DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 12/12/2025. Claims 1, 6, and 8 are currently amended. Claims 4 and 5 are canceled. Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are pending review in this action. The previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claims 1 and 8, however the previously cited prior art has been upheld as reading on the claims. Updated rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukunaga et al. (WO 2018021214 A1) further in view of Kasuya et al. (US 2019/0003073 A1).
In lieu of a machine translation, all citations directed to Fukunaga in this office action are made in reference to the equivalent U.S. Publication (US 2019/0280287 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 02/16/2023).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Fukunaga discloses an electrode plate (positive electrode plate, 4) included in a wound type electrode assembly (3) comprising: a band-shaped electrode core body (4a), a mixture layer (active material mixture layers, 4b) formed on both surfaces of the electrode core body (4a) (Figures 2 and 4, [0056, 0063, 0096]). Fukunaga further discloses a tab (electrode tab portion, 40) extended from one end portion of the electrode core body (4a) in a short side direction of the electrode core body (4a), wherein a tip end portion (portion of electrode core, 4a, on which inclined portions 4b2 are applied) of the electrode core body (4a) is covered with the mixture layer (active material mixture layers, 4b) in the end portion on a side where the tab (electrode tab portion, 40) extends (Figures 5 and 6(b), [0063-0064]). Fukunaga further discloses that the electrode core body (4a) may be formed from an aluminum foil [0062]. Fukunaga further discloses that a thickness of the mixture layer (active material mixture layers, 4b) that covers the tip end portion (portion of electrode core, 4a, on which inclined portions 4b2 are applied) may be thinner than a thickness of one surface of the mixture layer (active material mixture layers, 4b) formed on an inner side from the tip end portion (portion of electrode core, 4a, on which inclined portions 4b2 are applied) of the electrode core body (4a) (Figure 6(b), [0068]). Fukunaga further discloses that as for a width, in the short side direction of the electrode core body (4a) of the tip end portion (portion of electrode core, 4a, on which inclined portions 4b2 are applied) of the electrode core body (4a), a width "a" in one surface is larger than a width "b" in the other surface (Figure 13, [0090]).
Fukunaga is deficient in disclosing that a whole of a tip end portion of the electrode core body on a side from which the tab extends, is covered with the mixture layer.
Kasuya discloses an electrode core body (aluminum plate, 12), wherein the electrode core body (aluminum plate, 12) may be used as a current collector for an electrode (Figure 1E, [0004, 0043, 0152]). Kasuya further teaches that when the surface area of the electrode core body (aluminum plate, 12) is increased, the area in which the electrode core body (aluminum plate, 12) and the active material coated onto the electrode core body (aluminum plate, 12) are in contact is increased, which improves the capacity retention of the electrode (Figure 1E, [0137, 0155]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the electrode plate of Fukunaga to have the mixture layer extend to cover a whole of a tip end portion of the electrode core layer, as such a modification would allow the area in which the mixture layer and electrode core layer are in contact to be increased without limiting the ability of the electrode plate to be efficiently discharged as the tabs are responsible for establishing the electrical connection to the outside for discharge and the tabs would remain uncovered by the mixture layer. Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the tip end portion of the electrode core layer would be the obvious location to extend the mixture layer of Fukunaga to, as the tabs would understandably need to remain uncovered as they are required to establish external connection and the remainder of the electrode core layer is already covered by the mixture layer, as taught by Fukunaga. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in improving the capacity retention of the electrode plate, as taught by Kasuya. Upon such a modification, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
In Regards to Claim 2 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Fukunaga as modified by Kasuya discloses the electrode plate of Claim 1 as set forth above. Fukunaga further discloses that the electrode core body (4a) may be formed from an aluminum foil [0062]. Fukunaga further discloses that a band-shaped mixture layer (active material mixture layers, 4b) is applied on both surfaces of the aluminum foil, and that irradiation is performed on the electrode plate (positive electrode plate, 4) to form the tab (electrode tab portion, 40) (Figure 5, [0063-0064]).
