Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 38, 61-62, and 67-78 are under consideration in the instant Office Action.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 38, 61-64 and 66-78 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-68 of copending Application No. 18/607,951 in view of Hanon et al., 2018 and Fassati et al., 2019 is moot since the case has been abandoned.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38, 61-62 and 67-78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boots et al., WO2017/211827 (IDS) in view of Hanon et al, 2018 (1/13/2026 PTO-891) and Fassati et al., 2019 (6/13/2025 PTO-892).
The instant claims are towards a method that administers to a human subject with Alzheimer’s disease an effective amount of an anti-beta-amyloid antibody comprising BIIB037 (aka aducanumab) which is comprised of CDRs SEQ ID NOs:3-8, VH and VL of SEQ ID NOs:1-2 and heavy and light chains SEQ ID NOs: 10-11 and produced the effect of reducing phosphorylated tau (p-tau) and/ or total tau (t-tau) in the human subject.
Boots teaches treating Alzheimer’s patients by administering an effective amount of an anti-beta-amyloid antibody comprising BIIB037 (aka aducanumab, see abstract) as in instant claims 38 and 68-69. Boots teaches the anti-beta-amyloid antibody comprising BIIB037 (aka aducanumab) comprise comprises VH and VL SEQ ID NOs: 1-2 and CDRs SEQ ID NOs:3-8 (see pages 18-19, Tables 1-3 and page 67, claim 1) and sequences SEQ ID NOs: 10-11 (see bottom of page 17 and page 19, Tables 4-5 and page 30) as in instant claims 38 and 70-71.Boots teaches progress can be monitored by periodic assessment during treatment (see page 25, 1st paragraph) as in instant claim 38. Boots teaches administering the antibody via intravenous infusion (see page 22, 2nd paragraph and page 58) as in instant claim 72. Boots teaches administering the antibody at 3mg/ kg, 6mg/kg and/or 10mg/kg of body weight of the human subject (see pages 4, 68, claims 5-7 and 14 ) as in instant claim 73. Boots teaches that multiple doses are administered at interval of 4 weeks (see their claim 16, page 69 and page 30) as in instant claim 74. Boots teaches administering at 4 weeks intervals and ramping up dosage of 1mg/kg, 3mg/ kg, 6mg/kg and/or 10mg/kg of body weight of the human subject over at least 52 weeks (see pages 8-11, 26-27 and 33, claim 35 and Figure 16) as in instant claims 75-76. Boots teaches that the patient population includes ApoE4 carrier and non-carriers (see page 5 (3rd paragraph), page 13, Figure13 and page 71, claim 21) and non-carriers reads on the non-AD associated ApoE3 isotype of instant claim 77. Boots teaches the dosage treatment at low dosages reduces the probability of ARIA (see pages 5) as in instant claim 78 since the antibody treatment does not induce ARIA in non-carriers of ApoE4 (see pages 35, 62, 2nd paragraph; page 64 and page 71). Boots teaches the patient population includes Alzheimer’s disease with prodromal or mild AD (see page 13, Figure 2 and page 63) as in instant claims 38 and 68-69. Boots teaches that AD does not occur in discrete stages, those skilled in the art will recognize that the differences between patient groups may not be distinct in a particular clinical setting and the clinical disease stage can be characterized by measures, and changes in these hallmarks of the disease which include measures over time, such as Ab accumulation (CSF/PET), and tau-mediated neuronal injury in the CSF (include phosphorylated tau and total tau) and clinical function (see page 1, 14 and 53- 54) as in instant claims 61-62 and 68. Boots teaching of modifying dosage over time in response to positive and adverse effects (see page 36, Table 7, page 53 and bottom of page 54 ) as now required in instant 38.
Boot teaches that a dose dependent reduction of amyloid was observed and that there was a statistically significant reduction observed at week 26 (see bottom of page 60) and weeks 54 (see page 61). Since Boots has shown that the claimed antibody is capable of reducing one of the biomarkers, amyloid beta, in the same AD population, the intended result of instant claim 67 would also be achieved even if the public was not aware of the intended result. While Boots is silent on the intended result of reducing tau burden when treating AD population with anti-beta-amyloid antibody comprising BIIB037 (aka aducanumab), it is clear that the same patient population would have the same response when administering the instantly claimed composition since there is no evidence to the contrary.
