DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 02/13/2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 2-3 were canceled, claim 1 was amended, and claims 13-20 were newly added. Thus, claims 1 and 4-20 are presently pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: the amended Fig. 3B addition of the newly added feature “one or more pneumatic shocks 320” overlaps the previously presented drawing. For example, pneumatic shock 320 appears to be attached outside of the bounds of the apparatus 300 and it is not clear how the pneumatic shock is attached to the invention overall. The added feature 320 cannot break the previously presented Fig. 3B.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “a plurality of eccentric spaces 242” of specification paragraph [0034] as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1 lines 8-9, the claim reads as having “one or more recesses defined along the seat or the back configured to provide clearance for portions of the exoskeleton”. However, this is new subject matter entered upon the amendment of the claim and fails to provide adequate written description of the structure. Examiner questions if “the plurality of eccentric spaces 242” as described in specification [0034] is the intended structure, but it is not clear and the claimed invention appears to read primary on figs. 3A-F.
Any remaining claims are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claims 1 and 4-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 lines 6 and 11-12, the term “an exoskeleton” is unclear as to if the term is the same or different than “an exoskeleton” of lines 1-2.
Regarding claim 4 line 3-4, the term “a deployed configuration” is unclear as to if the term is the same or different than claim 1 line 15.
Regarding claim 15 line 3, the term “the plurality of configurations” is unclear as to if the term is the same or different than claim 13 lines 10-11.
Regarding claim 16 line 4, the term “an exoskeleton” is unclear as to if the term is the same or different than claim 13 line 1.
Regarding claim 18 line 6-7, the term “an exoskeleton” is unclear as to if the term is the same or different than claim 18 line 1.
Any remaining claims are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johannsen (US 2,141,475).
Regarding claim 1, Johannsen discloses an apparatus for storage and transportation of an exoskeleton (Folding chair in Fig. 1, foldable in for example Figs. 7-8), comprising:
a base defining a rectangular sector having three contiguous sides configured to contact a ground surface (U-shaped base frame 10);
a seat positioned over the base (seat panel 28), the seat defining a seat surface configured to support a trunk or frame of an exoskeleton (seat panel 28 adapted for a user to sit in the chair);
a back mechanically coupled to the seat (back panel 24);
one or more recesses defined along the seat or the back configured to provide clearance for portions of the exoskeleton (clearances in the back of the chair between seat 28 and back 24; also a lack of “arms” on the chair provides more clearances); and
a plurality of legs interconnecting the seat with the base (leg components 14, 15 with carrying rails 19, 20),
wherein the seat and the back are configured for engagement with an exoskeleton (user can sit in chair on seat 28, rest on back 24), and
wherein the seat, the back, and the plurality of legs are adapted, via a plurality of joints (joints 16, 17 and pintle 30), to transition between and temporarily maintain one of a plurality of configurations, including (i) a deployed configuration with the seat suspended over the base via the plurality of legs to support the exoskeleton (see Fig. 1 configuration depicting a chair) and (ii) a folded transport configuration in which, via the plurality of joints, the plurality of legs configured to reposition to move the seat and the back toward the base and bring the seat and back into a stacked arrangement over the base (Fig. 2 seat 28 folds towards back 24 via pintle 30. Then, Fig. 4 joints 16, 17 include knuckle pivot 31 able to swing legs 14, 15 to fold. Figs. 6-7 show the chair in the stackable, folded position. Portions of base 10 include 11, 12, 13 on which the rest of the chair components are stacked over.).
Regarding claim 9, Johannsen discloses wherein each of the plurality of legs define an elongated member comprising at least two sections in communication via a joint (leg components 14, 15 and carrying rails 19, 20, communicating via joints 16, 17), the at least two sections adapted to fold about one another by way of the joint along a horizontal axis extending along a lateral side of the seat (folding movement of leg components 14, 15 and rails 19,20 is exclusively in a lateral direction relative to the seat; Col. 2 lines 58-63).
