DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant Amendment and Argument filed on 10/29/2025. This Action is made FINAL.
Claims 11-30 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder (“a display device”, “an operating device”, “) that is coupled with functional language (“generate arrangement profiles”, “record a user selection”, “record a color selection”, “set a color” ) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are as follows:
”the display device and operating device are configured to generate…” recited in claims 20-21, 23, and 25-28. For the purposes of examination, the examiner will take “a display device and operating device” as a display screen and user input or equivalent based Fig. 2 and on the following excerpt(s) from the specification:
Para [0017]: “A display and control device may include a touch-sensitive display and operating device, such as a touch screen.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuhrmann et al (US 10703265 B2) henceforth referred to as Fuhrmann in view of Noguerol et al (US 20190031187 A1) henceforth referred to as Noguerol and further in view of Claywell et al (US 10800327 B1) henceforth referred to as Claywell.
Regarding Claim 11 Fuhrmann teaches A method for controlling interior lighting for a vehicle (col 4 line 18-22 : “FIG. 1 schematically shows an example of a motor vehicle 1 according to the invention. A lighting device 6 is provided in a vehicle interior 5 of the motor vehicle 1, by means of which lighting device the vehicle interior 5 can be lit.”), wherein a plurality of lighting units are distributed in the interior of the vehicle (col 4 line 22-24 : “The lighting device 6 comprises a plurality of light sources 2a-2g for lighting the vehicle interior 5, and a control device 7 that is connected to the light sources 2a-2g.”), the lighting units each having one of at least two color zones (col 4 line 37-43 : “The light sources 2a-2g can be controlled and therefore operated by the user by means of the operating device 8 via the control device 7. Individual light sources 2a-2g can be selected and activated using the individual segments 22a, 22b. As a result, in the rear region of the vehicle it is possible to specifically select zones that are to be lit.”), the method comprising:
generating, via a display and operating device, arrangement profiles each defining a patterned distribution the at least two color zones in the interior of the vehicle, wherein the arrangement profiles the at least two color zones, and virtual operating elements displayed on the display, the virtual operating elements comprising interactive graphical representations of the patterned distribution (col 4 line 48-57 : “Independently of the kind of light means used, the light sources 2a-2g are designed such that the brightness and/or the light color of the light emitted can be varied by means of the operating device 8. In addition, the light sources 2a-2g can also be designed such that the lighting angle of the light sources 2a-2g can be varied. This is indicated in FIG. 1 by way of example for the light source denoted by the reference sign 2g. The adjustability of the light source 2g is indicated in FIG. 1 by a double arrow denoted by the reference sign 18.”, col 5 line 47-54 : “The lighting program selected by the user is first shown as a simulated image 21a or 21b in the relevant display zone 9a, 9b. The user can therefore check whether the simulated lighting program corresponds to the desired scenario, without it being necessary to actually change the lighting of the rear region 12 for this purpose. A plurality of lighting programs can therefore be “tried out” by the user before the actual activation.”, col 5 line 56-63 : “By actuating the related activation element 25a or 25b, the lighting program selected by the user is activated. This means that the lighting device 6 is controlled by the control device 7 such that the light sources 2a-2g implement the relevant lighting program. The left-hand or right-hand rear region 12a, 12b is then lit by the light sources 2aa-2g in accordance with the selected lighting program.”, col 5 line 64-67 – col 6 line 1-3 : “In order to improve the operability, one of the operating elements 4a, 4b can be a slide control 24a or 24b which is shown in the left-hand or right-hand display zone 9a, 9b and can be actuated by the user. By actuating the slide control 24a, 24b, a lighting parameter, in particular the brightness and the light color of the light generated by the light sources 2a-2g, can be adjusted.”, col 6 line 4-8 : “If there is no camera 10 available in the vehicle interior 5, a predefined image, in particular in the form of a graphic, can be shown in the display 9, which image can be stored in an image memory provided in the control device 7 or in the operating device 8.”, the lighting programs define the brightness and light color of light emitted by the light sources which constitutes a pattern arrangement of the light sources of the at least two color zones.);
recording a user selection of one of the arrangement profiles via the virtual operating elements (col 5 line 55-63 : “One of the operating elements 4a, 4b shown in the display 9 is designed as an activation element 25a or 25b. By actuating the related activation element 25a or 25b, the lighting program selected by the user is activated. This means that the lighting device 6 is controlled by the control device 7 such that the light sources 2a-2g implement the relevant lighting program. The left-hand or right-hand rear region 12a, 12b is then lit by the light sources 2aa-2g in accordance with the selected lighting program.”, as the user activates the lighting program by an activation element without having to select and activation element specific to each arrangement profile it would be required that the system have recorded the previous user selection of the arrangement profile in order for the system to be able to activate the selected profile when the activation element is activated by the user);
recording a color selection for each of the at least two color zones (col 5 line 5-25 : “A plurality of operating elements 4a are arranged on the left-hand edge of the left-hand display zone 9a, according to FIG. 2, by means of which elements different lighting parameters, such as the brightness or the color of the light, can be adjusted for the left-hand zone 12a of the rear region 12. However, it is also conceivable to select different, preset lighting programs having light colors and brightness levels assigned to each program. Correspondingly, a plurality of operating elements 4b are arranged on the right-hand edge of the right-hand display zone 9b, by means of which elements different lighting parameters, such as the brightness or the color of the light, can be adjusted for the left-hand zone 12a of the rear region 12. Lighting programs, for example, “work”, “mood”, “incident lighting”, “reading”, etc., for the left-hand and right-hand zones 12, 12b are also conceivable. In this case it is also conceivable to select different, preset lighting programs having light colors and brightness levels assigned to each program. By arranging the operating elements 4a, 4b on the left-hand or right-hand edge, the clarity is improved and the operation of the elements is therefore simplified.”); and
setting, via a control device, a color for each lighting unit according to the selected arrangement profile and the colors selected for the at least two color zones (col 5 line 55-63 : “One of the operating elements 4a, 4b shown in the display 9 is designed as an activation element 25a or 25b. By actuating the related activation element 25a or 25b, the lighting program selected by the user is activated. This means that the lighting device 6 is controlled by the control device 7 such that the light sources 2a-2g implement the relevant lighting program. The left-hand or right-hand rear region 12a, 12b is then lit by the light sources 2aa-2g in accordance with the selected lighting program.”). However, Fuhrmann does not explicitly teach wherein the arrangement profiles are configurable via operating elements displayed on the display and
recording a color selection for each of the at least two color zones via one or more operating elements displayed on the display and operating device; and
the patterned distribution across multiple predefined lighting zones, wherein the arrangement profiles define spatial or logical relationships among.
