DETAILED ACTION
Current Status of 17/771,391
This Office Action is responsive to the amended claims received 1 May 2026.
Claims 1-14 and 20-23 are currently pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of the prior-filed patent application PCT/US2020/056797 (filed 22 October 2020) and 62/925,395 (filed 24 October 2019) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Response to Amendments
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are partially maintained herein, but they have been altered as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are partially maintained herein, but altered as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. New rejections under 35 USC 103 are presented herein, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments received 1 May 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that because claims 1 and 9 now require the serine/threonine kinase-dependent disease to be specifically a casein kinase 1-dependent disease, the Examiner’s rejections of these claims should be withdrawn. The Examiner has provided evidence, through several references, that all of the diseases discussed by the Examiner’s earlier cited references do, in fact, depend upon casein kinase-1.
Applicant argues that PALOMA does not teach a compound that falls within the scope of claim 7 or claim 14, as currently amended. The Examiner has withdrawn the 35 USC 102 rejections of instant claims 7 and 14, and the claims that depend thereupon, based upon PALOMA.
Applicant argues that neither MOSTERT nor SHERIDAN teach or suggest a neurodegenerative disease from the narrow list of such diseases in claim 7. The Examiner has withdrawn the rejection of instant claim 7 based upon MOSTERT and SHERIDAN, due to Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by:
KIM (Kim, H.J.; Kang, S.K.; Mun, J.Y.; et al. “Involvement of Akt in mitochondria-dependent apoptosis induced by a cdc25 phosphatase inhibitor naphthoquinone analog” FEBS Letters 555 (2003) 217-222)
as evidenced by:
EBERT (Ebert, B.L.; Kronke, J. “Inhibition of Casein Kinase 1 Alpha in Acute Myeloid Leukemia” N ENGL J MED 379;19; November 8, 2018).
KIM teaches the use of 2,3-dichloro-5,8-dihydroxy-1,4-naphthoquinone (referred to as DDN therein, shown below) to induce apoptosis in human promyelocytic leukemia HL-60 cells (abstract). The DDN compound of KIM, which is identical to Formula (IX) of instant claim 9, can be shown to fall within the scope of instant claim 1. Defining the variables of instant claim 1 as follows produces the DDN compound of KIM: X, Y, and Z are each direct bonds; R2 and R3 are each H; R1 is chloro; F is OH; D is –C(=O)-; and E is chloro.
EBERT teaches that acute myeloid leukemia cells were shown to be more sensitive to pharmacologic casein kinase 1 alpha (CK1α) inhibition as compared to normal hematopoietic cells (2nd paragraph of Pg. 1873). Therefore, EBERT teaches that leukemia has been shown to be a casein kinase 1-dependent disease, as is instantly claimed.
Regarding claims 6 and 12-13: Whether the compounds of formulae VIII-X are inhibitors of particular kinases is based entirely upon the structure of these compounds. In other words, the inhibitory ability of these compounds cannot be separated from their structure. As described above, KIM anticipates the method of claim 9. Therefore, claims 12-13 are also rendered anticipated.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by:
PALOMA (Bermejo-Bescos, P.; Martin-Aragon, S.; Jimenez-Aliaga, K.L.; et al. “In vitro antiamyloidogenic properties of 1,4-naphthoquinones” Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications 400 (2010) 169–174)
as evidenced by:
SUNDARAM (Sundaram, S.; Nagaraj, S.; Mahoney, H.; et al. “Inhibition of casein kinase 1δ/ε improves cognitive-affective behavior and reduces amyloid load in the APP-PS1 mouse model of Alzheimer’s disease” Scientific Reports | (2019) 9:13743 | https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-019-50197-x).
PALOMA teaches the use of 1,4-naphthoquinones to inhibit Beta-secretase (BACE) (abstract). PALOMA teaches 3-Phenyl-5-hydroxy-1,4-naphthoquinone, drawn below, as compound 14 therein (Table 2). Compound 14 of PALOMA can be shown to fall within the scope of instant claim 1. Defining the variables of instant claim 1 as follows produces compound 14 of PALOMA: X, Y, and Z are each direct bonds; R2 and R3 are each H; R1 is a phenyl ring; F is H; D is –C(=O)-; and E is H. PALOMA teaches that the compounds therein that inhibit BACE activity can be used for the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease (conclusion section).
SUNDARAM provides evidence that casein kinase 1 (CK1) isoforms ε and δ “are significantly upregulated in [Alzheimer’s disease]”. SUNDARAM also provides evidence that inhibition of CK1 with a small molecule improved cognition and decreased the amyloid burden in a mouse model of Alzheimer’s disease (abstract). Therefore, SUNDARAM provides evidence that Alzheimer’s disease is a casein kinase 1-dependent disease.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 14, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
PALOMA (Bermejo-Bescos, P.; Martin-Aragon, S.; Jimenez-Aliaga, K.L.; et al. “In vitro antiamyloidogenic properties of 1,4-naphthoquinones” Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications 400 (2010) 169–174)
in view of:
PATANI (Patani, G. A.; LaVoie, E. J. “Bioisosterism: A Rational Approach in Drug Design” Chem. Rev. 1996, 96, 3147-3176.)
as evidenced by:
SUNDARAM (Sundaram, S.; Nagaraj, S.; Mahoney, H.; et al. “Inhibition of casein kinase 1δ/ε improves cognitive-affective behavior and reduces amyloid load in the APP-PS1 mouse model of Alzheimer’s disease” Scientific Reports | (2019) 9:13743 | https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-019-50197-x).
Teachings of PALOMA and evidence provided by SUNDARAM are discussed in the rejections above. SUNDARAM provides evidence that Alzheimer’s disease is a casein kinase 1-dependent disease.