Regarding claim 13, Johannsen discloses an apparatus for storage and transportation of an exoskeleton (Folding chair in Fig. 1, foldable in for example Figs. 7-8), comprising:
a base (U-shaped base frame 10);
a seat positioned over the base (seat panel 28);
a back mechanically coupled to the seat (back panel 24); and
a plurality of legs interconnecting the seat with the base (leg components 14, 15 with carrying rails 19, 20), each of the plurality of legs including an elongated member having at least a first section and a second section in communication via a joint (leg components 14, 15 and carrying rails 19, 20, communicating via joints 16, 17), the first section and the second section being configured to fold relative to one another to accommodate transition between and temporarily maintain one of a plurality of exoskeleton transport and storage configurations for the seat, the back, and the plurality of legs (Fig. 1 to Fig. 2 seat 28 folds towards back 24 via pintle 30. Then, Fig. 4 joints 16, 17 include knuckle pivot 31 able to swing legs 14, 15 to fold. Figs. 6-7 show the chair in the stackable, folded position. Portions of base 10 include 11, 12, 13 on which the rest of the chair components are stacked over.).
Regarding claim 14, Johannsen discloses the joint defines a pivot axis that extends generally along a lateral side of the seat (joints 16, 17 allow for lateral extension of the leg components).
Regarding claim 15, Johannsen discloses the seat, the back, and the plurality of legs are adapted, via a plurality of joints (joints 16, 17 and pintle 30), to transition between and temporarily maintain one of the plurality of configurations (Fig. 1 to Fig. 6-7 transition describes in claim 13 rejection. Pintle 30 allows for folding of seat 28 to back 24).
Regarding claim 18, Johannsen discloses an apparatus for storage and transportation of an exoskeleton (Folding chair in Fig. 1, foldable in for example Figs. 7-8), comprising:
a base (U-shaped base frame 10);
a seat positioned over the base (seat panel 28); and
a back mechanically coupled to the seat (back panel 24),
wherein the seat and the back are configured for engagement with an exoskeleton (user can sit in chair on seat 28, rest on back 24), and
wherein the seat and the back are stackable relative to the base between (i) a deployed configuration in which the seat is suspended over the base (see Fig. 1 configuration depicting a chair) and (ii) a folded transport configuration in which the seat and the back are stacked over the base (Figs. 6-7 show the chair in the stackable, folded position).
Regarding claim 19, Johannsen discloses the apparatus further comprises a plurality of legs interconnecting the seat with the base (leg components 14, 15 with carrying rails 19, 20), the plurality of legs being configured to reposition relative to the base to move the seat and the back toward the base to form the folded transport configuration (Fig. 1 to Fig. 2 seat 28 folds towards back 24 via pintle 30. Then, Fig. 4 joints 16, 17 include knuckle pivot 31 able to swing legs 14, 15 to fold. Figs. 6-7 show the chair in the stackable, folded position. Portions of base 10 include 11, 12, 13 on which the rest of the chair components are stacked over).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johannsen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Murrell (US 5,603,491).
Regarding claim 4, Johannsen is silent as to a plurality of wheels coupled to the base, each of the plurality of wheels being rotatable about a horizontal axis between a deployed configuration wherein the plurality of wheels contact the ground surface and a non-deployed configuration wherein the base contacts the ground surface and the plurality of wheels decouple from the ground surface. However, Murrell teaches a plurality of wheels coupled to the base (see Murrell wheels 100 mounted to floor pieces 48), each of the plurality of wheels being rotatable about a horizontal axis between a deployed configuration wherein the plurality of wheels contact the ground surface (see Murrell Fig. 4 rotated wheels 100 lowered to portability condition, for wheeled movement after moving wheel levers 104) and a non-deployed configuration wherein the base contacts the ground surface and the plurality of wheels decouple from the ground surface (see Murrell Fig. 5 and Col. 8 lines 2-8 upraised stability condition where bars 48 engage the floor without wheels). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of Johannsen with the addition of wheels being rotatable about deployed and non-deployed configurations as taught by Murrell so as to provide mobility to the apparatus.
