DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response received on 8/5/26 has been entered. Claims 1, 10-14, and 24-38 remain pending in this application.
Applicant’s election of the species a) “peptide loaded soluble MHC class I” as the species of with traverse is acknowledged. Applicant traverses the election of species requirement by arguing that the species are alternative formats and not separate inventive concepts. This is not agreed. The election of species was based on the genus of aAPM. The previous office action clearly identified the shared technical feature of the invention as a dual function aAPC comprising a capture molecule, and established that this shared technical features is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Shen et al. (November 27, 2017) Scientific Reports, Vol. 7:16400, DOI:10.1038/s41598-017-16459-], pages 1-14, in view of Oelke et al. (2010) Immunol. Res., Vol. 47(1-3), 248-256, and Khalifian et al. (2015) J. Invest. Derm., Vol. 135, 1-5. The restriction requirement based on the lack of unity of invention as made FINAL in the office action mailed on 5/5/26. The election of species requirement stated that the species of aAPM further lack unity of invention as they also do not share a special technical feature. Note that aAPM comprising a soluble peptide loaded MHC class I or soluble peptide loaded MHC class II, including single polypeptide chain peptide-MHC antigen binding domains were known in the prior, see Shen et al. and Oelke et al. cited above, and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0290686 (9/26/19), hereafter referred to as Wickham et al. - see in particular Wickam Figures 1A and 1B. Thus, neither the shared technical feature of the invention, nor the shared technical feature of the species are special technical features. Furthermore, it is noted that MHC class I and MHC class II are unique molecules which have materially different structures, and chemical, physical, and functional properties. As such, the election of species requirement is deemed proper and made FINAL.
As indicted above, applicant’s previous election of Group III with traverse was addressed in detail in the previous office action mailed on 5/5/26, maintained, and made FINAL. Therefore, based on applicant’s election invention of Group III, and the species of MHC class I, claims 1, 10, 14, 29-30, 32, 35, and 37-38 are hereby withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Note that while not identified by the applicant, claim 35 depends on claim 34 and further defines the first linker sequence which is part of the non-elected single polypeptide sequence recited in claim 34.
Claims 11-13, 24-28, 31, 33-34, and 36 are therefore currently under examination based on the elected species a) peptide loaded soluble MHC class I. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . An action on the merits follows.
Claim Interpretation
The following claim interpretations have been applied to the claims under examination. The majority of the claims recite the term “optionally” one or more times before a particular limitation. The term “optionally” has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation as indicating that the limitation following this term may or may not be part of claimed method. Thus, based on this interpretation, limitations following the term “optionally” are not considered to be required to meet the limitations of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13, 24-28, 31, 33-34, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 11 and independent claim 12 both recite in step (a)(iii), “one or more capture molecules attached to the surface, and wherein, optionally, the identical aAPCs comprise (1) a single capture molecule specific for a respective single effector molecule released from a T cell in response to presentation of the antigen peptide sequence or (2) one or more groups of capture molecules, each group being specific for different respective effector molecules released from a T cell in response to presentation of the antigen peptide sequence”. The use of the term “optionally” indicates that the limitation following this term may or may not be part of the step (a)(iii). Thus, step (a)(iii) is not limited to where the capture molecule is specific for a respective single effector molecule release from a T cell in response to presentation of the antigen peptide sequence. As such, step (c) is confusing as it recites, “contacting the aAPCs with detection antibodies against one or more effector molecules for which the one or more capture molecules of the aAPCs are specific”. The metes and bounds of the method of claim 11 cannot be determined since step (a) does not require that the capture molecule is specific for an effector molecule, whereas step (c) does appear to require that the capture molecule is specific for an effector molecule. Thus, the breadth of the specificity of the capture molecule is confusing and indefinite. In the interests of compact prosecution, the capture molecule of step (a) has been given is broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the use of the term “optionally” as encompassing any capture molecule, not limited to one specific for an effector molecule. Claims 13 and 24-28, 31, 33-34 and 36 depend on either claim 11 or claim 12 and thus are included in this rejection.