PALOMA teaches the use of 1,4-naphthoquinones to inhibit Beta-secretase (BACE) (abstract). PALOMA teaches 3-Phenyl-5-hydroxy-1,4-naphthoquinone, drawn below, as compound 14 therein (Table 1). PALOMA teaches that the compounds therein that inhibit BACE activity, including compound 14, can be used for the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease (conclusion section).
Compound 14 of PALOMA does not fall within the scope of instant claims 7 or 14 because those claims do not allow R1 to be a phenyl ring. PATANI teaches, within the “Ring Equivalents” section on page 3158, that benzene and pyridine are “classical bioisosteres” for each other. Figure 31 of PATANI provides an example of an antihistamine compound, wherein the potency was tuned by replacing a phenyl moiety with a pyridyl moiety.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the phenyl ring of compound 14 of PALOMA with a pyridyl ring (as taught to be a classical isosteric replacement by PATANI), for the purpose of tuning the BACE inhibitory activity of compound 14. The artisan would have expected success in this replacement, because PATANI teaches that this replacement is well known in the literature and provides specific examples of using this replacement to tune the biological effect of small molecules. Defining the variables of instant claim 7 as follows produces the obvious pyridyl derivative of compound 14 of PALOMA: X, Y, and Z are each direct bonds; R2 and R3 are each H; R1 is a pyridyl ring; F is H; D is –C(=O)-; and E is H.
Regarding claims 20-23: PALOMA teaches, within section 2.4, the details of the BACE enzyme assay discussed therein. The assay was carried out in sodium acetate buffer with the BACE enzyme and each of the 1,4-naphthoquinone compounds investigated therein (section 2.4 and Table 1). This aqueous buffered solution of each of the compounds of PALOMA reads on the instantly claimed pharmaceutical compositions of claims 20-23.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
MOSTERT (Mostert, S.; Petzer, A.; Petzer, J. “Evaluation of Natural and Synthetic 1,4-naphthoquinones as Inhibitors of Monoamine Oxidase” Chem Biol Drug Des 2016; 87: 737–746)
in view of:
SHERIDAN (Sheridan, R.P. “The Most Common Chemical Replacements in Drug-Like Compounds” J. Chem. Inf. Comput. Sci. 2002, 42, 103-108)
as evidenced by:
CHIA (Chia, R.; Haddock, S.; Beilina, A.; et al. “Phosphorylation of LRRK2 by casein kinase 1α regulates trans-Golgi clustering via differential interaction with ARHGEF7” NATURE COMMUNICATIONS; 5:5827; 2014).
CHIA provides evidence that casein kinase 1α is responsible for the phosphorylation of LRRK2, which then plays a role in Parkinson’s disease (abstract). Therefore, CHIA teaches that Parkinson’s disease is a casein kinase 1-dependent disease.
MOSTERT teaches a structure activity relationship among 1,4-naphthoquinone compounds when using these compounds to inhibit monoamine oxidase enzymes (abstract). MOSTERT specifically states that the compounds therein may be useful in the treatment of Parkinson’s disease (abstract). MOSTERT teaches the compound shown below as compound 7b in Table 1 therein, also referred to as shikonin. The compound of MOSTERT does not fall within the scope of instant claim 1, because it contains an alkenyl group at the instantly defined R1 position of claim 1.
SHERIDAN teaches an algorithmic manner of identifying pairs of chemical moieties that are frequently replaced with one another within the chemical literature (abstract). If a high rank is given by the algorithm to a particular chemical moiety pair, it indicates that a database of reported therapeutic molecules frequently describes very similar molecules having both moieties of the pair in the analogous location within multiple molecules. This high rank would also indicate that replacing a chemical moiety for the other moiety of the pair is well known within the chemical arts (Pages 104-105). Figure 5 of SHERIDAN shows that replacing a tertiary olefin with its fully saturated alkyl equivalent (replacement A18) is well known within the chemical arts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the instant effective filing date, to replace the isopentenyl moiety within compound 7b of MOSTERT with an isopentyl moiety (in other words, the fully saturated version of the moiety), as is taught by SHERIDAN, for the purpose of producing derivatives to increase the efficacy of compound 7b of MOSTERT, for the treatment of the conditions described therein. The artisan would have expected success in this moiety replacement, because SHERIDAN teaches that this type of replacement is one of the most common bioisostere replacements known in the chemical arts.
The isopentyl version of compound 7b of MOSTERT can be shown to fall within the scope of instant claim 1. Defining the variables of instant claim 1 as follows produces this isopentyl version: Y and Z are each direct bonds; X is –CH(OH)-; R2 and R3 are each H; R1 is a C5 alkyl group; F is -OH; D is –C(=O)-; and E is H.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9, 12-14, and 20-23 are currently rejected. Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art is that of KIM (Kim, H.J.; Kang, S.K.; Mun, J.Y.; et al. “Involvement of Akt in mitochondria-dependent apoptosis induced by a cdc25 phosphatase inhibitor naphthoquinone analog” FEBS Letters 555 (2003) 217-222). KIM teaches the compound 2,3-dichloro-5,8-dihydroxy-1,4-naphthoquinone (referred to as DDN therein, shown below) to induce apoptosis in human promyelocytic leukemia HL-60 cells (abstract). KIM teaches the treatment of these cancerous cells, which cause a serine/threonine kinase-dependent disease, as described in the 35 USC 102 rejection above. However, KIM does not teach the use of the DDN compound therein in the treatment of a neurodegenerative disease or Alzheimer’s disease. The Examiner has not found any additional prior art that would have rendered the use of the compound of KIM for one of those purposes obvious.
Conclusions
Claims 1-9, 12-14, and 20-23 are currently rejected. Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JDMc/Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625