DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e)
or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. This application is a 371 National Stage application of PCT/US20/57289 filed 10/26/2020, which claims the benefit of
Application Number 62/926,376 filed 10/25/2019. Based on the filing receipt, the effective
filing date of this application is October 25, 2019 which is the filing date of Application
Number 62/926,376 from which the benefit of priority is claimed.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements filed 11/27/22, again 11/27/22, 10/13/2023, 12/20/2023, 12/21/2023, 08/05/2024, 02/05/2025, 06/18/2025, 10/07/2025, and 12/09/2025 have been considered.
Status of Claims
Claims 3, 7-8, 16, 18-20, 25, and 30 are cancelled, in amended claims filed 04/22/2022.
Claims 12-15, 21-24, 26-27, 29, and 31 are withdrawn due to being directed to nonelected species, in the reply filed 09/04/2025.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-11, 17, and 28 are examined herein.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species A) Cantilever beams as the substrate structure, species D) Reflected light as the detection mode, and species G) Pads as the base structure in the reply filed on 2025-09-04 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 12-15, 21-24, 26-27, 29, and 31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/04/2025.
The applicant elected species A) Cantilever beams as the substrate structure, species D) Reflected light as the detection mode, and species G) Pads as the base structure.
However, upon examination, it is understood that ink as a detection mode did not place an undue burden during the prior art search. For this reason, the species election of detection mode has been withdrawn.
Claims 12-15 are directed to the unelected substrate structure species of B) Fixed beams (see, e.g., applicant’s specification, p. 16, para. 3).
Claims 21-24 are directed to the unelected substrate structure species of C) Microstructure or nanostructure (see, e.g., applicant’s specification, p. 17, para. 2 to p. 18, para. 1).
Claims 26 and 31 are explicitly directed to an unelected base structure species of F) Microbeads.
Claim 29 is explicitly directed to an unelected substrate species of C) Microstructures or nanostructures.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a molecular recognition group coupled to the substrate, the molecular recognition group being operable to bind to a target pathogen” in claim 1;
the molecular recognition group “operable to bind to the target pathogen by a third bond” in claims 5 and 21;
“the cantilever beam is operable to block passage of light prior to the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen and to transmit light upon the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen and bending of the substrate” in claim 10;
“the dispersive surfaces being operable to reflect different wavelengths of light” in claim 15;
and “a microbead bonded to a second molecular recognition group operable to bind to the target pathogen” in claim 31.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The “molecular recognition group coupled to the substrate, the molecular recognition group being operable to bind to a target pathogen” in claim 1 is interpreted as the aptamers, antigens, and antibodies described from p. 11, line 10 to p. 12, line 25 of the specification (see, e.g., “Molecular recognition groups can generally include a surface bonding group and a viral bonding group”) and equivalents thereof.
The molecular recognition group “operable to bind to the target pathogen by a third bond” in claims 5 and 21 is interpreted as the aptamers, antigens, and antibodies described from p. 11, line 10 to p. 12, line 25 of the specification (see, e.g., “Molecular recognition groups can generally include a surface bonding group and a viral bonding group”) and equivalents thereof.
The cantilever beam “operable to block passage of light prior to the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen and to transmit light upon the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen and bending of the substrate” in claim 10 is interpreted as the “light valve” colorimetric sensor described on p. 16, lines 5-14 and FIGS. 8A and 8B of the specification and equivalents thereof.
The “dispersive surfaces being operable to reflect different wavelengths of light” in claim 15 is interpreted as the biomimetic device described on p. 17, lines 1-20 and FIGS. 10A and 10B of the specification (“When a pathogen is present and binds to the sensor's surface aptamers, the binding force creates a surface stress causing the Fabry-Perot length (L) to increase and reflect the red light”) and equivalents thereof.
