DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2025 was filed and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 10/06/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-42 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-42 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 12-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-3, and 22 recites the limitation "a/the second accommodating groove" in lines 10, 15, and 22 of claim 1; line 4 of claim 2; lines 2 and 5 of claim 3; lines 10, 15, 22, and 25 of claim 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes “the second accommodating groove” will be understood as “a/the accommodating groove”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12-13, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0176431, of record) in view of Huang (US 2022/0357572, of record) and HA (US 2019/0137850).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses, as best understood, a lens unit (see Fig 1) having: a lens group including a plurality of lenses arranged along an optical axis of the lenses (see Fig 1; Para [0041]; a lens group having a plurality of lenses 10 is aligned along an optical axis); a lens barrel accommodating the lens group (see Fig 1; Para [0041-0042]; lens barrel comprising barrel 100 and holder 200), said lens unit comprising: a flange provided to project radially outward from the lens barrel and useful for attaching the lens unit to other member (see Fig 1; Para [0046]; a lower flange extends radially from 100 and allows barrel to be coupled to casing 300); a planar heater located closer to the object side than the flange and capable of heating the first lens located closest to the object side (see Fig 3; Para [0062]; a first heating plate 512 placed under a first lens); and an electrical wiring extending from the planar heater (see Fig 3; Para [0062]; a first connection portion 530 extends from heating plate 512), wherein the lens barrel is provided with a first through hole and an accommodating groove (see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; lens barrel has multiple grooves where the conductive components rest and a hole though holder 200),
the first through hole is extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side inside the side wall of the lens barrel in order to guide the electrical wiring to a position closer to the image side than the image side end of the flange (see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; a section of conductive wires extends longitudinally along optical axis in an interior section between elements 100 and 200), the accommodating groove is communicated with the first through hole, and extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side on the outer peripheral surface of the side wall of the lens barrel to accommodate the electrical wiring and guide the electrical wiring to the image side (see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; a section of conductive wires extends longitudinally along axis beginning in an interior section between elements 100 and 200 extending radially then curving around flange as seen in Fig 5 along peripheral surface). Kim does not disclose wherein the first through hole extends integrally through a lateral structure of the lens barrel; and there exists a transition portion between the first through hole penetrating the side wall of the lens barrel and the accommodating groove on the outer peripheral surface of the lens barrel, the transition portion opening the first through hole to the outside of the lens barrel at its end. Kim and Huang are related because both disclose lens units.
Huang discloses a lens unit (see Fig 17) wherein the first through hole extends integrally through a lateral structure of the lens barrel (see Fig 17; Para [0227]; a conductor channel 202 contains a first hole that extends laterally through the lens barrel wall 21; conductor channel 202 extends opposite to the first lens element 11/lens element 10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim with wherein the first through hole extends integrally through a lateral structure of the lens barrel of Huang for the purpose of leading out of the bottom of the barrel wall so as to connect to the power supply device (Para [0210])
Kim in view of Huang do not disclose a transition portion between the first through hole penetrating the side wall of the lens barrel and the accommodating groove on the outer peripheral surface of the lens barrel, the transition portion opening the first through hole to the outside of the lens barrel at its end. Kim in view of Huang and Ha are related because both disclose lens units.
Ha discloses a lens unit (see Fig 11B) a transition portion between the first through hole penetrating the side wall of the lens barrel and the accommodating groove on the outer peripheral surface of the lens barrel, the transition portion opening the first through hole to the outside of the lens barrel at its end (see Fig 11B; Para [0087-0091]; a transition portion exists between a drawn-out hole 235 and the groove of the heating element 250 that opens the first through hole to the outside of the barrel 230).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang with a transition portion between the first through hole penetrating the side wall of the lens barrel and the accommodating groove on the outer peripheral surface of the lens barrel, the transition portion opening the first through hole to the outside of the lens barrel at its end of Ha for the purpose of improving the connectivity of electrical components in a lens unit (Para [0087-0089]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Huang and Ha discloses, as best understood, the lens unit according (Ha: see Fig 11B) to claim 1. Kim does not disclose wherein the transition portion has a second through hole extending radially in the side wall of the lens barrel in order to connect the first through hole with the accommodating groove.
Ha discloses wherein the transition portion has a second through hole extending radially in the side wall of the lens barrel in order to connect the first through hole with the accommodating groove (see Fig 11B; Para [0087-0091]; a second hole exists at the out end of drawn-out hole 235)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang with wherein the transition portion has a second through hole extending radially in the side wall of the lens barrel in order to connect the first through hole with the accommodating groove of Ha for the purpose of improving the connectivity of electrical components in a lens unit (Para [0087-0089]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Huang, as best understood, discloses the lens unit according (Kim: see Fig 1) to claim 1, wherein the first through hole and the accommodating groove are provided in a manner such that a portion of the electrical wiring arranged in the first through hole and a portion of the electrical wiring arranged in the accommodating groove can be arranged on a straight line in the optical axis direction (Kim: see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; portion of the first and second grooves form a linear line along optical axis).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Huang discloses the lens unit according (Kim: see Fig 1) to claim 1, wherein the electrical wiring is a lead wire (Kim: see Fig 5; Para [0068]; wiring comprised of conductive wires 541).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Huang discloses the lens unit according (Kim: see Fig 1) to claim 1, wherein the planar heater includes a heating portion for heating the first lens, the heating portion is adhered to the end face of the first lens on the image side thereof using an adhesive (Kim: see Fig 1; Para [0074] a conductive adhesive is used to attach coating layer to heating plate and then to lens).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Huang discloses the lens unit according to claim 1 (Kim: see Fig 1), wherein the first lens and the second lens or spacer are adjacent to each other in the optical axis direction and are in contact with each other, a gap is provided between the first lens and the second lens or the spacer to accommodate the heating portion of the planar heater (Kim: see Fig 1; Para [0062-0064]; as seen in Fig 1 first and second lenses are adjacent and a heating unit 510 is disposed between).
