DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-7 and 16-18 in the reply filed on Nov. 6th 2024 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that technical features in claim are special technical features. This is not found persuasive because:
With respect to pages 2-5 of the applicant’s response of the restriction.
Applicant submits "The technical feature 1 "a porous adhesive layer formed on the transfer substrate; first pores being distributed in the porous adhesive layer" is not disclosed by Hsieh".
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As cited in fig. 1C and para. 0027, the intermediate layer 3 has a bubble layer and an adhesive structure. As result, given a broadest reasonable interpretation, Hsieh disclosed the intermediate layer 3 as a porous adhesive layer with first pores for bubble in 3/30.
Applicant submits "The technical feature 2 "at least one colloid protrusion formed on the porous adhesive layer, and second pores being distributed in the colloid protrusion, wherein a size of each second pore matches a size of a luminescent conversion particle, and the size of each second pore is less than a size of each first pore" is not disclosed by Hsieh".
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As cited in para. 0021, 101 as colloid protrusion have second pores for quantum dots as luminescent conversion particles, which are similar to quantum dots in para. 0057 of the specification. The size of quantum dots is obviously less than the size of the pores for the bubble in 3/30. As result, given a broadest reasonable interpretation, Hsieh disclosed 101 as colloid protrusion with second pores and the of sizes of second pores.
Applicant submits "Firstly, there is no mention of luminescent conversion particle in Hsieh, Secondly, as can be seen from the aforementioned analysis, Hsieh does not disclose pores similar to the second pore, therefore, it is impossible for it to disclose the operation of using the second pore to accommodate luminescent conversion particle... However, this protruding bubble does not detach from the intermediate layer itself, meaning that the bubble does not separate from the first substrate 201. Therefore, the technical feature 3 is not disclosed by Hsieh".
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As cited in para. 0021, 101 as colloid protrusion has quantum dots as luminescent conversion particles, which are similar to quantum dots in para. 0057 of the specification. Therefore, 101 inherent have second pores to accommodate quantum dots. Instead of the bubble detach/separate from 201, the 101 as colloid protrusion separates from 3 as a porous adhesive layer as the claim language. As result, given a broadest reasonable interpretation, Hsieh disclosed the technical feature 3.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. (US 20190348588).
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh teaches a chip transfer assembly (Abstract), comprising:
a transfer substrate (fig. 1B, first substrate 201; para. 0019);
a porous adhesive layer (intermediate layer 3 has a bubble layer and an adhesive structure; para. 0027) formed on the transfer substrate (201), first pores (pores in bubble layer; para. 0027) being distributed in the porous adhesive layer (3); and
at least one colloid protrusion (top portion of first light-emitting element 101, 101 is a LED package; para. 0019) formed on the porous adhesive layer (3), the colloid protrusion (101) having light transmittance (101 is light transmittance for light-emitting), and second pores (101 has pores for quantum dot material; para. 0021) being distributed in the colloid protrusion (101), wherein a size of each second pore (pores for quantum dot) matches (pores for quantum dot need match the size of quantum dot) a size of a luminescent conversion particle (quantum dot);
wherein the second pore (pores for quantum dot) is configured to accommodate the luminescent conversion particle (quantum dot) during transfer of a Light-Emitting Diode (LED) chip (bottom portion of 101, which includes a substrate (not shown), and first electrode pad 120, second electrode pad 121; para. 0019); the colloid protrusion (101) is configured to be attached to a light-emitting surface (top surface of 120, 121) of a to-be-transferred LED chip (120, 121) and then to adsorb the LED chip (101 absorb 120, 121 together) under the action of cooling after heating (heating and cooling are obvious after heating; para. 0025) during transfer of the LED chip (101 transfer with 120, 121), and is further configured to form a separation surface (fig. 1C, the surface of 101 separate from protrusions 30; para. 0027) on a surface (top surface of 101) that is in contact with the porous adhesive layer (3) during soldering (connecting pads 104 and the first and second electrode pads 120, 121 via heat with adhesive unit 5 of flux and conductive particle 501; para. 0025-0026) of the heated LED chip (120, 121 is heated) after the adsorbed LED chip (101 and 120, 121) is transferred to a chip soldering zone (5 is flux for heat; para. 0025-0026), so as to separate from the porous adhesive layer (3) and retain on the light-emitting surface of the LED chip (101 retain on top surface of 120, 121).
