DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 28-30, 33-36 and 49-54 are pending in the application as of the RCE filed 12/19/2025. Claim 1-27, 31-32 and 37-48 are cancelled. Claims 28-30, 33-36 and 49-54 examined herein.
The 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of previous record are withdrawn in consideration of the claim amendments. A new 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is made in view of the claim amendments.
Applicants arguments have been fully considered. Applicants arguments over the 102/103 rejections are rendered moot since these rejections are withdrawn.
Applicants arguments over the double patenting rejections have been fully considered and are addressed below. In consideration of the claim amendments, the double patenting rejection of record over the '704 co-pending application is changed from a “statutory” to “non-statutory” category. All other non-statutory double patenting rejections are maintained and updated. A new non-statutory double patenting rejection over co-pending application 18/734,144 is made.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/KR2020/014399 filed 10/21/2020 and claims foreign priority to KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2019-0130384 filed 10/21/2019.
It is noted that Applicants have not provided an English translation of the certified copy of the foreign priority application as required by 35 U.S.C. 119(b). Without the English translation, one cannot ascertain if the instant invention is supported in the Korean application. Therefore, art prior to the PCT date, but not before the date of the Korean application may be cited against the claims. Accordingly, claims 28-30, 33-36 and 49-54 have been afforded an effective filing date of 10/21/2020, the filing date of the PCT application.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - New
Claims 28-30, 33-36 and 49-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (WO 2016/137260 A1, 01 September 2016, hereinafter Park) in view of Conn et al. (WO 2012/125732 A1, 20 September 2012, hereinafter Conn, in the IDS).
Regarding instant claims 28, 33-35 and 49-54, Park teaches a method for the prevention and/or treatment of disorders mediated by glutamate dysfunction and mGluR5, comprising the step of administering a therapeutically effective amount of the compound of Chemical Formula (1) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof to a patient in need thereof (Paras. [481]-[482]; Paras. [9]-[19]). Park teaches the salts include solvates and hydrates (Para. [474]).
Park teaches the following exemplary compounds of Example 2 (Paras. [516]-[520]) and Example 102 (Paras. [1095]-[1098]).
Example 2 Example 102
The above compounds fall within the scope of instant Chemical Formula 1 wherein
X is CH;
Z is O;
R1 is C6 aryl – unsubstituted phenyl (Example 2), fluoro substituted phenyl (Example 102);
R2 is C6 aryl – unsubstituted phenyl (Example 2), 6-membered unsaturated heterocyclyl having 1 N heteroatom (pyridyl) (Example 102).
The above compounds further fall within the scope of instant claims 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54 (6-(4-fluorophenyl)-2-(pyridin-2-yloxymethyl)imidazo[1,2-a]pyrimidine).
Park teaches treating a cognitive disorder such as schizophrenia (Para. [482]). Park teaches the compounds act as positive allosteric modulators of metabotropic glutamate receptor subtype 5 (mGluR5) (Para. [7]; Para. [468]; Para. [498]; Paras. [1687]-[1696]; Table 1). Park teaches glutamate is the most prevalent excitatory neurotransmitter in the central nervous system (CNS) of mammals and plays an important role in numerous physiological functions such as perception and recognition, and synaptogenesis as well as learning and memory (Para. [2]). Park teaches modulators of mGluR5 receptors could be therapeutically beneficial in the treatment of various CNS diseases (Para. [5]). Park teaches the patient may be a mammal, preferably a human (Para. [482]). Park teaches an effective amount of 0.1 to 500 mg/kg (body weight), preferably 0.5 to 100 mg/kg (body weight) per day in case of mammals including a human, of the compound of Chemical Formula (1) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt (Para. [479]).
Park do not teach wherein the disease associated with cognitive disorder is selected from the group consisting of mild cognitive impairment, Alzheimer's disease, Alzheimer type dementia, presenile dementia, early onset Alzheimer's disease, senile dementia, Lewy body corpuscle dementia, micro-infarct dementia, AIDS-related dementia, HIV-dementia, dementia associated with Lewy bodies, Down's syndrome associated dementia, Pick's disease, recent short-term memory impairment, age-associated cognitive disorder, age-associated memory impairment, drug-associated cognitive disorder, immunodeficiency syndrome-associated cognitive disorder, vascular disease-associated cognitive impairment, Parkinson's disease-associated cognitive impairment, cognitive disorders associated with epilepsy, depression-associated cognitive disorder, cognitive disorders associated with bipolar disorder, obsessive compulsive disorder-associated cognitive disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, attention deficit disorder, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, and learning deficit disorder.