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Huang discloses the lens unit according to claim 1 (Kim: see Fig 1), wherein the planar heater includes a belt-shaped extending portion extending from the heating portion and supplying electricity to the heating portion (Kim: see Fig 3; Para [0062]; a first connecting portion 530 is belt like and extends from the first heating unit supplying power), an insertion portion for inserting the extending portion of the planar heater along the axial direction of the lens barrel is provided on the outer peripheral portion of the second lens or the spacer adjacent to the first lens in the optical axis direction (Kim: see Fig 3; a portion of first connecting portion at the top connects heater with wires 541), the lens barrel is provided with a lead-out hole for leading out the extending portion inserted in the insertion portion, said lead-out hole being communicated with the insertion portion (Kim: see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; a section of conductive wires extends longitudinally along axis beginning in an interior section between elements 100 and 200 extending radially then curving around flange as seen in Fig 5 along peripheral surface).
Regarding claim 21, Kim in view of Huang discloses a camera module including the lens unit (Kim: see Fig 1; Para [0040]; a camera module is illustrated having said lens unit) according to claim 1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0176431, of record) in view of Huang (US 2022/0357572, of record) and HA (US 2019/0137850) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Lee (US 2018/0239105, of record).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Huang discloses the lens unit according to claim 1. Kim in view of Huang does not disclose wherein the electrical wiring is FPC (Flexible Printed Circuit). Kim in view of Huang and Lee are related because both disclose lens units with lens barrels and heating elements.
Lee discloses a lens unit (see Fig 11) wherein the electrical wiring is FPC (Flexible Printed Circuit) (see Fig 11; Para [0132]; conductive parts may be FPCs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang with wherein the electrical wiring is FPC (Flexible Printed Circuit) of Lee for the purpose of improving ease of connection without incurring mechanical problems (Para [0130])
Claims 6, 14, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0176431, of record) in view of Huang (US 2022/0357572, of record) and HA (US 2019/0137850) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Bernal (US 2019/0137723, of record).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Huang discloses the lens unit according to claim 1. Kim in view of Huang does not disclose wherein the electrical wiring is a wiring pattern formed by patterning in the first through hole. Kim in view of Huang and Bernal are related because both disclose lens units with heated lens barrels.
Bernal discloses a lens unit (see Fig 1) wherein the electrical wiring is a wiring pattern formed by patterning in the through hole and/or the accommodating groove (see Fig 1; Para [0019]; wire may be made of trace of conductive material printed on substrate; Kim discloses the grooves to be the substrate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang with wherein the electrical wiring is a wiring pattern formed by patterning in the through hole and/or the accommodating groove of Bernal for the purpose of simplifying machining therefor reducing costs of producing a lens system with deicing capabilities (Para[0002-0006]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Huang discloses a lens unit (Kim: see Fig 1) according to claim 1. Kim in view of Huang does not disclose wherein the planar heater is an FPC heater or an organic PTC heater. Kim in view of Huang and Bernal are related because both disclose lens units with heated lens barrels.
Bernal discloses a lens unit (see Fig 1) wherein the planar heater is an FPC heater or an organic PTC heater (see Fig 1; Para [0019]; a heating element may be made of PTC material thus a PTC heater).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang with wherein the planar heater is an FPC heater or an organic PTC heater of Bernal for the purpose of simplifying machining therefor reducing costs of producing a lens system with deicing capabilities (Para [0002-0006]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Huang discloses a lens unit (Kim: see Fig 1) according to claim 1. Kim in view of Huang does not disclose wherein the planar heater is an organic PTC heater, a gap is provided between the second lens or spacer adjacent to the first lens in the optical axis direction and the heating portion of the organic PTC heater. Kim in view of Huang and Bernal are related because both disclose lens units with heated lens barrels.
Bernal discloses a lens unit (see Fig 1) wherein the planar heater is an organic PTC heater, a gap is provided between the second lens or spacer adjacent to the first lens in the optical axis direction and the heating portion of the organic PTC heater (see Fig 1; Para [0019]; a heating element may be made of organic PTC materials thus an organic PTC heater, i.e. graphite; Kim discloses gap as seen in Fig 1 heater rests on barrel and there is a gap between heater and second lens).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang with wherein the planar heater is an organic PTC heater, a gap is provided between the second lens or spacer adjacent to the first lens in the optical axis direction and the heating portion of the organic PTC heater of Bernal for the purpose of simplifying machining therefor reducing costs of producing a lens system with deicing capabilities (Para[0002-0006]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Huang discloses the lens unit according to claim 1. Kim in view of Huang does not disclose wherein the planar heater is an FPC heater, the FPC heater includes a heating portion for heating the first lens, the heating portion has a plurality of circuit layers in which a circuit pattern has been formed by a metal foil. Kim in view of Huang and Bernal are related because both disclose lens units with heated lens barrels.
Bernal discloses a lens unit (see Fig 1) wherein the planar heater is an FPC heater, the FPC heater includes a heating portion for heating the first lens, the heating portion has a plurality of circuit layers in which a circuit pattern has been formed by a metal foil (see Fig 1; Para [0019-0021]; heater may be a printed circuit board formed from metal; Kim discloses a first heating unit and coating layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang with wherein the planar heater is an FPC heater, the FPC heater includes a heating portion for heating the first lens, the heating portion has a plurality of circuit layers in which a circuit pattern has been formed by a metal foil of Bernal for the purpose of simplifying machining therefor reducing costs of producing a lens system with deicing capabilities (Para[0002-0006]).