However, in a similar field of endeavor (recording configurations for user profiles including interior lights), Noguerol teaches wherein arrangement profiles are configurable via operating elements displayed on the display (para [0041] line 1-13 :“FIG. 6 is a diagrammatic illustration of an exemplary GUI 600 used to configure vehicle interior settings. In the illustration, settings may be configured for the “Exterior,” “Interior,” or “Drive” components of vehicle 130. In the illustration, a user has selected “Interior,” and accordingly, “Ambient Lighting,” “Aromatherapy,” and “HUD” may be displayed for user configuration. “Ambient Lighting” and “Aromatherapy” may each be configured according to “Auto,” “On,” and “Off” Custom color lighting profiles may be included and, three or more levels of aromatherapy may be included. “HUD” may be configured to adjust “Display” and “brightness.” Other GUI screens for configuring “Interior” settings may be contemplated.”); and
recording interior light settings via one or more operating elements displayed on the display and operating device (para [0035] line 1-9 : “A selected drive mode may include a plurality of vehicle feature settings, such as vehicle exterior settings, interior settings, and drive settings. Depending on the vehicle feature settings, a drive mode may be characterized as a business mode 370, sport mode 372, social mode 374, nature mode 376, or rest mode 378. For example, business mode 370 may include a display of productivity applications, optimized suspension, brightened interior lights, tinted windows, and muted music.”, para [0037] line 1-30 : “Home screen may also allow the user to “customize” a drive mode, i.e., creating a new one for his/her own. For example, Julie enters vehicle 130 and there may be no existing drive mode associated with Julie. Julie may press on “customize,” and proceed to customization screen 404 to create a “Julie” drive mode. In the illustration, customization screen 404 may allow for a user to toggle drive mode characteristics. For example, a user may adjust “regenerative braking,” “torque,” “suspension,” “speaker volume,” and “light brightness.” A user may then select touch buttons “Save” or “Share” to save or share the updated drive mode settings with other users. For example, Julie can configure a new drive mode and save it as “Julie” mode. Other users, such as John and Jane, may receive an alert or message sent to one or more personal devices 120 and/or in vehicle 130 when “Julie” mode is created. Other users, such as John and Jane, may also be able to access and implement “Julie” mode settings on one or more personal devices 120 and/or in vehicle 130. When a user selects “Save,” a pop-up or dialogue box 406 may show up that requests the user to confirm he/she intends to save the new drive mode. Upon confirming and selecting “Save” in pop-up or dialogue box 406, a message may then be sent to John and Jane alerting them that the new drive mode is created. Upon selecting “Share” in customization screen 404, the customized drive mode, e.g., “Julie” mode, may be shared with other users. For example, the user may be able to designate selected users, such as John and Jane, who can share the drive mode and use its feature settings. A notification may be sent to the designated users sharing the drive mode.”, as Fuhrmann teaches color selection for each of the at least two color zones as settings for interior lights preferences and Noguerol teaches recording of interior lighting preferences the combination teaches the limitation “setting, via a control device, a color for each lighting unit according to the selected arrangement profile and the colors selected for the at least two color zones”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the system of Fuhrmann with the configuration profiles of Noguerol to “intelligently and efficiently determine and control features according to multiple user preferences” (Noguerol para [0004[ line 1-3). However, the combination does not explicitly teach the patterned distribution across multiple predefined lighting zones, wherein the arrangement profiles define spatial or logical relationships among.
However, in a similar field of endeavor (interior lighting systems of vehicles), Claywell teaches the patterned distribution across multiple predefined lighting zones and wherein the arrangement profiles define spatial or logical relationships among (col 12 line 30-46 : “This GUI will display the proposed accent lighting configuration based on the colors that have been produced. This GUI can also display an association of the dominant colors/common colors that have been produced to the accent lighting zones in the vehicle interior. For example, the GUI can display the common color produced for the relevant torso sections 66 as being associated with the accent lighting zone that illuminates the vehicle's dashboard 70 (see FIG. 3). The GUI can also display the common color for the leg section(s) 68 as being associated with the accent lighting zone that illuminates the bottom edge of the dashboard 72. Via one or more virtual buttons provided by the GUI, processor 36 can also request one of the vehicle passengers selects whether the proposed accent lighting configuration is acceptable. If the vehicle passenger accepts the accent lighting configuration, method 200 will move to step 280; otherwise, method 200 will move to step 270.”, col 12 line 53-56 : “In step 280, processor 36 will cause ambient lighting system 55 to produce the accent lighting configuration based on the dominant colors/common colors in at least two independent lighting zones of the vehicle interior.”, where Claywell teaches independent lighting zones controlled together with a patterned distribution in combination with the teachings of Fuhrmann and Noguerol teach the limitations as claimed.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the combination of Fuhrmann and Noguerol with the control of multiple lighting zones of Claywell to increase ease of use for multiple lighting zones in the interior of a vehicle.
