DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made that claims 1, 6, 13, 31, 46, 47 are amended. Claims 3-4, 8, 10, 14-15, 19-20, 22-24, 26-27, 35-36, 39-43, 48-59, 61-67, 69-80, 82-116, 118-166 and 168-187 are canceled. Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 11-13, 16-18, 21, 25, 28-34, 37, 38, 44-47, 60, 68, 81, 117 and 167 are pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 10/15/2025 have been fully considered.
Claim Objection
Claim 13 is objected for citing an acronym “PCB”. The claims is amended. Therefore, the objection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 2nd
Claims 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are amended. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, 11-13, 16-18, 21, 25, 28, 29, 31-34, 45-47, 60 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappl et al. (US 2021/0060686), hereinafter Rappl in view of Nazzari et al. (US 2018/0374037), hereinafter Nazzari.
Claim 1 is amended with the limitations
“wherein the server system is configured to determine stages in the life cycle of the device, including determining a production stage of the device, determining a storage stage or a sale stage of the device, and determining a usage stage of the device.”
On page 19 of the Remarks, Applicant argues prior art of record fails to teach the above cited limitations. Applicant’s argument is persuasive, therefore, a new ground of rejection is made in light of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 11-13, 16-18, 21, 25, 28, 29, 31-34, 45-47, 60 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappl (US 2021/0060686) in view of Nazzari et al. (US 2018/0374037) further in view of Kumarasamy et al. (US 2013/0262390), hereinafter Kumarasamy.
As for claim 1, Rappl teaches a system for tracking a life cycle of a device (Fig. 1, paragraph [0014] describes an asset tracking system), the system including a server system (paragraph [0014] describes a server), a plurality of gateways and the device (paragraphs [0014]-[0016] describe gateways/hubs and welding assets), the device configured to sense and to transmit sensory data (paragraph [0024] describes each asset includes sensors which continuously or periodically sense, detect, measure and record sensor data relating to the operations of the asset; paragraph [0026] describes each sensor has an electrical an communication link to send sensor data to the gateway/hub), the device including a sensor and a transmitter (paragraphs [0024] and [0026] describe the asset includes sensor to sense and transmits sensor data), wherein the server system is configured to receive transmissions from the device via any gateway of the plurality of gateways (paragraph [0059] describes the hub obtains the asset identifier), the transmissions including a device ID of the device (paragraph [0026] describes the gateway/hub stores sensor data and an identifier that is associated with the asset; paragraph [0059] describes the hub obtains the asset identifier and transmits a first signal including the asset identifier to the server), the server system storing a tracking record of the device in association with the device ID (paragraph [0048] describes the server stores an asset tracking database which stores data obtained from the gateways, hubs and tags; paragraphs [0059]-[0062] describe the hub transmits a signals includes the asset identifier and the locations of the asset), wherein the server system is configured to update the stored tracking record of the device in relation to:
status of the device, in response to receiving a respective communication from the device (paragraph [0062] describes the server updates the asset tracking database with location information, time information, status information, and direction information associated with the asset identifier).
Rappl fails to teach wherein status of a device includes
production of the device, in response to receiving a respective communication from the device; and
storage or sale of the device, in response to receiving a respective communication from the device; and
usage of the device, in response to receiving a respective communication from the device
wherein the server system is configured to determine stages in the life cycle of the device, including determining a production stage of the device, determining a storage stage or a sale stage of the device, and determining a usage stage of the device.
Nazzari discloses
wherein status includes
production of the device (paragraph [0078] describes records that stores data associated with articles e.g. article state; paragraphs [0117]-[0118] describes computer systems (i.e. peers) that are in communication with internal computing devices to track asset custody once it leaves a factory line and to transfer assets to external entities, the computer systems also responsible for physical assets once they leave the custody of the systems; paragraphs [0120] and [0122] describe each peer can add blocks to a distributed ledge and generate tracking codes that can be imprinted onto assets. The peer can insert a first record onto the ledger indicating that the asset(s) have been transferred to another peer); and
storage or sale of the device (paragraph [0122] describes the second peer inserts a second record onto the ledger indicating a custody transfer); and
usage of the device (paragraphs [0105] and [0123] describe records that identify if a utility meter is a correct utility meter and is available for installation).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Nazzari for maintaining status records of assets. The teachings of Nazzari, when implemented in the Rappl system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to keep track of asset inventory. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nazzari in the Rappl system in order to manage physical article lifecycle.
