The amended claims filed 12/23/25 are acknowledged; claims 1-22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kebadze et al. (US 20140374115) in view of Brasted et al. (US 4720214) in further view of Wallerand et al. (US 20190352878; PCT filed 6/15/17).
CLAIM 1: Kebadze discloses a system for tethering a subsea structure (40), the system comprises an anchor (110) embedded in sea bed (12); a flexible tension member (160), wherein the flexible tension member extends horizontally and vertically from a first end to a second end to impart a lateral preload and a vertical preload to the structure (see Fig. 2); and a winch (140) mounted on the anchor, wherein the winch is for paying in and paying out the flexible tension member (paragraph 0048), wherein the first end of the flexible tension member is coupled to the winch and wherein the second end of the flexible tension member is coupled to the subsea structure (see Fig. 2).
Kebadze fails to disclose a mud mat disposed partially above ground-water interface, the mud mat comprises a horizontal plate, wherein the portion of the mud mat below the horizontal plate is disposed below the ground water interface and the portion of the mud mat above the horizontal plate is disposed above the ground-water interface; a link attached to a point of the anchor located below the seafloor and to the mud mat.
Brasted discloses a mud mat.
Brasted discloses a mud mat (42) comprises a horizontal plate (see Fig. 4), wherein the portion of the mud mat below the horizontal plate is disposed below the ground water interface (see Fig. 4) and the portion of the mud mat above the horizontal plate is disposed above the ground-water interface (see Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kebadze to include the mud mat of Brasted with a reasonable expectation of success as Brasted teaches mud mats can be used to resist lateral and vertical movement in the subsea environment (see col. 1, lines 5-12).
Wallerand discloses a mooring system.
Wallerand discloses a mud mat (36) disposed partially above the ground-water interface (see Fig. 3, 5). A link (forerunner) is attached to a point of the anchor located below the ground-water interface and to the mud mat (see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the subsea structure of Kebadze with the mud mat of Wallerand with a reasonable expectation of success because Wallerand teaches the mud mat allows for simpler, exact placement of the parts via crane (see paragraph 0081).
CLAIM 2: Kebadze discloses a system for tethering a subsea structure (40), the system comprises an anchor (110) embedded in sea bed (12); a flexible tension member (160), wherein the flexible tension member extends horizontally and vertically from a first end to a second end to impart a lateral preload and a vertical preload to the structure (see Fig. 2); and a winch (140) mounted on the subsea structure (see paragraph 0073), wherein the winch is for paying in and paying out the flexible tension member (paragraph 0048), wherein the first end of the flexible tension member is coupled to the winch and wherein the second end of the flexible tension member is coupled to the subsea structure (see Fig. 2).
Kebadze fails to disclose a mud mat disposed partially above ground-water interface, the mud mat comprises a horizontal plate, wherein the portion of the mud mat below the horizontal plate is disposed below the ground water interface and the portion of the mud mat above the horizontal plate is disposed above the ground-water interface; a link attached to a point of the anchor located below the seafloor and to the mud mat.
Brasted discloses a mud mat.
Brasted discloses a mud mat (42) comprises a horizontal plate (see Fig. 4), wherein the portion of the mud mat below the horizontal plate is disposed below the ground water interface (see Fig. 4) and the portion of the mud mat above the horizontal plate is disposed above the ground-water interface (see Fig. 4).
Wallerand discloses a mooring system.
Wallerand discloses a mud mat (36) disposed partially above the ground-water interface (see Fig. 3, 5). A link (forerunner) is attached to a point of the anchor located below the ground-water interface and to the mud mat (see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the subsea structure of Kebadze with the mud mat of Wallerand with a reasonable expectation of success because Wallerand teaches the mud mat allows for simpler, exact placement of the parts via crane (see paragraph 0081).
CLAIMS 3 and 14: The anchor (Kebadze, 110) is buried below the ground-water interface (Fig. 18).
CLAIMS 4 and 15: Kebadze-Wallerand fails to disclose the anchor includes one of a torpedo anchor and suction embedded plate anchor (SEPLA); though Kebadze teaches suction anchors (paragraph 0061).
Examiner takes official notice that torpedo anchors are well known in the art as an anchoring means.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the known torpedo anchors with the Kebadze-Wallerand combination with a reasonable expectation of success as the substitution of one known anchor for another in which both anchors secure the system in the seabed.
CLAIMS 5 and 16: The anchor has an upper end disposed above the ground-water interface and a lower end disposed in the seabed below the ground-water interface (see Kebadze, Fig. 18).
CLAIMS 6 and 17: The anchor includes a suction pile (Kebadze, paragraph 0061).
CLAIMS 7 and 18: The subsea structure includes a subsea blow-out preventer (BOP) (Kebadze 41).
CLAIMS 8 and 9: One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious to combine the locations of winches for both at the anchor and at the subsea structure as a redundant measure to ensure that tension could be applied to the member even if one system failed.
CLAIMS 10-13, 19, and 20: These methods are inherent to the above structures.
CLAIM 21: The link and the flexible tension member are configured to impart a downward force to the mud mat upon the link and the flexible tension member being placed under tension (see paragraph 0017, the buried forerunner exerting downward force).
CLAIM 22: The point of the anchor is located so that a center of the mud mat is located on or above an inclined plane joining the point of the anchor to the second end of the flexible tension member (see Fig. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed 12/23/25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The specifics of the type of mud mat used in the claimed invention is better shown by the newly cited art.
Applicant further asserts that the combination of Kebaedze and Wellerand is not proper as they have different tensioning means. However, the cited combination does not use the tensioning means of Wellerand. Instead, as currently used, Wellerand teaches the location of a connection. The location of the connection would function the same with either tensioning means as it is used to resist forces that cause movement, which would occur in either tensioning scheme.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK F LAMBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676