Regarding Claim 12 the combination of Fuhrmann, Noguerol, and Claywell teaches The method according to claim 11, further Fuhrmann teaches further comprising adapting a graphic representation of the arrangement profiles on the display and operating device, based on a recorded color selection (col 5 line 47-54 : “The lighting program selected by the user is first shown as a simulated image 21a or 21b in the relevant display zone 9a, 9b. The user can therefore check whether the simulated lighting program corresponds to the desired scenario, without it being necessary to actually change the lighting of the rear region 12 for this purpose. A plurality of lighting programs can therefore be “tried out” by the user before the actual activation.”).
Regarding Claim 13 the combination of Fuhrmann, Noguerol, and Claywell teaches The method according to claim 11, further Fuhrmann teaches wherein the virtual operating elements are configured as sliders, for setting each color of the at least two color zones (col 1 line 49-50 : “The display unit preferably comprises a touch-sensitive display.”, col 3 line 25-29 : “In a particularly preferred embodiment, at least one operating element is shown in the display as an actuatable slide control. At least one lighting parameter, in particular the brightness and/or the light color of the light generated by the light sources, can be altered by means of the slide control.”).
Regarding Claim 20 Fuhrmann teaches A device for controlling interior lighting for a vehicle, comprising (col 4 line 18-22 : “FIG. 1 schematically shows an example of a motor vehicle 1 according to the invention. A lighting device 6 is provided in a vehicle interior 5 of the motor vehicle 1, by means of which lighting device the vehicle interior 5 can be lit.”):
a plurality of lighting units, distributed in the interior of the vehicle, the lighting units each comprising one of at least two color zones (col 4 line 22-24 : “The lighting device 6 comprises a plurality of light sources 2a-2g for lighting the vehicle interior 5, and a control device 7 that is connected to the light sources 2a-2g.”, col 4 line 37-43 : “The light sources 2a-2g can be controlled and therefore operated by the user by means of the operating device 8 via the control device 7. Individual light sources 2a-2g can be selected and activated using the individual segments 22a, 22b. As a result, in the rear region of the vehicle it is possible to specifically select zones that are to be lit.”);
a display device (col 4 line 8-10 : “FIG. 2 an example of an operating device for operating the lighting device, which has a touch-sensitive display for this purpose,”);
an operating device, operatively coupled to the display device (col 4 line 8-10 : “FIG. 2 an example of an operating device for operating the lighting device, which has a touch-sensitive display for this purpose,”); and
a control device, operatively coupled to the operating device (col 4 line 8-10 : “FIG. 2 an example of an operating device for operating the lighting device, which has a touch-sensitive display for this purpose,”, col 4 line 22-29 : “The lighting device 6 comprises a plurality of light sources 2a-2g for lighting the vehicle interior 5, and a control device 7 that is connected to the light sources 2a-2g. The light sources 2a-2g are used, in particular, to light a rear region 12 of the vehicle interior 5, which region comprises two rear seats 13 and two trays 14. The light sources 2a-2g can thereby be controlled independently of one another by means of the control device 7.”),
wherein the display device and operating device are configured to
generate arrangement profiles each defining a patterned distribution of the at least two color zones in the interior of the vehicle, wherein the arrangement profiles define the at least two color zones and virtual operating elements displayed on the display, the virtual operating elements comprising interactive graphical representations of the patterned distribution including graphical representations of the patterned arrangements (col 4 line 48-57 : “Independently of the kind of light means used, the light sources 2a-2g are designed such that the brightness and/or the light color of the light emitted can be varied by means of the operating device 8. In addition, the light sources 2a-2g can also be designed such that the lighting angle of the light sources 2a-2g can be varied. This is indicated in FIG. 1 by way of example for the light source denoted by the reference sign 2g. The adjustability of the light source 2g is indicated in FIG. 1 by a double arrow denoted by the reference sign 18.”, col 5 line 47-54 : “The lighting program selected by the user is first shown as a simulated image 21a or 21b in the relevant display zone 9a, 9b. The user can therefore check whether the simulated lighting program corresponds to the desired scenario, without it being necessary to actually change the lighting of the rear region 12 for this purpose. A plurality of lighting programs can therefore be “tried out” by the user before the actual activation.”, col 5 line 56-63 : “By actuating the related activation element 25a or 25b, the lighting program selected by the user is activated. This means that the lighting device 6 is controlled by the control device 7 such that the light sources 2a-2g implement the relevant lighting program. The left-hand or right-hand rear region 12a, 12b is then lit by the light sources 2aa-2g in accordance with the selected lighting program.”, col 5 line 64-67 – col 6 line 1-3 : “In order to improve the operability, one of the operating elements 4a, 4b can be a slide control 24a or 24b which is shown in the left-hand or right-hand display zone 9a, 9b and can be actuated by the user. By actuating the slide control 24a, 24b, a lighting parameter, in particular the brightness and the light color of the light generated by the light sources 2a-2g, can be adjusted.”, col 6 line 4-8 : “If there is no camera 10 available in the vehicle interior 5, a predefined image, in particular in the form of a graphic, can be shown in the display 9, which image can be stored in an image memory provided in the control device 7 or in the operating device 8.”, the lighting programs define the brightness and light color of light emitted by the light sources which constitutes a pattern arrangement of the light sources of the at least two color zones.);
record a user selection one of the arrangement profiles via the virtual operating elements (col 5 line 55-63 : “One of the operating elements 4a, 4b shown in the display 9 is designed as an activation element 25a or 25b. By actuating the related activation element 25a or 25b, the lighting program selected by the user is activated. This means that the lighting device 6 is controlled by the control device 7 such that the light sources 2a-2g implement the relevant lighting program. The left-hand or right-hand rear region 12a, 12b is then lit by the light sources 2aa-2g in accordance with the selected lighting program.”, as the user activates the lighting program by an activation element without having to select and activation element specific to each arrangement profile it would be required that the system have recorded the previous user selection of the arrangement profile in order for the system to be able to activate the selected profile when the activation element is activated by the user);
