DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of the claims is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Wang (“Determination of External Quantum Efficiency in Semiconductors Using Pulsed Power-Dependent Photoluminescence”). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/28/2026 was filed with a Request for Continued Examination. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mobini et al. (“Spectroscopic Investigation of Yb-Doped Silica Glass for Solid-State Optical Refrigeration”), hereafter Mobini, in view of Wang (“Determination of External Quantum Efficiency in Semiconductors Using Pulsed Power-Dependent Photoluminescence”), hereafter Wang.
Regarding claim 1, Mobini discloses a device (Abstract) comprising: a ytterbium-doped silica glass that is laser cooled using anti-Stokes fluorescence (Abstract) and doped with one or more codopants (pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph) the one or more codopants comprise Aluminum (Al), fluorine (F), phosphorus (P), cerium (Ce), germanium (Ge), or tin (Sn) (pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph discloses Aluminum) and with a ytterbium density (pg. 4 col. 1 ll 3-4) selected to provide suppression of ytterbium-ytterbium interactions in ytterbium ion clustering and mitigation of ytterbium impurity interactions (paragraph bridging pg. 2 col. 2 and pg. 3 col. 1) and the ytterbium -doped silica glass has an internal quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling (pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph). Mobini does not explicitly disclose ytterbium density of up to including 4 wt% or an external quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling. However, Mobini discloses balancing ytterbium density to balance cooling efficiency and quenching concentration (pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph to pg. 5 col. 2 ll. 2) and to prevent ytterbium-ytterbium interactions in ytterbium ion clustering and mitigation of ytterbium impurity interactions that lower internal quantum efficiency (paragraph bridging pg. 2 col. 2 and pg. 3 col. 1). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mobini with ytterbium density of up to including 4 wt%, since Mobini discloses optimizing ytterbium density to balance cooling efficiency and quenching concentration and to prevent ytterbium-ytterbium interactions in ytterbium ion clustering and mitigation of ytterbium impurity interactions that lower internal quantum efficiency and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). As modified, Mobini still does not disclose an external quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling. However, Wang discloses high external quantum efficiency is essential for achieving net cooling in devices (Abstract). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Mobini with an external quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling, since Wang discloses high external quantum efficiency is essential for achieving net cooling in devices and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 2, Mobini further discloses the ytterbium -doped silica glass is laser cooled at a wavelength of about 1020 nm to about 1100 nm (Fig. 4 pg. 4 col. 1 discloses a wavelength of 1030nm).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mobini in view of Wang, as applied claim Deki et al. (JP200495839), hereafter Deki.
Regarding claim 5, Mobini in view of Wang do not explicitly disclose the codopants comprise a first group of Al, P, Ge, and Sn, a second group of Al, F, Ge, and Sn, or a third group of Al, F, Ce, Ge, and Sn. However, Deki discloses the codopants include one or more of aluminum (Al), boron (B), gallium (Ga), indium (In), germanium (Ge), tin (Sn), bismuth (Bi), nitrogen (N), phosphorus (P), yttrium (Yb), oxides thereof ([0042]-[0043]). An advantage is to suppress clustering. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mobini with the codopants comprise a first group of Al, P, Ge, and Sn, a second group of Al, F, Ge, and Sn, or a third group of Al, F, Ce, Ge, and Sn, since Deki discloses the codopants include one or more of aluminum (Al), boron (B), gallium (Ga), indium (In), germanium (Ge), tin (Sn), bismuth (Bi), nitrogen (N), phosphorus (P), yttrium (Yb), oxides thereof in order to suppress clustering, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416), and the Court has held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success requires only ordinary skill in the art1 (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Claims 6-8, 13, 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mobini in view of Epstein (US5447032), hereafter Epstein, in further view of Wang.