The “microbead bonded to a second molecular recognition group operable to bind to the target pathogen” in claim 31 is interpreted as the plurality of bases described on p. 20, lines 10-18 and FIGS. 16A and 16B of the specification (“the bases can comprise microbeads that form a colloidal solution and coagulate when the pathogen is introduced”) and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "The colorimetric pathogen sensor of claim 8" in the preamble of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 8 has been cancelled, therefore, the metes and bounds of claim 9 cannot be ascertained. For the purpose of prior art, claim 9 will be interpreted as dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-11, 17, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boisen, et al. ("Rapid molecular detection of food- and water-borne diseases", published 2007-08).
With respect to claim 1, Boisen teaches a colorimetric pathogen sensor, comprising: a substrate; and a molecular recognition group coupled to the substrate, the molecular recognition group being operable to bind to a target pathogen, wherein, upon the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen, reflected light is altered thereby changing apparent color (see, e.g., molecular recognition group coupled to the substrate – p. 3, col. 1, under “Catching bacteria”, para. 1: “the cantilever is coated with antibodies against Escherichia coli”; upon binding the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen, reflected light is altered thereby changing color – p. 4, col. 1, under “The ‘lid thing’”, para. 1: “Coloured marker molecules are loaded in a small container closed by a flexible lid. The lid is coated with specific detector molecules which bind the molecules under investigation. This binding causes the lid (just like a cantilever) to deflect, the marker molecules are released and they can be detected by the naked eye”). It is understood that the cantilever/lid of Boisen is equivalent to a substrate.
With respect to claim 2, Boisen teaches the molecular recognition group is an antibody and the target pathogen comprises bacteria (see, e.g., p. 3, col. 1, under “Catching bacteria”, para. 1: “the cantilever is coated with antibodies against Escherichia coli”).
With respect to claim 4, Boisen teaches upon the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen, the substrate is caused to bend thereby altering reflected light and changing apparent color (see, e.g., p. 4, col. 1, under “The ‘lid thing’”, para. 1: “Coloured marker molecules are loaded in a small container closed by a flexible lid. The lid is coated with specific detector molecules which bind the molecules under investigation. This binding causes the lid (just like a cantilever) to deflect, the marker molecules are released and they can be detected by the naked eye”). It is understood that the deflection of the lid is equivalent to the substrate bending.
With respect to claim 5, Boisen teaches a base bonded to the substrate by a first bond, wherein the molecular recognition group is bonded to the base by a second bond, the molecular recognition group being operable to bind to the target pathogen by a third bond, and wherein, upon the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen, the third bond generates a residual stress on the base that causes the substrate to bend (see, e.g., p. 4, col. 1, under “The ‘lid thing’”, para. 1: “Coloured marker molecules are loaded in a small container closed by a flexible lid. The lid is coated with specific detector molecules which bind the molecules under investigation. This binding causes the lid (just like a cantilever) to deflect, the marker molecules are released and they can be detected by the naked eye”).
[AltContent: textbox ([img-media_image1.png]
Fig. 4)]With respect to claim 6, Boisen teaches the base comprises a coating substantially covering a surface of the substrate (see, e.g., p. 4, col. 1, under “The ‘lid thing’”, para. 1: “The lid is coated with specific detector molecules which bind the molecules under investigation”, and see “Fig. 4.” from p. 3 below).
With respect to claim 9, Boisen teaches the substrate comprises a cantilever beams (see, e.g., p. 4, col. 1, under “The ‘lid thing’”, para. 1: “The lid is coated with specific detector molecules which bind the molecules under investigation”, and see “Fig. 4.” from p. 3 above). It is understood that the lid of Boisen is equivalent to a cantilever beam because the lid is a beam supported on one end and free on the other.
With respect to claim 10, Boisen teaches the cantilever beam is operable to block passage of light prior to the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen and to transmit light upon the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen and bending of the substrate (see, e.g., “Fig. 4.” from p. 3 above). It is understood that the cantilever beam of “Fig. 4.” is capable of blocking the passing of light prior to molecular binding and transmitting light upon molecular recognition group binding with the target due to bending of the substrate. As the cantilever beam bends, light blocked by the beam is now allowed to pass through, meeting the functional limitations of claim 10.
