DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment dated 12/12/2025 has been considered and entered into the record. Claim 1 has been amended to require a composite structure on a supporting surface, wherein the supporting surface is a diaphragm on a table. Claim 5 has been cancelled. Claims 1–3, 6–13, and 15–22 remain pending, while claims 8–13 and 15–22 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1–3, 6, and 7 are examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/12/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1–3, 6, and 7 under 35 USC 103 in light of the latest amendment have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 recite the limitation "one or more structural layer" in the composite structure of claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldbach (US 2005/0242472 A1) in view of Wolf (GB 1,172,588).
Goldbach teaches a process for molding composite, fiber-reinforced plastic sheets using a two-part molding tool, wherein the composite 7 is arranged on a supporting surface, providing a mold 2 positioned above the composite structure. Goldbach abstract, ¶¶ 12, 28, 70, Figs. 2, 7. The temperature of the composite material is heated to a temperature above a threshold that softens the composite structure, while a pressure differential is applied across the composite structure due to the air within the mold cavity being evacuated. Id. ¶¶ 57, 63, Figs. 4, 5. As a result, the composite structure conforms to the shape of the upper mold. The composite structure is then cooled and solidified, after which the composite structure is removed from the mold. Id. ¶¶ 64–69.
Goldbach fails to teach that the supporting surface is a diaphragm on a table.
Wolf teaches a thermo-molding process that uses a rigid upper mold 5 and lower diaphragm 4 that is supported by a table 3. Wolf at 1:10–15, Figs. 1–5. The use of the diaphragm allows for even contact pressure over an entire surface of the thermo-molded material. Id. at 1:45–49.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used a diaphragm on a table as a supporting surface in Goldbach molding tool motivated by the desire to have even contact on bottom side of the composite held against the mold.
Claim(s) 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldbach and Wolf as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hansen (WO 00/71329 A1).
Goldbach and Wolf fail to teach the structure for the layers of the composite material.
Hansen teaches a vacuum molding process for composite materials that includes a reinforced mat comprising an integrated thermoplastic fiber and glass fiber woven mat. Hansen Abstract. The molding process includes placing the reinforced mat in a mold, heating the reinforced mat to a temperature that melts the thermoplastic fiber causing the thermoplastic fibers to envelop the reinforcing glass fibers. Id. at 6, lines 1–18. While the reinforced mat is being heated, air is evacuated from inside of the mold creating a vacuum. Id. The reinforced mat is then cooled until the thermoplastic solidifies and binds the glass fibers forming a composite material and the composite material is removed from the mold. Id. at 6, lines 18–24. The thermoplastic fibers may be in fiber or filament form. Id. at 13, lines 35–37. As shown in Fig. 1b, the composite material may comprise two layers of reinforced mat, each of which may be woven and comprising thermoplastic fibers and reinforcing glass fibers. Accordingly, one of the layers may serve as a surface layer that faces mold 1 and the second layer may serve as a structural layer. Id. Fig. 1b.
The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to look to Hansen for guidance as to a specific composite material, in particular a composite structure comprising one or more structural layers comprising a woven fabric woven from a yarn of combined reinforcing fibers and thermoplastic polymer fibers and each surface layer comprises a woven or knitted fabric constructed from a thermoplastic polymer yarn, in order to successfully practice the molding process invention of Goldbach.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldbach and Wolf as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Montagna (US 2004/0000746 A1).
Goldbach and Wolf to teach the application of conductive particles onto one or more structural layers of the composite structure.
Montagna teaches a method of manufacturing laminate comprising fiber-reinforced polymer and conductive particles. Montagna abstract. The conductive particles adhere to the heated laminate. Id. ¶ 58. The conductive particles have been added to render the laminate electrically conductive. Id. ¶ 23.
It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have added conductive particle to the structural layer of Goldbach to render it conductive.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldbach and Wolf as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okamoto (US 2011/0020626 A1).
Goldbach and Wolf fail to teach that the one or more structural layer of the composite structure is formed from recycled thermoplastic composite fabric.
Okamoto teaches the formation of a multilayer structure formed using vacuum pressure in a mold. Okamoto abstract. The multilayer structure may be formed using recycled thermoplastic composite fabrics. Id. ¶ 62.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used recycled thermoplastic composite fabrics to make the Goldbach composite motivated by the desire to reduce waste and costs.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D MATZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786