Claims 7-10, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0176431, of record) in view of Huang (US 2022/0357572, of record), Hsu (US 2019/0179107, of record), and Liu (US 2020/0314311)
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses a lens unit (Kim: see Fig 1) having: optical components such as a plurality of lenses and spacer arranged along an optical axis (Kim: see Fig 1; Para [0041]; lens 10 may be configured with plurality of lenses to form a lens system with spacers as seen in Fig 1); a lens barrel accommodating and holding the optical components (Kim: see Fig 1; Para [0040]; a lens barrel 100 holds lens components); and a planar heater capable of heating a first lens located closest to the object side (Kim: see Fig 3; Para [0045]; a first heating unit 510 heats the first lens closest to the object side), the planar heater includes a heating portion for heating the first lens and a belt-shaped extending portion extending from the heating portion to supply electricity to the heating portion (Kim: see Fig 3; Para [0062]; a first connecting portion 530 is belt like and extends from the first heating unit supplying power), an accommodating/holding portion is provided with an insertion groove extending in the axial direction of the lens barrel and having a groove width wider than the width of the extending portion (Kim: see Fig 5; Para [0078]; barrel and holder 200 form groove that axially extends and whose width is wider than wiring 541), the lens barrel is provided with a lead-out hole for leading out the extending portion inserted in the insertion groove to the outside, said lead-out hole being communicated with the insertion groove (Kim: see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; a section of conductive wires extends longitudinally along axis beginning in an interior section between elements 100 and 200 extending radially then curving around flange as seen in Fig 5 along peripheral surface).
Kim does not disclose wherein the lens barrel has an accommodating/holding portion including an inner peripheral surface formed into a polygonal shape having an octagon or more configured to accommodate and hold the optical components located closer to the image side than the first lens; and wherein the lens barrel is provided with a hole width of the lead-out hole which is equal to a groove width of the insertion groove, the insertion groove forming a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through, the lead-out hole opening to the outside of the lens barrel and also to the inside of the lens barrel so that the lead-out hole faces the lens group. Kim and Huang are related because both disclose lens units.
Huang discloses a lens unit (see Fig 17) wherein the lens barrel is provided with a hole width of the lead-out hole which is equal to a groove width of the insertion groove (see Fig 17; Para [0228, 241]; a conductor channel 202 contains a hole that exits laterally through the lens barrel wall 21; hole is the thickness of the channel 202 as seen in Fig 17)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim with wherein the lens barrel is provided with a hole width of the lead-out hole which is equal to a groove width of the insertion groove of Huang for the purpose of heating the lens element in a uniform fashion to ensure the performance index and image quality (Para [0011])
Kim in view of Huang does not disclose wherein the lens barrel has an accommodating/holding portion including an inner peripheral surface formed into a polygonal shape having an octagon or more configured to accommodate and hold the optical components located closer to the image side than the first lens; and the insertion groove forming a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through, the lead-out hole opening to the outside of the lens barrel and also to the inside of the lens barrel so that the lead-out hole faces the lens group. Kim in view of Huang and Hsu are related because both disclose lens units with lens barrels.
Hsu discloses a lens unit (see Fig 1) wherein the lens barrel has an accommodating/ holding portion including an inner peripheral surface formed into a polygonal shape having an octagon or more configured to accommodate and hold the optical components located closer to the image side than the first lens (see Fig 1; Para [0076]; lens barrel may be an octagon or other polygon holding optical components closer to image side than a lens 810).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang with wherein the lens barrel has an accommodating/holding portion including an inner peripheral surface formed into a polygonal shape having an octagon or more configured to accommodate and hold the optical components located closer to the image side than the first lens of Hsu for the purpose of simplifying machining therefor reducing costs.
Kim in view of Huang and Hsu do not disclose the insertion groove forming a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through, the lead-out hole opening to the outside of the lens barrel and also to the inside of the lens barrel so that the lead-out hole faces the lens group. Kim in view of Huang and Hsu and Liu are related because both disclose lens units.
Liu discloses a lens unit (see Fig 9) the insertion groove forming a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through, the lead-out hole opening to the outside of the lens barrel and also to the inside of the lens barrel so that the lead-out hole faces the lens group (see Fig 9-12; Para [0029-0031]; a groove 132b formed between the outer peripheral surface of the lens units and the inner surface of the lens barrel and the end of the conductive traces are open to the outside of the barrel and to the inside as traces are open on a top side)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang and Hsu with the insertion groove forming a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through, the lead-out hole opening to the outside of the lens barrel and also to the inside of the lens barrel so that the lead-out hole faces the lens group of Liu for the purpose of minimizing the size of electrical components and integrating seamlessly onto the device (Para [0029])
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Huang, Hsu and Liu discloses the lens unit according to claim 7 (Kim: see Fig 1), wherein the lead-out hole is provided on the peripheral wall of the lens barrel (Kim: see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; a gap in element 200 allows for wiring to exit).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Huang, Hsu and Liu discloses the lens unit (Kim: see Fig 1) according to claim 7, wherein the lead-out hole is provided on the end face wall on the image side of the lens barrel (Kim: see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; the gap is provided on the end face of element 200).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Huang, Hsu and Liu discloses the lens unit according to claim 7 (Kim: see Fig 1), wherein an angle formed between lines connecting both ends of the insertion groove in the width direction thereof and the center of the accommodating/holding portion is within 60° (Kim: see Fig 2; Para [0066-0070]; angle calculated from Fig 2 to be around 44 deg taken from lines from center to edges of wires 541).