While the references are silent on the intended results in the instant claims, such as reduction of tau, the reference teach the required antibody. Therefore, the antibodies will produce the same results as the instantly claimed method since one is practicing the active steps, administering the same antibody to the same patient population. MPEP 2145(II) states: “The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious.” Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985)” (“The recitation of an additional advantage associated with doing what the prior art suggests does not lend patentability to an otherwise unpatentable invention.”). While Boots teaches body fluids (see page 53, 2nd paragraph), Boots does not explicitly teach detecting tau in blood or blood products or monitoring the p-tau or total tau levels as required in independent claim 38.
Hanon teaches plasma Ab was associated with cognitive status and CSF biomarkers, suggesting the interest of plasma amyloid biomarkers for diagnosis purpose (see abstract). Hanon teaches that there are correlation between the AD and MCI biomarkers in both blood and CSF as required in the instant claims. Hanon teaches that among these biomarkers, cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) Ab42, tau, phosphorylated tau (p-Tau), and cortical amyloid–positron emission tomography (PET) scans have been included in the International Guidelines for AD in clinical research settings (see page 589, 1st column). Hanon teaches blood and lumbar CSF samples for Ab42, tau, phosphorylated tau (p-Tau) are collected on the same day (see page 860, 2.2. Plasma and CSF sampling and analysis). Hanon teaches that there is a relationship between Ab42 and phosphorylated tau (p-Tau), wherein Ab42 has been shown to induce tau phosphorylation or through common mechanisms influencing amyloid and tau metabolism (see page 865, 2nd column). This provides motivation to one of ordinary skill to monitor all of these biomarkers, Ab42, tau and phosphorylated tau (p-Tau), in AD patients being treated to determine the level of effect the treatment is producing in the subject as requires in newly amended claim 38.
Fassati teaches that using plasma tau as a diagnostic for AD is successful and that combining both plasma, a blood product, and CSF levels of phosphorylated (p-tau) and total tau (t-tau) make a better diagnostic for Alzheimer’s disease (see abstract) and meets the limitations of obtaining total tau (t-tau) levels form blood and CSF of instant claims 60-67. Fassati teaches that elevated cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) tau and p-tau are established biomarkers for AD (see page 484, top of 1st column). Fassati teaches obtaining CSF samples via lumbar puncture at the same time blood samples were collected from the same patient (see page 484, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph) and meets the requirement of instant claim 61. Fassati teaches that significantly higher concentrations of plasma tau were found in the AD groups compared with age-matched controls (see page 485, section 3.2) as required in instant claims 61-62 and 67-69. Fassati does not teach treating Alzheimer’s patients by administering an effective amount of an anti-beta-amyloid antibody comprising BIIB037 (aka aducanumab) as required in instant claim 38.
It would have been prima facie obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Boots, Hanon and Fassati. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Hanon and Fassati teaches that combining the measurements of amyloid beta and tau levels obtained from CSF and blood samples improve the strength of the biomarkers for AD diagnosis and monitoring. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would use blood sample to monitor tau levels since the biological fluids of blood are easier and safer to obtain. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references.
Double Patenting
Claims 38, 61-62 and 67-78 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-63 of U.S. Patent No. 10,842,871 in view of Hanon et al., 2018 (1/13/2026 PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘871 claims a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease by administering intravenously an effective amount of an anti-beta-amyloid antibody comprising BIIB037 (aka aducanumab) wherein multiple doses of 1 mg antibody/kg of body weight of the human patient are administered to the human patient at intervals of about 4 weeks, multiple doses of 3 mg antibody/kg of body weight of the human patient are administered to the human patient at intervals of about 4 weeks, multiple doses of 6 mg antibody/kg of body weight of the human patient are administered to the human patient at intervals of about 4 weeks, and multiple doses of 10 mg antibody/kg of body weight of the human patient are administered to the human patient at intervals of about 4 weeks. ‘871 claims detecting a biomarkers selected from the group consisting of total Tau, phospho-Tau, pyroglutamate-Aβ Aβ40, and Aβ42 in cerebrospinal fluid and blood of the human patient. ‘871 does not specifically claim monitoring tau levels when administering the treatment, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to monitor tau and p-tau in view of Hanon’s teachings that Ab levels effect p-tau levels. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to monitor all of the possible and well-correlated biomarkers associated in with AD to determine all of the possible effects associated with the instantly claimed treatment method.