The combined system of Rappl and Nazzari fails to teach
wherein a server system is configured to determine stages in a life cycle of a device, including determining a production stage of the device, determining a storage stage or a sale stage of the device, and determining a usage stage of the device.
Kumarasamy discloses
wherein a server system is configured to determine stages in a life cycle of a device, including determining a production stage of the device (paragraph [0059] describes a migration system determines a type and version of the operating system and the type and version of the applications installed on a physical machine. The migration system also determines a host name of the file system, network configurations, drivers used, peripheral configurations, how and where drives are mounted etc. The migration system determines the configuration of the physical machine as it existed at the time a non-production copy of the physical machine data was made), determining a storage stage or a sale stage of the device (paragraphs [0064]-[0065] describe the migration system identifies that the physical machine has experienced a trend of increasing/decreasing use of its hard disks or other production data stores), and determining a usage stage of the device (paragraphs [0024] and [0063] describes the migration system identifies resource usage of the physical machine).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kumarasamy for maintaining status records of assets. The teachings of Kumarasamy, when implemented in the Rappl and Nazzari system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform transitioning assets of companies in their existing in-house physical IT infrastructure to cloud services. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kumarasamy in the Rappl and Nazzari system in order to manage the migration of functionalities of a source physical computing device.
As for claim 2, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the server system is configured to update the stored tracking record of the device in relation to: (i) production of the device, in response to receiving a respective communication from the device, via a gateway associated with device production (Rappl: paragraph [0062] describes the server updates the asset tracking database with location information, time information, status information, and direction information associated with the asset identifier; Nazzari: paragraph [0078] describes records that stores data associated with articles e.g. article state; paragraphs [0117]-[0118] describes computer systems (i.e. peers) that are in communication with internal computing devices to track asset custody once it leaves a factory line and to transfer assets to external entities, the computer systems also responsible for physical assets once they leave the custody of the systems; paragraphs [0120] and [0122] describe each peer can add blocks to a distributed ledge and generate tracking codes that can be imprinted onto assets. The peer can insert a first record onto the ledger indicating that the asset(s) have been transferred to another peer); or
wherein the server system is configured to update the stored tracking record of the device in relation to:
(ii) storage or sale of the device, in response to receiving a respective communication from the device, via a gateway associated with storage or sale of the device (Rappl: paragraph [0062] describes the server updates the asset tracking database with location information, time information, status information, and direction information associated with the asset identifier, the server receives the information from the hub; Nazzari: paragraph [0122] describes the second peer inserts a second record onto the ledger indicating a custody transfer); or
wherein the server system is configured to update the stored tracking record of the device in relation to:
(iii) usage of the device, in response to receiving a respective communication from the device, via a gateway associated with, or inferred to relate to, device usage (Rappl: paragraph [0062] describes the server updates the asset tracking database with location information, time information, status information, and direction information associated with the asset identifier; Nazzari: paragraphs [0105] and [0123] describe records that identify if a utility meter is a correct utility meter and is available for installation).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Nazzari for maintaining status records of assets. The teachings of Nazzari, when implemented in the Rappl and Kumarasamy system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to keep track of asset inventory. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nazzari in the Rappl and Kumarasamy system in order to manage physical article lifecycle.
As for claim 5, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the server system is configured to update the stored tracking record of the device in relation to: recycling or decommissioning of the, in response to receiving a respective communication from the device (Rappl: paragraph [0062] describes the server updates the asset tracking database with location information, time information, status information, and direction information associated with the asset identifier; Kumarasamy: paragraphs [0051] and [0064] describe a process of the existing physical machine is being decommissioned after a migration of data, and configuration data. The migration system collects the physical machine’s configurations, storage capacity and usage data in order to perform the migration).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kumarasamy for maintaining status records of assets. The teachings of Kumarasamy, when implemented in the Rappl and Nazzari system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform transitioning assets of companies in their existing in-house physical IT infrastructure to cloud services. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kumarasamy in the Rappl and Nazzari system in order to manage the migration of functionalities of a source physical computing device.