record a color selection for each of the at least two color zones (col 5 line 5-25 : “A plurality of operating elements 4a are arranged on the left-hand edge of the left-hand display zone 9a, according to FIG. 2, by means of which elements different lighting parameters, such as the brightness or the color of the light, can be adjusted for the left-hand zone 12a of the rear region 12. However, it is also conceivable to select different, preset lighting programs having light colors and brightness levels assigned to each program. Correspondingly, a plurality of operating elements 4b are arranged on the right-hand edge of the right-hand display zone 9b, by means of which elements different lighting parameters, such as the brightness or the color of the light, can be adjusted for the left-hand zone 12a of the rear region 12. Lighting programs, for example, “work”, “mood”, “incident lighting”, “reading”, etc., for the left-hand and right-hand zones 12, 12b are also conceivable. In this case it is also conceivable to select different, preset lighting programs having light colors and brightness levels assigned to each program. By arranging the operating elements 4a, 4b on the left-hand or right-hand edge, the clarity is improved and the operation of the elements is therefore simplified.”); and
set a color for each lighting unit according to the selected arrangement profile and the colors selected for the at least two color zones (col 5 line 55-63 : “One of the operating elements 4a, 4b shown in the display 9 is designed as an activation element 25a or 25b. By actuating the related activation element 25a or 25b, the lighting program selected by the user is activated. This means that the lighting device 6 is controlled by the control device 7 such that the light sources 2a-2g implement the relevant lighting program. The left-hand or right-hand rear region 12a, 12b is then lit by the light sources 2aa-2g in accordance with the selected lighting program.”). However, Fuhrmann does not explicitly teach the arrangement profiles are configurable via operating elements displayed on the display and
recording a color selection for each of the at least two color zones via one or more operating elements displayed on the display and operating device.
However, in a similar field of endeavor (recording configurations for user profiles including interior lights), Noguerol teaches wherein arrangement profiles are configurable via operating elements displayed on the display (para [0041] line 1-13 :“FIG. 6 is a diagrammatic illustration of an exemplary GUI 600 used to configure vehicle interior settings. In the illustration, settings may be configured for the “Exterior,” “Interior,” or “Drive” components of vehicle 130. In the illustration, a user has selected “Interior,” and accordingly, “Ambient Lighting,” “Aromatherapy,” and “HUD” may be displayed for user configuration. “Ambient Lighting” and “Aromatherapy” may each be configured according to “Auto,” “On,” and “Off” Custom color lighting profiles may be included and, three or more levels of aromatherapy may be included. “HUD” may be configured to adjust “Display” and “brightness.” Other GUI screens for configuring “Interior” settings may be contemplated.”); and
recording interior light settings via one or more operating elements displayed on the display and operating device (para [0035] line 1-9 : “A selected drive mode may include a plurality of vehicle feature settings, such as vehicle exterior settings, interior settings, and drive settings. Depending on the vehicle feature settings, a drive mode may be characterized as a business mode 370, sport mode 372, social mode 374, nature mode 376, or rest mode 378. For example, business mode 370 may include a display of productivity applications, optimized suspension, brightened interior lights, tinted windows, and muted music.”, para [0037] line 1-30 : “Home screen may also allow the user to “customize” a drive mode, i.e., creating a new one for his/her own. For example, Julie enters vehicle 130 and there may be no existing drive mode associated with Julie. Julie may press on “customize,” and proceed to customization screen 404 to create a “Julie” drive mode. In the illustration, customization screen 404 may allow for a user to toggle drive mode characteristics. For example, a user may adjust “regenerative braking,” “torque,” “suspension,” “speaker volume,” and “light brightness.” A user may then select touch buttons “Save” or “Share” to save or share the updated drive mode settings with other users. For example, Julie can configure a new drive mode and save it as “Julie” mode. Other users, such as John and Jane, may receive an alert or message sent to one or more personal devices 120 and/or in vehicle 130 when “Julie” mode is created. Other users, such as John and Jane, may also be able to access and implement “Julie” mode settings on one or more personal devices 120 and/or in vehicle 130. When a user selects “Save,” a pop-up or dialogue box 406 may show up that requests the user to confirm he/she intends to save the new drive mode. Upon confirming and selecting “Save” in pop-up or dialogue box 406, a message may then be sent to John and Jane alerting them that the new drive mode is created. Upon selecting “Share” in customization screen 404, the customized drive mode, e.g., “Julie” mode, may be shared with other users. For example, the user may be able to designate selected users, such as John and Jane, who can share the drive mode and use its feature settings. A notification may be sent to the designated users sharing the drive mode.”, as Fuhrmann teaches color selection for each of the at least two color zones as settings for interior lights preferences and Noguerol teaches recording of interior lighting preferences the combination teaches the limitation “setting, via a control device, a color for each lighting unit according to the selected arrangement profile and the colors selected for the at least two color zones”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the system of Fuhrmann with the configuration profiles of Noguerol to “intelligently and efficiently determine and control features according to multiple user preferences” (Noguerol para [0004[ line 1-3). However, the combination does not explicitly teach the patterned distribution across multiple predefined lighting zones, wherein the arrangement profiles define spatial or logical relationships among.