Regarding claim 6, Mobini discloses a method for laser cooling rare earth doped silica glass using anti-Stokes fluorescence (Abstract; Fig. 4), the method comprising: providing radiation from a laser at an appropriate wavelength to a first surface (Fig. 4; pg. 4 col. 1) and through a body of the rare earth doped silica glass (Abstract), wherein the rare earth doped silica glass is doped with one or more codopants (Abstract; pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph) wherein the one or more codopants comprise Aluminum (Al), fluorine (F), phosphorus (P), cerium (Ce), germanium (Ge), or tin (Sn) (pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph discloses Aluminum), wherein the one or more rare earth elements comprise cerium (Ce), dysprosium (Dy), erbium (Er), europium (Eu), gadolinium (Gd), holmium (Ho), lanthanum (La), lutetium (Lu), neodymium (Nd), praseodymium (Pr), promethium (Pm), samarium (Sm), scandium (Sc), terbium (Tb), thulium (Tm), ytterbium (Yb) with a ytterbium density (pg. 4 col. 1 ll 3-4) selected to provide suppression of ytterbium-ytterbium interactions in ytterbium ion clustering and mitigation of ytterbium impurity interactions (paragraph bridging pg. 2 col. 2 and pg. 3 col. 1), or yttrium (Y) (Abstract) and the ytterbium -doped silica glass has an internal quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling (pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph). Mobini does not explicitly disclose the laser is a continuous wave laser, the ytterbium density of up to including 4 wt%, or an external quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling. However, Mobini discloses balancing ytterbium density to balance cooling efficiency and quenching concentration (pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph to pg. 5 col. 2 ll. 2) and to prevent ytterbium-ytterbium interactions in ytterbium ion clustering and mitigation of ytterbium impurity interactions that lower internal quantum efficiency (paragraph bridging pg. 2 col. 2 and pg. 3 col. 1). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mobini with ytterbium density of up to including 4 wt%, since Mobini discloses optimizing ytterbium density to balance cooling efficiency and quenching concentration and to prevent ytterbium-ytterbium interactions in ytterbium ion clustering and mitigation of ytterbium impurity interactions that lower internal quantum efficiency and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Mobini still does not explicitly disclose the laser is a continuous wave laser or an external quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling. However, Epstein discloses the laser is a continuous wave laser (col. 6 ll. 58-60; col. 8 ll. 40-41). An advantage, as is known in the art, is to use a single device to determine the optimal wavelength for pumping the device to cause cooling. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mobini with the laser is a continuous wave laser as disclosed by Epstein in order to use a single device to determine the optimal wavelength for pumping the device to cause cooling. Mobini in view of Epstein do not explicitly disclose or an external quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling. However, Wang discloses high external quantum efficiency is essential for achieving net cooling in devices (Abstract). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Mobini with an external quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling, since Wang discloses high external quantum efficiency is essential for achieving net cooling in devices and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 7, Mobini further discloses changing a wavelength from a first wavelength to a second wavelength; monitoring the rare earth doped silica glass using a thermally sensitive device during the changing and determining a third wavelength between the first wavelength and the second wavelength where the rare earth doped silica glass is maximumly or near maximumly cooled based on the monitoring (pg. 4 col. 1; Fig. 4). Mobini does not explicitly disclose the laser is a continuous wave laser and the wavelength is changed by tuning the laser. However, Epstein discloses the laser is a continuous wave laser and the wavelength is changed by tuning the laser (col. 6 ll. 58-60; col. 8 ll. 40-41). An advantage, as is known in the art, is to use a single device to determine the optimal wavelength for pumping the device to cause cooling. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mobini with the laser is a continuous wave laser and the wavelength is changed by tuning the laser as disclosed by Epstein in order to use a single device to determine the optimal wavelength for pumping the device to cause cooling.
Regarding claim 8, Mobini further discloses the thermally sensitive device comprises a thermal camera or a thermometer or other methods of the temperature measurement (pg. 4 col 1 discloses measuring the temperature that at least constitutes “other methods”).
