Detailed Action
The present office action is in response to the amendments filed on 03 Nov 2025.
Status
Claims 1, 6, and 11 of the pending application have been examined on the merits. Claims 4-5 and 7-9 remain withdrawn (see “Response to Applicant Amendments” below). Acknowledgement is made of the amendments filed 03 Nov 2025. Acknowledgement is made of the cancellation of claims 2-3 and 10. Acknowledgement is made of the newly added claim 11.
Priority
Applicants identify the instant application, Serial #: 17/771,070, filed 22 Apr 2022, as a National Stage Entry of International Patent Application #: PCT/CN2020/120134, filed 10 Oct 2020, which claims foreign priority from Foreign Application #: CN201911019200.0, filed 24 Oct 2019.
Response to Applicant Amendments
Acknowledgement is made of the amendments filed 03 Nov 2025.
The objection to the title is rendered moot following applicant amendments.
The objection to claim 1 is rendered moot following applicant amendments.
The rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) is rendered moot following applicant amendments.
The rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is rendered moot following applicant amendments.
The rejection of claims 1 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) is rendered moot following applicant amendments. A further search was conducted which found prior art (see rejections below). The new grounds of rejection was necessitated by applicant amendment.
Regarding the anticipatory-type double patenting rejections over copending Application No. 17/771,083 and copending Application No. 18/381,583, the terminal disclaimers filed on 05 Feb 2026 have been received and are pending review. The action is being sent in order to expidite the issues under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 103. The nonstatutory double patenting rejections are maintained and restated below. Since the previous office action (mailed on 09 Jun 2025), copending Application No. 17/771,083 was issued a Notice of Allowance and is now U.S. Patent No. 12,509,447. The rejection is now directed to the patent and not the application and is no longer a provisional rejection.
In the amendments filed 03 Nov 2025, applicant limited the scope of the generic claim to species that did not include the compound that was part of the expanded Markush search. Accordingly, examiner is extending the Markush search to Example 122 on pg. 16 of the instant specification (reproduced below) which reads on the instant claims under examination.
Prior art was found for this search and a new grounds of rejection is made below. This rejection is necessitated by applicant amendment.
Examiner notes that the relevant anticipation rejection below is based upon art which was found incidental to the search for the elected species. This is not indicative that the entire scope of the claims has been examined; however, the following art is being applied in an effort to promote compact prosecution of the case.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/118683, hereinafter ‘683. The following anticipation rejection below is based upon art which was found incidental to the search for the elected species. This is not indicative that the entire scope of the claims has been examined; however, the following art is being applied in an effort to promote compact prosecution of the case. The art is related to the searched species in the following way: the primary reference for the rejection of claims 1 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 contains species which directly anticipate the instant claims.
Instant claim 1 is drawn to compounds of the following generic formula:
The phrase, “for use as a JAK1/Tyk2 dual inhibitor” is construed as an intended use. Intended uses are not considered a limitation and therefore the above phrase does not further limit the compounds of instant claim 1. See MPEP § 2111.02(II).
‘683 teaches Compound 92 (pg. 112):
Compound 92 reads on the generic formula of instant claim 1 when X1 is CH; X2 is N; ring G1 is
; A1, A2, A3, A4, and A5 are CH; R1 replaces the H of A3; and R1 is substituted amido.
Thus, ‘683 anticipates the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘683 further in view of Patani et al. (Chem Rev, 1996, 96:3147-3176), hereinafter Patani, and CN 110330484 (provided in IDS 04/22/22), hereinafter ‘484.
Examiner has expanded the search of the instant claims to include the following compound:
Instant claims 1, 6, and 11 read on the above compound. The phrase, “for use as a JAK1/Tyk2 dual inhibitor” in instant claim 1 is construed as an intended use. Intended uses are not considered a limitation and therefore the above phrase does not further limit the compounds of instant claim 1. See MPEP § 2111.02(II).
‘683 teaches Compound 41 (pg. 102):
‘683 teaches that Compound 41 has the following inhibitory effect on various JAK and TYK proteins (pg. 135, Table 4):
However, Compound 41 differs from the instant compound in two ways, first, Compound 41 has a fluorine in place of the respective hydrogen on the instant compound. Second, the amide bond in Compound 41 is reversed compared to the instant compound.