[AltContent: textbox ([img-media_image2.png]Fig. 1)]With respect to claim 11, Boisen teaches an ink well formed in an ink well substrate and ink disposed in the ink well, wherein the ink is covered by the cantilever beam and upon the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen, the cantilever beam bends away from the ink well substrate and releases from the ink from the ink well (see, e.g., p. 4, col. 1, under “The ‘lid thing’”, para. 1: “Coloured marker molecules are loaded in a small container closed by a flexible lid. The lid is coated with specific detector molecules which bind the molecules under investigation. This binding causes the lid (just like a cantilever) to deflect, the marker molecules are released and they can be detected by the naked eye”, and see “Fig. 4.” from p. 3 above). It is understood that the coloured marker molecules loaded in the small container closed by a flexible lid is equivalent to ink disposed in an ink well.
With respect to claim 17, Boisen teaches the substrate comprises a plurality of beams and the substrate is caused to bend by a binding force of the molecular recognition group and the target pathogen moving the target pathogen into a gap between at least two of the plurality of beams (see, e.g., p. 3, “Fig. 1” shown above).
With respect to claim 28, Boisen teaches the molecular recognition group is bonded to the substrate (see, e.g., p. 3, col. 1, under “Catching bacteria”, para. 1: “the cantilever is coated with antibodies against Escherichia coli”).
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-11, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hood (US 8898069 B2, published 2014-11-25).
With respect to claim 1, Hood teaches a colorimetric pathogen sensor, comprising: a substrate; and a molecular recognition group coupled to the substrate, the molecular recognition group being operable to bind to a target pathogen, wherein, upon the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen, reflected light is altered thereby changing apparent color (see, e.g., col. 40: “Hydrogels with covalently coupled […] influenza viral particles or influenza viral protein antigens (e.g. nucleoprotein or hemagglutinin) are coated on one face of a micro-cantilever and used to detect anti-influenza antibodies in salivary fluid. Micro-cantilever also act as valves on a reservoir of dye molecules that can be configured to be induced, resulting in deflection and release of the dye molecules […] For example, colorimetric changes in a transparent plastic discrete oral component with a micro-cantilever controlling release of a dye (e.g. Phenol red, Trypan blue, Congo red, Bromocresol purple, Ethyl orange; all available from Sigma-Aldrich, St. Louis, Mo.) in the oral component signals the presence of influenza virions in saliva”). It is understood that the micro-cantilever is equivalent to a substrate, the micro-cantilevers are coated with molecular recognition groups, and the influenza virions are equivalent to a target pathogen. It is understood that the release of a dye leads to reflected light being altered thereby changing apparent color.
With respect to claim 2, Hood teaches the molecular recognition group is an antigen and the target pathogen comprises a virus (see, e.g., col. 40: “Hydrogels with covalently coupled […] influenza viral particles or influenza viral protein antigens (e.g. nucleoprotein or hemagglutinin) are coated on one face of a micro-cantilever and used to detect anti-influenza antibodies in salivary fluid. Micro-cantilever also act as valves on a reservoir of dye molecules that can be configured to be induced, resulting in deflection and release of the dye molecules […] For example, colorimetric changes in a transparent plastic discrete oral component with a micro-cantilever controlling release of a dye (e.g. Phenol red, Trypan blue, Congo red, Bromocresol purple, Ethyl orange; all available from Sigma-Aldrich, St. Louis, Mo.) in the oral component signals the presence of influenza virions in saliva”).
With respect to claim 4, Hood teaches upon the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen, the substrate is caused to bend thereby altering reflected light and changing apparent color (see, e.g., col. 40: “Hydrogels with covalently coupled […] influenza viral particles or influenza viral protein antigens (e.g. nucleoprotein or hemagglutinin) are coated on one face of a micro-cantilever and used to detect anti-influenza antibodies in salivary fluid. Micro-cantilever also act as valves on a reservoir of dye molecules that can be configured to be induced, resulting in deflection and release of the dye molecules […] For example, colorimetric changes in a transparent plastic discrete oral component with a micro-cantilever controlling release of a dye (e.g. Phenol red, Trypan blue, Congo red, Bromocresol purple, Ethyl orange; all available from Sigma-Aldrich, St. Louis, Mo.) in the oral component signals the presence of influenza virions in saliva”). It is understood that the deflection of the micro-cantilever is equivalent to bending and the release of dye will alter reflected light by changing apparent color of the sensor.