Conn teaches methods of treating, preventing, ameliorating, controlling or reducing the risk of a variety of neurological disorders associated with glutamate dysfunction, facilitated by the neuromodulatory effect of allosteric modulators of mGluR5, e.g. positive allosteric modulators thereof (Para. [00352]). Conn teaches disorders associated with glutamate dysfunction that can be treated with positive allosteric modulators is a central nervous system disorder, such as a cognitive disorder selected from the group of … dementia, dementia due to HIV disease, dementia due to Huntington's disease, dementia due to Parkinson's disease, dementia of the Alzheimer's type, substance-induced persisting dementia and mild cognitive impairment (Para. [00369]; Para. [00446]). Conn teaches the conditions amenable to treatment with positive allosteric modulators include dementia (including AIDS-induced dementia), Alzheimer's disease, … cognitive disorders, … anxiety (including generalized anxiety disorder, panic disorder, and obsessive compulsive disorder), mood disorders (including depression, mania, bipolar disorders), … attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, and conduct disorder (Para. [00353]; Para. [00359]; Paras. [00368]-[00369]). Conn teaches the conditions amenable to treatment with positive allosteric modulators include dementia, delirium, amnestic disorders, age-related cognitive decline (Para. [00356]), posttraumatic stress disorder (Para. [00358]; Para. [00360]). Conn teaches enhancing cognition in a mammal comprising administering the positive allosteric modulators of mGluR5 (Para. [0028]). Conn teaches an allosteric potentiator does not induce desensitization of the receptor and activity of a compound as an mGluR5 receptor allosteric potentiator provides advantages of increased safety margin, higher tolerability, diminished potential for abuse, reduced toxicity and rapid onset of action over the use of a pure mGluR5 receptor allosteric agonist (Paras. [0056]-[0058]). The methods of Conn relate to the treatment of mammals (Para. [0060]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Park and Conn, to have utilized the compounds of Chemical Formula (1) of Park, taught to be positive allosteric modulators of metabotropic glutamate receptor subtype 5 (mGluR5), in the treatment of conditions associated with cognitive disorder, wherein the subject is a mammal, to arrive at the method of the instant claims with a reasonable and predictable expectation of success.
Park teaches a method for the prevention and/or treatment of disorders mediated by glutamate dysfunction and mGluR5, comprising the step of administering a therapeutically effective amount of the compound of Chemical Formula (1) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof to a patient in need thereof. Compounds of Chemical Formula (1) of Park anticipate the instant compounds of Chemical Formula 1 and are positive allosteric modulators of metabotropic glutamate receptor subtype 5 (mGluR5). Park teaches treating a cognitive disorder such as schizophrenia. Park teaches glutamate is the most prevalent excitatory neurotransmitter in the central nervous system (CNS) of mammals and plays an important role in numerous physiological functions such as perception and recognition, and synaptogenesis as well as learning and memory. Park teaches modulators of mGluR5 receptors could be therapeutically beneficial in the treatment of various CNS diseases. Conn teaches methods of treating, preventing, ameliorating, controlling or reducing the risk of a variety of neurological disorders associated with glutamate dysfunction, facilitated by the neuromodulatory effect of allosteric modulators of mGluR5, e.g. positive allosteric modulators thereof. Conn teaches disorders associated with glutamate dysfunction that can be treated with positive allosteric modulators is a central nervous system disorder, such as a cognitive disorder selected from the group of … dementia, dementia due to HIV disease, dementia due to Huntington's disease, dementia due to Parkinson's disease, dementia of the Alzheimer's type, substance-induced persisting dementia and mild cognitive impairment. Conn teaches other conditions that are amenable to treatment with positive allosteric modulators include dementia (including AIDS-induced dementia), Alzheimer's disease, attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, conduct disorder, amnestic disorders, age-related cognitive decline, posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD). Conn teaches an allosteric potentiator does not induce desensitization of the receptor and activity of a compound as an mGluR5 receptor allosteric potentiator provides advantages of increased safety margin, higher tolerability, diminished potential for abuse, reduced toxicity and rapid onset of action over the use of a pure mGluR5 receptor allosteric agonist.