Regarding claim 23, Kim in view of Huang, Hsu and Liu discloses a camera module including the lens unit (Kim: see Fig 1; Para [0040]; a camera module is illustrated having said lens unit) according to claim 7.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0176431, of record) in view of Huang (US 2022/0357572, of record), Hsu (US 2019/0179107, of record) and Liu (US 2020/0314311) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2018/0239105, of record).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Huang, Hsu and Liu discloses the lens unit according to claim 7. Kim in view of Huang, Hsu and Liu does not disclose wherein the width of the insertion groove is within 3.5 mm. Kim in view of Huang, Hsu and Liu and Lee are related because both disclose lens units with lens barrels and heating elements.
Lee discloses a lens unit (see Fig 11) wherein the width of the insertion groove is within 3.5 mm (see Fig 11; Para [0130]; width of conductive parts is between 1 and 3 mm thus within 3.5 mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang, Hsu and Liu with wherein the width of the insertion groove is within 3.5 mm of Lee for the purpose of improving ease of connection without incurring mechanical problems (Para [0130])
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0176431, of record) in view of Huang (US 2022/0357572, of record) and HA (US 2019/0137850) as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Yoshimura (US 2012/0162795, of record).
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Huang discloses a lens unit (Kim: see Fig 1) according to claim 12. Kim in view of Huang does not disclose wherein the adhesive is a thermosetting adhesive. Kim in view of Huang and Yoshimura are related because both disclose lens units with lens barrels.
Yoshimura discloses a lens unit (see Fig 1) wherein the adhesive is a thermosetting adhesive (see Fig 1; Para [0040]; a thermoset acrylic resin maybe used as adhesive).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang with wherein the adhesive is a thermosetting adhesive of Yoshimura for the purpose of simplifying production while maintaining proper adhesive characteristics.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0176431, of record) in view of Huang (US 2022/0357572, of record), HA (US 2019/0137850) and Bernal (US 2019/0137723, of record) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2018/0239105, of record).
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Huang and Bernal discloses the lens unit according to claim 18. Kim in view of Huang and Bernal does not disclose wherein the circuit patterns respectively formed in the circuit layers of a plurality of layers are connected by a through hole. Kim in view of Huang and Bernal and Lee are related because both disclose lens units with lens barrels and heating elements.
Lee discloses a lens unit (see Fig 11) wherein the circuit patterns respectively formed in the circuit layers of a plurality of layers are connected by a through hole (see Fig 5; Para [0107-115] holes through barrel connect terminals of conductive wires to heating wires and heating layer 200).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang and Bernal with wherein the circuit patterns respectively formed in the circuit layers of a plurality of layers are connected by a through hole of Lee for the purpose of improving ease of connection without incurring mechanical problems (Para [0130])
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0176431) in view of Huang (US 2022/0357572, of record), HA (US 2019/0137850), Bernal (US 2019/0137723, of record) and Lee (US 2018/0239105, of record) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Keller (US 2015/0054878, of record).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Huang, Bernal and Lee disclose the lens unit according to claim 19. Kim in view of Huang, Bernal and Lee does not disclose wherein the lens unit has two circuit layers, the heating portion has a donut plate-shaped base film, the circuit layer is provided on both the front and back surfaces of the base film. Kim in view of Huang, Bernal and Lee and Keller are related because both disclose electronics with heating capabilities.
Keller discloses an electronic heater (see Fig 1) wherein the lens unit has two circuit layers, the heating portion has a donut plate-shaped base film, the circuit layer is provided on both the front and back surfaces of the base film (see Fig 1; Para [0009-0012]; a printed circuit board with two layer of conductors front and base of base 106; Kim discloses the heating portion being donut shaped).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Bernal and Lee with wherein the lens unit has two circuit layers, the heating portion has a donut plate-shaped base film, the circuit layer is provided on both the front and back surfaces of the base film of Keller for the purpose of spreading heat evenly around circuit (Para [0014])
Claims 22, 24-28, 31-32, 35, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0176431) in view of Huang (US 2022/0357572, of record), HA (US 2019/0137850), and Liu (US 2020/0314311)
Regarding claim 22, Kim discloses , as best understood, a lens unit (see Fig 1) having: a lens group including a plurality of lenses arranged along an optical axis of the lenses (see Fig 1; Para [0041]; a lens group having a plurality of lenses 10 is aligned along an optical axis); a lens barrel accommodating the lens group (see Fig 1; Para [0041-0042]; lens barrel comprising barrel 100 and holder 200), said lens unit comprising: a flange provided to project radially outward from the lens barrel and useful for attaching the lens unit to other member (see Fig 1; Para [0046]; a lower flange extends radially from 100 and allows barrel to be coupled to casing 300); a planar heater located closer to the object side than the flange and capable of heating the first lens located closest to the object side (see Fig 3; Para [0062]; a first heating plate 512 placed under a first lens); and an electrical wiring extending from the planar heater (see Fig 3; Para [0062]; a first connection portion 530 extends from heating plate 512), wherein the lens barrel is provided with a first through hole and a accommodating groove (see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; lens barrel has multiple grooves where the conductive components rest), the first through hole is extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side inside the side wall of the lens barrel in order to guide the electrical wiring to a position closer to the image side than the image side end of the flange (see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; a section of conductive wires extends longitudinally along optical axis in an interior section between elements 100 and 200), the accommodating groove is communicated with the first through hole, and extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side on the outer peripheral surface of the side wall of the lens barrel to accommodate the electrical wiring and guide the electrical wiring to the image side (see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; a section of conductive wires extends longitudinally along axis beginning in an interior section between elements 100 and 200 extending radially then curving around flange as seen in Fig 5 along peripheral surface).