Hsieh fails to explicitly teach the size of each second pore is less than a size of each first pore.
However, Hsieh teaches the size of each second pore (fig. 1C, quantum dot in 101, which is small and usually nm scale of 1 to 10nm) is obvious less than a size of each first pore (pores in bubble layer of 3, which is even bigger in 30; para. 0027);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the size of each second pore is less than a size of each first pore.
Doing so would give detailed information about the bubble layer to create the protrusions using in the transfer of LED package, thereby the transfer assembly will be more clear and easier to be handled (para. 0027).
Regarding claim 2, Hsieh further teaches the chip transfer assembly according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of colloid protrusions (fig. 1B, 101) are formed on the porous adhesive layer (3), and position distribution of the plurality of colloid protrusions (position of 101) on the porous adhesive layer (3) corresponds to position distribution of a plurality of to-be-transferred LED chips (position of bottom portion of 101 and 120, 121).
Regarding claim 18, Hsieh further teaches the chip transfer assembly according to claim 1, wherein the transfer substrate (fig. 1B, 201) comprises any one of glass or sapphire (sapphire substrate; para. 0022).
Claim(s) 3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh in view of Ahn et al. (US 20190189487).
Regarding claim 3, Hsieh further teaches the chip transfer assembly according to claim 1 including the first pore (fig. 1C, pores in 3) and the second pore (pore for quantum dot).
Hsieh fails to explicitly teach the size of the first pore ranges from 50 nanometers to 1000 nanometers, and the size of the second pore ranges from 6 nanometers to 30 nanometers.
However, Hsieh in view of Ahn teaches the size of the first pore having 50 nm or larger (Ahn: pores having a size of 50 nm or larger; para. 0097), which overlaps ranges from 50 nanometers to 1000 nanometers, and the size of the second pore is 1 to 10nm (Hsieh: quantum dot is usually 2 to 10nm), which overlaps ranges from 6 nanometers to 30 nanometers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first pore range from 50 nm or larger to ranges from 50 nanometers to 1000 nanometers and modified the second pore range from 2 to 10nm to ranges from 6 nanometers to 30 nanometers.
Ahn and Hsieh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ahn and Hsieh in order to achieve the predictable result of porous member suitable for creating and releasing a vacuum pressure and preventing the leakage of vacuum (Ahn: para. 0095). Furthermore, here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP Chapter 2100-Section 2144.05-Optimization of Ranges).
Regarding claim 16, Hsieh further teaches the chip transfer assembly according to claim 1, including the LED chip (fig. 1C, bottom portion of 101 and 120, 121).
Hsieh fails to teach the LED chip comprises a micro-LED chip or a mini-LED chip.
However, Ann teaches the LED chip (Ahn: fig. 3, micro-LEDs 100; para. 0057) comprises a micro-LED chip or a mini-LED chip (Ahn: (μm) LED chip, para. 0003).
Ahn and Hsieh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ahn and Hsieh in order to achieve the predictable result of porous member suitable for creating and releasing a vacuum pressure and preventing the leakage of vacuum for transferring the micro LEDs (Ahn: para. 0094-0095).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh in view of SIMM et al. (WO 2014082260) and Ahn et al. (US 20190189487).
Regarding claim 4, Hsieh further teaches the chip transfer assembly according to claim 1 including the colloid protrusion (fig. 1C, 3).
Hsieh fails to teach an area of a contact surface between the colloid protrusion and the porous adhesive layer is less than an area of a contact surface between the colloid protrusion and the LED chip.