As for claim 6, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the server system is configured to update the stored tracking record of the device in relation to: recycling or decommissioning of the device, in response to receiving a respective communication from the device, via a gateway associated with device recycling or decommissioning (Rappl: paragraph [0062] describes the server updates the asset tracking database with location information, time information, status information, and direction information associated with the asset identifier, the server receives the information from the hub; Kumarasamy: paragraphs [0051] and [0064] describe a process of the existing physical machine is being decommissioned after a migration of data, and configuration data. The migration system collects the physical machine’s configurations, storage capacity and usage data in order to perform the migration).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kumarasamy for maintaining status records of assets. The teachings of Kumarasamy, when implemented in the Rappl and Nazzari system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform transitioning assets of companies in their existing in-house physical IT infrastructure to cloud services. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kumarasamy in the Rappl and Nazzari system in order to manage the migration of functionalities of a source physical computing device.
As for claim 7, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the device transmitter is configured to transmit sensory data using any one, or more, or all, of the following technologies for data transfer: WiFi (Rappl: paragraph [0033] describes WiFi protocol), Bluetooth (Rappl: paragraph [0027] describes Bluetooth communication protocol), low-power wide-area network (LPWAN) or Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) / Narrowband Internet of Things (NB-IoT);or
wherein a gateway is configured to receive sensory data using any one, or more, or all, of the following technologies for data transfer: WiFi, Bluetooth (Rappl: paragraphs [0036]-[0037] describe the gateway communication circuitry communicating in Bluetooth and WiFi protocols), low-power wide-area network (LPWAN) or Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) / Narrowband Internet of Things (NB-IoT).
As for claim 9, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein transmitted data is aggregated by the gateways (Rappl: paragraphs [0046] describes the gateways send information obtained from other gateways, hubs and tags to the asset tracking servers), wherein the gateways then transfer data to the server system (paragraphs [0045]-[0046] describe the gateway is in communication with asset tracking server(s) and the gateways send information obtained from other gateways, hubs and tags to the asset tracking servers), or wherein the server system receives data from the gateways, through middleware (Rappl: paragraphs [0047]-[0048] describe the server(s) include an asset tracking program and are in communication with the gateways).
As for claim 11, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the device includes a plurality of sensors (Rappl: paragraph [0024] describes each welding asset includes sensors).
As for claim 12, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein sensory data is generated by different physical sensors in the device (Rappl: paragraph [0024] describes the sensors are configured to continuously or periodically sense, detect, measure and record sensor data relating to the operation(s) of that particular asset).
As for claim 13, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the device includes a printed circuit board (PCB); or wherein the device includes a battery; or
wherein the device includes a processor (Rappl: paragraph [0034] describes the welding asset has existing circuitry).
As for claim 16, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the server system provides access to sensory data it has received (Rappl: paragraph [0045] describes the gateway is in communication with the asset tracking server(s)).
As for claim 17, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the server system provides the access to the sensory data it has received, through application programming interface (API) interfaces (Nazzari: paragraph [0044] describes APIs for interacting with management devices and the computer system).
As for claim 18, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein a gateway is a smartphone, programmed with an application (Nazzari: paragraph [0046] describes one or more mobile devices configured for use with the welding asset tracking server(s) and also take on the role of gateways; paragraph [0125] describes a user’s mobile devices includes lifecycle management software are used to record change in custody events, lifecycle events).
As for claim 21, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches a system including a device configured to sense and to transmit sensory data (Rappl: paragraph [0026] describes each sensor has a communication link to a tag, hub, and gateway retained by a welding asset), the device including a Bluetooth interface (Rappl: paragraphs [0027]-[0028] describe the tags are retained on an outside of the welding asset or within a housing, chassis, cover of the welding asset. The tag communication circuitry is configured for Bluetooth protocol), the device configured to send data using the Bluetooth interface to a Bluetooth gateway that forwards data to the server system (paragraph [0026] describes the sensor communicates the sensor data to the gateway; paragraphs [0036] and [0045] describe the gateway communication circuitry configured for Bluetooth protocol and the gateway sends information obtained from other entities to the asset tracking server(s)); or
including a device configured to sense and to transmit sensory data (Rappl: paragraph [0026] describes each sensor has a communication link to a tag, hub, and gateway retained by a welding asset), and configured with LoRa (Long Range) technology, and configured to send data to LPWAN gateways, that forward data to the server system; or
including a device configured to sense and to transmit sensory data, the device supporting WiFi communications, the device configured to send data via a regular WiFi router, or using premises-based software gateways, that forward data to the server system; or
including a device configured to sense and to transmit sensory data, the device supporting GSM and/or Narrow Band communications, the device configured to send data to a mobile operator's cloud which is also connected to the server system.
