DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The examiner acknowledges the amendment to claim 1. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-11, and 15-17 are pending with claims 4, 7-8, 11, and 16-17 being withdrawn. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 10, and 15 will be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gottschalk (EP 0586985).
Regarding Claims 1-2 and 6,
Gottschalk teaches a composition that includes 15-84% by weight of a polyamide, 15-84% by weight polyphenylene ether, 0-30% by weight impact modifier and 0-50% by weight of a fibrous filler (Paragraph 1). Gottschalk further teaches that the polyamide can be polyamide 6.10, 6.12, 11, or 12 (Paragraph 14), meeting the requirements of the instant claims. While Gottschalk is silent on the ratio of total carbons to amide carbons, all of the polyamides taught by Gottschalk have a value for this ratio between 6 and 12 and as such, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have chosen polyamides with a value in this range. Gottschalk also teaches that the impact modifier can be any commonly used modifier (Paragraph 52), but specifically teaches copolymers of ethylene, an alkyl acrylate, and acrylic acid as particularly suitable (Paragraph 61). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the value in using impact modifiers that are particularly suitable and would thus be motivated to use such compounds in preference to other options. It would therefore have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have selected a modifier that is a copolymer containing ethylene and acrylic acid based upon the disclosure of Gottschalk that such compounds are particularly suitable. Gottschalk further teaches that thermal stabilizers such as hindered phenols can be used in amounts of up to 1% by weight of the composition (Paragraph 86). The ranges for the inclusion of the polyamide, polyphenylene ether, compatibilizer, thermal stabilizer, and filler all overlap with the ranges of the instant claim. One of ordinary skill in the art would select amounts of these components to meet the material requirements of the final cured component. As such, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have selected the overlapping portions of the ranges because the selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claims 5 and 15,
Gottschalk teaches that fibrous fillers are preferred, with glass fibers especially preferred (Paragraph 69).
Regarding Claim 10,
Gottschalk teaches that the composition provides molded bodies with excellent mechanical properties and good resistance to heat aging (Paragraph 95), which reads upon an article comprising the composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, specifically the required use of polyamide 6.6/6.T, which is not a limitation to the reference in the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765