Regarding claim 11, Johannsen discloses the rectangular sector of the base encompasses a maximal area of a footprint of the seat, the back, the plurality of legs (see Johannsen Fig. 1 U-shaped base 10 encompasses the entirety of the footprint of seat, back, and legs). However, Johannsen is silent as to the rectangular sector of the base encompasses a maximal area of a footprint of one or more wheels. However, Murrell teaches one or more wheels (see Murrell wheels 100 mounted to floor pieces 48). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of Johannsen with the addition of wheels being rotatable about deployed and non-deployed configurations as taught by Murrell so as to provide mobility to the apparatus. Therefore, modified Johannsen discloses the rectangular sector of the base encompasses a maximal area of a footprint of one or more wheels (see Murrell Figs. 4-5 with wheels in the deployed and un-deployed configuration, staying in line with axis of base. When modified onto Johannsen, the wheels stay in line with U-shaped base 10, meaning the base 10 is still encompassing the maximal area of a footprint).
Regarding claim 12, modified Johannsen discloses wherein in the non-deployed configuration, the plurality of wheels are positioned within a region bounded by the three contiguous sides of the rectangular sector defined by the base (see Murrell Fig. 4 wheels 100 rotate up to the upraised stability condition; within the same plane as the bars 48. Modified onto Johannsen U-shaped base 10 would stay in the same line as the frame as in Murrell).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johannsen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wagner (US 6,247,756).
Regarding claim 5, Johannsen discloses extensions on the back of the apparatus (see Johannsen back tie piece 23 in Fig. 4 extend slightly from the back), but is silent as to one or more handles defined along a rear surface of the back for transporting the apparatus. However, Wagner teaches one or more handles defined along a rear surface of the back for transporting the apparatus (see Wagner pushing bars 4 and 5 on upper back area 3 of wheelchair). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the back of Johannsen with the addition of handles as taught by Wagner so as to provide more stability on the apparatus in the form of a handle able to be held onto by the user or another person.
Regarding claim 6, Johannsen is silent as to one or more retention belts positioned along the seat and the back for engagement with the exoskeleton. However, Wagner teaches one or more retention belts positioned along the seat and the back for engagement with the exoskeleton (see Wagner positioning straps 30, 50; securing user to wheelchair Fig. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seat and back of Johannsen with the addition of retention belts for securing the exoskeleton as taught by Wagner so as to increase the safety of the user when seated in the seat.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johannsen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Paul et al. (US 9,084,710; hereinafter “Paul”).
Regarding claim 7, Johannsen is silent as to a plurality of footrests positioned along the base, each of the plurality of footrests being adapted to transition between a first position and a second position. However, Paul teaches a plurality of footrests positioned along the base (see Paul footrests 30, attached to the base frame 22), each of the plurality of footrests being adapted to transition between a first position and a second position (see Paul movement of footrests 30 from Fig. 8 to 9… Col. 9 lines 57-61 “…cause the immediately adjacent footrest 30 to pivot from a use position in front of seat 24 (shown in FIGS. 4-8) to a stowed position along the sides 46 of chair 220 (shown in FIG. 9)”… some footrest embodiments require manual positioning). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the frame of Johannsen with the addition of footrests as taught by Paul so as to provide more comfort to a user as an option to have footrests.
Regarding claim 8, modified Johannsen discloses the first position is defined directly in front of the seat (see Paul footrests 30; in Fig. 8 positioning in front of the seat) and wherein the second position is defined lateral to the seat (see Paul footrests 30; in Fig. 9 swiveled to be lateral to seat 24), each of the plurality of footrests being adapted to swivel between the first position and the second position (see Paul movement of footrests 30 from Fig. 8 to 9… Col. 9 lines 57-61 “…cause the immediately adjacent footrest 30 to pivot from a use position in front of seat 24 (shown in FIGS. 4-8) to a stowed position along the sides 46 of chair 220 (shown in FIG. 9)”… some footrest embodiments require manual positioning).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johannsen as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Zarinfar et al. (US 8,113,587; hereinafter “Zarinfar”).