As for claim 25, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the device configured to sense and to transmit sensory data is a portable device (Rappl: paragraphs [0023]- [0024] describe the welding asset types, for example, the welding torch is a welding gun or plasma torch), or
wherein the device configured to sense and to transmit sensory data is a handheld device (Rappl: paragraphs [0023]- [0024] describe the welding torch is a welding gun or plasma torch); or
wherein the device configured to sense and to transmit sensory data includes a touch screen (Rappl: paragraph [0024] describes the sensors configured to sense, detect, measure output current, voltage, motor voltage etc.,).
As for claim 28, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches the system including a plurality of sensor devices which collect sensor data (e.g. temperature, location or acceleration data) (Rappl: paragraph [0024] describes sensors that sense, detect, measure gas temperature, air temperature), and which transmit the collected data to gateways e.g. via one or more of WiFi, Bluetooth (Rappl: paragraphs [0027]-[0028] describe the tags are retained on an outside of the welding asset or within a housing, chassis, cover of the welding asset. The tag communication circuitry is configured for Bluetooth protocol), LPWAN or GSM/ NB-IoT communications.
As for claim 29, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein gateways transmit the received collected data to the server system (Rappl: paragraphs [0046] describes the gateways send information obtained from other gateways, hubs and tags to the asset tracking servers), wherein the server system comprises a gateway API (Nazzari: paragraph [0044] describes an interface module provides application programming interfaces for interacting with specialized applications at computer system(s) and management device(s)), a synchronization server and a database server (Nazzari: paragraph [0125] describes a peer synchronizes records of events with internal computer devices. The peers include local databases), wherein the gateways transmit the received collected data to the gateway API (Nazzari: paragraph [0044] describes the APIs for interacting with the management device(s)), which stores the received data using a blockchain system using the synchronization server (Nazzari: paragraphs [0124]-[0125] describe the peers include blockchain modules and the peers perform data synchronization with the computing devices), where the data is then stored as a structured query language (SQL) database (DB) on a database server (Rappl: paragraph [0048] describes the server stores an asset tracking database which stores data obtained from the gateways, tags, hubs and sensors).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Nazzari for maintaining status records of assets. The teachings of Nazzari, when implemented in the Rappl and Kumarasamy system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to keep track of asset inventory. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nazzari in the Rappl and Kumarasamy system in order to manage physical article lifecycle.
As for claim 31, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the server system includes APIs to a cloud system, to a custom system, or to provide data views (Nazzari: paragraph [0044] describes the APIs for interacting with specialized applications at the management devices and the computer system(s); paragraph [0176] describes a cloud computing environment).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Nazzari for maintaining status records of assets. The teachings of Nazzari, when implemented in the Rappl and Kumarasamy system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to keep track of asset inventory. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nazzari in the Rappl and Kumarasamy system in order to manage physical article lifecycle.
As for claim 32, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the APIs to a cloud system, to a custom system, or to provide data views, connect to 3rd side data analysis engines, or to stand alone solutions (Nazzari: paragraph [0044] describes the APIs for interacting with specialized applications at the management devices and the computer system(s); paragraph [0176] describes a cloud computing environment).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Nazzari for maintaining status records of assets. The teachings of Nazzari, when implemented in the Rappl and Kumarasamy system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to keep track of asset inventory. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nazzari in the Rappl and Kumarasamy system in order to manage physical article lifecycle.
