DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The previous claim rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103 Arai et al. (US 20170006870 A1) in view of Chamoulaud et al. (CH 1432577 A) and Tamura et al. (US 2014014893 A1), as indicated in the Office action dated September 19, 2025, has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment made to claim 9, line 1 which specifies the term “a pest” to “a weed”. A new rejection has been made to address the amended limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai et al. (US 20170006870 A1, published on January 12, 2017, cited in IDS) (“Arai” hereunder) in view of Chamoulaud et al. (CH 1432577 A, published on August 15, 1990) (“Chamoulaud” hereunder) and Tamura et al. (US 20140148493 A1, published on May 26, 2014) (“Tamura” hereunder).
The amended claim 9 is directed to a method of controlling a weed, comprising: treating a soil with an agrochemical composition comprising pyroxasulfone and a masking substance that masks the pyroxasulfone, wherein the pyroxasulfone is microencapsulated in or coated with the masking substance, wherein treating the soil is performed by spraying the agrochemical composition on farmland before seeding or farmland where a seeded pre-sprouting cultivated crop grows, wherein the soil is at least one well-drained soil selected from the group consisting of a sandy soil, a sandy loam, a loamy sand, a sandy clay loam, a sandy clay soil and a light clay soil, and wherein the cultivated crop is a small grain cereal plant or a bean plant.
Arai discloses a method of testing herbicidal effects on weeds by treating the soil, the method comprising treating upland soil with Echinochloa crusgalli with the agrochemical composition comprising microencapsulated pyroxasulfone made according to Examples 7, 9, and 10. See Test example 4. The soil treatment with the compositions from Examples 9 and 11 resulted in a complete weed control.
Regarding claim 10, Arai fails to specifically teach applying the microencapsulated pyroxasulfone composition on farmland before seeding or farmland where a seeded pre-sprouting cultivated crop grows. However, such application site would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application, as the same reference suggests that treating soils with pyroxasulfone is a common practice, and the test example shows that the microencapsulated herbicide effectively inhibits weed growth.
Although Arai fails to specifically provide the characteristics of the farmland soil upland soil, it is well known in the art that the ideal soil for cultivation is located on sandy, well-drained surface. See Chamoulaud, translation, p. 7, bridging paragraph. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the disclosed weed control method on farmland where the soil is in optimal condition for cultivation of crops.
In agricultural art, methods of soil application of herbicides include application of the water-diluted or undiluted liquid or solid formulation onto soil and subsequent incorporation of the formulation into the whole soil before or after seeding. See, for example, Tamura, [0041-0042]. Tamura further teaches and suggests that insecticides can be “simultaneously” used with other pesticides including herbicides “for control of disease/insect pests, weeds, etc”; the reference suggests that such application method provides enhanced effects with reduced phytotoxicity to crops. See [0049]. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the microencapsulated pyroxasulfone composition of the Arai reference on farm field before or after seeding as motivated by Tamura with a reasonable expectation of successfully inhibiting weed growth by combining the teachings of the references.
Regarding the types of the cultivated crop, Arai teaches that the cultivated crops which can be protected by foliage spraying of the microencapsulated pyroxasulfone composition include Triticum aestivum, Hordeum vulgare, Secale cereale, Glycine max, etc. Since the reference suggests that conventionally unmasked pyroxasulfone had been used to protect these crops, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the Arai invention to treat the soils for controlling pests in cultivating the same types of crop disclosed in the reference. See also present claims 9, 12, 14 and 15.
Regarding claim 16, Arai specifically teaches that the providing pyroxasulfone with a masking material in a microencapsulated or coated formulation prevents phototoxicity to the cultivated crops due to adhesion. See abstract.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on February 19, 2016 have been considered but are unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Tamura is not applicable in the present case because the reference teaches insecticide. As indicated in the rejection above, see p. 4, 2md full paragraph, the reference teaches and suggests that the soil application of insecticides can be co-administered with herbicides. In view of such teaching, application of the microencapsulated/coated pyroxasulfone on soil before seeding or where a seeded pre-sprouting cultivated crop grows would have been prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/GINA C JUSTICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617