While ‘871 is silent on the intended results in the instant claims, such as reduction of tau, ‘871 teaches the required antibody. Therefore, the antibodies will produce the same results as the instantly claimed method since one is practicing the active steps, administering the same antibody to the same patient population. MPEP 2145(II) states: “The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious.” Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985)” (“The recitation of an additional advantage associated with doing what the prior art suggests does not lend patentability to an otherwise unpatentable invention.”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the references of record fail to teach all of the required limitations. Applicant argues that there is no motivation to modify the method of the cites references to derive the claimed methods and claims unexpected results for the claimed methods; applicant argues that the present application surprisingly discovered that aducanumab not only attenuates disease-related increases in tau, but also reduces pathological forms of tau in brains of Alzheimer's patients. These arguments are not found persuasive because as already discussed above all of the limitations are all taught by the prior art of obvious over the prior art. Specifically, the Boot reference teaches most of the required limitations as already acknowledged above since Boot is not an anticipatory reference. Boot does fail to specifically teach the link of MCI and AD with total tau or phosphorylated tau levels and that the treatment would have an effect on tau levels. This issue is remedied by the references of Hanon and Fossati since they teach that the tau levels are integral in diagnosing AD and MCI. Since the levels of tau fluctuate and are linked to these disease diagnosis it clearly speaks to the fact that one of ordinary skill would not find it surprising that these levels are affected by indirect treatments which affect Ab can also modulate tau levels indirectly. Especially since Hanon teaches plasma Ab was associated with cognitive status and CSF biomarkers, suggesting the interest of plasma amyloid biomarkers for diagnosis purpose (see abstract) and that there are correlation between the AD and MCI biomarkers in both blood and CSF. Hanon teaches that there is a relationship between Ab42 and phosphorylated tau (p-Tau), wherein Ab42 has been shown to induce tau phosphorylation or through common mechanisms influencing amyloid and tau metabolism (see page 865, 2nd column). Therefore, this speaks to the link found in the prior art to relationship between Ab42 and phosphorylated tau (p-Tau), and the motivation to one of ordinary skill in the art to use both biomarkers to diagnose and monitor AD subjects being treated with an Ab42 modulating treatment in AD subjects.
Therefore, the applicant’s observation that anti-amyloid beta antibody treatment in the AD subject would also lead to an effect on p-tau is not unexpected or surprising since the prior art already knows that Ab and tau are interconnected and the levels of Ab do have an effect on p-tau. Therefore, since one of ordinary skill in the art is aware of the benefit of using these two biomarkers in AD diagnosis it would be reasonable to continue using the same biomarkers to determine and monitor the effects of treatment in AD.
Further, see MPEP 2112 (I), which states, “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Verdegaal Bros., Inc. v. Union Oil Co., 814 F.2d 633 (Fed. Cir. 1987) which states "Congress has not seen fit to permit the patenting of an old [composition], known to others…, by one who has discovered its…useful properties."
See MPEP 2112 (I), which states, “The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The Federal Circuit has stated that ("Congress has not seen fit to permit the patenting of an old [composition], known to others…, by one who has discovered its…useful properties.") See Titanium Metals Corp., 778 F.2d at 782; Verdegaal Bros., 814 F.2d at 628,631 (fed. Cir. 1987). While Boots is silent on the intended result of reducing tau burden when treating AD population with anti-beta-amyloid antibody comprising BIIB037 (aka aducanumab), it is clear that the same patient population would have the same response when administering the instantly claimed composition whether one of ordinary skill is aware how it works or not since the art already provides motivation the administer the instantly claimed antibody treatment to the same patient population, Alzheimer’s patients.
Finally, applicant's request that the double patenting rejections of the instant claims over of the patent be held in abeyance until there is allowable subject matter, at which time they will consider responding is not appropriate. Since applicant has not provided any objections or arguments for the double patenting rejections of record, the above double patenting rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Advisory Information
/AURORA M FONTAINHAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675