As for claim 33, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the server system provides a web view in connection with a web application (Nazzari: paragraph [0044] describes the interface module provides interfaces for presentation within web browser applications at the management device(s) and the computer system(s)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Nazzari for maintaining status records of assets. The teachings of Nazzari, when implemented in the Rappl and Kumarasamy system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to keep track of asset inventory. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nazzari in the Rappl and Kumarasamy system in order to manage physical article lifecycle.
As for claim 34, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the server system is configured such that during data processing, the server system recognizes a life cycle stage of the sensor which sent the data (Nazzari: paragraphs [0024]-[0027] describe the management system is configured to manage a lifecycle of articles (i.e. assets); paragraphs [0117]-[0118] describes computer systems (i.e. peers) that are in communication with internal computing devices to track asset custody once it leaves a factory line and to transfer assets to external entities, the computer systems also responsible for physical assets once they leave the custody of the systems); or
wherein the server system is configured to track a full life cycle of a device (Nazzari: paragraph [0024] describes the computer-implemented management platform provides for lifecycle management of the assets); or
wherein the server system is configured to customize the life cycle stages of a device.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Nazzari for maintaining status records of assets. The teachings of Nazzari, when implemented in the Rappl and Kumarasamy system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to keep track of asset inventory. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nazzari in the Rappl and Kumarasamy system in order to manage physical article lifecycle.
As for claim 45, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the device communicates a location (Rappl: paragraph [0057] describes the tag is aware of the location of the asset and transmits location information to the hub with the asset identifier).
As for claim 46, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the communicated location is used to establish, or to confirm, that the device is at a place of storage, or at a place of sale (Rappl: paragraph [0057] describes the asset location is determined based on the location of the asset); or
wherein the communicated location is used to establish, or to confirm, that the device is no longer at a place of storage, or at a place of sale, or at a place of manufacture, and hence it is now being used, and hence the record for tracking this device is updated to reflect that it is being used; or
wherein the gateway sends a transmission to the server system, wherein the transmission identifies the gateway; or
wherein the identity of the gateway is used to establish, or to confirm, that the device is no longer at a place of storage, or at a place of sale, or at a place of manufacture, and hence it is now being used, and hence the record for tracking this device is updated to reflect that it is being used; or
wherein the device is configured (e.g. programmed) to communicate that it is being used; or
wherein the communicated location is used to establish, or to confirm, that the device is at a recycling location or at a decommissioning location, and hence it is now being recycled or decommissioned, and hence the record for tracking this device is updated to reflect that it is being recycled or decommissioned; or
wherein the server system identifies the device using its unique device ID, and its previously created record for tracking this device through its life cycle is updated; or
wherein the identity of the gateway is used to establish, or to confirm, that the device is at a recycling location or at a decommissioning location, and hence it is now being recycled or decommissioned, and hence the record for tracking this device is updated to reflect that it is being recycled or decommissioned; or
wherein the device is configured (e.g. programmed) to communicate that it is being recycled or decommissioned.
As for claim 47, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the gateway sends a transmission to the server system (Rappl: paragraph [0046] describes the gateways obtain location and gateway data and send the data to the asset tracking server), wherein the transmission identifies the gateway (Rappl: paragraph [0046] describes the data includes the gateway location); or
wherein the server system identifies the device using its unique device ID (Rappl: paragraph [0016] describes the welding asset tracking server receives signals including an asset identifier), and its previously created record for tracking this device through its life cycle is updated (Rappl: paragraphs [0016] and [0053] describe the welding asset tracking server updates a welding asset tracking database with status of the assets); or
wherein the identity of the gateway is used to establish, or to confirm, that the device is at a place of storage, or at a place of sale; or
wherein the device is configured (e.g. programmed) to communicate that it is being stored, or is being put on sale.
As for claim 60, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the server system provides a user interface in which data is displayed relating to tracking the life cycle of a product, e.g. from production to storing, selling, using and then to recycling, of the product (Nazzari: paragraph [0044] describes an interface module provides web interfaces for presentation within web browser application at the computer systems and the management device).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Nazzari for maintaining status records of assets. The teachings of Nazzari, when implemented in the Rappl system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to keep track of asset inventory. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nazzari in the Rappl system in order to manage physical article lifecycle.