However, in a similar field of endeavor (interior lighting systems of vehicles), Claywell teaches the patterned distribution across multiple predefined lighting zones and wherein the arrangement profiles define spatial or logical relationships among (col 12 line 30-46 : “This GUI will display the proposed accent lighting configuration based on the colors that have been produced. This GUI can also display an association of the dominant colors/common colors that have been produced to the accent lighting zones in the vehicle interior. For example, the GUI can display the common color produced for the relevant torso sections 66 as being associated with the accent lighting zone that illuminates the vehicle's dashboard 70 (see FIG. 3). The GUI can also display the common color for the leg section(s) 68 as being associated with the accent lighting zone that illuminates the bottom edge of the dashboard 72. Via one or more virtual buttons provided by the GUI, processor 36 can also request one of the vehicle passengers selects whether the proposed accent lighting configuration is acceptable. If the vehicle passenger accepts the accent lighting configuration, method 200 will move to step 280; otherwise, method 200 will move to step 270.”, col 12 line 53-56 : “In step 280, processor 36 will cause ambient lighting system 55 to produce the accent lighting configuration based on the dominant colors/common colors in at least two independent lighting zones of the vehicle interior.”, where Claywell teaches independent lighting zones controlled together with a patterned distribution in combination with the teachings of Fuhrmann and Noguerol teach the limitations as claimed.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the combination of Fuhrmann and Noguerol with the control of multiple lighting zones of Claywell to increase ease of use for multiple lighting zones in the interior of a vehicle.
Regarding Claim 21 it recites a device with limitations substantially the same as claim 12 above and therefore is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 22 it recites a device with limitations substantially the same as claim 13 above and therefore is rejected for the same reason.
Claim(s) 14-15, 17-19, 23-24, 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuhrmann, Noguerol and Claywell and further in view of Dorner et al (US 9679532 B2) henceforth referred to as Dorner.
Regarding Claim 14 the combination of Fuhrmann, Noguerol, and Claywell teaches The method according to claim 11, however the combination does not explicitly teach further comprising determining a quantity of the colors that can be selected for at least one more of the at least two color zones, depending on the selected color for a first of the at least two color zones.
However, in a similar field of endeavor (lighting color control systems), Dorner teaches a color picker further comprising determining a quantity of the colors that can be selected for at least one more of the at least two color zones, depending on the selected color for a first of the at least two color zones (col 35 line 33-44 : “FIG. 11 illustrates example affiliated color palettes 1100a and 1100b generated by the routine of FIG. 10. Starting with an input color 902, a first ordered list of affiliated colors 906a is generated, as described with reference to FIG. 9. A color can be selected from the first ordered list of affiliated colors 906a. This results in a color palette 1100a that includes the input color 902 and the selected color 908 (e.g., color 2 from the first ordered list of affiliated colors). The new color palette 1100a can then be used to generate a second ordered list of affiliated colors that now includes colors associated with the input color 902 and the selected color 908.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the combination of Fuhrmann, Noguerol, and Claywell with the color picker of Dorner to improve ability of a user to search and select colors matching a color theme.
Regarding Claim 15 the combination of Fuhrmann, Noguerol, Claywell and Dorner teaches The method according to claim 14, further Dorner teaches wherein colors of the specified quantity are displayed for selection by the user on the display and operating device (col 35 line 33-44 : “FIG. 11 illustrates example affiliated color palettes 1100a and 1100b generated by the routine of FIG. 10. Starting with an input color 902, a first ordered list of affiliated colors 906a is generated, as described with reference to FIG. 9. A color can be selected from the first ordered list of affiliated colors 906a. This results in a color palette 1100a that includes the input color 902 and the selected color 908 (e.g., color 2 from the first ordered list of affiliated colors). The new color palette 1100a can then be used to generate a second ordered list of affiliated colors that now includes colors associated with the input color 902 and the selected color 908.”).
