DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 18 and 19 remain withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/20/2024.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-17 and 20 and the species ‘cannabis’ in the reply filed on 11/20/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11-17 and 20 are readable on the elected invention and species.
The restriction requirement is hereby made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azwanida (Azwanida, N. N., 2015, A Review on the Extraction Methods use in Medicinal Plants, Principle, Strength and Limitation. Med aromat. plants, 4(196), 2167-0412), and in view of
Lee (Lee, T., published 10/09/2019, Cannabis Metabolomics: Comparison of Cannabis Products and Effect of Vaporization, Doctoral dissertation, University of Ottawa) and Atkins (Atkins, P. L., published 03/01/2019, Sample Processing and Preparation Considerations for Solid Cannabis Products, Journal of AOAC International, 102(2), 427-433).
Regarding claim 1 and a process comprising providing a plant biomass and lyophilizing the biomass, wherein the products are a desiccated plant biomass and a condensate that includes water and one or more volatile substances that have a boiling point of 250C or less, Azwanida (2015) teaches the process of preparing plant material by lyophilization of the fresh plant material (see, e.g., Azwanida, p. 2, left col., lines 40-44) and use of a laboratory condenser that contains condenser coils for the generation of a condensate within the machine (see, e.g., Azwanida, p. 2, ‘Figure 1’ (a)).
Regarding claims 1-4 and a process comprising providing cannabis flowers and lyophilizing the cannabis, wherein the cannabis is fresh, cured, or frozen, Azwanida (2015) teaches the lyophilization of fresh plant material (see, e.g., Azwanida, p. 2, left col., lines 40-44).
Regarding claims 1 and 4-7 and a process comprising providing cannabis flowers and lyophilizing the cannabis, wherein the flash frozen cannabis is milled or grinded at below-freezing, Azwanida (2015) teaches grinding and powdering of dried plant samples (see, e.g., Azwanida, p. 1, right col., lines 17-21).
Regarding claims 1 and 8 and a process of lyophilizing plant biomass by sublimating the water particles among the fine, frozen cannabis particles under vacuum and heating up to 65°C, and repeating this cycle until the plant biomass has a moisture level of no more than 2% w/w, Azwanida (2015) teaches the process of sublimation of the water particles in a frozen plant biomass sample to remove all moisture/liquids from the sample (see, e.g., Azwanida, p. 2, left col., lines 28-44)
Regarding claims 1 and 9 and a process comprising lyophilizing cannabis wherein the condensate formed includes non-polar terpenes, plant saccharides, esters, phenols, or a combination of compounds, Azwanida teaches the use of a laboratory condenser that contains condenser coils for the generation of a condensate within the machine for lyophilization (see, e.g., Azwanida, p. 2, ‘Figure 1’ (a)). It is well understood in the arts that the removal of water by sublimation through lyophilization, bioactive compounds may be removed as well.
Regarding claims 1 and 9-10 and a process comprising lyophilizing cannabis wherein non-polar terpenes are isolated from the aqueous condensate, Azwanida teaches the method of isolating bioactive compounds in an aqueous composition (see, e.g., Azwanida, p. 3, left col., ‘Studies’, lines 44-49).
Regarding claims 1 and 11 and a process comprising providing plant biomass, lyophilizing plant biomass, and contacting the desiccated plant biomass with supercritical or subcritical CO2 under conditions sufficient to sequentially extract terpenes, neutral cannabinoids, and acidic cannabinoids, Azwanida (2015) teaches the extraction of nonpolar analytes from plant materials by supercritical or subcritical CO2 extraction (see, e.g., Azwanida, p. 4, right col., lines 18-25).
Regarding claims 1 and 14 and a process comprising providing plant biomass, lyophilizing plant biomass, and contacting the desiccated plant biomass with ethanol, Azwanida (2015) teaches the extraction of nonpolar compounds from plant material by solvent extraction (see, e.g., Azwanida, p. 3, right col., lines 21-24)
The primary reference differs from the pending claim scope as follows: Azwanida (2015) fails to teach the application of lyophilization and extraction to cannabis, the process of grinding flash frozen plant biomass by grinding or milling at below-freezing, the process of extracting cannabinoids from frozen cannabis with ethanol, the repetition of sublimation within the lyophilizing process, the process of isolating non-polar terpenes from the extraction product, the process of removing waste waxes or lipids from the extract products, or the combination of extract products. However this would have been obvious in view of the teachings of the prior art. Specifically, the art within Lee (2019) and Atkins (2019).
