DETAILED ACTION
Current Status of 17/771,391
This Office Action is responsive to the amended claims received 20 November 2025.
Claims 1-18 and 20-23 are currently pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of the prior-filed patent application PCT/US2020/056797 (filed 22 October 2020) and 62/925,395 (filed 24 October 2019) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Response to Amendments
The objections to the specification, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The objections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments, but new rejections are presented herein.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that SCHROEDER no longer anticipates instant claim 14. Applicant argues that the combination of SCHROEDER and VELAZQUEZ no longer render obvious any of instant claims 1, 9, and 14.
Due to Applicant’s amendments, the Examiner has removed all of the previous rejections and cites new references within the rejections herein. Applicant incorrectly states that claims 7-8 depend upon instant claim 1 within their arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by:
KIM (Kim, H.J.; Kang, S.K.; Mun, J.Y.; et al. “Involvement of Akt in mitochondria-dependent apoptosis induced by a cdc25 phosphatase inhibitor naphthoquinone analog” FEBS Letters 555 (2003) 217-222)
as evidenced by:
YAMAGUCHI (Yamaguchi, H.; Wang, H.G. “The protein kinase PKB/Akt regulates cell survival and apoptosis by inhibiting Bax conformational change” Oncogene (2001) 20, 7779-7786).
KIM teaches the use of 2,3-dichloro-5,8-dihydroxy-1,4-naphthoquinone (referred to as DDN therein, shown below) to induce apoptosis in human promyelocytic leukemia HL-60 cells (abstract). The DDN compound of KIM, which is identical to Formula (IX) of instant claim 9, can be shown to fall within the scope of instant claim 1. Defining the variables of instant claim 1 as follows produces the DDN compound of KIM: X, Y, and Z are each direct bonds; R2 and R3 are each H; R1 is chloro; F is OH; D is –C(=O)-; and E is chloro.
KIM teaches that DDN is able to induce apoptosis through the inhibiting the activation of the antiapoptotic kinase “Akt” (abstract and bottom right of Pg. 217). YAMAGUCHI provides evidence that Akt was known to be a serine/threonine kinase (abstract). KIM teaches that the cancer cells therein undergo apoptosis when Akt in those cells is inhibited by DDN. Therefore, the cancerous state of those cells and the disease produced thereby is dependent upon the serine/threonine kinase Akt.
Regarding claims 6 and 12-13: Whether the compounds of formulae VIII-X are inhibitors of particular kinases is based entirely upon the structure of these compounds. In other words, the inhibitory ability of these compounds cannot be separated from their structure. As described above, the combination of references renders the method of claim 9 and the administration of the compounds therein obvious. Therefore, claims 12-13 are also rendered obvious.
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 14-18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by:
PALOMA (Bermejo-Bescos, P.; Martin-Aragon, S.; Jimenez-Aliaga, K.L.; et al. “In vitro antiamyloidogenic properties of 1,4-naphthoquinones” Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications 400 (2010) 169–174).
PALOMA teaches the use of 1,4-naphthoquinones to inhibit Beta-secretase (BACE) (abstract). PALOMA teaches 3-Phenyl-5-hydroxy-1,4-naphthoquinone, drawn below, as compound 14 therein (Table 2). Compound 14 of PALOMA can be shown to fall within the scope of instant claim 1. Defining the variables of instant claim 1 as follows produces compound 14 of PALOMA: X, Y, and Z are each direct bonds; R2 and R3 are each H; R1 is a phenyl ring; F is H; D is –C(=O)-; and E is H. PALOMA teaches that the compounds therein that inhibit BACE activity can be used for the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease (conclusion section).
Paragraph [0002] of the instant specification describes “neurodegenerative diseases” as a group of diseases within the broader category of serine/threonine kinase-dependent diseases. Paragraph [0050] of the instant specification defines “neurodegenerative diseases” to include Alzheimer’s disease and Parkinson’s disease.
Regarding claims 15-18: The limitations in these claims, such as “for use in the treatment of a neurodegenerative disease in a mammal in need thereof”, are interpreted as intended use limitations. Nothing precludes these uses as claimed. Therefore, as PALOMA anticipates claim 14, PALOMA necessarily anticipates claims 15-18.