Although Fukunaga does not explicitly discloses that the tip end portion (portion of electrode core, 4a, on which inclined portions 4b2 are applied) has a claw shape in a sectional view taken along a thickness direction of the electrode core body (4a), one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the tip end portion (portion of electrode core, 4a, on which inclined portions 4b2 are applied) of Fukunaga would be expected to have such a claw shape as the instant application teaches that a similar process (application of mixture layers and irradiation) is applied to an aluminum foil base material [0022-0023, 0046]. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 2 are met.
In Regards to Claim 3 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Fukunaga as modified by Kasuya discloses the electrode plate of Claim 1 as set forth above. Fukunaga further discloses that the electrode plate (positive electrode plate, 4) is a positive electrode plate (Figure 5, [0063]).
Fukunaga is deficient in disclosing that the electrode plate is a negative electrode plate.
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to utilize for the negative electrode plate of Fukunaga, an electrode plate which comprises the features of the positive electrode plate of Fukunaga, as it is known in the art as a useful embodiment of an electrode plate in a wound type electrode assembly, as taught by Fukunaga. Furthermore, the selection of a known object based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). By doing so, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
In Regards to Claim 8:
Fukunaga discloses a method for producing an electrode plate (positive electrode plate, 4) included in a wound type electrode assembly (3), including a mixture layer forming step of forming a band-shaped mixture layer (active material mixture layers, 4b) on both surfaces of a base material (aluminum foil) for a band-shaped electrode core body (4a) along a longitudinal direction of the base material (aluminum foil) for the band-shaped electrode core body (4a), and a cutting step of cutting out an electrode plate (positive electrode plate, 4) having the band-shaped electrode core body (4a) with the mixture layer (active material mixture layers, 4b) formed on the both surfaces (Figure 4, [0056, 0060-0064, 0070, 0096]). Fukunaga further discloses a tab (electrode tab portion, 40) extended from one end portion of the electrode core body (4a) in a short side direction of the electrode core body (4a) by irradiating one surface of the base material (aluminum foil) for the electrode core body (4a) with laser light, wherein in the electrode plate (positive electrode plate, 4) that is cut out in the cutting step, a tip end portion (portion of electrode core, 4a, on which inclined portions 4b2 are applied) of the electrode core body (4a) is covered with the mixture layer (active material mixture layers, 4b) in the end portion on a side where the tab extends (electrode tab portion, 40) (Figures 3, 5, and 6(b), [0063-0064]). Fukunaga further discloses that the electrode core body (4a) may be formed from an aluminum foil [0062]. Fukunaga further discloses that a thickness of the mixture layer (active material mixture layers, 4b) that covers the tip end portion (portion of electrode core, 4a, on which inclined portions 4b2 are applied) may be thinner than a thickness of one surface of the mixture layer (active material mixture layers, 4b) formed on an inner side from the tip end portion (portion of electrode core, 4a, on which inclined portions 4b2 are applied) of the electrode core body (4a) (Figure 6(b), [0068]). Fukunaga further discloses that as for a width, in the short side direction of the electrode core body (4a) of the tip end portion (portion of electrode core, 4a, on which inclined portions 4b2 are applied) of the electrode core body (4a), a width "a" in one surface is larger than a width "b" in the other surface (Figure 13, [0090]).
Fukunaga is deficient in disclosing that a whole of a tip end portion of the electrode core body on a side from which the tab extends, is covered with the mixture layer.