It is clear that Park teaches a method of treating a CNS condition by administering a therapeutically effective amount of a positive allosteric modulators of metabotropic glutamate receptor subtype 5 (mGluR5) compound, wherein the compound anticipates the instant compounds. Conn teaches various conditions that are responsive to the neuromodulatory effect of positive allosteric modulators of mGluR5. Conn lists the conditions include dementia, dementia due to HIV disease, dementia due to Huntington's disease, dementia due to Parkinson's disease, dementia of the Alzheimer's type, substance-induced persisting dementia, mild cognitive impairment, dementia (including AIDS-induced dementia), Alzheimer's disease, attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, conduct disorder, amnestic disorders, age-related cognitive decline, posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the method of Park in the treatment of a disease associated with cognitive disorder as instantly claimed. The motivation being extend the advantageous effects of the positive allosteric modulators of mGluR5 to the treatment of other CNS diseases (Conn, Paras. [0056]-[0058]).
Regarding instant claims 29-30, the combined teachings of Park and Conn render the method of instant claim 28, prima facie obvious. The combined teachings of Park and Conn render the active step of administering the same composition (i.e., an imidazopyrimidine or imidazotriazine compound of Chemical Formula 1) to the same patient population (i.e., a subject with a disease associated with a cognitive disorder). In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the method of Park, when practiced in treating a subject afflicted with a disease associated with a cognitive disorder or for improving cognitive function (in view of Conn) would have necessarily resulted in the same treatment effects, i.e., alleviated or treated symptoms associated with the disease.
Moreover, Conn teaches “treatment” by the positive allosteric modulation of metabotropic glutamate receptor activity (mGluR5), includes palliative treatment, i.e., symptom relief (Para. [0061]; [00437]). Conn teaches treatment by positive allosteric modulation mGluR5 includes disorders or conditions comprising as a symptom a deficiency in attention and/or cognition (Paras. [00446]-[00447]).
Therefore, the limitations of instant claims 29-30 drawn to treating the symptoms are rendered prima facie obvious.
Regarding instant claim 36, the combined teachings of Park and Conn render the method of instant claim 28, prima facie obvious. Park do not teach wherein one or more drugs selected from the group consisting of dimethylamylamine, methylphenidate, amphetamine, tacrine, rivastigmine, galantamine, donepezil, memantine, tolcapone, levodopa, atomoxetine, clonidine, pramipexole, guanfacine, and fexofenadine are additionally administered.
Conn teaches the compounds can be used as single agents or in combination with one or more other drugs in the treatment, prevention, control, amelioration or reduction of risk of diseases, disorders and conditions, wherein the combination results in safer and more efficacious treatment than the single agents alone (Para. [00380]). Conn teaches the coadministration with various additional therapeutic agents (Para. [00381]-[00382]) including levodopa (Para. [00383]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Park and Conn, to have further used combination therapy in the treatment of disorders mediated by glutamate dysfunction mGluR5, as taught by Conn to arrive at the method of instant claim 36, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation being to effect a more efficacious treatment (Conn, Para. [00380]).
Double Patenting – Updated
Claims 28-30, 33-36 and 49-54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 28, 34-36 and 46-51 of co-pending Application No 17/770,704 in view of Park et al. (WO 2016/137260 A1, 01 September 2016, hereinafter Park) and Conn et al. (WO 2012/125732 A1, 20 September 2012, hereinafter Conn, in the IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both set of claims are drawn to a method for improving cognitive dysfunction in a subject by administering a compound of Chemical Formula 1 to the subject in need thereof.
The instant claims are drawn to a method for alleviation or treatment of a disease associated with cognitive disorder, or for improving cognitive function in a subject, comprising: administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of an imidazopyrimidine or imidazotriazine compound of Chemical Formula 1, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate or hydrate thereof.