Regarding Claim 17 the combination of Fuhrmann, Noguerol, Claywell and Dorner teaches The method according to claim 14, further Dorner teaches further comprising determining the quantity on the basis of a list stored in a memory device, the list comprising assignments of selected colors to quantities of colors (col 35 line 33-44 : “FIG. 11 illustrates example affiliated color palettes 1100a and 1100b generated by the routine of FIG. 10. Starting with an input color 902, a first ordered list of affiliated colors 906a is generated, as described with reference to FIG. 9. A color can be selected from the first ordered list of affiliated colors 906a. This results in a color palette 1100a that includes the input color 902 and the selected color 908 (e.g., color 2 from the first ordered list of affiliated colors). The new color palette 1100a can then be used to generate a second ordered list of affiliated colors that now includes colors associated with the input color 902 and the selected color 908.”, col 37 line 1-9 : “The elements of a method, process, or algorithm described in connection with the embodiments disclosed herein can be embodied directly in hardware, in a software module executed by a processor, or in a combination of the two. A software module can reside in RAM memory, flash memory, ROM memory, EPROM memory, EEPROM memory, registers, hard disk, a removable disk, a CD-ROM, or any other form of computer-readable storage medium known in the art.”).
Regarding Claim 18 the combination of Fuhrmann, Noguerol, Claywell and Dorner teaches The method according to claim 14, further Dorner teaches wherein determining the quantity comprises determining the quantity on the basis of the selected color such that the quantity comprises colors that belong to a substantially same color family, wherein the color family comprises colors adjacent to the selected color on a color wheel or within a predefined distance in a color space (col 3 line 34-37 : “In a further illustrative embodiment, the reference color can have a color distance threshold such that affiliated colors are identified where an affiliated color palette contains at least one color within the color distance threshold.”).
Regarding Claim 19 the combination of Fuhrmann, Noguerol, Claywell and Dorner teaches The method according to claim 14, wherein determining the quantity comprises determining the quantity on the basis of the selected color such that the quantity comprises colors that are in a predefined color space within a predefined distance around the selected color (col 3 line 34-37 : “In a further illustrative embodiment, the reference color can have a color distance threshold such that affiliated colors are identified where an affiliated color palette contains at least one color within the color distance threshold.”).
Regarding Claim 23 it recites a device with limitations substantially the same as claim 14 above and therefore is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 24 it recites a device with limitations substantially the same as claim 15 above and therefore is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 26 it recites a device with limitations substantially the same as claim 17 above and therefore is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 27 it recites a device with limitations substantially the same as claim 18 above and therefore is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 28 it recites a device with limitations substantially the same as claim 19 above and therefore is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 29 Fuhrmann teaches A method for controlling interior lighting for a vehicle (col 4 line 18-22 : “FIG. 1 schematically shows an example of a motor vehicle 1 according to the invention. A lighting device 6 is provided in a vehicle interior 5 of the motor vehicle 1, by means of which lighting device the vehicle interior 5 can be lit.”), wherein a plurality of lighting units are distributed in the interior of the vehicle (col 4 line 22-24 : “The lighting device 6 comprises a plurality of light sources 2a-2g for lighting the vehicle interior 5, and a control device 7 that is connected to the light sources 2a-2g.”), the lighting units each having one of at least two color zones (col 4 line 37-43 : “The light sources 2a-2g can be controlled and therefore operated by the user by means of the operating device 8 via the control device 7. Individual light sources 2a-2g can be selected and activated using the individual segments 22a, 22b. As a result, in the rear region of the vehicle it is possible to specifically select zones that are to be lit.”), the method comprising:
generating, via a display and operating device, arrangement profiles each defining a patterned distribution of the at least two color zones in the interior of the vehicle, wherein the arrangement profiles define the at least two color zones and virtual operating elements displayed on the display, the virtual operating elements comprising interactive graphical representations of the patterned distribution (col 4 line 48-57 : “Independently of the kind of light means used, the light sources 2a-2g are designed such that the brightness and/or the light color of the light emitted can be varied by means of the operating device 8. In addition, the light sources 2a-2g can also be designed such that the lighting angle of the light sources 2a-2g can be varied. This is indicated in FIG. 1 by way of example for the light source denoted by the reference sign 2g. The adjustability of the light source 2g is indicated in FIG. 1 by a double arrow denoted by the reference sign 18.”, col 5 line 47-54 : “The lighting program selected by the user is first shown as a simulated image 21a or 21b in the relevant display zone 9a, 9b. The user can therefore check whether the simulated lighting program corresponds to the desired scenario, without it being necessary to actually change the lighting of the rear region 12 for this purpose. A plurality of lighting programs can therefore be “tried out” by the user before the actual activation.”, col 5 line 56-63 : “By actuating the related activation element 25a or 25b, the lighting program selected by the user is activated. This means that the lighting device 6 is controlled by the control device 7 such that the light sources 2a-2g implement the relevant lighting program. The left-hand or right-hand rear region 12a, 12b is then lit by the light sources 2aa-2g in accordance with the selected lighting program.”, col 5 line 64-67 – col 6 line 1-3 : “In order to improve the operability, one of the operating elements 4a, 4b can be a slide control 24a or 24b which is shown in the left-hand or right-hand display zone 9a, 9b and can be actuated by the user. By actuating the slide control 24a, 24b, a lighting parameter, in particular the brightness and the light color of the light generated by the light sources 2a-2g, can be adjusted.”, col 6 line 4-8 : “If there is no camera 10 available in the vehicle interior 5, a predefined image, in particular in the form of a graphic, can be shown in the display 9, which image can be stored in an image memory provided in the control device 7 or in the operating device 8.”, the lighting programs define the brightness and light color of light emitted by the light sources which constitutes a pattern arrangement of the light sources of the at least two color zones.);