In addition, claim 12 recites in line 4, “all aAPCs of each group are coded identically”, and claim 26 recites, “the particle of the aAPC is coded to be identifiable and separable”. It is unclear what the term “coded” is referring to or means in the context of a group of aAPCs or particle of an aAPC. The aAPCs are recited in the claim as comprising a surface of a particle which is optionally a bead, one or more artificial antigen presenting molecules (aAPMs) which comprise an identical antigen peptide sequence, and one or more capture molecules, where both the aAPMs and capture molecules are attached to the surface of the particle. Thus, the aAPC as a whole is a complex molecule comprising several different components. In the context of biology, “coded” generally refers to a nucleic acid sequence which “encodes”/”codes for” an amino acid sequence. The aAPC as claimed do not appear to comprise any nucleotide sequences. The only sequence referred to is an antigen peptide sequence, but this sequence is an amino acid sequence and does not “code” for anything. As such, it is unclear how each aAPC of the group is “coded” identically or how the particle of the aAPC is “coded” to be identifiable such that the metes and bounds of the claims cannot be determined. Claims 13, 24-25, 28, 31, 33-34 and 36 depend on claim 12 and thus are included in this rejection.
Claims 25 is further rejected as being indefinite. Claim 25 depends on claim 24 and recites, “the one or more costimulatory antibodies”; however, neither claim 25 nor claim 24 provides the requisite antecedent basis for this limitation. Claim 24 refers to “the one of more capture molecules of the aAPCs are capture antibodies and/or the aAPC further comprises one or more co-stimulatory molecules”. Thus, while claim 24 provides antecedent basis for a capture antibodies or where the aAPC comprises a co-stimulatory molecule, there is no antecedent basis for “one or more costimulatory antibodies”. As such, the metes and bounds of claim 25 cannot be determined. In the interests of compact prosecution, claim 25 has been interpreted as encompassing wherein in the alternative where capture molecule of the aAPC is a capture antibody, the capture antibody is a capture co-stimulatory antibody. However, note that as claim 24 recites and “and/or” which provides two alternatives, claim 25 only limits one of the embodiments of claim 24.
Claims 27-28, 31, 33-34 and 36 are further rejected as being indefinite. Claims 27-28, and 33 recite in part, “such as a tagged recombinant soluble MHC-I molecule assembled with beta2-microglobulin and a synthetic peptide”. The phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). In the interests of compact prosecution, the claims have been given its broadest reasonable interpretation with regards to the first alternative of the aAPM where the aAPM is any monomeric, dimeric, or multimeric molecules comprising soluble antigenic peptide loadable or loaded MHC class I or MHC class II portions, or soluble MHC class I or MHC class II portions, not limited to the specific embodiment recited after the phrase “such as”. Claims 31, 34 and 36 depend on claim 28 and thus are included in this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13, 24-28, 31, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (November 27, 2017) Scientific Reports, Vol. 7:16400, DOI:10.1038/s41598-017-16459-1, pages 1-14, in view of Lev et al. (2002) J. Immunol., Vol. 169, 2988-2996, Oelke et al. (2010) Immunol. Res., Vol. 47(1-3), 248-256, and Khalifian et al. (2015) J. Invest. Derm., Vol. 135, 1-5.
Shen et al. teaches an artificial antigen presenting cell microplate assay, referred to as AAPC-microplate, which comprises a microwell plate pre-coated with cytokine-capture antibodies and containing magnetic beads coupled to peptide-MHC multimers in order to combine peptide specific activation of T cells with secreted cytokine detection to identify the frequency and reactivity of antigen-specific T cells in a single assay (Shen et al., page 1 and page 4, Figure 2). More specifically, Shen et al. teaches that magnetic beads co-coupled with H-2Kb/peptide-Ig dimers and anti-CD28 mAbs serve as two-signal artificial antigen presenting cells (AAPC-beads) (Shen et al., page 2, and Figure 1). Shen et al. teaches that the MHC class I/peptide dimers are chemically conjugated to the beads (Shen et al., page 2). Shen et al. also teaches aAPC comprising HLA-A2 peptide multimers, where the HLA-A2 is HLA-A2*0201 or HLA-A2*0203 (Shen et l., page 4). Shen et al. tested the reactivity and IFN-gamma cytokine secretion of peptide specific CD8+ T cells in response to ovalbumin peptide 257-264, HBV core antigen peptide 18-27, or HBV surface antigen 183-191 bound aAPCs (Shen et al., Figures 6 and 8). In particular, Shen et al. teaches the detection of cytokine secreting peptide specific CD8+ T cells in a sample of PBMCs from donors (Shen et al., page 7).