Regarding claim 13, Mobini discloses a method for laser cooling rare earth doped silica glass using anti-Stokes fluorescence (Abstract; Fig. 4), the method comprising: providing radiation from a laser to a first surface (Fig. 4; pg. 4 col. 1) and through a body of the rare earth doped and codoped with one or more codopants silica glass (Abstract; pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph) wherein the one or more codopants comprise Aluminum (Al), fluorine (F), phosphorus (P), cerium (Ce), germanium (Ge), or tin (Sn) (pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph discloses Aluminum), wherein the one or more rare earth elements comprise cerium (Ce), dysprosium (Dy), erbium (Er), europium (Eu), gadolinium (Gd), holmium (Ho), lanthanum (La), lutetium (Lu), neodymium (Nd), praseodymium (Pr), promethium (Pm), samarium (Sm), scandium (Sc), terbium (Tb), thulium (Tm), ytterbium (Yb) with a ytterbium density (pg. 4 col. 1 ll 3-4) selected to provide suppression of ytterbium-ytterbium interactions in ytterbium ion clustering and mitigation of ytterbium impurity interactions (paragraph bridging pg. 2 col. 2 and pg. 3 col. 1), or yttrium (Y) (Abstract); changing the laser from a first wavelength to a second wavelength (pg. 4 col. 1; Fig. 4); monitoring the rare earth doped silica glass using a thermally sensitive device during the changing (pg. 4 col. 1; Fig. 4); and determining a third wavelength between the first wavelength and the second wavelength where the rare earth doped silica glass is maximumly or near maximumly cooled based on the monitoring (pg. 4 col. 1; Fig. 4) and the ytterbium -doped silica glass has an internal quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling (pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph). Mobini does not explicitly disclose ytterbium density of up to including 4 wt%, the wavelength is changed by tuning the laser, or an external quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling. However, Mobini discloses balancing ytterbium density to balance cooling efficiency and quenching concentration (pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph to pg. 5 col. 2 ll. 2) and to prevent ytterbium-ytterbium interactions in ytterbium ion clustering and mitigation of ytterbium impurity interactions that lower internal quantum efficiency (paragraph bridging pg. 2 col. 2 and pg. 3 col. 1). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mobini with ytterbium density of up to including 4 wt%, since Mobini discloses optimizing ytterbium density to balance cooling efficiency and quenching concentration and to prevent ytterbium-ytterbium interactions in ytterbium ion clustering and mitigation of ytterbium impurity interactions that lower internal quantum efficiency and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Mobini still does not explicitly disclose the wavelength is changed by tuning the laser or the one or an external quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling. However, Epstein discloses the laser is a continuous wave laser and the wavelength is changed by tuning the laser (col. 6 ll. 58-60; col. 8 ll. 40-41). An advantage, as is known in the art, is to use a single device to determine the optimal wavelength for pumping the device to cause cooling. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mobini with the wavelength is changed by tuning the laser as disclosed by Epstein in order to use a single device to determine the optimal wavelength for pumping the device to cause cooling. Mobini in view of Epstein do not explicitly disclose or an external quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling. However, Wang discloses high external quantum efficiency is essential for achieving net cooling in devices (Abstract). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Mobini with an external quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling, since Wang discloses high external quantum efficiency is essential for achieving net cooling in devices and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 16, Mobini further discloses the first wavelength is around 1020 nm and the second wavelength is around 1100 nm (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Epstein further discloses redirecting the radiation to a second surface of the material (Fig. 6 element 28b).
Regarding claim 19, Epstein further discloses the material is arranged in a vacuum chamber (col. 2 ll. 34-35). Mobini in view of Epstein do not explicitly disclose the chamber is reduced to a pressure of about 10-6 torr. However, the Office takes Official Notice that the chamber is reduced to a pressure of about 10-6 torr is well known in the art. An advantage is to achieve the necessary vacuum to prevent delirious effects caused by an atmosphere in the cell based on the intended use. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mobini in view of Epstein in further view of Deki with the chamber is reduced to a pressure of about 10-6 torr as is known in the art in order to achieve the necessary vacuum to prevent delirious effects caused by an atmosphere in the cell based on the intended use and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 20, Epstein further discloses the material is arranged in a multiple-pass or long path absorption cell (Fig. 6; col. 8 ll. 1-6). An advantage is to increase the pathlength of the excitation radiation (col. 8 ll. 1-6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Mobini in view of Epstein in further view of Deki with the material is arranged in a multiple-pass or long path absorption cell as disclosed by Epstein in order to increase the pathlength of the excitation radiation.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mobini in view of Epstein in further view of Wang, as applied to claim 6, in further view of Deki.