recording a user selection of one of the arrangement profiles via the virtual operating elements (col 5 line 55-63 : “One of the operating elements 4a, 4b shown in the display 9 is designed as an activation element 25a or 25b. By actuating the related activation element 25a or 25b, the lighting program selected by the user is activated. This means that the lighting device 6 is controlled by the control device 7 such that the light col 5 line 56-63 : “By actuating the related activation element 25a or 25b, the lighting program selected by the user is activated. This means that the lighting device 6 is controlled by the control device 7 such that the light sources 2a-2g implement the relevant lighting program. The left-hand or right-hand rear region 12a, 12b is then lit by the light sources 2aa-2g in accordance with the selected lighting program. “sources 2a-2g implement the relevant lighting program. The left-hand or right-hand rear region 12a, 12b is then lit by the light sources 2aa-2g in accordance with the selected lighting program.”, as the user activates the lighting program by an activation element without having to select and activation element specific to each arrangement profile it would be required that the system have recorded the previous user selection of the arrangement profile in order for the system to be able to activate the selected profile when the activation element is activated by the user);
recording a color selection for each of the at least two color zones (col 5 line 5-25 : “A plurality of operating elements 4a are arranged on the left-hand edge of the left-hand display zone 9a, according to FIG. 2, by means of which elements different lighting parameters, such as the brightness or the color of the light, can be adjusted for the left-hand zone 12a of the rear region 12. However, it is also conceivable to select different, preset lighting programs having light colors and brightness levels assigned to each program. Correspondingly, a plurality of operating elements 4b are arranged on the right-hand edge of the right-hand display zone 9b, by means of which elements different lighting parameters, such as the brightness or the color of the light, can be adjusted for the left-hand zone 12a of the rear region 12. Lighting programs, for example, “work”, “mood”, “incident lighting”, “reading”, etc., for the left-hand and right-hand zones 12, 12b are also conceivable. In this case it is also conceivable to select different, preset lighting programs having light colors and brightness levels assigned to each program. By arranging the operating elements 4a, 4b on the left-hand or right-hand edge, the clarity is improved and the operation of the elements is therefore simplified.”); and
setting, via a control device, a color for each lighting unit according to the selected arrangement profile and the colors selected for the at least two color zones (col 5 line 55-63 : “One of the operating elements 4a, 4b shown in the display 9 is designed as an activation element 25a or 25b. By actuating the related activation element 25a or 25b, the lighting program selected by the user is activated. This means that the lighting device 6 is controlled by the control device 7 such that the light sources 2a-2g implement the relevant lighting program. The left-hand or right-hand rear region 12a, 12b is then lit by the light sources 2aa-2g in accordance with the selected lighting program.”). However, Fuhrmann does not explicitly teach wherein the arrangement profiles are configurable via operating elements displayed on the display and
recording a color selection for each of the at least two color zones via one or more operating elements displayed on the display and operating device; and
determining a quantity of the colors that can be selected for at least one more of the at least two color zones, depending on the selected color for a first of the at least two color zones.
However, in a similar field of endeavor (recording configurations for user profiles including interior lights), Noguerol teaches wherein arrangement profiles are configurable via operating elements displayed on the display (para [0041] line 1-13 :“FIG. 6 is a diagrammatic illustration of an exemplary GUI 600 used to configure vehicle interior settings. In the illustration, settings may be configured for the “Exterior,” “Interior,” or “Drive” components of vehicle 130. In the illustration, a user has selected “Interior,” and accordingly, “Ambient Lighting,” “Aromatherapy,” and “HUD” may be displayed for user configuration. “Ambient Lighting” and “Aromatherapy” may each be configured according to “Auto,” “On,” and “Off” Custom color lighting profiles may be included and, three or more levels of aromatherapy may be included. “HUD” may be configured to adjust “Display” and “brightness.” Other GUI screens for configuring “Interior” settings may be contemplated.”); and
recording interior light settings via one or more operating elements displayed on the display and operating device (para [0035] line 1-9 : “A selected drive mode may include a plurality of vehicle feature settings, such as vehicle exterior settings, interior settings, and drive settings. Depending on the vehicle feature settings, a drive mode may be characterized as a business mode 370, sport mode 372, social mode 374, nature mode 376, or rest mode 378. For example, business mode 370 may include a display of productivity applications, optimized suspension, brightened interior lights, tinted windows, and muted music.”, para [0037] line 1-30 : “Home screen may also allow the user to “customize” a drive mode, i.e., creating a new one for his/her own. For example, Julie enters vehicle 130 and there may be no existing drive mode associated with Julie. Julie may press on “customize,” and proceed to customization screen 404 to create a “Julie” drive mode. In the illustration, customization screen 404 may allow for a user to toggle drive mode characteristics. For example, a user may adjust “regenerative braking,” “torque,” “suspension,” “speaker volume,” and “light brightness.” A user may then select touch buttons “Save” or “Share” to save or share the updated drive mode settings with other users. For example, Julie can configure a new drive mode and save it as “Julie” mode. Other users, such as John and Jane, may receive an alert or message sent to one or more personal devices 120 and/or in vehicle 130 when “Julie” mode is created. Other users, such as John and Jane, may also be able to access and implement “Julie” mode settings on one or more personal devices 120 and/or in vehicle 130. When a user selects “Save,” a pop-up or dialogue box 406 may show up that requests the user to confirm he/she intends to save the new drive mode. Upon confirming and selecting “Save” in pop-up or dialogue box 406, a message may then be sent to John and Jane alerting them that the new drive mode is created. Upon selecting “Share” in customization screen 404, the customized drive mode, e.g., “Julie” mode, may be shared with other users. For example, the user may be able to designate selected users, such as John and Jane, who can share the drive mode and use its feature settings. A notification may be sent to the designated users sharing the drive mode.”, as Fuhrmann teaches color selection for each of the at least two color zones as settings for interior lights preferences and Noguerol teaches recording of interior lighting preferences the combination teaches the limitation “setting, via a control device, a color for each lighting unit according to the selected arrangement profile and the colors selected for the at least two color zones”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the system of Fuhrmann with the configuration profiles of Noguerol to “intelligently and efficiently determine and control features according to multiple user preferences” (Noguerol para [0004[ line 1-3). However, the combination does not explicitly teach determining a quantity of the colors that can be selected for at least one more of the at least two color zones, depending on the selected color for a first of the at least two color zones.