Regarding claims 1 and 9-10 and a process comprising isolating the non-polar terpenes from the aqueous mixture, Lee (2019) teaches a process of isolating terpenes after lyophilizing fresh cannabis material and the combination with ethanol (see, e.g., Lee, p. 37, lines 2-10).
Regarding claims 1 and 14 and a process of extracting neutral or acidic cannabinoids from the fine, frozen plant biomass with ethanol, Lee (2019) teaches the extraction of cannabinoids THC, CBD, THCA, and CBDA from lyophilized cannabis with ethanol (see, e.g., Lee, p. 35, lines 5-10).
Regarding claims 1, 15, and 20 and the process of removing waxes or lipids from the extract, Lee (2019) teaches the practice of removing fats and lipids, resulting in a higher potency cannabis extract (see, e.g., Lee, p.55-56, lines 22-24; line 1).
Regarding claims 1 and 16 and a process of lyophilizing cannabis, extracting cannabis, and combining at least two of non-polar terpenes produced by lyophilization; polar terpenes produced by lyophilization; plant saccharides produced by lyophilization; one or more terpenes produced by extraction; neutral cannabinoids produced by extraction; or acidic cannabinoids produced by extraction, Lee (2019) teaches the process of lyophilizing cannabis, extracting cannabis with ethanol, and the resultant combines terpenes, neutral cannabinoids, and acidic cannabinoids as extraction products (see, e.g., Lee, p. 35, lines 5-10; ‘Figure 2-4(b)’, p. 47).
Regarding claims 1 and 16-17 and a process comprising providing plant biomass, lyophilizing plant biomass, extraction and clarification of the extracts, wherein residual water or ethanol is removed, Lee (2019) teaches the further removal of solvent from a cannabis extract by ethanol extraction (see, e.g., Lee, p. 32, lines 20-23).
Regarding claims 1 and 6-7 and a process of grinding flash frozen plant biomass by grinding or milling at below-freezing, Atkins (2019) teaches the method of grinding cannabis at low temperatures, suggesting the use of liquid nitrogen at -195.79°C (see, e.g., Atkins, p. 4, left col., lines 24-26; right col., lines 4-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, either before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) or otherwise at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ), to arrive at the instantly claimed invention in view of the prior art for at least the following reasons:
Azwanida (2015) teaches the method of preparing a plant material for extract by lyophilizing the fresh plant material and then extracting non-polar compounds from the lyophilized fresh material by ethanol or subcritical/supercritical CO2. While Azwanida directs the extraction/sample preparation process(es) to any plant biomass that contains desired compounds, the specific plant cannabis is not mentioned, even as a well-known plant with desirable metabolites. Lee (2019) teaches the process of extracting cannabinoids from flash-frozen cannabis with ethanol, the process of isolating non-polar terpenes from the extraction product, the process of removing waste waxes or lipids from the cannabis extract products, and the combination of extract products within a composition. The combination of these elements related to the process of producing a cannabis extract product of the best quality. Per MPEP 2143(I)(A), “[The claim is obvious if] all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art” (see Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 163 USPQ 673 (1969). Accordingly, the application of the practices to cannabis and common methods of cannabis extraction, as stated in Lee (2019), in combination with the process(es) and practice(s) as stated in Azwanida (2015), is obvious, predicable, and an obvious combination of elements that perform the same function as the elements do separately. Thus, absent of some demonstration of unexpected results from the addition of extraction and purification steps, the combination of inventions from Lee (2019) and Azwanida (2015) would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention.