As for claim 68, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the device configured to sense and to transmit sensory data is a logistic sensor device , the device including a temperature sensor, a light intensity sensor or sensors, and an acceleration sensor (Rappl: paragraph [0024] describes different types of sensors), the device configured to make sensory measurements using its sensors (Rappl: paragraph [0024] describes the sensors sense, detect, measure and record sensor data), the measurements including a temperature measurement using the temperature sensor, a light intensity measurement using the light intensity sensor, and an acceleration measurement, using the acceleration sensor (Rappl: paragraphs [0024]-[0025] describe sensors and their functionality), wherein the device is configured to send sensor data to the server (Rappl: paragraphs [0045]-[0046] describe the gateway is in communication with asset tracking server(s) and the gateways send information obtained from other gateways, hubs and tags to the asset tracking servers).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappl (US 2021/0060686) in view of Nazzari (US 2018/0374037) and Kumarasamy (US 2013/0262390) further in view of Vatti et al. (US 2016/0026979), hereinafter Vatti.
As for claim 30, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy fails to teach wherein a server system performs integrations to payments gateways.
Vatti discloses
wherein a server system performs integrations to payments gateways (paragraph [0105] describes an application services tier consists of an ecommerce server that allows secure financial transactions through external payment gateways).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Vatti for integrating with payment gateways. The teachings of Vatti, when implemented in the Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy system Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy system in order to allow secure financial transactions.
Claims 37-38 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappl (US 2021/0060686) in view of Nazzari (US 2018/0374037) and Kumarasamy (US 2013/0262390) further in view of Prasad et al. (US 2019/0246344), hereinafter Prasad.
As for claim 37, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy fails to teach the system including a newly-produced device, configured to sense and to transmit sensory data, which is configured such that after power-up, the device communicates with a local gateway, and provides a unique device ID in a communication via the gateway.
Prasad discloses
a system including a newly-produced device, configured to sense and to transmit sensory data (paragraphs [0011] and [0019]-[0021] describe a sensor provisioning process, the sensor measures data and communicate with the gateway), which is configured such that after power-up, the device communicates with a local gateway (paragraph [0011] describes battery-powered sensors provisioning process, the sensors and the gateway are paired so that the sensors can securely send measurement data to the gateway), and provides a unique device ID in a communication via the gateway (paragraph [0026] describes the gateway receives a sensor whitelist which includes identities of the sensors so that secured communication links between the gateway and the sensors can be established).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Prasad for performing sensor provisioning process. The teachings of Prasad, when implemented in the Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to associate the sensors with a gateway. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Prasad in the Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy system in order to enable secured communications between the associated sensors and the gateway (Prasad: paragraph [0012]).
As for claim 38, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari, Kumarasamy and Prasad teaches wherein the newly-produced device communicates a location; or
wherein the newly-produced device communicates a location (Prasad: paragraph [0020] describes a GPS providing location data), and wherein the communicated location is used by the server system to establish, or to confirm, that the device is newly produced (Rappl: paragraph [0057] describes as the first asset first enters a communication of a hub, the tag transmits location of the asset to the hub); or
wherein the gateway sends a transmission to the server system, wherein the transmission identifies the gateway; or
wherein the server system is configured to identify the newly produced device using its unique device ID, and a record at the server system is created, or is updated, for tracking this newly produced device through its life cycle; or
wherein the identity of the gateway is used to establish, or to confirm, that the device is newly produced; or
wherein the device is configured (e.g. programmed) to communicate that it is newly- produced, or newly manufactured.
As for claim 44, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari, Kumarasamy and Prasad teaches wherein the device configured to sense and to transmit sensory data communicates with a local gateway (Rappl: paragraph [0046] describes the gateway obtains tag data, location), and provides its unique device ID in a communication via the gateway (Rappl: paragraphs [0045]-[0046] describe the gateway is in communication with asset tracking server(s) and the gateways send information obtained from other gateways, hubs and tags to the asset tracking servers).
Claim 81 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappl (US 2021/0060686) in view of Nazzari (US 2018/0374037) and Kumarasamy (US 2013/0262390) further in view of Heinze et al. (US 8,026,814), hereinafter Heinze.