With respect to claim 5, Hood teaches a base bonded to the substrate by a first bond, wherein the molecular recognition group is bonded to the base by a second bond, the molecular recognition group being operable to bind to the target pathogen by a third bond, and wherein, upon the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen, the third bond generates a residual stress on the base that causes the substrate to bend (see, e.g., col. 40: “Hydrogels with covalently coupled […] influenza viral particles or influenza viral protein antigens (e.g. nucleoprotein or hemagglutinin) are coated on one face of a micro-cantilever and used to detect anti-influenza antibodies in salivary fluid. Micro-cantilever also act as valves on a reservoir of dye molecules that can be configured to be induced, resulting in deflection and release of the dye molecules […] For example, colorimetric changes in a transparent plastic discrete oral component with a micro-cantilever controlling release of a dye (e.g. Phenol red, Trypan blue, Congo red, Bromocresol purple, Ethyl orange; all available from Sigma-Aldrich, St. Louis, Mo.) in the oral component signals the presence of influenza virions in saliva”). It is understood that the plastic transparent discrete oral components are equivalent to a base.
With respect to claim 6, Hood teaches the base comprises a coating substantially covering a surface of the substrate (see, e.g., col. 40: “Hydrogels with covalently coupled […] influenza viral particles or influenza viral protein antigens”).
With respect to claim 9, Hood teaches the substrate comprises a cantilever beams (see, e.g., col. 40: “Micro-cantilever also act as valves on a reservoir”).
With respect to claim 10, Hood teaches the cantilever beam is operable to block passage of light prior to the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen and to transmit light upon the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen and bending of the substrate (see, e.g., col. 40: “Hydrogels with covalently coupled […] influenza viral particles or influenza viral protein antigens (e.g. nucleoprotein or hemagglutinin) are coated on one face of a micro-cantilever and used to detect anti-influenza antibodies in salivary fluid. Micro-cantilever also act as valves on a reservoir of dye molecules that can be configured to be induced, resulting in deflection and release of the dye molecules […] For example, colorimetric changes in a transparent plastic discrete oral component with a micro-cantilever controlling release of a dye (e.g. Phenol red, Trypan blue, Congo red, Bromocresol purple, Ethyl orange; all available from Sigma-Aldrich, St. Louis, Mo.) in the oral component signals the presence of influenza virions in saliva”). It is understood that the cantilever beam of Hood is capable of blocking the passing of light prior to molecular binding and transmitting light upon molecular recognition group binding with the target due to bending of the substrate. As the cantilever beam bends, light that would have been blocked by the beam is now allowed to pass through, meeting the functional limitations of claim 10.
With respect to claim 11, Hood teaches an ink well formed in an ink well substrate and ink disposed in the ink well, wherein the ink is covered by the cantilever beam and upon the molecular recognition group binding with the target pathogen, the cantilever beam bends away from the ink well substrate and releases from the ink from the ink well (see, e.g., col. 40: “Micro-cantilever also act as valves on a reservoir of dye molecules that can be configured to be induced, resulting in deflection and release of the dye molecules […] For example, colorimetric changes in a transparent plastic discrete oral component with a micro-cantilever controlling release of a dye (e.g. Phenol red, Trypan blue, Congo red, Bromocresol purple, Ethyl orange; all available from Sigma-Aldrich, St. Louis, Mo.) in the oral component signals the presence of influenza virions in saliva”). It is understood that the reservoir of dye molecules is equivalent to an ink well.
With respect to claim 28, Hood teaches the molecular recognition group is bonded to the substrate (see, e.g., col. 40: “Hydrogels with covalently coupled […] influenza viral particles or influenza viral protein antigens (e.g. nucleoprotein or hemagglutinin) are coated on one face of a micro-cantilever and used to detect anti-influenza antibodies in salivary fluid”).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MICHAEL CAMERON SVEIVEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1678
/GREGORY S EMCH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1678