Kim does not disclose wherein the first through hole extends integrally through a lateral structure of the lens barrel, extends opposite the lens group; there exists a transition portion between the first through hole penetrating the side wall of the lens barrel and the accommodating groove on the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel, the transition portion opening the first through hole to the interior of the lens barrel at its end, and the accommodating groove forms a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through. Kim and Huang are related because both disclose lens units.
Huang discloses a lens unit (see Fig 17) wherein the first through hole extends integrally through a lateral structure of the lens barrel (see Fig 17; Para [0227]; a conductor channel 202 contains a first hole that extends laterally through the lens barrel wall 21; conductor channel 202 extends opposite to the first lens element 11/lens element 10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim with wherein the first through hole extends integrally through a lateral structure of the lens barrel of Huang for the purpose of leading out of the bottom of the barrel wall so as to connect to the power supply device (Para [0210])
Kim in view of Huang does not disclose there exists a transition portion between the first through hole penetrating the side wall of the lens barrel and the accommodating groove on the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel, the transition portion opening the first through hole to the interior of the lens barrel at its end, and the accommodating groove forms a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through.
Ha discloses a lens unit (see Fig 11B) a transition portion between the first through hole penetrating the side wall of the lens barrel and the accommodating groove on the outer peripheral surface of the lens barrel, the transition portion opening the first through hole to the outside of the lens barrel at its end (see Fig 11B; Para [0087-0091]; a transition portion exists between a drawn-out hole 235 and the groove of the heating element 250 that opens the first through hole to the outside of the barrel 230).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang with a transition portion between the first through hole penetrating the side wall of the lens barrel and the accommodating groove on the outer peripheral surface of the lens barrel, the transition portion opening the first through hole to the outside of the lens barrel at its end of Ha for the purpose of improving the connectivity of electrical components in a lens unit (Para [0087-0089]).
Kim in view of Huang and Ha does not disclose the accommodating groove forms a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through. Kim in view of Huang and Ha and Liu are related because both disclose lens units.
Liu discloses a lens unit (see Fig 9) the accommodating groove forms a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through (see Fig 9-12; Para [0029-0031]; a groove 132b formed between the outer peripheral surface of the lens units and the inner surface of the lens barrel and the end of the conductive traces are open to the outside of the barrel and to the inside as traces are open on a top side)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang and Ha with the accommodating groove forms a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through of Liu for the purpose of minimizing the size of electrical components and integrating seamlessly onto the device (Para [0029])
Regarding claim 24, Kim in view of Huang, Ha and Liu discloses a camera module including the lens unit (Kim: see Fig 1; Para [0040]; a camera module is illustrated having said lens unit) according to claim 22.
Regarding claim 25, Kim discloses a lens unit (see Fig 1) having: a lens group including a plurality of lenses arranged along an optical axis of the lenses (see Fig 1; Para [0041]; a lens group having a plurality of lenses 10 is aligned along an optical axis); a lens barrel accommodating the lens group (see Fig 1; Para [0041-0042]; lens barrel comprising barrel 100 and holder 200), said lens unit comprising: a flange provided to project radially outward from the lens barrel and useful for attaching the lens unit to other member (see Fig 1; Para [0046]; a lower flange extends radially from 100 and allows barrel to be coupled to casing 300); a planar heater located closer to the object side than the flange and capable of heating the first lens located closest to the object side (see Fig 3; Para [0062]; a first heating plate 512 placed under a first lens); and an electrical wiring extending from the planar heater (see Fig 3; Para [0062]; a first connection portion 530 extends from heating plate 512), wherein the lens barrel is provided with a first through hole and a second accommodating groove (see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; lens barrel has multiple grooves where the conductive components rest), the first accommodating groove is extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side in order to guide the electrical wiring to a position closer to the image side than the image side end of the flange (see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; a section of conductive wires extends longitudinally along optical axis in an interior section between elements 100 and 200), the second accommodating groove is communicated with the first through hole, and extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side on the outer peripheral surface of the side wall of the lens barrel to accommodate the electrical wiring and guide the electrical wiring to the image side (see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; a section of conductive wires extends longitudinally along axis beginning in an outer peripheral section of elements 100 extending radially then curving around flange as seen in Fig 5 along peripheral surface).
Kim does not disclose wherein the first accommodating groove is extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side inside the side wall of the lens barrel; wherein the first accommodating groove extends opposite the lens group; there exists a transition portion between the first accommodating groove on an inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel and the second accommodating groove on an outer peripheral surface of the lens barrel, the transition portion opening the first accommodating groove to the outside of the lens barrel at its end, and the first accommodating groove forms a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through. Kim and Huang are related because both disclose lens units.
Huang discloses a lens unit (see Fig 17) wherein the first accommodating groove is extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side inside the side wall of the lens barrel (see Fig 17; Para [0227]; conductor channel 202 extends in a lateral direction inside the side wall of the lens barrel 221) and wherein the first accommodating groove extends opposite the lens group (see Fig 17; Para [0227]; a conductor channel 202 contains a first hole that extends laterally through the lens barrel wall 21; conductor channel 202 extends opposite to the first lens element 11/lens element 10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim with wherein the first accommodating groove extends opposite the lens group of Huang for the purpose of leading out of the bottom of the barrel wall so as to connect to the power supply device (Para [0210])
Kim in view of Huang does not disclose there exists a transition portion between the first accommodating groove on an inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel and the second accommodating groove on an outer peripheral surface of the lens barrel, the transition portion opening the first accommodating groove to the outside of the lens barrel at its end, and the first accommodating groove forms a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through.