The claims of the reference ‘704 application are drawn to method for alleviation or treatment of developmental disorder, or for improving cognitive function in a subject, comprising: administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of an imidazopyrimidine or imidazotriazine compound of Chemical Formula 1, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate or hydrate thereof.
The claims of the reference ‘704 application anticipate a method for improving cognitive dysfunction in a subject of the instant claims. Claims 28, and 46-51 of the reference ‘704 application anticipates the compounds of instant Chemical Formula 1 of instant claims 28 and 49-54. Specifically, the species of compounds of reference claim 51 anticipates the species of compounds of instant claim 54 and the genus of Chemical Formula 1. Claims 34-36 anticipate the subject population, dosages and combination therapy of instant claims 33-36. The ‘704 application does not teach treating a disease associated with a cognitive disorder.
Park teaches the compounds of Chemical Formula (1) (Paras. [14]-[466]) as positive allosteric modulators of metabotropic glutamate receptor 5 activity (mGluR5) (Para. [7]; Para. [468]; Para. [498]; Paras. [1687]-[1696]; Table 1). The compounds of Chemical Formula (1) of Park anticipates the instant compounds (see 103 rejection above).
Conn teaches various disorders associated with glutamate dysfunction that can be treated with positive allosteric modulators is a central nervous system disorder, such as a cognitive disorder selected from the group of … dementia, dementia due to HIV disease, dementia due to Huntington's disease, dementia due to Parkinson's disease, dementia of the Alzheimer's type, substance-induced persisting dementia and mild cognitive impairment (Para. [00369]; Para. [00446]). Conn teaches the conditions amenable to treatment with positive allosteric modulators include dementia (including AIDS-induced dementia), Alzheimer's disease, … cognitive disorders, … anxiety (including generalized anxiety disorder, panic disorder, and obsessive compulsive disorder), mood disorders (including depression, mania, bipolar disorders), … attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, and conduct disorder (Para. [00353]; Para. [00359]; Paras. [00368]-[00369]). Conn teaches the conditions amenable to treatment with positive allosteric modulators include dementia, delirium, amnestic disorders, age-related cognitive decline (Para. [00356]), posttraumatic stress disorder (Para. [00358]; Para. [00360]). Conn teaches treatment by positive allosteric modulation mGluR5 includes disorders or conditions comprising as a symptom a deficiency in attention and/or cognition (Paras. [00446]-[00447]).
Therefore, the teachings of the ‘704 application in view of Park and Conn render the method of the instant claims prima facie obvious.
The instant claims 28-30, 33-36 and 49-54 and claims 28, 34-36 and 46-51 of co-pending Application No 17/770,704 are therefore not patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 28-30, 33-36 and 49-54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21 and 29-39 of co-pending Application No 18/734,144 in view of Park et al. (WO 2016/137260 A1, 01 September 2016, hereinafter Park) and Conn et al. (WO 2012/125732 A1, 20 September 2012, hereinafter Conn, in the IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both set of claims are drawn to compounds of Chemical Formula 1 having overlapping scope.
The instant claims are drawn to a method for alleviation or treatment of a disease associated with cognitive disorder, or for improving cognitive function in a subject, comprising: administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of an imidazopyrimidine or imidazotriazine compound of Chemical Formula 1, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate or hydrate thereof.
The claims of the reference ‘144 application are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Chemical Formula (1), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or excipient.
The compounds of claims 21and 29-39, of the reference ‘144 application anticipate the compounds of Chemical Formula 1 of instant claims 28 and 49-54 and the dosage of instant claim 35. The reference ‘144 application specifically recites the species of compounds that anticipate the instant genus. i.e., claim 39 of reference application (shown below) anticipates the species of compounds of instant claim 54.
The ‘144 application does not teach treating a disease associated with a cognitive disorder or improving cognitive function.
Park teaches the compounds of Chemical Formula (1) (Paras. [14]-[466]) as positive allosteric modulators of metabotropic glutamate receptor 5 activity (mGluR5) (Para. [7]; Para. [468]; Para. [498]; Paras. [1687]-[1696]; Table 1). The compounds of Chemical Formula (1) of Park anticipates the instant compounds (see 103 rejection above).