Regarding claim 12, Mobini in view of Epstein in further view of Wang do not explicitly disclose the codopants comprise a first group of Al, P, Ge, and Sn, a second group of Al, F, Ge, and Sn, or a third group of Al, F, Ce, Ge, and Sn. However, Deki discloses the codopants include one or more of aluminum (Al), boron (B), gallium (Ga), indium (In), germanium (Ge), tin (Sn), bismuth (Bi), nitrogen (N), phosphorus (P), yttrium (Yb), oxides thereof ([0042]-[0043]). An advantage is to suppress clustering. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Mobini in view of Epstein in further view of Wang with the codopants comprise a first group of Al, P, Ge, and Sn, a second group of Al, F, Ge, and Sn, or a third group of Al, F, Ce, Ge, and Sn, since Deki discloses the codopants include one or more of aluminum (Al), boron (B), gallium (Ga), indium (In), germanium (Ge), tin (Sn), bismuth (Bi), nitrogen (N), phosphorus (P), yttrium (Yb), oxides thereof in order to suppress clustering, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416), and the Court has held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success requires only ordinary skill in the art2 (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Claims 22, 26, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mobini in view of Epstein in further view of Hehlen (“Solid-State Optical Refrigeration”)3, hereafter Hehlen, in further view of Wang.
Regarding claim 22, Mobini discloses a system for laser cooling rare earth doped silica glass using anti-Stokes fluorescence (Title; Abstract), the system comprising: a rare earth doped and codoped with one or more codopants silica glass (Abstract; pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph) wherein the one or more codopants comprise Aluminum (Al), fluorine (F), phosphorus (P), cerium (Ce), germanium (Ge), or tin (Sn) (pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph discloses Aluminum), wherein the rare earth doped silica glass is doped with one or more codopants (Abstract; pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph), wherein the one or more rare earth elements comprise cerium (Ce), dysprosium (Dy), erbium (Er), europium (Eu), gadolinium (Gd), holmium (Ho), lanthanum (La), lutetium (Lu), neodymium (Nd), praseodymium (Pr), promethium (Pm), samarium (Sm), scandium (Sc), terbium (Tb), thulium (Tm), ytterbium (Yb) with a ytterbium density (pg. 4 col. 1 ll 3-4) selected to provide suppression of ytterbium-ytterbium interactions in ytterbium ion clustering and mitigation of ytterbium impurity interactions (paragraph bridging pg. 2 col. 2 and pg. 3 col. 1), or yttrium (Y) (Abstract); a laser that provides radiation to a first surface and through a body of the rare earth doped silica glass (Fig. 4; pg. 4 col. 1), wherein the wavelength is changed from a first wavelength to a second wavelength (Fig. 4); measuring the temperature of the rare earth doped silica glass as the wavelength is changed and determines a third wavelength between the first wavelength (pg. 4 col. 1) and the second wavelength where the rare earth doped silica glass is maximumly or near maximumly cooled (Fig. 4) and the ytterbium -doped silica glass has an internal quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling (pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph). Mobini does not explicitly disclose tuning the laser to change the wavelength, a thermally sensitive device that captures images, the ytterbium density of up to including 4 wt%, or an external quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling. However, Mobini discloses balancing ytterbium density to balance cooling efficiency and quenching concentration (pg. 5 col. 1 first full paragraph to pg. 5 col. 2 ll. 2) and to prevent ytterbium-ytterbium interactions in ytterbium ion clustering and mitigation of ytterbium impurity interactions that lower internal quantum efficiency (paragraph bridging pg. 2 col. 2 and pg. 3 col. 1). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mobini with ytterbium density of up to including 4 wt%, since Mobini discloses optimizing ytterbium density to balance cooling efficiency and quenching concentration and to prevent ytterbium-ytterbium interactions in ytterbium ion clustering and mitigation of ytterbium impurity interactions that lower internal quantum efficiency and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Mobini still does not explicitly disclose tuning the laser to change the wavelength, a thermally sensitive device that captures images, or an external quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling. However, Epstein discloses tuning the laser to change the wavelength (col. 6 ll. 58-60; col. 8 ll. 40-41). An advantage, as is known in the art, is to use a single device to determine the optimal wavelength for pumping the device to cause cooling. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mobini with the wavelength is changed by tuning the laser as disclosed by Epstein in order to use a single device to determine the optimal wavelength for pumping the device to cause cooling. Mobini in view of Epstein do not explicitly disclose a thermally sensitive device that captures images or an external quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling. However, Hehlen discloses measuring the temperature by a thermally sensitive device that captures images (pg. 233 paragraph 1). An advantage, as is known in the art, is to remotely detect the temperature. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Mobini in view of Epstein with measuring the temperature by a thermally sensitive device that captures images as disclosed by Hehlen in order to remotely detect the temperature. Mobini in view of Epstein in further view of Hehlen do not explicitly disclose an external quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling. However, Wang discloses high external quantum efficiency is essential for achieving net cooling in devices (Abstract). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Mobini in view of Epstein in further view of Hehlen with an external quantum efficiency of at least 97% to allow for laser cooling, since Wang discloses high external quantum efficiency is essential for achieving net cooling in devices and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 26, Mobini further discloses the first wavelength is around 1020 nm and the second wavelength is around 1100 nm (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 28, Epstein further discloses the material is arranged in a vacuum chamber (col. 2 ll. 34-35). Mobini in view of Epstein in further view of Hehlen do not explicitly disclose the chamber is reduced to a pressure of about 10-6 torr. However, the Office takes Official Notice that the chamber is reduced to a pressure of about 10-6 torr is well known in the art. An advantage is to achieve the necessary vacuum to prevent delirious effects caused by an atmosphere in the cell based on the intended use. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mobini in view of Epstein in further view of Hehlen in further view of Deki with the chamber is reduced to a pressure of about 10-6 torr as is known in the art in order to achieve the necessary vacuum to prevent delirious effects caused by an atmosphere in the cell based on the intended use and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 29, Epstein further discloses the material is arranged in a multiple-pass or long path absorption cell (Fig. 6; col. 8 ll. 1-6). An advantage is to increase the pathlength of the excitation radiation (col. 8 ll. 1-6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Mobini in view of Epstein in further view of Hehlen in further view of Deki with the material is arranged in a multiple-pass or long path absorption cell as disclosed by Epstein in order to increase the pathlength of the excitation radiation.
Conclusion
Relevant art for determining the teaching of Mobini, but does not constitute prior art:
“Laser Cooling of Ytterbium-Doped Silica Glass” discloses “The non-radiative decay channels related to the concentration quenching are mainly due to the dipole–dipole interactions between Yb ions and impurities, which include OH−, transition metals, and undesirable RE ions, as well as Yb–Yb interactions in Yb ion clusters. Developing a high-purity Yb-doped silica glass is therefore required to avoid the interactions between the Yb ions and impurities16.” 16. Mobini, E., Peysokhan, M., Abaie, B., Hehlen, M. P. & Mafi, A. Spectroscopic investigation of Yb-doped silica glass for solid-state optical refrigeration. Phys. Rev. Appl. 11, 014066 (2019).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited.
/Joshua King/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828 06/09/2026
1 Mobini discloses clustering to be problematic and suggest reducing the problem by incorporating aluminum with ytterbium. Deki discloses a similar issue with clustering and suggests using multiple codopants including Al, P, Ge, and Sn in combinations to reduce clustering. Finally, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success based on the limited number of elements suggested by Deki and because the problem of clustering is well recognized.
2 Mobini discloses clustering to be problematic and suggest reducing the problem by incorporating aluminum with ytterbium. Deki discloses a similar issue with clustering and suggests using multiple codopants including Al, P, Ge, and Sn in combinations to reduce clustering. Finally, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success based on the limited number of elements suggested by Deki and because the problem of clustering is well recognized.
3 Cite No. 3 in the IDS filed 04/21/2022.