DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26, 33-36 and 44-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The amendment(s) to claim 26 adds the limitation a “plurality of first regions comprise a powdered mineral with a particle size less than 50 µm and a chipped mineral with a particle size greater than 50 µm”. A review of the specification as originally filed reveals no support for a composition or structure that simultaneous comprises both a powdered mineral and a chipped mineral within the first regions. The specification only describes mining and processing raw or chipped polyhalite into powder [Specification, pg. 11, line 17 – pg. 12, line 15]. While the original disclose teaches a processing sequence where raw/chipped material is converted into powder it does adequately describe a final structure or region that contains both forms simultaneously. Because the specification only describes the processing of chipped polyhalite into a powder – rather than a region comprising both a powdered and chipped mineral – the claim, as amended, fails the written description test. One of skill in the art would not recognize the newly claimed combination as having been in the possession of the inventor at the time of filing. For the purposes of examination and to promote compact prosecution, this limitation is interpreted as wherein the “plurality of first regions comprise powdered polyhalite obtained from a chipped mineral”.
Claims 26, 33-36 and 44-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation wherein the first regions comprise "a powdered mineral" and “a chipped mineral” in lines 10-11. However, the claim also describes the first region comprising the first fertilizer composition as polyhalite. It is unclear if the “mineral” recited in the claims is the polyhalite component or an additional mineral component distinct from polyhalite.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The claim describes the plurality of first regions “in the form of granules of the first fertiliser composition”. However, claim 26 (from which claim 34 depends) requires the first regions in the form of a “powdered mineral” and a “chipped mineral”. A powder material or a chipped mineral are generally not considered a granule in manufacturing or material science.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26, 33-36 and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srini (GB 1,226,646 – cited in IDS 07/25/2022) in view of Farnworth et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2017/0129822 A1).
In regard to claims 26 and 46-47, Srini teaches a fertiliser product [pg. 1, line 12] in the form of a pellet, granule or prill (e.g. prill) [pg. 1, line 55], the fertiliser product comprising:
7 to 50 weight percent of a first fertiliser composition comprising potassium sulphate and/or magnesium sulphate [pg. 1, lines 57-58]; and
50-93 weight percent of a second fertiliser composition (e.g. an ammonium nitrate prill containing 7 to 50 percent first fertilizer), the second fertiliser composition being a nitrogen-providing fertiliser composition (e.g. ammonium nitrate) [pg. 1, line 55], and the first fertiliser composition being incorporated into the second fertiliser composition (e.g. ammonium nitrate-containing prill containing potassium magnesium sulfate) [pg. 1, lines 54-68];
wherein the fertiliser product comprises a plurality of first regions comprising the first fertiliser composition, wherein the first fertiliser composition is a mineral powder (e.g. langbeinite fines) [pg. 2, line 32], and wherein the plurality of first regions are dispersed throughout the second fertiliser composition (e.g. melt mixed 20 percent by weight of langbeinite and about 80 percent by weight of ammonium nitrate) [pg. 3, example 1].
Srini discloses a first fertiliser composition comprising potassium sulphate and/or magnesium sulphate [pg. 1, lines 57-58] such as langbeinite K2Mg2(SO4)3) [pg. 1, lines 59-60] but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first fertiliser composition is polyhalite. Farnsworth et al. is directed to compositions for use as a fertiliser [0001] containing the evaporite mineral polyhalite which is a sulphate of potassium, calcium and magnesium [0002]. Farnsworth describes their process as useful for treatment of evaporite minerals other than polyhalite which include langbeinite [0069]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform simple substation of the potassium and magnesium sulfate-based evaporite mineral disclosed by Srini (e.g. langbeinite) for the potassium and magnesium sulfate-based evaporite mineral described by Farnworth (e.g. langbeinite). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and to further supply the nutrient calcium [Farnworth, 0003] in the fertiliser of the prior art.
In regard to claims 33-35, Srini teaches the fertiliser product as claimed in claim 26, wherein the plurality of first regions are each in the form of granules of the first fertiliser composition, wherein the second region contacts the plurality of first regions over substantially the whole of the second region's interfaces with the plurality of first regions, wherein the second region contacts the plurality of first regions over substantially the whole of the second region's interfaces with the plurality of first regions (e.g. physical mixture of solids; solidified, particulate, co-prilled product) [pg. 3, example 1].
In regard to claim 36, Srini teaches the fertiliser product as claimed in claim 26, wherein the second region contacts the first region over substantially the whole of its interface to the first region and substantially surrounds the first region (e.g. the langbeinite and sodium nitrate are melt mixed) [pg. 2, Example 1] and wherein one of skill would understand the claimed structure is present in Srini’s composition because the prior art materials are not physically mixed [pg. 1, lines 83-85] and is instead are homogeneous blend of the first and second fertiliser compositions (e.g. melt mixed).
In regard to claim 45, Srini teaches a bulk fertiliser product comprising a plurality of the fertiliser products as claimed in claim 26 (e.g. particulated solids) [pg. 1, 1st col.] in the form of a prills [pg. 1, line 55].
Claims 26 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scherr (WO-2020064036).
In regard to claims 26 and 44, Scherr discloses a fertiliser product in the form of a pellet, granule or prill (e.g. fertilizer granules) [pg. 2, line 15], the fertiliser product comprising:
20% by weight to 40% by weight of a first fertiliser composition, wherein the first fertiliser composition is polyhalite (e.g. a salt mixture from 50:50 to 95:5 of calcined polyhalite and sulfate salt, wherein the sulfate salt is in the form of un-calcined polyhalite) [pg. 13, line 27 – pg. 14, line 5] (e.g. polyhalite, calculated as magnesium in an amount of 1.0 to 3.5 wt.% which equates to approximately 18 – 47% by weight of uncalcined polyhalite in this 50:50 ratio, for example) [pg. 2, line 32]; and
60% by weight to 80% by weight of a second fertiliser composition, wherein the second fertilizer composition is urea (e.g. urea, calculated as nitrogen in an amount of 11.0 to 33.0 wt.% which equates to approximately 24 – 72% by weight of urea) [pg. 2, lines 30-31], and the first fertiliser composition being incorporated into the second fertiliser composition (e.g. the salt mixture containing calcined polyhalite and urea is subjected to build-up agglomeration) [pg. 3, lines 8-11]
wherein the fertiliser product comprises a plurality of first regions comprising the first fertiliser composition, wherein the plurality of first regions comprise polyhalite mineral exhibiting a mean grain size in the range of 50 µm to 1500 µm [pg. 11, 2nd para.] and wherein the plurality of first regions are dispersed throughout the second fertiliser composition (e.g. the salt mixture containing calcined polyhalite and urea is subjected to build-up agglomeration) [pg. 3, lines 8-11] (e.g. built-up agglomeration is carried out as a mixed agglomeration) [para. bridging pgs. 16-17].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 04/21/2026, have been fully considered but amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. The new ground(s) of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A SMITH/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731 May 20, 2026