However, SIMM teaches an area of a contact surface (SIMM: fig. 8, surface between light-transmitting non-woven fabric 4 and light emitting unit 3; para. 0056) between the colloid protrusion (4) and the LED chip (3).
SIMM and Hsieh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SIMM and Hsieh in order to achieve LED package structure to effectively increase the light-emitting angle, thereby providing a wide-angle light pattern (SIMM: para. 0060).
In addition, Hsieh in view of SIMM fails to teach an area of a contact surface between the colloid protrusion and the porous adhesive layer is less than the area of the contact surface between the colloid protrusion and the LED chip.
However, Ann teaches an area of a contact surface (Ahn: fig. 3, top surface of micro-LEDs 100; para. 0057, similar to Z of SIMM) between the colloid protrusion (Ahn: top portion of 100 and SIMM: 4) and the porous adhesive layer (Ahn: 1100) is less than (Ahn: top is smaller than middle, because the shape of 100) the area of the contact surface (SIMM: surface between 3 and 4, similar to Ahn: one middle surface in 100) between the colloid protrusion (SIMM: 4 as Ahn: top portion of 100) and the LED chip (SIMM: 3 as Ahn: bottom portion of 100).
Ahn, SIMM and Hsieh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ahn, SIMM and Hsieh in order to achieve the predictable result of porous member suitable for creating and releasing a vacuum pressure and preventing the leakage of vacuum (Ahn: para. 0095).
Regarding claim 5, Hsieh in view of SIMM and Ahn further teaches the chip transfer assembly according to claim 4, wherein a cross section of the colloid protrusion (Ahn: fig. 3, top portion of 100 and SIMM: 4) in a height direction is in a trapezoid shape (Ahn: top portion of 100 has a trapezoid shape). Here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh in view of Ahn et al. (US 20200006110) (“Ahn2”).
Regarding claim 6, Hsieh further teaches the chip transfer assembly according to claim 1 including the porous adhesive layer (fig. 1C, 3).
Hsieh fails to teach the porous adhesive layer comprises a Polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) system adhesive layer.
However, Ahn2 teaches the porous adhesive layer (Ahn2: fig. 7B, 1100) comprises a Polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) system adhesive layer (Ahn2: 1100 is made of a silicone (PDMS); para. 0123).
Ahn2 and Hsieh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ahn2 and Hsieh in order to achieve the predictable result of porous member for improving efficiency of transferring the micro LEDs (Ahn2: para. 0020).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh in view of SIMM et al. (WO 2014082260).
Regarding claim 7, Hsieh further teaches the chip transfer assembly according to claim 1, wherein the colloid protrusion (SIMM: fig. 8, 4) comprises an organic silicone system colloid or an acrylic resin (SIMM: 43 formed of an organic material such as silicone; para. 0060).
Hsieh fails to teach the colloid protrusion comprises an organic silicone system colloid or an acrylic resin.
However, SIMM teaches the colloid protrusion (SIMM: fig. 8, 4) comprises an organic silicone system colloid or an acrylic resin (SIMM: 43 formed of an organic material such as silicone; para. 0060).
SIMM and Hsieh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SIMM and Hsieh in order to achieve LED package structure to effectively increase the light-emitting angle, thereby providing a wide-angle light pattern (SIMM: para. 0060).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh in view of Yao et al. (CN 109390455).
Regarding claim 17, Hsieh further teaches the chip transfer assembly according to claim 1, including the LED chip (fig. 1C, the bottom of 101, 120, 121).
Hsieh fails to teach the LED chip comprises a flip chip LED chip or a formal LED chip.
However, Yao teaches the LED chip (Yao: fig. 2, blue-light LED chip 1; para. 0040) comprises a flip chip LED chip (Yao: flip-chip-type; para. 0087) or a formal LED chip.
Yao and Hsieh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yao and Hsieh in order to achieve the predictable result of LED package structure to improve the luminous efficiency of the white light emitting diode, and avoid the problem of leakage blue light (Yao: para. 0029).
Conclusion
/ZHIJUN XU/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/KIMBERLY N RIZKALLAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818