Conn teaches various disorders associated with glutamate dysfunction that can be treated with positive allosteric modulators is a central nervous system disorder, such as a cognitive disorder selected from the group of … dementia, dementia due to HIV disease, dementia due to Huntington's disease, dementia due to Parkinson's disease, dementia of the Alzheimer's type, substance-induced persisting dementia and mild cognitive impairment (Para. [00369]; Para. [00446]). Conn teaches the conditions amenable to treatment with positive allosteric modulators include dementia (including AIDS-induced dementia), Alzheimer's disease, … cognitive disorders, … anxiety (including generalized anxiety disorder, panic disorder, and obsessive compulsive disorder), mood disorders (including depression, mania, bipolar disorders), … attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, and conduct disorder (Para. [00353]; Para. [00359]; Paras. [00368]-[00369]). Conn teaches the conditions amenable to treatment with positive allosteric modulators include dementia, delirium, amnestic disorders, age-related cognitive decline (Para. [00356]), posttraumatic stress disorder (Para. [00358]; Para. [00360]). Conn teaches treatment by positive allosteric modulation mGluR5 includes disorders or conditions comprising as a symptom a deficiency in attention and/or cognition (Paras. [00446]-[00447]).
Therefore, a PHOSITA would have been motivated to utilize the composition of the reference ‘144 application in a method of alleviating or treating a disease associated with cognitive disorder or for improving cognitive function. Thus, the teachings of the ‘144 application in view of Park and Conn render the method of the instant claims prima facie obvious.
The instant claims 28-30, 34-36 and 49-54 and claims 21 and 29-39 of co-pending Application No 18/734,144 are therefore not patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 28-30, 33 and 49-54 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 9,745,310 B2 in view of Conn et al. (WO 2012/125732 A1, 20 September 2012, hereinafter Conn, in the IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both set of claims are drawn to compounds of Chemical Formula 1 having overlapping scope.
The instant claims are drawn to a method for alleviation or treatment of a disease associated with cognitive disorder, or for improving cognitive function in a subject, comprising: administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of an imidazopyrimidine or imidazotriazine compound of Chemical Formula 1, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate or hydrate thereof.
The claims of the reference ‘310 patent are drawn to a compound of Chemical Formula (1) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, with variables as defined in claim 1 of the reference ‘310 patent.
The compounds of claims 1-19 of the reference ‘310 patent anticipates the compounds of instant Chemical Formula 1 of instant claims 28 and 49-54. In accordance with MPEP 804(II)(B)(1) to ascertain the scope of reference claims drawn to a compound, looking into the disclosure of the ‘310 patent for utility of the reference compounds, the reference compounds are taught to be positive allosteric modulators of metabotropic glutamate receptor 5 activity (mGluR5) for use in the treatment of disorders mediated by glutamate dysfunction (Col. 1, Lns. 15-26; Col. 2, Lns. 15-31). The claims of the reference ‘310 patent do not teach a method for alleviation or treatment of a disease associated with cognitive disorder, or for improving cognitive function in a subject.
Conn teaches various disorders associated with glutamate dysfunction that can be treated with positive allosteric modulators is a central nervous system disorder, such as a cognitive disorder selected from the group of … dementia, dementia due to HIV disease, dementia due to Huntington's disease, dementia due to Parkinson's disease, dementia of the Alzheimer's type, substance-induced persisting dementia and mild cognitive impairment (Para. [00369]; Para. [00446]). Conn teaches the conditions amenable to treatment with positive allosteric modulators include dementia (including AIDS-induced dementia), Alzheimer's disease, … cognitive disorders, … anxiety (including generalized anxiety disorder, panic disorder, and obsessive compulsive disorder), mood disorders (including depression, mania, bipolar disorders), … attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, and conduct disorder (Para. [00353]; Para. [00359]; Paras. [00368]-[00369]). Conn teaches the conditions amenable to treatment with positive allosteric modulators include dementia, delirium, amnestic disorders, age-related cognitive decline (Para. [00356]), posttraumatic stress disorder (Para. [00358]; Para. [00360]). Conn teaches “treatment” by the positive allosteric modulation of metabotropic glutamate receptor activity (mGluR5), includes palliative treatment, i.e., symptom relief (Para. [0061]; [00437]). Conn teaches treatment by positive allosteric modulation mGluR5 includes disorders or conditions comprising as a symptom a deficiency in attention and/or cognition (Paras. [00446]-[00447]).