Regarding claim 10, Johannsen is silent as to one or more pneumatic shocks for engaging the plurality of legs, wherein the at least two sections of the elongated member are adapted to transition from a first configuration to a second configuration by assistance from the one or more pneumatic shocks. However, Zarinfar teaches one or more pneumatic shocks for engaging the plurality of legs (see Zarinfar pneumatic device 14 connected to chair frame 28), wherein the at least two sections of the elongated member are adapted to transition from a first configuration to a second configuration by assistance from the one or more pneumatic shocks (see Zarinfar Fig. 3-6 transition where Col. 5 lines 40-44 “The hydraulic or pneumatic device 14 is connected to the front of the chair frame through a linkage bracket 28 that aids in folding the chair to its compact state”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the legs of Johannsen with the addition of a pneumatic shock as taught by Zarinfar so as to facilitate an easier folding motion for the user folding the chair by providing at least some mechanical support.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johannsen as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Murrell (US 5,603,491).
Regarding claim 16, Johannsen is silent as to a plurality of wheels coupled to the base, each of the plurality of wheels being movable between (i) a deployed wheel configuration in which the plurality of wheels contact a ground surface to permit rolling transport an exoskeleton in the folded transport configuration and (ii) a non-deployed wheel configuration in which the base contacts the ground surface and the plurality of wheels decouple from the ground surface in the deployed configuration. However, Murrell teaches a plurality of wheels coupled to the base (see Murrell wheels 100 mounted to floor pieces 48), each of the plurality of wheels being movable between (i) a deployed wheel configuration in which the plurality of wheels contact a ground surface to permit rolling transport an exoskeleton in the folded transport configuration (see Murrell Fig. 4 rotated wheels 100 lowered to portability condition, for wheeled movement after moving wheel levers 104) and (ii) a non-deployed wheel configuration in which the base contacts the ground surface and the plurality of wheels decouple from the ground surface in the deployed configuration (see Murrell Fig. 5 and Col. 8 lines 2-8 upraised stability condition where bars 48 engage the floor without wheels). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of Johannsen with the addition of wheels being rotatable about deployed and non-deployed configurations as taught by Murrell so as to provide mobility to the apparatus.
Regarding claim 17, modified Johannsen discloses each of the plurality of wheels is mounted to the base to rotate about a generally horizontal axis between the deployed wheel configuration and the non-deployed wheel configuration (see Murrell Fig. 4-5 wheels 100 are rotated around the lateral extension of bars 48 along a horizontal axis).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johannsen as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Murrell (US 5,603,491).
Regarding claim 20, Johannsen is silent as to the apparatus further comprises a plurality of wheels coupled to the base, each of the plurality of wheels being movable between (i) a deployed wheel configuration in which the plurality of wheels contact a ground surface and (ii) a non-deployed wheel configuration in which the base contacts the ground surface and the plurality of wheels decouple from the ground surface. However, Murrell teaches the apparatus further comprises a plurality of wheels coupled to the base (see Murrell wheels 100 mounted to floor pieces 48), each of the plurality of wheels being movable between (i) a deployed wheel configuration in which the plurality of wheels contact a ground surface (see Murrell Fig. 4 rotated wheels 100 lowered to portability condition, for wheeled movement after moving wheel levers 104) and (ii) a non-deployed wheel configuration in which the base contacts the ground surface and the plurality of wheels decouple from the ground surface (see Murrell Fig. 5 and Col. 8 lines 2-8 upraised stability condition where bars 48 engage the floor without wheels). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of Johannsen with the addition of wheels being rotatable about deployed and non-deployed configurations as taught by Murrell so as to provide mobility to the apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on page 8 of the remarks, that “The replacement sheet is respectfully believed to now depict the illustration without breaking apart features as noted by the Office Action.” However, Examiner disagrees because the Fig. 3B from 02/13/2026 does not include pneumatic shock 320 within the bounds of the previously presented drawing, and it is not clear how the shock 320 is part of the apparatus. Therefore, the objection still stands.
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely solely on the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Fukai (US 2010/0244522) is cited to show a moveable chair with spring.
/GWYNNETH L HOWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785