Kasuya discloses an electrode core body (aluminum plate, 12), wherein the electrode core body (aluminum plate, 12) may be used as a current collector for an electrode (Figure 1E, [0004, 0043, 0152]). Kasuya further teaches that when the surface area of the electrode core body (aluminum plate, 12) is increased, the area in which the electrode core body (aluminum plate, 12) and the active material coated onto the electrode core body (aluminum plate, 12) are in contact is increased, which improves the capacity retention of the electrode (Figure 1E, [0137, 0155]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the electrode plate of Fukunaga to have the mixture layer extend to cover a whole of a tip end portion of the electrode core layer, as such a modification would allow the area in which the mixture layer and electrode core layer are in contact to be increased without limiting the ability of the electrode plate to be efficiently discharged as the tabs are responsible for establishing the electrical connection to the outside for discharge and the tabs would remain uncovered by the mixture layer. Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the tip end portion of the electrode core layer would be the obvious location to extend the mixture layer of Fukunaga to, as the tabs would understandably need to remain uncovered as they are required to establish external connection and the remainder of the electrode core layer is already covered by the mixture layer, as taught by Fukunaga. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in improving the capacity retention of the electrode plate, as taught by Kasuya. Upon such a modification, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukunaga et al. (WO 2018021214 A1) as modified by Kasuya et al. (US 2019/0003073 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Li et al. (US 2018/0159107 A1).
In Regards to Claim 6 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Fukunaga as modified by Kasuya discloses the electrode plate of Claim 1 as set forth above. Fukunaga further discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (20) comprising: a wound type electrode assembly (3) including the electrode plate (positive electrode plate, 4) according to Claim 5: an exterior body (1) having an opening that houses the electrode assembly (3): and a sealing plate (2) that seals the opening and is connected with the tab (electrode tab portion, 40) (Figures 1 and 3, [0055-0056, 0063]).
Fukunaga is deficient that a root of the tab tilts, and an angle formed by a surface of the tab on a side where the width of the tip end portion is "a" and a top surface of the electrode assembly is an obtuse angle.
Li discloses a secondary battery comprising an electrode assembly (2) which comprises a main body (23), a first electrode tab (21), and a second electrode tab (22), wherein the first electrode tab (21) and the second electrode tab (22) are electrically connected to the first electrode terminal (11) and the second electrode terminal (12), respectively (Figure 3, [0046]). Li further discloses that a root of the first electrode tab (21) and second electrode tab (22) tilt to form an angle, wherein the angle is less than 120°, in order to prevent short circuiting of the tabs (21/22) when pressed down (Figure 7, [0058]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery of Fukunaga to have the root of the tabs be bent in a position such that an angle of less than 120° is formed on a surface of the tab on a side where the width of the tip end portion is "a" and a top surface of the electrode assembly, as it is known in the art as a suitable configuration for a tab in a secondary battery and would serve to help prevent short circuiting when the tab has pressure applied, as taught by Fukunaga. By doing so, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
In Regards to Claim 7 (Dependent Upon Claim 6):
Fukunaga as modified by Kasuya and Li discloses the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of Claim 6 as set forth above. As detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, Fukunaga discloses that the electrode assembly (3) is a wound type electrode assembly (3) [0056].
Fukunaga is silent to if the surface on the side where the width of the tip end portion is "a" faces an inside of winding, however, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the side of the electrode which is on the inside of the wound electrode assembly, the side where the width of the tip end portion is "a", as such a side is one of a finite number of possible side that could reside on the inside of the wound electrode assembly (MPEP 2143 I, E). For example, the side on the inside of winding may only be the side where the width of the tip end portion is "a" or the side where the width of the tip end portion is “b”. Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukunaga et al. (WO 2018021214 A1) as modified by Kasuya et al. (US 2019/0003073 A1), as applied to Claim 8 above, further in view of Inose et al. (US 2010/0028767 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 04/21/2022) and Tanno (US 2018/0205093 A1).
In Regards to Claim 9 (Dependent Upon Claim 8):
Fukunaga as modified by Kasuya discloses the method of Claim 8 as set forth above. Fukunaga further discloses that the thickness of the base material is 15 µm [0062].
Fukunaga is silent to the irradiation conditions of the laser light, specifically to that of the 1) wavelength, 2) repetition frequency, 3) energy per electrode plate thickness, and 4) pulse width.