The combination of Lee (2019) and Azwanida (2015) teach the process(es) of lyophilization, extraction, and clarification of the cannabis product(s). However, both of the arts fail to teach the method of grinding the flash frozen cannabis material in freezing temperatures. Atkins (2019) teaches the optimal method of grinding the flash frozen cannabis material in freezing temperatures for cannabis production, which improves the ease of grinding with more brittle material. Per MPEP 2143(I)(A), “[The claim is obvious if] all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art” (see Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 163 USPQ 673 (1969). Accordingly, the use of grinding in sub-zero/freezing temperatures, as stated in Atkins (2019), in combination with the processes as claimed in Azwanida (2015) and Lee (2019) is obvious, predicable, and an obvious combination of elements that perform the same function as the elements do separately. Thus, absent of some demonstration of unexpected results from the use of grinding in reduced temperatures, the combination of inventions from Azwanida (2015), Lee (2019), and Atkins (2019) would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention.
More so, varying the environmental conditions of the experiment constitutes routine experimentation in the art, and is not considered to be non-obvious unless the specified values (temperatures or repetition of sublimation steps) produce an unexpected result. Hence, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of purification and extraction practices would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention.
Furthermore, there would be a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art is presumed fully enabled (see, e.g., MPEP § 2121(I)) for all that it discloses (see, e.g., MPEP §§ 2123(I)-(II)).
Applicant argues that allegedly claim 1 is not obvious over the cited references because none of them teach or suggest a lyophilizing step that produces a biphasic condensate that includes a non-polar phase having terpenes and an aqueous phase or an isolating step of the non-polar phase having terpenes.
This is inherent to the process of Azwanida.
Azwanida is related to extracting substances from medicinal plants, which do not appear to include cannabis flowers according to applicant. More importantly, Azwanida does not teach or suggest a lyophilizing step that produce terpenes in a non-polar phase of a condensate, much less the conditions in which to carry it out according to applicant.
Azwanida does indeed teach lyophilization.
Rather, Azwanida's lyophilizing step is limited to drying the plant samples, as evidenced by equating lyophilizing to other generic drying methods such as air drying, microwave drying, and oven drying according to applicant. Azwanida only mentions actives such as terpenoids and phenolics in the extraction steps, not during the lyophilizing step according to applicant.
Once again, Azwanida does indeed teach lyophilization and this is a 35 USC 103 rejection and clearly it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to extract terpenoids and/or phenolics in an effort to optimize the desired results.
Lee does not add to Azwanida, according to applicant. Although Lee is related to cannabis, Lee's sample preparation is also limited to drying the cannabis before extracting the active substances, including terpenes according to applicant.
Once again, Lee does indeed teach drying and this is a 35 USC 103 rejection and clearly it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to extract terpenoids and/or phenolics in an effort to optimize the desired results.
MPEP 2144.05, subsection II.
II. ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION
A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.").
B. There Must Be an Articulated Rationale Supporting the Rejection
In order to properly support a rejection on the basis that an invention is the result of "routine optimization", the examiner must make findings of relevant facts, and present the underpinning reasoning in sufficient detail. The articulated rationale must include an explanation of why it would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention and why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range. See In re Stepan, 868 F.3d 1342, 1346, 123 USPQ2d 1838, 1841 (Fed. Cir. 2017). See also In re Van Os, 844 F.3d 1359,1361,121 USPQ2d 1209, 1211 (Fed. Cir. 2017 ("Absent some articulated rationale, a finding that a combination of prior art would have been ‘common sense’ or ‘intuitive’ is no different than merely stating the combination ‘would have been obvious.’"); Arendi S.A.R.L. v. Apple Inc., 832 F.3d 1355, 1362, 119 USPQ2d 1822 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("[R]eferences to ‘common sense’ … cannot be used as a wholesale substitute for reasoned analysis and evidentiary support … .").
The Supreme Court has clarified that an "obvious to try" line of reasoning may properly support an obviousness rejection. In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding. However, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. 550 U.S. at 421 ("The same constricted analysis led the Court of Appeals to conclude, in error, that a patent claim cannot be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of elements was ‘[o]bvious to try.’ ... When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under §103."). Thus, after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Atkins is relied upon to show the cryo-milling feature of claim 7 according to applicant. However, the deficiency of Azwanida and Lee are set forth above and cannot be addressed by Atkins according to applicant.
These references have been addressed above.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL V. MELLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1655
/MICHAEL V MELLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655