Regarding claims 20-23: PALOMA teaches, within section 2.4, the details of the BACE enzyme assay discussed therein. The assay was carried out in sodium acetate buffer with the BACE enzyme and each of the 1,4-naphthoquinone compounds investigated therein (section 2.4 and Table 1). This aqueous buffered solution of each of the compounds of PALOMA reads on the instantly claimed pharmaceutical compositions of claims 20-23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
MOSTERT (Mostert, S.; Petzer, A.; Petzer, J. “Evaluation of Natural and Synthetic 1,4-naphthoquinones as Inhibitors of Monoamine Oxidase” Chem Biol Drug Des 2016; 87: 737–746)
in view of:
SHERIDAN (Sheridan, R.P. “The Most Common Chemical Replacements in Drug-Like Compounds” J. Chem. Inf. Comput. Sci. 2002, 42, 103-108).
MOSTERT teaches a structure activity relationship among 1,4-naphthoquinone compounds when using these compounds to inhibit monoamine oxidase enzymes (abstract). MOSTERT specifically states that the compounds therein may be useful in the treatment of Parkinson’s disease (abstract). MOSTERT teaches the compound shown below as compound 7b in Table 1 therein, also referred to as shikonin.
Paragraph [0002] of the instant specification describes “neurodegenerative diseases” as a group of diseases within the broader category of serine/threonine kinase-dependent diseases. Paragraph [0050] of the instant specification defines “neurodegenerative diseases” to include Alzheimer’s disease and Parkinson’s disease.
The compound of MOSTERT does not fall within the scope of instant claim 1, because it contains an alkenyl group at the instantly defined R1 position of claim 1.
SHERIDAN teaches an algorithmic manner of identifying pairs of chemical moieties that are frequently replaced with one another within the chemical literature (abstract). If a high rank is given by the algorithm to a particular chemical moiety pair, it indicates that a database of reported therapeutic molecules frequently describes very similar molecules having both moieties of the pair in the analogous location within multiple molecules. This high rank would also indicate that replacing a chemical moiety for the other moiety of the pair is well known within the chemical arts (Pages 104-105). Figure 5 of SHERIDAN shows that replacing a tertiary olefin with its fully saturated alkyl equivalent (replacement A18) is well known within the chemical arts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the instant effective filing date, to replace the isopentenyl moiety within compound 7b of MOSTERT with an isopentyl moiety (in other words, the fully saturated version of the moiety), as is taught by SHERIDAN, for the purpose of producing derivatives to increase the efficacy of compound 7b of MOSTERT, for the treatment of the conditions described therein. The artisan would have expected success in this moiety replacement, because SHERIDAN teaches that this type of replacement is one of the most common bioisostere replacements known in the chemical arts.
The isopentyl version of compound 7b of MOSTERT can be shown to fall within the scope of instant claim 1. Defining the variables of instant claim 1 as follows produces this isopentyl version: Y and Z are each direct bonds; X is –CH(OH)-; R2 and R3 are each H; R1 is a C5 alkyl group; F is -OH; D is –C(=O)-; and E is H.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9, 12-18, and 20-23 are currently rejected. Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art is that of KIM (Kim, H.J.; Kang, S.K.; Mun, J.Y.; et al. “Involvement of Akt in mitochondria-dependent apoptosis induced by a cdc25 phosphatase inhibitor naphthoquinone analog” FEBS Letters 555 (2003) 217-222). KIM teaches the compound 2,3-dichloro-5,8-dihydroxy-1,4-naphthoquinone (referred to as DDN therein, shown below) to induce apoptosis in human promyelocytic leukemia HL-60 cells (abstract). KIM teaches the treatment of these cancerous cells, which cause a serine/threonine kinase-dependent disease, as described in the 35 USC 102 rejection above. However, KIM does not teach the use of the DDN compound therein in the treatment of a neurodegenerative disease or Alzheimer’s disease. The Examiner has not found any additional prior art that would have rendered the use of the compound of KIM for one of those purposes obvious.
Conclusions
Claims 1-9, 12-18, and 20-23 are currently rejected. Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/JDMc/Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625