Ha discloses a lens unit (see Fig 11B) a transition portion between the first accommodating groove on an inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel and the second accommodating groove on an outer peripheral surface of the lens barrel, the transition portion opening the first accommodating groove to the outside of the lens barrel at its end (see Fig 11B; Para [0087-0091]; a transition portion exists between a drawn-out hole 235 and the groove of the heating element 250 that opens the first through hole to the outside of the barrel 230).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang with a transition portion between the first through hole penetrating the side wall of the lens barrel and the second accommodating groove on the outer peripheral surface of the lens barrel, the transition portion opening the first through hole to the outside of the lens barrel at its end of Ha for the purpose of improving the connectivity of electrical components in a lens unit (Para [0087-0089]).
Kim in view of Huang and Ha does not disclose the first accommodating groove forms a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through. Kim in view of Huang and Ha and Liu are related because both disclose lens units.
Liu discloses a lens unit (see Fig 9) the first accommodating groove forms a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through (see Fig 9-12; Para [0029-0031]; a groove 132b formed between the outer peripheral surface of the lens units and the inner surface of the lens barrel and the end of the conductive traces are open to the outside of the barrel and to the inside as traces are open on a top side)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang and Ha with the first accommodating groove forms a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through of Liu for the purpose of minimizing the size of electrical components and integrating seamlessly onto the device (Para [0029])
Regarding claim 26, Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu discloses the lens unit according (Ha: see Fig 11B) to claim 25. Kim does not disclose wherein the transition portion has a second through hole extending radially in the side wall of the lens barrel in order to connect the first through hole with the second accommodating groove.
Ha discloses wherein the transition portion has a second through hole extending radially in the side wall of the lens barrel in order to connect the first through hole with the second accommodating groove (see Fig 11B; Para [0087-0091]; a second hole exists at the out end of drawn-out hole 235)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang with wherein the transition portion has a second through hole extending radially in the side wall of the lens barrel in order to connect the first through hole with the second accommodating groove of Ha for the purpose of improving the connectivity of electrical components in a lens unit (Para [0087-0089]).
Regarding claim 27, Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu discloses the lens unit according (Kim: see Fig 1) to claim 25, wherein the first accommodating groove and the second accommodating groove are provided in a manner such that a portion of the electrical wiring arranged in the first through hole and a portion of the electrical wiring arranged in the second accommodating groove can be arranged on a straight line in the optical axis direction (Kim: see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; portion of the first and second grooves form a linear line along optical axis).
Regarding claim 28, Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu discloses the lens unit according (Kim: see Fig 1) to claim 25, wherein the electrical wiring is a lead wire (Kim: see Fig 5; Para [0068]; wiring comprised of conductive wires 541).
Regarding claim 31, Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu discloses the lens unit according (Kim: see Fig 1) to claim 25, wherein the planar heater includes a heating portion for heating the first lens, the heating portion is adhered to the end face of the first lens on the image side thereof using an adhesive (Kim: see Fig 1; Para [0074] a conductive adhesive is used to attach coating layer to heating plate and then to lens).
Regarding claim 32, Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu discloses the lens unit according to claim 25 (Kim: see Fig 1), wherein the first lens and the second lens or spacer are adjacent to each other in the optical axis direction and are in contact with each other, a gap is provided between the first lens and the second lens or the spacer to accommodate the heating portion of the planar heater (Kim: see Fig 1; Para [0062-0064]; as seen in Fig 1 first and second lenses are adjacent and a heating unit 510 is disposed between).
Regarding claim 35, Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu discloses the lens unit according to claim 25 (Kim: see Fig 1), wherein the planar heater includes a belt-shaped extending portion extending from the heating portion and supplying electricity to the heating portion (Kim: see Fig 3; Para [0062]; a first connecting portion 530 is belt like and extends from the first heating unit supplying power), an insertion portion for inserting the extending portion of the planar heater along the axial direction of the lens barrel is provided on the outer peripheral portion of the second lens or the spacer adjacent to the first lens in the optical axis direction (Kim: see Fig 3; a portion of first connecting portion at the top connects heater with wires 541), the lens barrel is provided with a lead-out hole for leading out the extending portion inserted in the insertion portion, said lead-out hole being communicated with the insertion portion (Kim: see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; a section of conductive wires extends longitudinally along axis beginning in an interior section between elements 100 and 200 extending radially then curving around flange as seen in Fig 5 along peripheral surface).
Regarding claim 40, Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu discloses a camera module including the lens unit (Kim: see Fig 1; Para [0040]; a camera module is illustrated having said lens unit) according to claim 25.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0176431) in view of Huang (US 2022/0357572, of record), HA (US 2019/0137850), and Liu (US 2020/0314311) as applied to claim 25 above and further in view of Lee (US 2018/0239105, of record).
Regarding claim 29, Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu discloses the lens unit according to claim 25. Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu does not disclose wherein the electrical wiring is FPC (Flexible Printed Circuit). Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu and Lee are related because both disclose lens units with lens barrels and heating elements.
Lee discloses a lens unit (see Fig 11) wherein the electrical wiring is FPC (Flexible Printed Circuit) (see Fig 11; Para [0132]; conductive parts may be FPCs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu with wherein the electrical wiring is FPC (Flexible Printed Circuit) of Lee for the purpose of improving ease of connection without incurring mechanical problems (Para [0130])
Claims 30, 33, 34, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0176431) in view of Huang (US 2022/0357572, of record), HA (US 2019/0137850), and Liu (US 2020/0314311) as applied to claim 25 above and further in view of Bernal (US 2019/0137723, of record).