Therefore, a PHOSITA would have been motivated to utilize the compounds of the reference ‘310 patent in a method of alleviating or treating a disease associated with cognitive disorder or for improving cognitive function. Thus, the teachings of the reference ‘310 patent in view of Conn render the method for alleviation or treatment of a disease associated with cognitive disorder, or for improving cognitive function in a subject of the instant claims prima facie obvious.
The instant claims 28-30, 33 and 49-54 and claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 9,745,310 B2 are therefore not patentably distinct.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 28-30, 33 and 49-54 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,100,057 B2 in view of Conn et al. (WO 2012/125732 A1, 20 September 2012, hereinafter Conn, in the IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both set of claims are drawn to a method of treating a disorder mediated by glutamate dysfunction comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Chemical Formula 1 having overlapping scope.
The instant claims are drawn to a method for alleviation or treatment of a disease associated with cognitive disorder, or for improving cognitive function in a subject, comprising: administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of an imidazopyrimidine or imidazotriazine compound of Chemical Formula 1, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate or hydrate thereof.
The claims of the reference ‘057 patent are drawn to a method for treating a disorder mediated by glutamate dysfunction and metabotropic glutamate receptor subtype 5 (mGluR5), wherein the disorder is schizophrenia , comprising: administering to a subject in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Chemical Formula (I), with variables as defined in claim 1 of the reference ‘057 patent.
The compounds of claims 1-18 of the reference ‘057 patent anticipates the compounds of instant Chemical Formula 1 of instant claims 28 and 49-54. Specifically, the species of compounds of reference claim 18 anticipates the species of compounds of instant claim 54 and the genus of Chemical Formula 1. The claims of the reference ‘057 patent do not teach treating a disease associated with a cognitive disorder of the instant claims or improving cognitive function.
Conn teaches various disorders associated with glutamate dysfunction that can be treated with positive allosteric modulators is a central nervous system disorder, such as a cognitive disorder selected from the group of … dementia, dementia due to HIV disease, dementia due to Huntington's disease, dementia due to Parkinson's disease, dementia of the Alzheimer's type, substance-induced persisting dementia and mild cognitive impairment (Para. [00369]; Para. [00446]). Conn teaches the conditions amenable to treatment with positive allosteric modulators include dementia (including AIDS-induced dementia), Alzheimer's disease, … cognitive disorders, … anxiety (including generalized anxiety disorder, panic disorder, and obsessive compulsive disorder), mood disorders (including depression, mania, bipolar disorders), … attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, and conduct disorder (Para. [00353]; Para. [00359]; Paras. [00368]-[00369]). Conn teaches the conditions amenable to treatment with positive allosteric modulators include dementia, delirium, amnestic disorders, age-related cognitive decline (Para. [00356]), posttraumatic stress disorder (Para. [00358]; Para. [00360]). Conn teaches “treatment” by the positive allosteric modulation of metabotropic glutamate receptor activity (mGluR5), includes palliative treatment, i.e., symptom relief (Para. [0061]; [00437]). Conn teaches treatment by positive allosteric modulation mGluR5 includes disorders or conditions comprising as a symptom a deficiency in attention and/or cognition (Paras. [00446]-[00447]).
Therefore, the teachings of the reference ‘057 patent in view of Conn render the method for alleviation or treatment of a disease associated with cognitive disorder, or for improving cognitive function in a subject of the instant claims prima facie obvious.
The instant claims 28-30, 33 and 49-54 and claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,100,057 B2 are therefore not patentably distinct.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 28-30, 33 and 49-54 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,046,702 B2 in view of Conn et al. (WO 2012/125732 A1, 20 September 2012, hereinafter Conn, in the IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both set of claims are drawn to a method of modulating metabotropic glutamate receptor subtype 5 (mGLuR5) in a subject comprising administering an effective amount of a compound of Chemical Formula 1 having overlapping scope.