Regarding 1) and 2), Inose discloses a positive electrode (10) which is produced by a method including a step of applying laser beam irradiation to an aluminum foil to form a tab (electrode draw-out terminal) (Figure 1, [0056-0058]). Inose further discloses that the laser beam has a wavelength of 1.06 µm (1060 nm) and a repetition frequency between 20 kHz and 100 kHz [0058].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case obviousness exists (MPEP §2144.05 I).Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the wavelength and repetition frequency of the laser of Fukunaga, a wavelength of 1.06 µm and a repetition frequency between 20 kHz and 100 kHz, as it is known in the art as a suitable wavelength and repetition frequency for a laser when applied to an aluminum foil in the production of a positive electrode, as taught by Inose.
Regarding 3) and 4), Tanno discloses a method for manufacturing a fuel cell separator, wherein the method includes a step of laser irradiation [0026, 0030]. Tanno further discloses that the pulse energy of the laser is between 5 mJ and 30 mJ and the pulse width is between 30 ns and 200 ns [0073-0074].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case obviousness exists (MPEP §2144.05 I). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for pulse energy and pulse width of the laser of Fukunaga, a pulse energy of between 5 mJ and 30 mJ and a pulse width between 30 ns and 200 ns, as it is known in the art as a suitable pulse energy and pulse width for a laser irradiation step in a method of producing a component of an electrochemical device, as taught by Tanno.
Upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that as the energy per electrode plate thickness is a function of pulse energy and electrode plate thickness, the irradiation conditions of modified Fukunaga meet the irradiation conditions as claimed, and the thickness of the aluminum foil of Fukunaga is within the range taught by the instant specification (10 µm to 20 µm, [0022]), that there would necessarily be an embodiment of modified Fukunaga which has an energy per electrode plate thickness within the claimed range. As such, all of the limitations of Claim 9 are met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Fukunaga et al. (WO 2018021214 A1) as modified by Kasuya et al. (US 2019/0003073 A1) fails to teach the limitation “as for a width, in the short side direction of the electrode core body, of the tip end portion of the electrode core body, a width “a” in one surface is larger than a width “b” in the other surface”, as now required by independent Claims 1 and 8. The Applicant specifically notes that Figure 13 of Fukunaga, as highlighted in the rejection of Claim 5 made in the previous office action (Non-Final rejection dated 09/16/2025), is a cross-section view of the positive electrode plate (4) taken along VI(a)-VI(a), which passes through the positive electrode tab portion (40). As such, the Applicant argues that as the positive electrode tab portion (40) necessarily remains uncovered after modification in view of Kasuya, the above limitation of amended Claims 1 and 8 would not be met.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. While the examiner acknowledges that Figure 13 depicts a cross-section taken at a location where the positive electrode tab portion (40) is located, the examiner notes that the disclosure of Fukunaga does not provide an alternate figure which depicts a cross section at a location other than where the positive electrode tab portion (40) is present for the modified embodiment shown in Figure 13. However, paragraph [0090] (of the equivalent U.S. Publication (US 2019/0280287 A1)) of Fukunaga explicitly discloses that the positive electrode plate (4) of the modified embodiment shown in Figure 13 is subjected to a compression process which results in the ends of the positive electrode active material mixture layer (4b) on each side of the positive electrode plate (4) being at different positions in the direction in which the positive electrode tab portion (40) projects (see below). Therefore, as paragraph [0090] of Fukunaga states that the entire positive electrode active material mixture layers (4b) are subjected to the compression process, and not just regions having the positive electrode tab portion (40), the skilled artisan would expect that the different widths would be found at both regions of the positive electrode plate (4) where the positive electrode tab portion (40) is present and regions of the positive electrode plate (4) where the positive electrode tab portion (40) is not present.
As detailed above in the rejection of Claims 1 and 8, the modification of Fukunaga in view of Kasuya results in the whole tip end portion (portion of electrode core, 4a, on which inclined portions 4b2 are applied) being covered with the mixture layer, while the tab (positive electrode tab portion, 40) remains uncovered. The examiner notes that the language of the claim distinguishes “a band-shaped electrode core body” and “ a tab extended from one end portion of the electrode core body” from one another, thus the limitation requiring that “a whole of a tip end portion of the electrode core body …is covered with the mixture layer” does not require that the tab (positive electrode tab portion, 40) is covered with the mixture layer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.E.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724