However, in a similar field of endeavor (lighting color control systems), Dorner teaches a color picker further comprising determining a quantity of the colors that can be selected for at least one more of the at least two color zones, depending on the selected color for a first of the at least two color zones (col 35 line 33-44 : “FIG. 11 illustrates example affiliated color palettes 1100a and 1100b generated by the routine of FIG. 10. Starting with an input color 902, a first ordered list of affiliated colors 906a is generated, as described with reference to FIG. 9. A color can be selected from the first ordered list of affiliated colors 906a. This results in a color palette 1100a that includes the input color 902 and the selected color 908 (e.g., color 2 from the first ordered list of affiliated colors). The new color palette 1100a can then be used to generate a second ordered list of affiliated colors that now includes colors associated with the input color 902 and the selected color 908.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the combination of Fuhrmann and Noguerol with the color picker of Dorner to improve ability of a user to search and select colors matching a color theme. However, the combination does not explicitly teach the patterned distribution across multiple predefined lighting zones, wherein the arrangement profiles define spatial or logical relationships among.
However, in a similar field of endeavor (interior lighting systems of vehicles), Claywell teaches the patterned distribution across multiple predefined lighting zones and wherein the arrangement profiles define spatial or logical relationships among (col 12 line 30-46 : “This GUI will display the proposed accent lighting configuration based on the colors that have been produced. This GUI can also display an association of the dominant colors/common colors that have been produced to the accent lighting zones in the vehicle interior. For example, the GUI can display the common color produced for the relevant torso sections 66 as being associated with the accent lighting zone that illuminates the vehicle's dashboard 70 (see FIG. 3). The GUI can also display the common color for the leg section(s) 68 as being associated with the accent lighting zone that illuminates the bottom edge of the dashboard 72. Via one or more virtual buttons provided by the GUI, processor 36 can also request one of the vehicle passengers selects whether the proposed accent lighting configuration is acceptable. If the vehicle passenger accepts the accent lighting configuration, method 200 will move to step 280; otherwise, method 200 will move to step 270.”, col 12 line 53-56 : “In step 280, processor 36 will cause ambient lighting system 55 to produce the accent lighting configuration based on the dominant colors/common colors in at least two independent lighting zones of the vehicle interior.”, where Claywell teaches independent lighting zones controlled together with a patterned distribution in combination with the teachings of Fuhrmann and Noguerol teach the limitations as claimed.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the combination of Fuhrmann, Noguerol, and Dorner with the control of multiple lighting zones of Claywell to increase ease of use for multiple lighting zones in the interior of a vehicle.
Regarding Claim 30 the combination of Fuhrmann, Noguerol, and Dorner teaches The method according to claim 29, further Fuhrmann teaches further comprising adapting a graphic representation of the arrangement profiles on the display and operating device, based on a recorded color selection(col 5 line 47-54 : “The lighting program selected by the user is first shown as a simulated image 21a or 21b in the relevant display zone 9a, 9b. The user can therefore check whether the simulated lighting program corresponds to the desired scenario, without it being necessary to actually change the lighting of the rear region 12 for this purpose. A plurality of lighting programs can therefore be “tried out” by the user before the actual activation.”).
Claim(s) 16 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuhrmann et al (US 10703265 B2) henceforth referred to as Fuhrmann in view of Noguerol, Dorner, and Claywell and further in view of www.canva.com/colors/color-wheel/ (accessed via archive.com wayback machine log date 03/30/2019) henceforth referred to as Canva.
Regarding Claim 16 the combination of Fuhrmann, Noguerol, Claywell, and Dorner teaches The method according to claim 14, however the combination does not explicitly teach further comprising configuring selectable colors in the form of a color wheel on the display and operating device and/or configuring colors of the determined quantity in the form of a color circle on the display and operating device.
However, in a similar field of endeavor (color selection and input systems), Canva teaches further comprising configuring selectable colors in the form of a color wheel on the display and operating device and/or configuring colors of the determined quantity in the form of a color circle on the display and operating device (“Color theory and the color wheel” para 3 : “Colors that look good together are called a color harmony. Artists and designers use these to create a particular look or feel. You can use a color wheel to find color harmonies by using the rules of color combinations. Color combinations determine the relative positions of different colors in order to find colors that create a pleasing effect.”, Further Canva has an interactive color wheel in which a user can select a color using the color wheel.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the combination of Fuhrmann, Noguerol, Dorner, and Claywell with the color wheel of Canva “to find color harmonies by using the rules of color combinations” (Canva “Color theory and the color wheel” para 3).
Regarding Claim 25 it recites a device with limitations substantially the same as claim 16 above and therefore is rejected for the same reason.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/JAMES J LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668