Regarding claim 30, Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu discloses the lens unit according to claim 1. Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu does not disclose wherein the electrical wiring is a wiring pattern formed by patterning in the first through hole. Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu and Bernal are related because both disclose lens units with heated lens barrels.
Bernal discloses a lens unit (see Fig 1) wherein the electrical wiring is a wiring pattern formed by patterning in the through hole and/or the accommodating groove (see Fig 1; Para [0019]; wire may be made of trace of conductive material printed on substrate; Kim discloses the grooves to be the substrate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu with wherein the electrical wiring is a wiring pattern formed by patterning in the through hole and/or the accommodating groove of Bernal for the purpose of simplifying machining therefor reducing costs of producing a lens system with deicing capabilities (Para [0002-0006]).
Regarding claim 33, Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu discloses a lens unit (Kim: see Fig 1) according to claim 25. Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu does not disclose wherein the planar heater is an FPC heater or an organic PTC heater. Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu and Bernal are related because both disclose lens units with heated lens barrels.
Bernal discloses a lens unit (see Fig 1) wherein the planar heater is an FPC heater or an organic PTC heater (see Fig 1; Para [0019]; a heating element may be made of PTC material thus a PTC heater).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu with wherein the planar heater is an FPC heater or an organic PTC heater of Bernal for the purpose of simplifying machining therefor reducing costs of producing a lens system with deicing capabilities (Para [0002-0006]).
Regarding claim 34, Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu discloses a lens unit (Kim: see Fig 1) according to claim 25. Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu does not disclose wherein the planar heater is an organic PTC heater, a gap is provided between the second lens or spacer adjacent to the first lens in the optical axis direction and the heating portion of the organic PTC heater. Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu and Bernal are related because both disclose lens units with heated lens barrels.
Bernal discloses a lens unit (see Fig 1) wherein the planar heater is an organic PTC heater, a gap is provided between the second lens or spacer adjacent to the first lens in the optical axis direction and the heating portion of the organic PTC heater (see Fig 1; Para [0019]; a heating element may be made of organic PTC materials thus an organic PTC heater, i.e. graphite; Kim discloses gap as seen in Fig 1 heater rests on barrel and there is a gap between heater and second lens).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu with wherein the planar heater is an organic PTC heater, a gap is provided between the second lens or spacer adjacent to the first lens in the optical axis direction and the heating portion of the organic PTC heater of Bernal for the purpose of simplifying machining therefor reducing costs of producing a lens system with deicing capabilities (Para[0002-0006]).
Regarding claim 37, Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu discloses the lens unit according to claim 25. Kim in view of Huang does not disclose wherein the planar heater is an FPC heater, the FPC heater includes a heating portion for heating the first lens, the heating portion has a plurality of circuit layers in which a circuit pattern has been formed by a metal foil. Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu and Bernal are related because both disclose lens units with heated lens barrels.
Bernal discloses a lens unit (see Fig 1) wherein the planar heater is an FPC heater, the FPC heater includes a heating portion for heating the first lens, the heating portion has a plurality of circuit layers in which a circuit pattern has been formed by a metal foil (see Fig 1; Para [0019-0021]; heater may be a printed circuit board formed from metal; Kim discloses a first heating unit and coating layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu with wherein the planar heater is an FPC heater, the FPC heater includes a heating portion for heating the first lens, the heating portion has a plurality of circuit layers in which a circuit pattern has been formed by a metal foil of Bernal for the purpose of simplifying machining therefor reducing costs of producing a lens system with deicing capabilities (Para [0002-0006]).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0176431) in view of Huang (US 2022/0357572, of record), HA (US 2019/0137850), and Liu (US 2020/0314311) as applied to claim 31 above and further in view of Yoshimura (US 2012/0162795, of record).
Regarding claim 36, Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu discloses a lens unit (Kim: see Fig 1) according to claim 31. Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu does not disclose wherein the adhesive is a thermosetting adhesive. Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu and Yoshimura are related because both disclose lens units with lens barrels.
Yoshimura discloses a lens unit (see Fig 1) wherein the adhesive is a thermosetting adhesive (see Fig 1; Para [0040]; a thermoset acrylic resin maybe used as adhesive).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang, Ha, and Liu with wherein the adhesive is a thermosetting adhesive of Yoshimura for the purpose of simplifying production while maintaining proper adhesive characteristics.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0176431) in view of Huang (US 2022/0357572, of record), HA (US 2019/0137850), and Liu (US 2020/0314311) and Bernal (US 2019/0137723, of record) as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2018/0239105, of record).
Regarding claim 38, Kim in view of Huang, HA, Liu and Bernal discloses the lens unit according to claim 37. Kim in view of Huang, HA, Liu and Bernal does not disclose wherein the circuit patterns respectively formed in the circuit layers of a plurality of layers are connected by a through hole. Kim in view of Huang, HA, Liu and Bernal and Lee are related because both disclose lens units with lens barrels and heating elements.
Lee discloses a lens unit (see Fig 11) wherein the circuit patterns respectively formed in the circuit layers of a plurality of layers are connected by a through hole (see Fig 5; Para [0107-115] holes through barrel connect terminals of conductive wires to heating wires and heating layer 200).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang, HA, Liu and Bernal with wherein the circuit patterns respectively formed in the circuit layers of a plurality of layers are connected by a through hole of Lee for the purpose of improving ease of connection without incurring mechanical problems (Para [0130])
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0176431) in view of Huang (US 2022/0357572, of record), HA (US 2019/0137850), and Liu (US 2020/0314311) and Bernal (US 2019/0137723, of record) and Lee (US 2018/0239105, of record) as applied to claim 38 above, and further in view of Keller (US 2015/0054878, of record).
