0078]; [0134]-[0139]; [0243]-[0244] (In particular embodiments, an edge 1206 between a user node 1202 and a concept node 1204 may represent a particular action or activity performed by a user associated with user node 1202 toward a concept associated with a concept node 1204. As an example and not by way of limitation, as illustrated in FIG. 12, a user may “like,” “attended,” “played,” “listened,” “cooked,” “worked at,” or “watched” a concept, each of which may correspond to an edge type or subtype. A concept-profile page corresponding to a concept node 1204 may include, for example, a selectable “check in” icon (such as, for example, a clickable “check in” icon) or a selectable “add to favorites” icon. Similarly, after a user clicks these icons, social networking system 1102 may create a “favorite” edge or a “check in” edge in response to a user's action corresponding to a respective action. As another example and not by way of limitation, a user (user “C”) may listen to a particular song (“Ramble On”) using a particular application (SPOTIFY, which is an online music application). In this case, social networking system 1102 may create a “listened” edge 1206 and a “used” edge (as illustrated in FIG. 12) between user nodes 1202 corresponding to the user and concept nodes 1204 corresponding to the song and application to indicate that the user listened to the song and used the application. Moreover, social networking system 1102 may create a “played” edge 1206 (as illustrated in FIG. 12) between concept nodes 1204 corresponding to the song and the application to indicate that the particular song was played by the particular application. In this case, “played” edge 1206 corresponds to an action performed by an external application (SPOTIFY) on an external audio file (the song “Imagine”). Although this disclosure describes particular edges 1206 with particular attributes connecting user nodes 1202 and concept nodes 1204, this disclosure contemplates any suitable edges 1206 with any suitable attributes connecting user nodes 1202 and concept nodes 1204. Moreover, although this disclosure describes edges between a user node 1202 and a concept node 1204 representing a single relationship, this disclosure contemplates edges between a user node 1202 and a concept node 1204 representing one or more relationships. As an example and not by way of limitation, an edge 1206 may represent both that a user likes and has used at a particular concept. Alternatively, another edge 1206 may represent each type of relationship (or multiples of a single relationship) between a user node 1202 and a concept node 1204 (as illustrated in FIG. 12 between user node 1202 for user “E” and concept node 1204 for “SPOTIFY”).)
As per claim 5, Hendlin/Cai teach wherein the determining a product information display region in which the user is interested based on the click through rate comprises:
ranking all the product information display regions in order of the click through rates from high to low; and (Hendlin: [0131] (In one or more embodiments, the ranking algorithm 460 calculates a score corresponding to each product 454 a-454 n. In particular, the ranking algorithm 460 applies criteria to each of the products 454 a-454 n and calculates a score corresponding to each of the products 454 a-454 n based on whether (and/or to what extent) each of the products 454 a-454 n satisfy the criteria.); [0132] (Similarly, the ranking algorithm can apply criteria directed to product performance (e.g., product sales, product clicks, product views, product discussion from social networking system data or a product feed), user characteristics (e.g., demographic information, location information, or user history), product information (e.g., a product order on an existing website, product emphasis, sale status, stock status from a product feed), or a combination of such criteria.); [0134]-[0139] (In addition to merchant preferences, the ranking algorithm 460 can also apply criteria directed to product performance. For example, in one or more embodiments, the digital merchant content system 100 analyzes the social networking system data 458 to identify metrics regarding product performance. To illustrate, the digital merchant content system 100 can determine a number of clicks a product receives on the social networking system (e.g., number of advertisements selected for a particular product), a number of purchases of a product via the social networking system, a number of views of a product via a social networking system, or a time duration that users view a product via a social networking system. The ranking algorithm 460 can generate a score based on the extent to which a particular product generates clicks, views, purchases, and/or viewed time via the social networking system. It will be appreciated that the ranking algorithm 460 can utilize criteria directed to a variety of user characteristics. For example, the ranking algorithm can utilize criteria directed to location, user history (e.g., a user's previous views, purchases, or clicks), demographic information, computing device information (i.e., device type, type of operating system, browser utilized, or software installed) or other user characteristics.); [0147] (As shown in FIG. 4C, upon generating a score for the products 454 a-454 n, the ranking algorithm 460 can identify the selected products 462. In particular, in one or more embodiments, the ranking algorithm 460 identifies the selected products 462 by comparing scores corresponding to the products 454-454 n. For example, the ranking algorithm 460 can rank the products 454 a-454 n by score and then select a number of products corresponding to a number of unpopulated elements in an unpopulated product display layout (i.e., the highest ranked products needed to fill the unpopulated elements).)
selecting a plurality of product information display regions ranked on top in a result of the ranking, as product information display regions in which the user is interested. (Hendlin: [0131]-[0139]; [0147] (As shown in FIG. 4C, upon generating a score for the products 454 a-454 n, the ranking algorithm 460 can identify the selected products 462. In particular, in one or more embodiments, the ranking algorithm 460 identifies the selected products 462 by comparing scores corresponding to the products 454-454 n. For example, the ranking algorithm 460 can rank the products 454 a-454 n by score and then select a number of products corresponding to a number of unpopulated elements in an unpopulated product display layout (i.e., the highest ranked products needed to fill the unpopulated elements). In this manner, one or more embodiments of the digital merchant content system 100 selects products to utilize in populating unpopulated elements in a custom merchant content template to generate a custom merchant content interface.))