Patani teaches that bioisosterism represents one approach used by the medicinal chemist for the rational modification of lead compounds into safe and more clinically effective agents and the concept of bioisosterism is often considered to be qualitative and intuitive (pg. 3147, columns 1-2). Patani teaches the substitution of hydrogen by fluorine is one of the more commonly employed monovalent isosteric replacements (pg. 3149, column 1). Patani also teaches that the ability of fluorine to replace hydrogen is an effective method of exploring the affinity of an agent to the target site by virtue of its greater electronegativity while other parameters such as steric size and lipophilicity are maintained (pg. 3150, column 1). Patani teaches that included in a list of potential bioisosteres of an amide bond is a reversed amide (pg. 3170, column 2, Table 48). Patani teaches that modifying the amide bond to a reversed amide bond can tell a medicinal chemist whether the location of the hydrogen bond donor and acceptor is important for potency (pg. 3171, column 1).
‘484 teaches the Compound 27 as a JAK inhibitor:
‘484 teaches Compound 27 exhibited enzyme inhibition of 50% for JAK1 and 96% for JAK3 at 10 µM of the compound. Compound 27 shows that reversing the orientation of the amide bond relative to Compound 41 (above) maintains the drug’s inhibitory activity against JAK proteins.
Based on the teachings of ‘683 and Patani, a person of ordinary skill in the art would modify Compound 41 in two ways. First, the artisan would modify the fluorine on the pyrimidine moiety to a hydrogen to explore the affinity of Compound 41 to the target site of the JAK and TYK proteins. Second, the artisan would reverse the amide bond of Compound 41 to determine if the location of the hydrogen bond donor and acceptor is important for potency. By making these changes the artisan would arrive at the instant compound. The artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success that making these two changes would maintain the inhibitory activity of the modified Compound 41 against JAK proteins, as taught by ‘484.
A reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of anticipatory-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,509,447, hereinafter ‘447. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of the instant application is directed to compounds of the following structure:
where X1 and X2 are selected from carbon or nitrogen; ring G is
; A1-5 are selected from carbon, nitrogen, oxygen, or sulfur; one or more R1 substituents may be attached to ring G; and R1 is selected from hydrogen, halogen, alkyl, substituted alkyl, amino, amine, substituted amine, carboxyl, amido, substituted amido, ester, substituted carbonyl, cycloalkyl, heterocycloalkyl, substituted heterocycloalkyl, aryl, substituted aryl, heteroaryl, and substituted heteroaryl.
Claim 1 of the reference patent teaches compounds of the following structure:
where X1 or X2 are selected from carbon or nitrogen (reference claim 1); G1 is selected from
(reference claim 2); C1-5 are selected from carbon, nitrogen, sulfur, or oxygen (reference claim 2); and G2 is a four-membered alkyl heterocyclic ring (reference claim 1). When G1 is
, reference claims 1-10 denote species of instant claim 1 where reference variable G2 corresponds to instant variable R1 when R1 is a heterocycloalkyl.
Claims 1 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of anticipatory-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/681,583 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of the instant application is directed to compounds of the following structure:
where X1 and X2 are selected from carbon or nitrogen; ring G is
; A1-5 are selected from carbon, nitrogen, oxygen, or sulfur; one or more R1 substituents may be attached to ring G; and R1 is selected from hydrogen, halogen, alkyl, substituted alkyl, amino, amine, substituted amine, carboxyl, amido, substituted amido, ester, substituted carbonyl, cycloalkyl, heterocycloalkyl, substituted heterocycloalkyl, aryl, substituted aryl, heteroaryl, and substituted heteroaryl. Instant claim 6 further limits R1 to
where R13 is selected from hydrogen, alkyl, substituted alkyl, cycloalkyl, substituted cycloalkyl, hydroxyl, ether, aryl, substituted aryl, heteroaryl, and substituted heteroaryl; and R14 is selected from hydrogen, alkyl, substituted alkyl, cycloalkyl, substituted cycloalkyl, hydroxyl, ether, aryl, substituted aryl, heteroaryl, and substituted heteroaryl.
Claim 1 of the reference application is drawn to compounds of Formula (I) (reference claim 1):
where R1 is C or N (reference claim 1); R2 is selected from
(reference claim 1); and R3 is selected from
(reference claim 3). When R1 is C or N; R2 is
; and R3 is
, the reference claims are a species of instant claims 1 and 6 and so anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/J.D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625