As for claim 81, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches wherein the device configured to sense and to transmit sensory data is a security seal sensor device including a seal (Rappl: paragraph [0027] describes a tag includes a memory circuitry that stores sensor data and other data related to the retaining welding asset), the device including one or more sensors (Rappl: paragraph [0024] describes each asset includes one or more sensors), the security seal sensor arranged to make sensory measurements using its sensors (Rappl: paragraph [0027] describes tags (i.e. security seal sensors); paragraph [0033] describes the tags provide tag data).
The combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy fails to teach measurements checking if a seal was broken, wherein if measured data is such that the seal is determined to be broken, then a user alert is sent.
Heinze discloses
measurements checking if a seal was broken (col. 1, lines 29-34 describe tags include a tamper detection security features which prevent theft and loss of equipment by causing an alert when the tag is removed from the asset), wherein if measured data is such that the seal is determined to be broken, then a user alert is sent (col. 1, lines 29-39 describe when the tag is removed from the asset, it causes an alert and alerts are displayed to an end user).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Heinze for utilizing tags that are attached to assets. The teachings of Heinze, when implemented in the Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to keep track of asset inventory. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Heinze in the Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy system in order to track assets and prevent theft and loss of equipment.
Claim 117 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappl (US 2021/0060686) in view of Nazzari (US 2018/0374037) and Kumarasamy (US 2013/0262390) further in view of Nazzari (US 2014/0330685), hereinafter Nazzari ‘685.
As for claim 117, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches the device including a temperature sensor (Rappl: paragraph [0024] describes temperature sensor), a light sensor or sensors (Rappl: paragraph [0024] describes a sensor detects whether a helmet is in a darkened state), an acceleration sensor and a humidity sensor (Rappl: paragraph [0024] describes sensors that sense speed, air quality), the device configured to make sensory measurements using its sensors, the measurements including a temperature measurement using the temperature sensor, a light intensity measurement using the light intensity sensor, an acceleration measurement using the acceleration sensor, and a humidity measurement using humidity sensor (Rappl: paragraph [0024] describes sensors and their respective functionality), wherein the device is configured to send sensor data to the server (Rappl: paragraphs [0045]-[0046] describe the gateway is in communication with asset tracking server(s) and the gateways send information obtained from other gateways, hubs and tags to the asset tracking servers).
The combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy fails to teach
a device attachable to a box;
wherein a device is configured to send sensor data to a server.
Nazzari ‘685 discloses
a device attachable to a box (paragraphs [0055] describes the asset is a container).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Nazzari ‘685 for sealing items in a container. The teachings of Nazzari ‘685, when implemented in the Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to keep track of asset inventory. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nazzari ‘685 in the Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy system in order to track the status of assets.
Claim 167 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappl (US 2021/0060686) in view of Nazzari (US 2018/0374037) and Kumarasamy (US 2013/0262390) further in view of Paul et al. (US 2025/0041467), hereinafter Paul.
As for claim 167, the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy teaches the device including a position sensor (e.g. GPS position sensor) (Rappl: paragraph [0057]), a temperature sensor and a humidity sensor (Rappl: paragraph [0057]).
the combined system of Rappl, Nazzari and Kumarasamy fails to teach
wherein the device configured to sense and to transmit sensory data is a medical storage sensor device,
the device including a water-resistant casing.
Paul discloses
wherein the device configured to sense and to transmit sensory data is a medical storage sensor device (paragraph [0079] describes a medical device contains flexible electronic sensors that gather diagnostic data during its use and save them onto a chip for later transfer to a handheld washer-disinfector),
the device including a water-resistant casing (paragraph [0060] describes medical devices interface with a cleaning-disinfecting system through a water-tight and air-tight seal).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Paul for storing a medical device in a container. The teachings of Paul, when implemented in the Rappl , Nazzari and Kumarasamy system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to prevent the medical device from being damaged. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Paul in the Rappld, Nazzari and Kumarasamy system in order to store medical devices after reprocessing without exposing the medical devices to potential contamination from the environment (Paul: Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chao et al. (US 2018/0357334) teach discovery of relationships in a scalable industrial analytics platform
Hayton et al. (US 2018/0198604) teach event attestation for an electronic device
Bowles et al. (US 2016/0098689) teach application for device evaluation and other processes associated with device recycling.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TONIA L DOLLINGER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2459