As per claim 7, Hendlin/Cai teach
wherein the display material comprises: one or more of a video file, a sound file, an image file, and a text file; (Hendlin: [0079]-[0080] (In addition, it will be appreciated that the step 138 can also comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces. Indeed, the step 138 can comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces based on a plurality of custom merchant content templates, product information, and/or social networking system data. More specifically, the step 138 can comprise selecting a plurality of custom merchant content templates, populating the selected plurality of custom merchant content templates to generate custom merchant content interfaces, and generating dynamic links between the custom merchant content interfaces. For instance, as mentioned above, the digital merchant content system 100 (via the merchant device 102 and the social networking system 104) can generate a plurality of custom merchant content templates. The social networking system 104 can select a subset of custom merchant content templates from the plurality of custom merchant content templates. For example, the social networking system 104 can utilize product information from a product feed and/or social networking system data to select a subset of custom merchant content templates from a plurality of custom merchant content templates.); [0128] (As shown in FIG. 4B, the custom merchant content template 420 comprises a plurality of content areas 422, 424, and 426. In particular, the content area 422 includes an element 428 that comprises a digital video); [0097]; [0151]; [0164])
As per claim 8, Hendlin/Cai teach further comprising:
acquiring the product display video from the display video library if it is judged that the display video library has therein stored a product display video matching the product display scene and the product display data, or has therein stored a product display video corresponding to the user and the product. (Hendlin: [0079]-[0080] (In addition, it will be appreciated that the step 138 can also comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces. Indeed, the step 138 can comprise generating a plurality of custom merchant content interfaces based on a plurality of custom merchant content templates, product information, and/or social networking system data. More specifically, the step 138 can comprise selecting a plurality of custom merchant content templates, populating the selected plurality of custom merchant content templates to generate custom merchant content interfaces, and generating dynamic links between the custom merchant content interfaces. For instance, as mentioned above, the digital merchant content system 100 (via the merchant device 102 and the social networking system 104) can generate a plurality of custom merchant content templates. The social networking system 104 can select a subset of custom merchant content templates from the plurality of custom merchant content templates. For example, the social networking system 104 can utilize product information from a product feed and/or social networking system data to select a subset of custom merchant content templates from a plurality of custom merchant content templates.); [0128] (As shown in FIG. 4B, the custom merchant content template 420 comprises a plurality of content areas 422, 424, and 426. In particular, the content area 422 includes an element 428 that comprises a digital video); [0097]; [0151]; [0164]; [0045] (For example, a digital image or digital video can be associated with an element such that the digital image or digital video is included with the element in a user interface. As just mentioned, an element can be unpopulated or populated. For example, an unpopulated element can comprise a frame or field that is not associated with a digital media item, whereas, a populated element can comprise a frame or field associated with a digital media item. Moreover, as used herein, the term “product element” refers to an element that includes product information regarding one or more products.); [0187] Moreover, as shown in FIG. 7, the digital merchant content system 100 also includes the custom merchant content template facility 710. The custom merchant content template facility 710 can generate, create, modify, select, update, and/or provide one or more custom merchant content templates. In particular, the custom merchant content template facility 710 can generate one or more custom merchant content templates comprising one or more media content items and an unpopulated product display layout (e.g., media content items specified by a merchant and an unpopulated product display layout specified by a merchant). Moreover, as described above, the custom merchant content template facility 710 can select a subset of custom merchant content templates from a plurality of custom merchant content templates (e.g., based on product information 716 e or social networking system data 716 b).)
As per claims 10 and 11, these claims recite limitations substantially similar to claim 1 and are therefore rejected in the same manner as this claim, as set forth above.
As per claims 12, 15, 16, and 18, these claims are substantially similar to claims 1, 4, 5, and 7, respectively, and are therefore rejected in the same manner as these claims, as set forth above.
As per claim 21, this claim is substantially similar to claim 4, respectively, and is therefore rejected in the same manner as this claim, as set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cohen-Martin (US PGP 2010/0023863) – dynamic generation of video content, a template may be provided including at least one digital media asset and one or more placeholders
Russek (US PGP 2004/0199923) – creation of a personalized story digital media assets based experience
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER V LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3688
/Jeffrey A. Smith/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3688