The instant claims are drawn to a method for alleviation or treatment of a disease associated with cognitive disorder, or for improving cognitive function in a subject, comprising: administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of an imidazopyrimidine or imidazotriazine compound of Chemical Formula 1, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate or hydrate thereof.
The claims of the reference ‘702 patent are drawn to a method of modulating metabotropic glutamate receptor subtype 5 (mGluR5) of a subject, comprising: administering to the subject an effective amount of a compound of Chemical Formula (1), with variables as defined in claim 1 of the reference ‘702 patent.
The compounds of claims 1-18 of the reference ‘702 patent anticipates the compounds of instant Chemical Formula 1 of instant claims 28 and 49-54. Specifically, the species of compounds of reference claim 18 anticipates the species of compounds of instant claim 54 and the genus of Chemical Formula 1. The claims of the reference ‘702 patent do not teach treating a disease associated with a cognitive disorder or improving cognitive function.
Conn teaches various disorders associated with glutamate dysfunction that can be treated with positive allosteric modulators is a central nervous system disorder, such as a cognitive disorder selected from the group of … dementia, dementia due to HIV disease, dementia due to Huntington's disease, dementia due to Parkinson's disease, dementia of the Alzheimer's type, substance-induced persisting dementia and mild cognitive impairment (Para. [00369]; Para. [00446]). Conn teaches the conditions amenable to treatment with positive allosteric modulators include dementia (including AIDS-induced dementia), Alzheimer's disease, … cognitive disorders, … anxiety (including generalized anxiety disorder, panic disorder, and obsessive compulsive disorder), mood disorders (including depression, mania, bipolar disorders), … attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, and conduct disorder (Para. [00353]; Para. [00359]; Paras. [00368]-[00369]). Conn teaches the conditions amenable to treatment with positive allosteric modulators include dementia, delirium, amnestic disorders, age-related cognitive decline (Para. [00356]), posttraumatic stress disorder (Para. [00358]; Para. [00360]). Conn teaches “treatment” by the positive allosteric modulation of metabotropic glutamate receptor activity (mGluR5), includes palliative treatment, i.e., symptom relief (Para. [0061]; [00437]). Conn teaches treatment by positive allosteric modulation mGluR5 includes disorders or conditions comprising as a symptom a deficiency in attention and/or cognition (Paras. [00446]-[00447]).
Therefore, the teachings of the reference ‘702 patent in view of Conn render the method for alleviation or treatment of a disease associated with cognitive disorder, or for improving cognitive function in a subject of the instant claims prima facie obvious.
The instant claims 28-30, 33 and 49-54 and claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,046,702 B2 are therefore not patentably distinct.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue on pages 10-11 of the response dated 12/19/2025 that “Applicant will amend claim 28 of the '704 co-pending application to remove "or for improving cognitive function" from the preamble to address the current rejection”. Applicants argue “The Office asserts that the claims or disclosure of '310 Patent, '702 Patent, and '057 Patent recite or set forth a compound or a method to treat disorder mediated by glutamate dysfunction and mGluR5, where the disorder is schizophrenia. However, amended claim 28 recites a list of diseases associated with cognitive disorder and does not recite schizophrenia. Therefore, claim 28 is patentably distinct from the claims of the '310, '702, and '507 patents”.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Contrary to Applicant’s assertion that claim 28 of the co-pending ‘704 application will be amended, as of today no claim amendments in the co-pending ‘704 application has been made. Moreover, as discussed above, the statutory category of the double patenting rejection has been changed from “statutory” to “non-statutory”. As discussed above, the claims of the co-pending ‘704 application in view of Park and Conn render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Regarding all double patenting rejections with respect to the claims of the reference '310, '702, and '507 patents, as clearly discussed above, the teachings of the reference patents in view of Conn render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Therefore, all the double patenting rejections of previous record remain and are updated to reflect claim amendments.
Conclusion
Claims 28-30, 33-36 and 49-54 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
/PADMAJA S RAO/Examiner, Art Unit 1627