While Shen et al. teaches aAPC coupled to B2M-HLA-A2, Shen et al. does not teach that the HLA-A2 comprising the a1, a2, and a3 extracellular domains. Lev et al. supplements Shen et al. by teaching the specific structure of a soluble peptide-loaded single chain B2M-HLA-A2 which comprises human beta2-m linked to the three extracellular domains a1, a2, and a3 of HLA-A2 (aa 1–275) through a 15-aa-long flexible linker form functional scMHC-peptide complexes and tetramers (Lev et al., page 2990). Thus, based on the structure of the soluble and functional scMHC-peptide taught by Lev et al., it would have been prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of filing to practice the method of Shen using aAPC coupled to B2M-HLA-A2 with the structure taught by Lev et al. with a reasonable expectation of success.
While Shen et al. teaches that the capture antibody is coated on the microwell plates instead of the attached to the aAPCs, Oelke et al. supplements Shen et al. by teaching that many different antibodies can be directly or indirectly coupled to APCs. In particular, Oelke et al. teaches an artificial antigen presenting cell (aAPC) which has a "lego-like" feature where various antibodies and antigen presenting molecules such as peptide/MHC-Ig dimers-in particular peptide/HLA-A2 dimers- can be coupled to a bead, such as a paramagnetic or biodegradable bed, for T cell activation and cytokine secretion (Oelke et al., page 248 and Figure 1). Khalifian et al. further supplements Shen et al. and Oelke et al. by teaching a multiplexed luminex bead assay for detecting up to 100 different cytokines using microwell plates and cytokine capture antibody beads, where not only are each of the specific beads which comprise a specific anti-cytokine capture antibody dyed with their own specific spectral wavelength dye but each of the detection antibodies for each cytokine specific capture antibody are conjugated to a specific reporter dye (Khalifian et al., page 1). Khalifian et al. teaches that detection and quantification of multiple cytokines from cells such as T cells at the same time enables the pattern of cytokine expression to be examined in a way not previously possible using conventional technologies (Khalifian et al., page 1).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Shen et al. to stimulate T lymphocytes using aAPCs coupled to peptide loaded soluble MHC class I and an anti-costimulatory molecule antibody and to detect secreted cytokines using a capture antibody in a single assay using a microwell plate, the teachings of Lev et al. for the particular structure of a peptide loaded soluble HLA-A2 comprising B2M and the extracellular domains of HLA-A2, the teachings and motivation provided by Khalifian et al. to utilize an improved multiplexed luminex bead anti-cytokine capture antibody assay in a microwell plate for the detection of up to 100 different cytokines at a time in a single well, and the teachings of Oelke et al. that aAPC beads can be made which comprise multiple antibodies and a peptide/MHC class I dimer, it would have been prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of filing to combine the methods of Shen et al. with the multiplex luminex capture antibody beads of Khalifian to generate a single aAPC luminex bead comprising the T cell stimulating peptide/MHC Class I dimers, an anti-CD28 mAb, and one or more anti-cytokine capture antibodies in order to streamline the process of stimulating T cells and detecting multiple cytokines at once in a single well with a reasonable expectation of success.
No claims are allowed.
Any inquiry concerning this communication from the examiner should be directed to Anne Marie S. Wehbé, Ph.D., whose telephone number is (571) 272-0737. If the examiner is not available, the examiner’s supervisor, Maria Leavitt, can be reached at (571) 272-1085. For all official communications, the technology center fax number is (571) 273-8300. Please note that all official communications and responses sent by fax must be directed to the technology center fax number. For informal, non-official communications only, the examiner’s direct fax number is (571) 273-0737. For any inquiry of a general nature, please call (571) 272-0547.
Dr. A.M.S. Wehbé
/ANNE MARIE S WEHBE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1634