Regarding claim 39, Kim in view of Huang, HA, Liu, Bernal and Lee disclose the lens unit according to claim 38. Kim in view of Huang, HA, Liu, Bernal and Lee does not disclose wherein the lens unit has two circuit layers, the heating portion has a donut plate-shaped base film, the circuit layer is provided on both the front and back surfaces of the base film. Kim in view of Huang, HA, Liu, Bernal and Lee and Keller are related because both disclose electronics with heating capabilities.
Keller discloses an electronic heater (see Fig 1) wherein the lens unit has two circuit layers, the heating portion has a donut plate-shaped base film, the circuit layer is provided on both the front and back surfaces of the base film (see Fig 1; Para [0009-0012]; a printed circuit board with two layer of conductors front and base of base 106; Kim discloses the heating portion being donut shaped).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang, HA, Liu, Bernal and Lee with wherein the lens unit has two circuit layers, the heating portion has a donut plate-shaped base film, the circuit layer is provided on both the front and back surfaces of the base film of Keller for the purpose of spreading heat evenly around circuit (Para [0014])
Claim 41 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0176431) in view of Huang (US 2022/0357572, of record) and Liu (US 2020/0314311)
Regarding claim 41, Kim discloses a lens unit (see Fig 1) having: a lens group including a plurality of lenses arranged along an optical axis of the lenses (see Fig 1; Para [0041]; a lens group having a plurality of lenses 10 is aligned along an optical axis); a lens barrel accommodating the lens group (see Fig 1; Para [0041-0042]; lens barrel comprising barrel 100 and holder 200), said lens unit comprising: a flange provided to project radially outward from the lens barrel and useful for attaching the lens unit to other member (see Fig 1; Para [0046]; a lower flange extends radially from 100 and allows barrel to be coupled to casing 300); a planar heater located closer to the object side than the flange and capable of heating the first lens located closest to the object side (see Fig 3; Para [0062]; a first heating plate 512 placed under a first lens); and an electrical wiring extending from the planar heater (see Fig 3; Para [0062]; a first connection portion 530 extends from heating plate 512), wherein the lens barrel is provided with a first accommodating groove and a second accommodating groove (see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; lens barrel has multiple grooves where the conductive components rest), the first accommodating groove is extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side in order to guide the electrical wiring to a position closer to the image side than the image side end of the flange (see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; a section of conductive wires extends longitudinally along optical axis in an interior section between elements 100 and 200), the second accommodating groove is communicated with the first accommodating groove, and extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side on the inner peripheral surface of the side wall of the lens barrel to accommodate the electrical wiring and guide the electrical wiring to the image side (see Fig 5; Para [0066-0070]; a section of conductive wires extends longitudinally along axis beginning in an interior section between elements 100 and 200 extending radially then curving around flange as seen in Fig 5 along an interior surface).
Kim does not disclose wherein the first accommodating groove is extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side inside the side wall of the lens barrel; wherein the second accommodating groove is extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side on the inner peripheral surface of the side wall; the first accommodating groove extends opposite the lens group; and both the first accommodating groove and the second accommodating groove form a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through, an image-side end of the second accommodating groove opening axially toward an outside of the lens barrel. Kim and Huang are related because both disclose lens units.
Huang discloses a lens unit (see Fig 17) wherein the first accommodating groove is extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side inside the side wall of the lens barrel (see Fig 17; Para [0227]; the conductor channel 202 may extend along the inside of the barrel wall) and wherein the first accommodating groove extends opposite the lens group (see Fig 17; Para [0227]; a conductor channel 202 extends laterally through the lens barrel wall 21; conductor channel 202 extends opposite to the first lens element 11/lens element 10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim with wherein the first accommodating groove is extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side inside the side wall of the lens barrel and wherein the first accommodating groove extends opposite the lens group of Huang for the purpose of leading out of the bottom of the barrel wall so as to connect to the power supply device (Para [0210])
Kim in view of Huang does not disclose wherein the second accommodating groove is extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side on the inner peripheral surface of the side wall and both the first accommodating groove and the second accommodating groove form a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through, an image-side end of the second accommodating groove opening axially toward an outside of the lens barrel. Kim in view of Huang and Liu are related because both disclose lens units.
Liu discloses a lens unit (see Fig 9) wherein the second accommodating groove is extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side on the inner peripheral surface of the side wall (see Fig 9; Para [0029-0031]; a second longitudinal section of the conductive traces 132b extend along the inner peripheral sidewall) and both the first accommodating groove and the second accommodating groove form a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through, an image-side end of the second accommodating groove opening axially toward an outside of the lens barrel (see Fig 9-12; Para [0029-0031]; a groove 132b formed between the outer peripheral surface of the lens units (not shown in Figs) and the inner surface of the lens barrel; at the end of the lens barrel conductive traces continue axially out of the lens barrel, which examiner takes to be the section which holds lenses in 122)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim in view of Huang wherein the second accommodating groove is extending in the longitudinal direction from the object side to the image side on the inner peripheral surface of the side wall and both the first accommodating groove and the second accommodating groove form a gap between the outer peripheral surface of the lens and the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for electrical wiring to pass through, an image-side end of the second accommodating groove opening axially toward an outside of the lens barrel of Liu for the purpose of minimizing the size of electrical components and integrating seamlessly onto the device (Para [0029])
Regarding claim 42, Kim in view of Huang and Liu disclose a camera module including the lens unit according to claim 41 (Kim: see Fig 1; Para [0040]; a camera module is illustrated having said lens unit).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hong (US 2021/0199953) discloses a lens unit with electrical conduits through a lens barrel.
/G.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872